Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Caught running red light

• 09-10-2013 8:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48

What's happening to people running red lights at the moment? 5 cyclists pulled in yesterday at Kenilworth after running the red light, one right behind the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭xabi

Good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

Laker04 wrote: »
    What's happening to people running red lights at the moment? 5 cyclists pulled in yesterday at Kenilworth after running the red light, one right behind the other.

I 've heard they 're thrown into a crocodile pit. That'll teach them :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭dobman88

About time, some cyclists are worse than taxi's for running reds and pulling out in front of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭the cats pajamas

they are made eat their helmets and if they weren't wearing any, they are made eat the bicycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

Hopefully they'll crack down on footpath cycling and salmon next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭the.red.baron

fookin salmin

Salmon%20Fillets%20CREDIT%20AquaBounty.jpg

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Thats a bit fishy!

I've got my coat and am walking out the door.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭McTigs

How stupid was the guy at the back, surely he could could see the others getting caught.

also, this is good news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

This is good though, its for their own safety.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Good. I dont know how many times I've nearly been hit by one of these numpties while crossing with the green man, and my little dog too :eek:

Next stop, footpath cycling - maddening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

Warnings and/or fines I would imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭EB_2013

Any idea how much the fines are that they are dishing out? I spotted a couple of cyclists pulled over near the Five Lamps in North Strand yesterday evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,283 ✭✭✭Deedsie

Great to hear, any chance Gardaí would come out and police the Merrion Road, Rock Road. Traffic lights might as well not even be there by the behaviour of 90% of cyclists running straight through red lights. Head wrecking.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

Good. Some twat nearly rammed into me once (in a bad way :-) ) because he didn't expect a fellow cyclist to stop at the red light. Moron.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Merrion Square could benefit from this, it's madness in the morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 Laker04

Warnings and/or fines I would imagine.

But how would they police/enforce this? You're not obliged to carry ID when cycling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭morana

EB_2013 wrote: »
    Any idea how much the fines are that they are dishing out? I spotted a couple of cyclists pulled over near the Five Lamps in North Strand yesterday evening.

think that was an accident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭logically

One assumes this is because it is Road Safety Week. Pity this is not done all year round.

I'm only recently (last 5 weeks) using a bike to commute in to work. It's a real eye opener for me to see how many break red lights. Coming towards a busy crossroads this morning I slowed down approaching the line of traffic at the red light. Cycle lane is dotted and very narrow, so I always approach with caution.

The lady on the bike behind me was up on the path at speed to pass me out as I was slowing down, so she could join the shoal in front who were waiting for pedestrian light on the left road to go green so they knew it was "safe" to go through the red light for through traffic.

Utter madness.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

But how would they police/enforce this? You're not obliged to carry ID when cycling.

If they are issuing a fine, and can't ascertain who you are, don't they bring you down to the station, to "make enquiries"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭morana

logically wrote: »
    One assumes this is because it is Road Safety Week. Pity this is not done all year round.

I'm only recently (last 5 weeks) using a bike to commute in to work. It's a real eye opener for me to see how many break red lights. Coming towards a busy crossroads this morning I slowed down approaching the line of traffic at the red light. Cycle lane is dotted and very narrow, so I always approach with caution.

The lady on the bike behind me was up on the path at speed to pass me out as I was slowing down, so she could join the shoal in front who were waiting for pedestrian light on the left road to go green so they knew it was "safe" to go through the red light for through traffic.

Utter madness.

just wait until the cars and taxi's start messing around with you...you will then know what utter madness is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

About 15 xbroke the light on Wexford Street across in front of me yesterday. Like lemmings.

MarkR wrote: »
    If they are issuing a fine, and can't ascertain who you are, don't they bring you down to the station, to "make enquiries"?

There's two assumptions there I'm trying to get clarification on. Surely there's someone on here who has been caught, anyone willing to own up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 722 ✭✭✭flatface

Utter madness.

I've seen a lot of silly and or dangerous actions from road users over the years but cyclists using a green man to cross a road is hardly "utter madness".
    The police should rightly pull them up and hopefully issue fines, but the rest of us should just get on life and restrain from hysterical reactions and in some cases road rage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Surveyor11

Just as easy if they catch you breaking the law as a pedestrian. Giving false information to a Guard is just going to land you in more sh!te.

I once saw a cyclist breaking a red light while blowing smoke in a pregnant woman's face, on his way to leave his bike in a disabled spot so he could attend a pro-life march where activists were garnering media attention by machine gunning cats... Oh wait...confuses threads....:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

These people could lose their licence and or have endorsements placed on the same. Even if they don't hold one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Surveyor11

The approach to enforcement seems to be inconsistent - I witnessed a Garda van travelling up the Ballyowen Lane in Lucan Thursday morning last. At each of the junctions (bar none), at least 2 - 3 cars broke the red lights coming onto this road. Some very late. Also cars heading up the bus lane - one guy spotted the garda van, tried to get back onto the road and almost caused an accident in doing so. Saw one cyclists getting pulled for breaking a red on the same stretch a few weeks ago. Have also seen some crazy situations in town under the nose of Garda cars (including the Traffic Crop) which went ignored and unpunished.

