Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Warning to Cyclists on Grand Canal Greenway Davitt Road

• 08-10-2013 3:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭

if you are a comuter along Davitt Road along the Greenway the local "youves" have taken up a new sport. See if you can hit the cyclist on the head with the rock you have thrown from the far side of Davitt Road.
    I have seen them at this for a few days now, and they got me yesterday evening. Lucky they did not knock me into the Canal. I called the Guards, and e-mailed them today.
    Drives me mental that nothing will be done about this :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:, and the advice to come will be cycle a diffrent route home. :(
    Just be warned!!! As usual in Ireland, someone will need to be killed before some action is taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭TonyStark

idiottje wrote: »
    if you are a comuter along Davitt Road along the Greenway the local "youves" have taken up a new sport. See if you can hit the cyclist on the head with the rock you have thrown from the far side of Davitt Road.
    I have seen them at this for a few days now, and they got me yesterday evening. Lucky they did not knock me into the Canal. I called the Guards, and e-mailed them today.
    Drives me mental that nothing will be done about this :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:, and the advice to come will be cycle a diffrent route home. :(
    Just be warned!!! As usual in Ireland, someone will need to be killed before some action is taken.

Did they not come out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭idiottje

TonyStark wrote: »
    Did they not come out?

They said they did 10 mins after they called, but I know they did'nt because I was still there for 20 mins after I called. The "youves" had moved on by then. They saw me making the call, and threw more stones, and gave the fingers. Davitt Road is the most dangerous part of that route IMHO. The traveler halting site at Ballyfermot never gives any problems, apart from horse sh1te on the path.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,641 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

If it was a constant thing it would be idea to go down and fire a few of them in to the canal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭jgreene83

idiottje wrote: »
    Davitt Road is the most dangerous part of that route IMHO.

Totally agree with you there, also near the locks at Park West can be dodgy enough as well, had trouble at the lock, just after you have to go under the Kylemore Road, with the local rif raf there during the summer. Hopefully things will improve now that we're coming into the winter but I could be wrong, I've only started using this route this year. Anyone know, I use it all the way to Adamstown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Páid

Last week I have two young scobies throw a lit firework at me from behind while I was going through the gate at Parkwest. Luckily it didn't hit me and when I saw it I cycled away as fast as possible. I didn't report it but now I think I should have.

Michael196 posted the phone number for SDCC Security Control here - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=86746003
    if you do use the Grand Canal path regularly and experience any difficulties in the first instance you should contact the South Dublin County Council security control room on 087-7760612.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭idiottje

Left work 15 mins early yesterday, and cycled the usual route. Saw 2 Garda on the beat on Davitt Road. Delighted to see them. I am going to mail Crumlin Garda to thank them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Páid

I didn't see anyone throwing stones yesterday evening when I passed by Davitt Road at about 7pm.

I did see a crowd of about 10 lads (approx 14-16 years) bringing three loads of palettes down the path between the Luas and the canal.