Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's your car worth?

• 08-10-2013 2:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭

There have been a few comments in the Do you "own" your car poll stating that the number of people in the Motors forum that own their own car is much higher than the general population, usually because they buy older cars to get the ones they want and are comfortable in looking after them.

Given that nearly 90% of Motors users own their own car according to that poll, I'm wondering what the spread in the values of the cars are.

What's your car worth? 217 votes

0 - 5k
    0% 0 votes
    5k - 10k
    59% 129 votes
    10k - 15k
    23% 51 votes
    15k - 20k
    11% 25 votes
    20k+
    5% 12 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

The Jag is worth maybe €2,500, the Xsara I suppose about €1,500.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Almera as it sits is only worth scrap value, the MX5 is worth about a grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

Wheres the priceless option?
    If i was offered triple what I paid for the car id still refuse it!:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭draiochtanois

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭piston

What's a 1.1L 205 worth these days? Peanuts.:(

But it'll be a classic if I keep it long enough:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭Paddy Fields

Scortho wrote: »
    Wheres the priceless option?
    If i was offered triple what I paid for the car id still refuse it!:P

I was thinking the same thing. I have a 10-year old Avensis with 24,000 miles on the clock and I wont sell it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭BuzzFish

Alfa 156 with 223,000 Miles on the clock

Tree fiddy I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dh0011

10 year old avensis might get 2K for it but I wont be selling it

BuzzFish wrote: »
    Alfa 156 with 223,000 Miles on the clock

Tree fiddy I'd say.

Had to confirm you weren't a rereg there, damn!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭BuzzFish

CianRyan wrote: »
    Had to confirm you weren't a rereg there, damn!

A rereg?

OSI wrote: »
    Exactly what I paid for it 20 months ago apparently.

Asking price for mine (GTI also, 2006) are on average ranging from about 1k less to about 500 euro more than I paid almost two years ago. Mine has much lower miles than most though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

I lol'd :pac:

Every car I own is worth a lot less than 5k. Maybe if I add them all up I might get into the second option! I've two '86, one '97, one '98 and one '00 cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

BuzzFish wrote: »
    A rereg?

A user who was known for his alfa loving was banned recently from the motors forum and has a 156, which is why Cian was on about you being a rereg.

He also says 3.50 a lot... A lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Wheres My ForkandKnife

04 RX8 "large mileage"

"04 W211E320 CDI "large mileage"

About €100 a tonne at my best guess!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

I said 10-15k, I reckon still worth 10-11k given the lack of irish examples, especially with non paddy spec and FBMWSH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

E46 M3 Vert, about €6/7k if I got lucky; but I wouldn't since we're tax mad. Good thing I'm not selling

My trusty previous, a '00 206 1.1L ..about €400, which considering she has a brand new LUK Clutch and front to back exhaust in her is a bit sickening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

09 Subaru Legacy Estate Diesel, I'd say about 16k
    05 Toyota Corolla Verso Diesel I'd say about the 7-8k mark

E46 M3 Vert, about €6/7k if I got lucky; .
    Lex Luthor wrote: »
    05 Toyota Corolla Verso Diesel I'd say about the 7-8k mark

Mad thing about this country when a bog standard econobox is the same value as a similar age M3. Madness, and only in Ireland
    (no offense meant to Lex Luthor btw, just illustrating a point)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Mad thing about this country when a bog standard econobox is the same value as a similar age M3. Madness, and only in Ireland
    (no offense meant to Lex Luthor btw, just illustrating a point)

Well mine is a late '02 import, so the '05 is a bit younger but I'll accept your point even so. Really though it's the only way I'd be able to afford an M3 :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I'd like to think its worth 5k euro. But whether id get that or not I don't know as prices seem to fluctuate a lot but it does have low mileage. Probably doesn't really matter as if I keep it for 4 years at which stage it will have big enough mileage then it will be worthless hence why my brother will be getting it then to learn in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

About €700 if I'm lucky so feck all. 00 focus

CianRyan wrote: »
    He also says 3.50 a lot... A lot.

If it were a re-reg surely we should keep quiet about it LOL :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

I said 10-15k, I reckon still worth 10-11k given the lack of irish examples, especially with non paddy spec and FBMWSH

Did you pay 11 for it?

cabb8ge wrote: »
    Did you pay 11 for it?
    €12000 end of May
    Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

About 3 times what it costs to tax for a year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

€12000 end of May
    Why?

was in wonder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

My e60 I bought for 5,500. I picked 0-5k to be realistic :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭efc67

07...1.3 Astra diesel, probably about €4500, wont be selling like, while i am getting about 110km to the gallon on long journeys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

to a buyer worth 2-2.5k....
    to me though, i can confidently say i couldn't replace it with something i'd like more with much less than 6k, so to me its worth that :)

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

€2k

Never plan on selling it as by the time I'm looking at something newer it will be only worth a year's tax and I'm not being somebody's bangernomics bítch

efc67 wrote: »
    07...1.3 Astra diesel, probably about €4500, wont be selling like, while i am getting about 110km to the gallon on long journeys

Thats 30 km more to the gallon than I every got out of my 08 1.3 astra I'd have kept it if I was getting 110km to the gallon :eek:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Looking at the results it's little wonder that Skodas are so popular here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,186 ✭✭✭cletus

I'd like to think I'd get €500 for it ('99 fiesta) especially as it come with OEM rear wheel arch rust

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

6500 or so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Hahahahaha ah thats some range there..... None of my yokes are worth more than a few hundred, maybe the BMW's are worth a bit more.