The Guards should sent out a message that all road users breaking the law will be pulled and prosecuted. Sending out a mixed message enhances the casual approach, IMHO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

There's two assumptions there I'm trying to get clarification on. Surely there's someone on here who has been caught, anyone willing to own up?

I know one person who was caught. She was able to prove her ID on the spot, a court summons followed shortly after which meant a day off work to attend as there was no on-the-spot or summary fine option.

A load of cyclists were all seen at the same time in court and given fines.

ToughOne wrote: »
    So fuc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

The Gardai don't give fines to cyclists (yet!). They have to take their details and give a vague indication as to what may happen next.

In anywhere between 3 and 9 months time the cyclist may receive a summons to court through their letterbox.

The cyclist and the Guard have to attend court and the cyclist will get a fine in the region of €200, or more if they do not show up in court.

The system is weak in that the Guard doesn't know if they are going to get around to summonsing the cyclist, and the cyclist does not know if they are going to receive a summons. Twelve months after the incident the cyclist could consider themselves to be in the clear if they have not heard anything. What happens if the cyclist moves home in that time? The summons would arrive at their old address, they would not show up to court and a fine of €500 to €1000 would be against their name somewhere in 'the system'.

The proposed new system is an on the spot fine the Guard can give to the transgressor. Far better for all parties as everyone knows where they stand. I think it will be next year before this kicks in.

Bear in mind there are no new laws being enforced, going through reds, etc. always carried a penalty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,640 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

I've been done for breaking a red on the way down from kimmage to harolds cross bridge. Its a pretty safe light to break, the traffice merging onto ur lane is in a different lanbe, so long as theres no bus or taxi its safe.
    Anyway never got a summons but a few months later, after I'd moved from the house a fine for €250 arrived for me

On-going

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭galwaycyclist

You're not obliged to carry id full stop. But nowadays most people have some form of bank/credit card or social services card on them.

You're obliged to have your driving license with you when you're driving!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

flatface wrote: »
    I've seen a lot of silly and or dangerous actions from road users over the years but cyclists using a green man to cross a road is hardly "utter madness".
    The police should rightly pull them up and hopefully issue fines, but the rest of us should just get on life and restrain from hysterical reactions and in some cases road rage.

There is a junction we go through on the school run that is a good example of cyclists crossing on the green man. The junction has five roads meeting in one spot and there are no filter lights, so making right turns against traffic is challenging for the more nervous or cautious cyclist. Rolling through slowly during the pedestrian phase works for a lot of people at that spot, and I can't really blame them. However, there is on occasion the odd nutter that flies through a cloud of pedestrians, and I can't condone that.

(Do I need to point out that we wait for the green light for traffic? Probably.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭dave_o_brien

You're obliged to have your driving license with you when you're driving!

When carrying out a regulated activity for which you must be licenced, you must carry proof that you are appropriately qualified and currently insured as per the agreement you entered into with the relevant licensing authorities to grant you the privilege of that activity.

When you are not, you are not required to carry any form of id.

It's an offence to provide false information to a garda, so often they'll ask for id to ensure you don't lie. If they believe you to be lying, they can detain you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

Green&Red wrote: »
    I've been done for breaking a red on the way down from kimmage to harolds cross bridge. Its a pretty safe light to break, the traffice merging onto ur lane is in a different lanbe, so long as theres no bus or taxi its safe.

What about other cyclists? What about car traffic that wants to enter a destination on the left? Like a parking spot, or the hospice?

From looking at the junction (presuming it's the Y-fork here: http://goo.gl/maps/0b3my), the bus lane is absent on the far side of the junction, so any traffic would be entitled to be in that space, and would probably not be watching for someone breaking a traffic light.

Of course, were you to commute through that junction regularly from the Terenure direction, you'd regularly encounter idiots who believe they are breaking the light 'safely' and are unaware of the manoeuvres other road users are performing in order not to hit them. Or at least, that's my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭logically

flatface wrote: »

No actually, you appear to have misread. The lady cyclist I speak of, went straight through the red light as did the others in the shoal. As far as I am concerned, it is utter madness to break a red light.

What "hysterical reactions" are you talking about for goodness sake?

When carrying out a regulated activity for which you must be licenced, you must carry proof that you are appropriately qualified and currently insured as per the agreement you entered into with the relevant licensing authorities to grant you the privilege of that activity.

Was there really a need to formalise what I just said?
    Of course, were you to commute through that junction regularly from the Terenure direction, you'd regularly encounter idiots who believe they are breaking the light 'safely' and are unaware of the manoeuvres other road users are performing in order not to hit them. Or at least, that's my experience.

