Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai giving out hi viz and lights again

• 09-10-2013 4:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭

Straight from their tweet...

@GardaTraffic: Gardai will issue Hi Vis gear,( bicycle lights to cyclists) motorcyclists at Guild St Nth Wall Quay Thursday 10th Oct 4pm to 6pm approx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

are they handing out cop on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

are they handing out cop on?

rsa are also giving out rear lights.

might save me knocking down s cyclist who thinks dark clothes are no lights are ok at night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

might save me knocking down s cyclist who thinks dark clothes are no lights are ok at night

I have lights. I need some cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Kurtosis

I like this new carrot and stick approach to cycling by the Gardai, obey the rules and get a hi vis, break the rules and get a summons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

It's a common failing with some motorists and pedestrians as well, in poor visibility some seem to think using lights is to help them see where actually it's to allow you to be seen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

More today in Dublin: https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic
    Reminder-Gardai will issue Hi Vis gear (bicycle lights to cyclists) motorcyclists at Guild St Nth Wall Quay today 10th Oct 4pm to 6pm approx

Also:
    Reminder-Gardai invite you to climb into cab of a truck see difficulty for the driver 2 see bikes. Guild St Nth Wall Quay Thurs 10 Oct 4-6pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭nak

buffalo wrote: »
    More today in Dublin: https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic

Also:

Saw an item on TV about truck visibility where they invited cyclists to sit in the cab at an event in London. Knew visibility was bad, but didn't realise it was nil at several points. Great to see it being done here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

nak wrote: »
    Saw an item on TV about truck visibility where they invited cyclists to sit in the cab at an event in London. Knew visibility was bad, but didn't realise it was nil at several points. Great to see it being done here.

It is.

Now maybe they could get a few truck drivers to cycle around for a few minutes, along the Quays.

....and if they're giving stuff out they should give out chain lube - the racket from some bikes is awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Mcofferon wrote: »
    Straight from their tweet...

@GardaTraffic: Gardai will issue Hi Vis gear,( bicycle lights to cyclists) motorcyclists at Guild St Nth Wall Quay Thursday 10th Oct 4pm to 6pm approx

Outstanding! One day this week I wished a local a safe journey home on his bicycle as it was dark and he was not wearing any hi-vis jacket. He was at the door when he walked over to me:
    "You know I called up to the station to get a free hi-vis jacket and was told they were all gone. I rec'd two before from someone but they never fit me so could not wear them" he said. Proceeded to inform he was asked to come back, that more would be in. He returned three more times to be informed NO each time. Can't get any.
    I phoned the local station and put the question to them and was informed if I was phoning on behalf of a school, it could be arranged, but when I said just general public, I was informed they don't have any and don't know when they will be back in!

Now, how one member can say return, and then two more say return and ask again. Then when I phone I am informed 'not unless it's for a school'. I've given up trying to understand what members of this organisation to trust and believe anymore. Hard to believe these same people are in court determining the future life of some people with their statements and cannot even be honest about something like a hi-vis jacket.

So how's about sharing these hi-vis jackets with cyclists the length and breath of Ireland, and not just in Dublin. I am choosing to believe they are readily available to those in Dublin, instead of loosing more faith in my local station and their inability to assist locals by pissing people off asking them to return time and time for a hi-vis jacket, while another can confidently say they won't be available for general public.

At least some cyclists are getting looking after though by An Garda Síochána. Shame not all members are the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭catastrophy

kerry4sam wrote: »
    Outstanding! One day this week I wished a local a safe journey home on his bicycle as it was dark and he was not wearing any hi-vis jacket. He was at the door when he walked over to me:
    "You know I called up to the station to get a free hi-vis jacket and was told they were all gone. I rec'd two before from someone but they never fit me so could not wear them" he said. Proceeded to inform he was asked to come back, that more would be in. He returned three more times to be informed NO each time. Can't get any.
    I phoned the local station and put the question to them and was informed if I was phoning on behalf of a school, it could be arranged, but when I said just general public, I was informed they don't have any and don't know when they will be back in!

Now, how one member can say return, and then two more say return and ask again. Then when I phone I am informed 'not unless it's for a school'. I've given up trying to understand what members of this organisation to trust and believe anymore. Hard to believe these same people are in court determining the future life of some people with their statements and cannot even be honest about something like a hi-vis jacket.

So how's about sharing these hi-vis jackets with cyclists the length and breath of Ireland, and not just in Dublin. I am choosing to believe they are readily available to those in Dublin, instead of loosing more faith in my local station and their inability to assist locals by pissing people off asking them to return time and time for a hi-vis jacket, while another can confidently say they won't be available for general public.