The 406, prob about 400 tops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Well..it's daysul, so by the mindest of people buying about one million euro.

Realisticly, 2.5-3k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

7 year old xsara petrol, €2k-€3k probably

Bpmull wrote: »
    Thats 30 km more to the gallon than I every got out of my 08 1.3 astra I'd have kept it if I was getting 110km to the gallon :eek:

Was yours a 6 speed??......i travel down to Cork a good bit and always work it out that way

efc67 wrote: »
    Was yours a 6 speed??......i travel down to Cork a good bit and always work it out that way

Yep six speed. I mainly drove from Kilkenny to cork in mine and I'd be a fairly economical driver. Thinking about it if yours is the car version mine was the longer van (estate type) version So was probably heavier. You'd be right to keep your one theres not much on the road that will beat that in terms of mpg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I'd be about identical I reckon. On the plus, I was right about the average value of car in here.

Bpmull wrote: »
    Yep six speed. I mainly drove from Kilkenny to cork in mine and I'd be a fairly economical driver. Thinking about it if yours is the car version mine was the longer van (estate type) version So was probably heavier. You'd be right to keep your one theres not much on the road that will beat that in terms of mpg.

Yeah mine is the Hatchback, they are quite rare, plus i cant afford another car at the moment, so thats another reason why i wont be parting with it ;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Integra Type R, JDM 98 spec(born in xmas 1998 :)). Feck knows what they go for now. I've seen prices as high as 4-5 grand but I'd reckon they're dreaming. I'd reckon more like 3-4 grand tops these days.

It's bog standard, in good nick and doesn't use a drop of oil(which for one of them is nothing short of bloody miraculous) and will easy do 35 mpg IF driving like a granny. Set agin that it's got 150,000 clicks on it, no ABS, no airbags, so more than a bit basic. Then again it does have a SpoonSport built engine* so maybe that would add a few quid for your JDM fans? I doubt it.

TBH I dunno what I'd replace it with. Put it this way if I won the euromillions I'd have a buying list of other fancier cars, but I'd keep the Teggy and keep driving it too. Decent boot, great seats and driving position, easy to work on, a real connection with the road with no electronic condoms in the way and every roundabout is a joy even at low/legal speeds. The damn thing has actually saved my life twice. Plus because it's raw and I do mean raw(when I drive modern cars I think I've gone deaf) one side effect on me is I actually drive a little slower. In my mates Merc 90 Mph feels like nothing at all, in a Teg R 90 MPH you know you're moving and it feels dangerous, cos well it is dangerous.

On the other hand if I was living in the US of A, I could tick the 10-15k maybe even a little more, but sadly I'm not. :)

*Just the engine block and head bit. Exhaust etc is standard. TBH an NCT tester pointed it out to me. I didn't know. Orange paint over engine block number and wee Spoon metal plaque under the exhaust. Doesn't give any extra power mind you, just means its fully blueprinted(as explained to me by the guru of such things our GarITR. As usual dealing with me he had to break out the crayons to explain. :D)

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

conzy wrote: »
    €2k

Never plan on selling it as by the time I'm looking at something newer it will be only worth a year's tax and I'm not being somebody's bangernomics bítch

Wish I could keep it, but I simply dont have the room to keep it. Not that I plan on selling it any time soon:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Ipro

Haven't a clue! Give me your gusses.

01 320d (136hp)
    Last month service , 4 new tyres 1 years road tax and 1years nct.
    130k genuine miles (like new inside and out)
    I'm guessing about 3k but like others said , I would never sell it for that if offered , some people just get very attached to their cars :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

Same here and that's hoping for the best.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Ipro wrote: »
    01 320d (136hp)
    Last month service , 4 new tyres 1 years road tax and 1years nct.
    130k genuine miles (like new inside and out)
    I'm guessing about 3k but like others said , I would never sell it for that if offered , some people just get very attached to their cars :-)
    That's a lot of car for three grand. Ain't depreciation great. :D I'd be the same, no way would I sell for that money. Like you say you can get attached and with a nice yoke like that it's easy to see why.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

Only 4 people with cars over 20k?
    That's very low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

That's very low.

Twas when I bought it 2 years ago, but 2 years and 60,000km will have hit it quite a bit.

Herself's was over 20k earlier this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

That's very low.

Is it really, though? You're on a motoring forum, based in Ireland. When you consider most iconic cars or cars motor enthusiast tend to buy (e46 M3, etc) weren't made in the last 8-10 years, you can't expect their value to be over 20k.

That only gets compounded when you start factoring in older cars, skylines, integras, levin, AE86's, E30/34/38

Go onto any forum for jap cars and the average year of manufacture is probably 1995-1998.