Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which newspapers or online do you read and why?

• 09-10-2013 10:58am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭

me

independent.ie / independent.uk and http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/

I cant stand the guardian, far too left wing and the daily fail is far too right wing for my liking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

The Onion. I find it surprisingly accurate.

I mainly read German newspapers, I find the British ones far too British for my liking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

The Journal ... purely for the ridiculous and outlandishly left/right wing comments. Everything from the disaffected voter to the conspiracy theorist. they've all bases covered!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

I don't read any. If I do, it's with the knowledge that most papers are owned by very rich individuals who control media empires and have their own agendas to look out for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I used to read independent.ie (I say used to, I still do but not as much) but it's gone to pot lately, same with breaking news.ie. I get the bulk of my news from either here or reddit now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭canadianwoman

I read the Galway Advertiser. I get it once a week in my email and love reading it. I also read the Daily Mail, Aberdeen's Evening Express, The Irish Times, Independent.ie, the Hamilton Spectator, the Hamilton Community News (a once a week paper for my area), CBC.ca and The Toronto Star.

I like my news. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

None, apart from farming publications. I find they're all full of spin & agendas, inc. the farming ones. Reporting factual news seems to have been thrown out with the baby & bath water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Everybody reads the daily mail website. Some admit it, some do it in secret.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭Hardonraging

Farmers Journal ... them lambs never get old !! ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 121 ✭✭Mark Twain

Irishtimes and Independent for Irish news.

Daily Mail website for the lols and the mad genius/lunacy of it all.

Guardian for sport and tech. Daily Telegraph for my dose of moderate conservatism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Ye Olde Indo, and sometime the Telegraph from over the road.
    Mark Twain wrote: »
    ...Daily Mail website for the lols and the mad genius/lunacy of it all...
    Let's see what we've got today... ah, yes:

"Naked easyJet passenger is tasered by police after challenging captain to a fight on tarmac at Manchester airport (then gets a slap from his girlfriend)"

Everything under control there, then! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭Stepping Stone

The Independent, to see what spin they put on stories and for the letters. The Irish Times, letters, their spin on stories and stuff like consumer stuff. Irish Examiner, less spin than the other two. Letters. Love the letters. Daily Mail, mainly for the comments, Journal for the comments. Love the crazed commentators. Lots never actually bother to read the article.

For real news I tend to read a variety of broadsheets and make my mind up from there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭canadianwoman

How can you not read it. It's such a train wreck that you can't help yourself from looking.

Yes....I'm hooked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Don't read any except some the journal things. Though they're not going to last long with me, getting tired of their attempts to be what they think is Internet cool. Oh and their incessant retweeting of the daily whatsit. Christ if I wanted to read 12 ways you know you're irish etc I'd sign up to the ****tin thing myself.
    I suppose they're still finding their place but either be a news group or be a tabloid, you can't be both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

BigJugs.xxx

You'd never guess what some of those housewives get up to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

Gongoozler wrote: »
    Don't read any except some the journal things. Though they're not going to last long with me, getting tired of their attempts to be what they think is Internet cool. Oh and their incessant retweeting of the daily whatsit. Christ if I wanted to read 12 ways you know you're irish etc I'd sign up to the ****tin thing myself.
    I suppose they're still finding their place but either be a news group or be a tabloid, you can't be both.

I've the same grumble, I think they news stories are grand, they're short and to the point, but those
    Gongoozler wrote: »
    12 ways you know you're irish etc
    are complete and utter nonsense.
    Oh and that insufferable bore Lisa Mc-something, that chick seriously needs to get herself laid or some new vibrator batteries.
    Or learn to meditate, something to relax herself anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

The Irish Times and the Guardian..

...cause I am better than you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I like aggregaters like Google News or Newswhip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

The Journal. They basically steal all their news from the papers/RTE, and amalgamate it so you only have to go to one site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭wilkie2006

ToughOne wrote: »
    Daily Mail, for the pictures of hot girls :)

And don't forget: for this sort of shit too...