At least some cyclists are getting looking after though by An Garda Síochána. Shame not all members are the same!

It's a pity you couldn't be provided with the safety equipment when requested but its a bit much to castigate the entire force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭Smalltom

Did anyone get these lights? What are they like? At least they're making a bit of an effort. That sit in the truck can is a great idea. I saw a cyclist change lanes and drive length ways across the front of a truck when traffic was stopped. Murphy's law intervened then n all I heard/saw was crunching plastic on the truck and screaming cyclist. I'm a cyclist but what that guy did was rediculous. As a wise man once said.....common sense ain't that common.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

AGS in my neck of the woods put out a press release a few weeks ago, in which they advised children walking and cycling to school to wear helmets and hi-vis. They also asked ever so nicely that motorists would drive and park considerately around schools.

Nearly two months later, and if AGS are enforcing traffic and parking regulations around schools they must be wearing camouflage and not hi-viz, because I haven't seen them yet. Meanwhile the roundabouts, cycle lanes, streets and footpaths are clogged with cars.

Hi-viz for pedestrians and cyclists, but invisible Gardai. Why do you suppose that is?

They'll be going nationwide in a few weeks: https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/387948880467218432
    The dubs need all the help they can get !. ( we will be having similar operation nationwide in few weeks.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭RunRoryRun

Go to the RSA website. You can order (for a school / event / office / personal use) whatever quantity of hi-vis cycling vests, walking vests, running bibs, arm bands, reflective rucksack covers you want. They have different sizes of vests / bibs. They are all free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Rogue-Trooper

Just been out on Guild Street with the Gardai. Got to sit up in the cab of the truck and it's a real eye opener. They have one of the Garda bikes stopped a few feet in front of the cab to the left where you might be at a red light and you can just about make out the front wheel of the bike. If you are anywhere across the front of the truck he just can't see you at all. There is also a big blind spot to his left if you were coming alongside the truck in traffic. I guess the golden rule is 'if you can't see the driver's face he can't see you'.

Also got a hi-viz vest, bag cover and a pair of lights - the lights are the little clip on ones like these. Grand as an addition to your main lights I guess.

Just been out on Guild Street with the Gardai. Got to sit up in the cab of the truck and it's a real eye opener. They have one of the Garda bikes stopped a few feet in front of the cab to the left where you might be at a red light and you can just about make out the front wheel of the bike. If you are anywhere across the front of the truck he just can't see you at all. There is also a big blind spot to his left if you were coming alongside the truck in traffic. I guess the golden rule is 'if you can't see the driver's face he can't see you'.

Also got a hi-viz vest, bag cover and a pair of lights - the lights are the little clip on ones like these. Grand as an addition to your main lights I guess.

You would wonder - given all these blind spots - why it is legal to drive these vehicles at all in urban areas where there are pedestrians and cyclists around.

Any movement on making additional mirrors compulsory, or is that too much regulation for the haulage industry?

You would wonder - given all these blind spots - why it is legal to drive these vehicles at all in urban areas where there are pedestrians and cyclists around.

Any movement on making additional mirrors compulsory, or is that too much regulation for the haulage industry?

The cyclops mirrors were supposed to be on all 7500kg+ HGVs from 1st October last year, which reduced the front blind spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Rogue-Trooper

buffalo wrote: »
    The cyclops mirrors were supposed to be on all 7500kg+ HGVs from 1st October last year, which reduced the front blind spot.

He did have the additional mirror on the top LHS of his windscreen but even at that his view across the front was limited.

I wouldn't fancy piloting one of those things around the city centre I can tell you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,080 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

All gone .. btw glad I don't cycle home at this time. Hell is: other cyclists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭ccull123

Whilst you raised a few valid points you also raised some STUPID ones. Of course Schools are going to be prioritised!!! How does this not make sense to you??

Of course these should be available Nationwide but it is not the Gardai who decide the distribution points. I would imagine they receive a delivery from the R.S.A and the Gardai asked would they hand them out.

I see people everyday cycling bikes ranging from 100-1500 and am amazed at the amount of people who have no lights,high viz, helmet etc. Surely when they purchase these new bikes they could spend the extra 100 quid and get any other safety gear they require.

Have you considered emailing the people responsible for the high vis jack initiative......RSA???

You might find this article interesting:)
    only in Ireland
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/road-safety-authority-left-redfaced-as-highvis-vests-arent-visible-29419807.html
    Surprised someone didn't blame the Guards for this on Joe Duffy as well:)