Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€10 day trips to Hollyhead are back again!

• 09-10-2013 3:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭

With Stena Line.

Our outstanding value day trips are back for the mid-term school holidays!

Treat the family to a memorable day out for just €10* per person, any day, from 20 October until 3 November.

Set sail from Dublin Port and cruise to Holyhead where you’ll have a little bit of time to hop off the ferry, stretch your legs and enjoy the beautiful sea views.

Whilst onboard you can look forward to free Wi-Fi, free movies, and scandalously low prices in our onboard shop.

Passengers are not permitted to bring luggage or own alcohol onboard! (looks like you've been rumbled!)

With small prices for you and big smiles for them – everyone’s a winner. Book Now!
    Dublin Port to Holyhead

• Available daily from 20 October – 3 November
    • Free Wi-Fi and movies
    • Up to 40% off high street prices in our onboard shop
    • Dine in one of our onboard restaurants

ITINERARY
    08.20hrs Depart Dublin Port
    11.35hrs Arrive Holyhead
    13.50hrs Depart Holyhead
    17.05hrs Arrive Dublin Port

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

Was it a fiver or a tenner the last time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 coolbreeze72

brokenarms wrote: »
    Was it a fiver or a tenner the last time?

Last offer I saw was for a fiver, but you couldn't get off the boat in Holyhead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Is there a code for this? I'm getting €140 for two on 26th October

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,741 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

is it only dublin port ? - or is same offer open for dun laoghaire/hollyhead.

tanx.

Slunk wrote: »
    Is there a code for this? I'm getting €140 for two on 26th October

Use this link: http://www.stenaline.ie/daytripdeals

thebaz wrote: »
    is it only dublin port ? - or is same offer open for dun laoghaire/hollyhead.

tanx.

Looks like only Dublin Port. http://www.stenaline.ie/daytripdeals

• Site Banned Posts: 880 ✭✭✭whiteshorts

Love to see what you would do in Hollyhead for 2 hours?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Ian Whelan

Just feel bored and slightly scared.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 waterworld87

i got a quote for 30euro return..arive at 12.30 leave at 2.30 you just about get a few pints in :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

How do they define luggage? If one had a high value low profile package they needed to offload then surely they couldn't stop you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭HungryJoey

Any idea if a bike is classed as "luggage" ?

A day trip with a few hours cycle around N.wales would be a 10er well spent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Holyhead is a depressing place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭billy few mates

I agree with that, It's an awful place day or night.....

For that reason, I'm out....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭sparksfly

These trips are what you make them.
    We did it once with 3 kids around 10 yrs of age and we had a great day. Kids nearly bought out 3 charity shops and we took a stroll and had a nice lunch. Weather was pleasant. Adults lay back and read books in the ships lounge with a drink, kids went to cinema.
    I normally work weekends so I suppose anything that's not work colors my judgement.
    Thanks OP, we will do it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭christo82

Though, with the fact you can get off the boat, can't you buy a 10euro ticket to holyhead, then go where you like nearby for a couple of days and buy a 10pound ticket for the return journey? It's listed on the uk site. It includes Rosslare to Fishguard as well. The uk deal is better actually, they get 4 hours in Dublin, we only get just over 2 hours in holyhead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

4 hours in Dublin, 2 hours in holyhead.

Decisions, Decisions :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 emmigrunt

Great stuff, will definitely be making use of this thanks OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 BC1987

I wonder if you could go out one date and not return until the following day (providing you bought 2 €10 fares for different dates...)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 emmigrunt

BC1987 wrote: »
    I wonder if you could go out one date and not return until the following day (providing you bought 2 €10 fares for different dates...)?