Don't really see that there much anymore. Took great delight years ago at one fella who did some serious island hopping in front of a garda motorbike at that junction getting pulled in. This was when a blind eye was turned to running through reds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭dave_o_brien

Was there really a need to formalise what I just said?

I was trying to clearly differentiate between the need to carry a licence for the purposes of engaging in a restricted activity, and the need to carry identification on a day-to-day basis. One is required by law, the other is not. To suggest a licence is an id is not accurate; they will be accepted as a form of id, but that is not their primary purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭topcat77

I've given up caring! don't want to feel road rage when cycling. My thought is to give yourself an extra 5 mins and enjoy your commute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭Gerry T

Can anyone clarify this -- are you allowed to cycle through a junction when the green man is on for pedestrians, I don't know if you can in all cases but I do remember seeing at some junctions the green man with a bike !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Gerry T wrote: »
    Can anyone clarify this -- are you allowed to cycle through a junction when the green man is on for pedestrians, I don't know if you can in all cases but I do remember seeing at some junctions the green man with a bike !

No, you are not allowed to cycle through a junction when the green man is on for pedestrians.

The only exception is where there is a shared use cycle-lane footpath, such as on the grand canal cycle track, and it is made clear when cyclists may go by the green bicycle light.

If there's a red light facing you, don't go through.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

You can ignore the pedestrian light unless you're a pedestrian. Wait for the green light for bicycles if there is one, otherwise the normal green light.

EDIT: Damn you Darkglasses! Damn you and your nimble fingers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭Gerry T

No, you are not allowed to cycle through a junction when the green man is on for pedestrians.

The only exception is where there is a shared use cycle-lane footpath, such as on the grand canal cycle track, and it is made clear when cyclists may go by the green bicycle light.

If there's a red light facing you, don't go through.

Thanks for clarifying, wasn't sure. Cycle mostly out of town so not really an issue for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

...As far as I am concerned, it is utter madness to break a red light...

If its utter madness, what's your thoughts on it being legal in other countries.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Right_turn_on_red
    http://www.lasvegassun.com/news/2013/sep/27/new-law-lets-cyclists-go-through-stalled-red-light/
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/europe/france/9067129/Paris-cyclists-given-right-to-break-traffic-laws.html
    http://road.cc/content/news/52423-paris-gives-green-light-trial-scheme-allow-red-light-jumping-cyclists

Breaking red lights isn't a black and white issue. If was extremely dangerous, because there are so many who do it, it would be carnage on the streets. But there isn't. So this isn't about danger (at least not all of the time) its about following the rules/laws. They changed the law about cyclist staying in the cycling lane. Rather than have mindless enforcement one week a year. Perhaps it should be re looked at the cause and effect of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭dreamerb

buffalo wrote: »
    From looking at the junction (presuming it's the Y-fork here: http://goo.gl/maps/0b3my), the bus lane is absent on the far side of the junction, so any traffic would be entitled to be in that space, and would probably not be watching for someone breaking a traffic light.
    Very familiar with this junction, and there is a bus lane on the far side of the junction. In theory*, during bus lane hours, an observant cyclist who checks that there's no north-bound bus, taxi or cyclist (or illegal bus lane user) would be able to break the red light without danger or inconvenience to themselves or any other road-user. It's a light that's frequently red for me: I don't break it (terribly law-abiding, me), but lots of cyclists do and the only negative repercussion I've ever seen was someone getting pulled over by a Garda - which, frankly, didn't say a whole lot for his powers of observation. :rolleyes:
    buffalo wrote: »
    Possibly, if some numpty breaks the light into the path of another vehicle, but I've not seen that happen (not saying it doesn't). I'd guess that the effect of light-breaking there is more that drivers stopped at the lights get irritated with cyclists and make gross generalisations about the inability of cyclists to obey the rules of the road, etc.

* I do not advocate or condone breaking the lights even if "cautiously" and "safely" done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Of course you can, you just need to put both feet on the ground whilst crossing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

One of my customers got pulled last friday for going through a red light and the guard went through him!

Even got breathalised. :D

Personally, I am glad its happening. I have seen so many cyclists (and cars), disregard basic rules of the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭bobcranfret

fookin salmin

I think the salmon are the worst..........nearly got taken out by a courier as I went to cross Merrion Row on foot.

I was trying to clearly differentiate between the need to carry a licence for the purposes of engaging in a restricted activity, and the need to carry identification on a day-to-day basis. One is required by law, the other is not. To suggest a licence is an id is not accurate; they will be accepted as a form of id, but that is not their primary purpose.

Comes across as being overly anal.

I wouldn't think so. The junction between Terenure and Rathfarnham at the Dodder has a green man with a bike that comes on with the green pedestrian lights that come on simultaneously over the four roads at the junction. The question is why aren't more junctions laid out like this? e.g. the one further up the road at Kenilworth.