NAKED airline passenger is tasered by police after challenging plane captain to a fight on the tarmac (earning him a slap from his girlfriend)

Fucking hell...
    Witnesses said man, 52, stripped and yelled 'come on then' to captain
    His disgruntled companion squared up to him and smacked him round face
    The passenger is also said to have relieved himself against terminal building

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

darragh16 wrote: »
    The Journal ... purely for the ridiculous and outlandishly left/right wing comments. Everything from the disaffected voter to the conspiracy theorist. they've all bases covered!

So many Shinners in the comments section. It's basically a social club for them at this point.

The Journal. They basically steal all their news from the papers/RTE, and amalgamate it so you only have to go to one site.

That's how online news works, and has worked for the past 10 years, to be honest. You get what you pay for and when you don't pay, you don't get the same standard of original reporting, investigative reports and insightful columnists. I find The Journal to be extremely precious whenever any newspapers report (and credit) the six or so original stories they break every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭paintitblack

The journal for entertainment and the guardian for news. The guardian also has a great music section

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

The guardian during the week (maybe the observer if i'm on a train or plane,nice size),times on the weekend and maybe the business post on sunday for the technology section.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

Independent, it's feckin free everywhere I go for lunch/coffee I find a copy and then I got addicted to the crosswords so I buy it if I'm given the option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Lad Of Banter

rte.ie
    thejournal.ie
    news.bbc.co.uk
    news.bbc.co.uk/sport
    cnn.com
    football365.com
    cracked.com
    boards.ie

twitter, facebook, etc... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

I like the bit about India. That is one f**ked up sub continent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Physical? Evening Standard, because it's free and there's feck all else to do on the tube

Online? Guardian, Irish Times, New York Times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

me

independent.ie / independent.uk and http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/

I cant stand the guardian, far too left wing and the daily fail is far too right wing for my liking

College assignment, right? ;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,547 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Ditto.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

Newsfeeds: Irish Times, RTE, BBC
    Paper (sometimes): Irish Times

I am unable to read red tops as I skip anything to do with:
    football
    celebs
    random ****e, TV related ****e etc
    stupid games
    anything with a ridiculously large font
    any article with a huge pic and only 3 lines of text

So before you know it I've reached the last page without reading an article.

• Site Banned Posts: 9 skirt_hunter

Physical? Evening Standard, because it's free and there's feck all else to do on the tube

the holy trinity of middle class liberal reading

The Times
    The Sun
    The Guardian
    The Journal
    Newswhip
    Giant Bomb
    Aint It Cool News
    The AV Club
    Gameological Society
    Eurogamer
    EDGE
    Games TM
    Game Informer
    Empire
    Gulf Times
    Doha News
    BBC Football
    Guardian Football
    Football Italia
    Football Espana
    ESPN

I read too much actually :-/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I don't buy any newspaper, and don't really have a preference for online versions either. I'll read an article if it interests me and is brought to my attention through Twitter or Boards or whatever, but I'd rarely browse any news site casually.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Online: Irish Times RTE and The Guardian for world news.

I rarely buy printed newspapers, if I do, it would be the Irish Times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

Gave up on newspapers a long time ago; if there is an author I find who I like, I stick their RSS feed into RSSOwl to keep up.

It's a lot more informative, to just read from the authors you know are good quality, than to expose yourself to all the crap out there - eventually the crap starts rubbing off onto you otherwise, no matter how smart you are at picking it out.

A few I follow:
    Slashdot - Read it more often for the funny/informative comments, than the actual articles
    Naked Capitalism - I try (fail lately) to keep up with this, for (gradually) learning about everything that's wrong with economics (which is almost everything...) and how it affects politics, as well as for getting alternative narrative on events
    Glenn Greenwald - Been following his writing for years; probably one of the most principled/critically-thinking/intelligent journalists in any news outlet; Edward Snowden deciding to blow the whistle to Glenn, was not a random choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭Degringola

Read both tabloids and broadsheets. I find that the tabloids are less politically correct and will say it straight out where the broadsheets can skirt around an issue/story.