That'd be a great idea if you can. They're hardly too strict on it. I used to travel over and back to Uk alot on ferry as foot passenger and they'd barely even look at your ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭Paddy Fields

I won a day trip as a spot prize in a pub quiz a long time back. I remember pushing our then baby baby daughter down the street in her baby buggy and back and did sod all. Should have taken the bottle of whiskey... And I don't even drink bleedin' whiskey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

pity it's from Dublin Port and not Dun Laoghaire :(

Dublin Port is easier to get to than Dun Laoghaire for me. Never sailed from Dublin Port before, anybody know what the craic is regarding parking? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

:pac:Can ye fish of the side of the boat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭ShaunC

brokenarms wrote: »
    :pac:Can ye fish of the side of the boat.

Of course you can, but I doubt you would catch anything other than a brown trout;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭styron

ballooba wrote: »
    How do they define luggage? If one had a high value low profile package they needed to offload then surely they couldn't stop you.

A standard backpack is fine at check-in, but don't count on getting through with a suitcase or 120ltr rucksack sleeping bag on top and pots dangling from the sides. They make a cursory check for no (obvious) luggage.

Oh well I booked a trip tonight. Can't go wrong for a tenner.

Wonder if anyone on the Titanic said something like that.:confused:

Dublin Port is easier to get to than Dun Laoghaire for me. Never sailed from Dublin Port before, anybody know what the craic is regarding parking? Thanks.
    Car Parking
    There are a limited number of 30 car parking spaces at the port
    • Short–term parking rate: €2.00 per hour (minimum charge €1.00)
    • Daily parking rate: €9.00 per 24 hour (or part thereof)
    • Long–term parking rate: €50.00 per 7 days

Short term parking is available outside the terminal building. Tickets can be purchased from the parking machine which accepts credit/debit cards for payment as well as coins but does not accept notes. Please make sure that your ticket covers your proposed length of stay. It is important to display a valid parking ticket on the dashboard for the duration of your stay and failure to do so could result in your vehicle being clamped. Vehicle clamping is in operation and the release fine is €80.00. Please note that the machine only accepts Euro coins. Lost tickets are charged at full weekly rate.

If you're outside the 30 you're likely screwed ... the odd employee only car park but it's a desolate insecure area overall.
    Public Transport
    Foot passengers travelling on the 08:20hrs and 21:15hrs sailings from Dublin Port can avail of a coach service which will bring you from Dublin City Centre to the Stena Line Terminal in Dublin Port. The coach departs from Westmoreland Street in Dublin City Centre at 07:15hrs for the 08:20hrs sailing and 19:45hrs for the 21:15hrs sailing.

The fares for this coach service is as follows:
    Adult Single: €2.50
    Adult Return: €5.00
    Child Single: €1.25
    Child Return: €2.50

When you arrive in the Stena Line Terminal 2 building at Dublin Port off the 02:30hrs and 13:50hrs departures from Holyhead, there is also a coach service which will transfer you to Dublin City Centre, stopping at Connolly DART Rail Station and Westmoreland Street. There is also a drop off point at Heuston Rail Station and the fare for this is €4.00 Adult Single and €2.00 for a Child Single.

http://www.stenaline.ie/ferry/routes/dublin-holyhead/dublin-port/

Or

A bit of sun and slow entry to Dublin Port can be spectacular ... channeling your inner Viking :pac:

@ styron. Thanks for that. I think I'll give the aul gluaisteán the day off and get the bus. Then I can have a few gargles on the boat and not have to worry about An Garda Síochána on the way back home:D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭ronan45

So is this a drinking lark or what? You jump off in Holyhead 11.35am and you get back on the boat a few hours later? I dont see the attraction :confused:
    Whats the purpose? :confused: Good Pubs / Shops there?:confused:

08.20hrs: Depart Dublin Port
    11.35hrs: Arrive Holyhead
    13.50hrs: Depart Holyhead
    17.05hrs: Arrive Dublin Port

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭gerbilgranny

Seems 'the attraction' is a day on the ferry - and to be fair, provided the weather's okay, and the sea isn't too ...violent - there are worse ways to spend a day.

As someone said it's what you make of it, and for families it could be a nice treat.

Years ago I got a free day trip with Irish Ferries (if you went to France you got a free Irish sea day trip later on) for our family. Myself and the two children went, and it was great altogether - but we had a good few hours in Wales - got over around 12, and got the boat back at 6 or so. Got reasonable train fare to Bangor - a nice enough place.