What horrifies me is the fact that so much of the news is now supplied by the agencies and you can read the same reports word for word across multiple papers. All singing from the same hymn sheet. You end up then with only one bias, particularly when it's to do with conflicts.
    It's as of the word goes out from somewhere on high: these are the good guys and those are the bad guys and then that line is pushed everywhere. Gleichschaltung the Germans call it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

The Guardian, it's the only mainstream newspaper that isn't afraid to challenge the perceived order.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

Degringola wrote: »
    What horrifies me is the fact that so much of the news is now supplied by the agencies and you can read the same reports word for word across multiple papers. All singing from the same hymn sheet. You end up then with only one bias, particularly when it's to do with conflicts.
    It's as of the word goes out from somewhere on high: these are the good guys and those are the bad guys and then that line is pushed everywhere. Gleichschaltung the Germans call it.

Totally agree with that. The Murdochs of this world are ensuring a lot of newspapers are pretty much castrated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,091 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

love the guardian, read online and always buy the saturday edition.
    like the telegraph at the weekends for travel reading.
    keep up with news on journal and here of course:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

The Guardian, it's the only mainstream newspaper that isn't afraid to challenge the perceived order.

So long as it has a left wing slant

Moi is a Torygraph reader online, refuse to pay for it as it has gone to cat, but it did get the Mp expenses story

Dream paper

Guardian with some Sub Editors from the SUN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

The right wing ones don't actually do real journalism for the main. They stick to the govermental narrative and don't question or investigate it.

Just look at most of todays newspapers (english at least), they all have run a press release from MI5. That's not journalism.. that's behaving as a mouthpiece... I find it funny when they go on about press freedoms and government intervention, when most of the time they tell the governments POV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

The Guardian, the Daily Mail (:o, no point denying it though!), the Telegraph, the New York Times.

No Irish ones. They're all dire. Yes, including the Irish Times. At least the Daily Mail is good for da lulz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭SimonQuinlank

Guardian and Washington Post online.

Usually read the Evening Herald if someone brings it home in the evening,if only to laugh at just how dire it is!

Idiots posting links on Facebook to the Journal and it's crap articles have put me off ever even looking at their site.

I usually buy the 'pay what you like' digital edition of The Blizzard for football too.Great read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Der Spiegel and WAZ Zeitung... Because I live in Germany.

I would read Irish newspapers online too, but the awful writing, basic schoolchild errors and piss-poor editing makes me want to cry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

OneArt wrote: »
    Der Spiegel and WAZ Zeitung... Because I live in Germany.

I would read Irish newspapers online too, but the awful writing, basic schoolchild errors and piss-poor editing makes me want to cry.

Be more of a "Titanic"man myself;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Irish Examiner and Irish Times.

British papers for features/opinion more than news - Times/Indie/Guardian.

To be fair to the "The Guardian is toooo liberal derp" heads, it can be a bit too right-on at times.

Daily Mail website articles the odd time yeh, blocking out the panel to the right that features young girls' appearances being dissected.
    the holy trinity of middle class liberal reading
    Oh noez, "middle-class"! "Liberal"!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭markomuscle

manchester evening news, to see what crime has been happening in the area.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 121 ✭✭Mark Twain

I'll have a read of the RTE website. Maybe the Drudge Report.

Current affairs doesn't interest me all that much. Same sh1t, different day. I find history a much more satisfying concept.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

The Guardian would be my main paper. Yes, I do agree that it's irritatingly right-on as other posters have said and I like to read those articles just for an auld cringe but most of the stuff is good journalism and lots of frivolous stuff too to while away the hours. I'd read the British Independent too the odd time.

The Irish Times is grand for the news from home but the more time I'm away from home, the less interest I have in the news from there. :(

I'd click on article from The Journal that are posted on Facebook. Seems to be some decent journalists on there and some good commentary pieces. Avoid the comments page because I don't want to get angry.

I'd also read the Spanish paper El Pais. Basically the lefty paper here in Spain. The rest of them hark back to the Franco era and are harrowing reads.