Actually there are some nice spots around Holyhead itself - we've often put in a few hours there before coming back from holidays - but you need a car to get to them!

If it was free I'd probably go on the boat - just to have a day away from the grind of weekend housework - or weekday work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

why would anybody want to spend 6hrs in a tub on the Irish sea in late autumn just for the craic! bring sick bags!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭jimbob_jones

Just a quick question for anyone who has made this trip before, do you need passports or will a standard ID (drivers license etc...) do.

And whats the gig with kids do they need passports / ID too ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭Access

Holyhead is nothing like what it used to be years ago when all these day trips for families were the rage... Take it from someone who makes the trip regularly.

I remember doing it a couple of times when i was a kid with the family, it was a nice and pleasant place with the best ice cream ive ever tasted, good views and a long winding town centre street with loads of toy shops, takeaways, restaurants and a nice smiley population going about their daily shopping.

Nowadays, i avoid holyhead town centre and even if i was early for the ferry i would rather sit parked in my vehicle listening to the radio/reading a book then venture up the town to see what is going on around.

The towns hay day is long gone... the bookies have replaced the toy shops and gift shops and there is a general feeling of despair in the place. Its just a town of pubs and bookies and filled with all day drinkers and benefit heads.

I wouldn't bring my kids up the town side there... even for the day.

Now saying that though, there is a big enough retail area with a tescos/halfords/toys r us etc. down near the Penrhos Ind Estate end of the town (10 mins walk from ferry) that might be worth calling into if you were doing a bit of present shopping etc.

Someone was saying earlier about bringing the bike and doing a short cycle... now thats a good idea... worth checking out.

Wales is lovely and has fantastic scenery, but holyhead town centre is rough and not a place i would spend any time.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

The Dun Laoghaire ~ Holyhead ferry is finished for the year. It won't be back (except for a week at Christmas) until next summer. It's seasonal only now .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭kn

why would anybody want to spend 6hrs in a tub on the Irish sea in late autumn just for the craic! bring sick bags!

It's a bit of an adventure for the kids, if they are young enough they will enjoy it. They generally have a free childrens film on as well. A day out in fresh sea air in a safe environment - provided the weather is OK its a great day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭kn

Just a quick question for anyone who has made this trip before, do you need passports or will a standard ID (drivers license etc...) do.

And whats the gig with kids do they need passports / ID too ?

Not for travel between UK/Ireland although some ID for one of the adults is advisable as UK Border Agency do checks at Holyhead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Access wrote: »

the bookies have replaced the toy shops and gift shops and there is a general feeling of despair in the place. Its just a town of pubs and bookies and filled with all day drinkers and benefit heads.

Sounds like my kind of town - I'm in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭dobsdave

If its 2hr 15min between arrival and departure, how long do you actually get in holyhead?
    I presume they will board 30 mins before departure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭ronan45

dobsdave wrote: »
    If its 2hr 15min between arrival and departure, how long do you actually get in holyhead?
    I presume they will board 30 mins before departure?

About enough time to skull 4 pints ! At UK PRICES

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Booking system seems to be down.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Might go over on the piss, stay for a night and get another 10 Eur ferry back the following day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭PinkFly

Is it working for anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Might go over on the piss, stay for a night and get another 10 Eur ferry back the following day.

Go to Bangor, The students are back ;)

Only a 30min train ride

PinkFly wrote: »
    Is it working for anyone?

Sorry for being a numpty, but is what working?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭metaxaaa

is not working for me ;(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭PinkFly

The link...when I try to book it the site is having issues...just wondering if its just me or for everybody?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Laneyh

Hi, if you go to stenaline.ie , click day trips and cruises, pick your route and the choose travelling by foot the €10 option appears

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

Has anyone been able to book this online or do you need to ring them up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

Has anyone been able to book this online or do you need to ring them up?

Booking is down for me :(