Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

120 - 130hp Tractors

• 06-10-2013 10:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,593 ✭✭✭

We are going to upgrade our tractor. It is used on a mixed farm for normal farm activities - slurry (1300gl), fertilizer spreading, trailer work, and operating a round baler. There is also a lot of road work involved too.

Per year, we would put on approx 300hrs. We are considering buying new this time and there is no brand loyalty.

I am not sure if demos are worth the difference, as in my opinion, when they are out with the farmer they are worked very hard with very little care. Is this a valid opinion?

We don't need a tractor that is laden with electrics, but realise that this is the way they are going.

What would be a good option?

Head says you can't beat a NH - esp in terms of spares and resale value and Masseys are underspec'ed for their price. I've no real experience of JD's other than people complaining about them.

I've not heard anything about Deutz/Same of this size - is there any reasons they are not popular?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭rs8

seen the case 125 (maxium?) at the ploughing have to say really liked it, secondhand jd 6430, new Holland t6040/50 massey 5470

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 gus66

definatly get with economy pto,good seat and passenger seat....slide out pickuphitch handy too....plus whatever spoolvalves...any make id say....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

We are going to upgrade our tractor. It is used on a mixed farm for normal farm activities - slurry (1300gl), fertilizer spreading, trailer work, and operating a round baler. There is also a lot of road work involved too.

Per year, we would put on approx 300hrs. We are considering buying new this time and there is no brand loyalty.

I am not sure if demos are worth the difference, as in my opinion, when they are out with the farmer they are worked very hard with very little care. Is this a valid opinion?

We don't need a tractor that is laden with electrics, but realise that this is the way they are going.

What would be a good option?

Head says you can't beat a NH - esp in terms of spares and resale value and Masseys are underspec'ed for their price. I've no real experience of JD's other than people complaining about them.

I've not heard anything about Deutz/Same of this size - is there any reasons they are not popular?

Can't see the logic in paying 60-70k on a brand new tractor for only300 hrs a year. From what you describe 120-130 hp is a bit on the big side. Mostly these will be 6pot or 4 pot turbo. Slurry tank at 1350 can be pulled by a 80-90 hp yoke. Baling can be done with 100hp when with a chopper. Not sure what kinda road work you are talking about but unless your pulling big trailers or regularly 12-15 tons then your going way over board.

That said if you really want something in that range there are plenty of 10 year 2nd hand yoke that'll be right up your street for a fraction of the cost. And at that kind of usage will last you another 10-15 years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Have you considered a MF 5465 really simple comfortable 6 pot turbo and is really fit for any hauling.

Lovely simple trouble free tractor. I may have a 08 to sell soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

300 hours isn't very much on a new tractor. Think again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

100HP 4 cylinder is more than good enough for what you need. Probably saves you 15000-20000..

Next for 300 hours, your far better off going into the second hand market. A 390 would do everything you listed for a sixth of the price of a new 125HP case or massey..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭caseman

Have to agree with most of above, I don't think you need a new tractor for only 300 hrs a year.
    I've a 1996 fiat f 130 for any of the heavy work, around 400 hrs a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,593 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

We were told at the time that we would need 120hp for the baler on our land. Thinking of buying new as we are fed up looking at other peoples sh1te on the secondhand market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Op how many bales are you doing. A good SH tractor 80-100HP that will do your work will cost around 20K, Road work is it hauling bales or similar.

Taking diesel and price of baler are you saving 3 euro/bale over a contractor. At 500 bales a year it would take your new tractor 30 year to pay for itself not to mind the economic value of the extra 20-30K it will cost you to buy such a tractor.

I prefer to pay over the top for a shuttle MF390 which will do you for 20+ years than buy new to do 300 hours a year.

We were told at the time that we would need 120hp for the baler on our land. Thinking of buying new as we are fed up looking at other peoples sh1te on the secondhand market.

depends on the size of the sward, and how heavy teh crop, also what kinda land have you.

there is actually better value in the 120-130hp tractor market then in the 100hp market for secondf hand yoke. Are you lookign at tradign in soemthing or will it be a sraight deal. Like the lads above said sayign 20-30k will be worth it soemwhere else. For teh amount of time you'll actually be usign the tractor you wont be getting the value from it. There are plenty of good second hand yokes floatign around you just need to look in the right place (obivious i know). Remeber many tractors are now bought on HP ffrom new so are upgradeed after say 5 years. many of these tractors are in very good condition espically if they have come from a regualr buyer to the deale. many dealers will know when one of thier regualr coustomers are going to change and so will be prepared for the trade in.

getting back to your 1st point on a simple tractor. one of y friends has a 2010 125HP zetor that is used for all his farm work, mowing, baling, loader work, spreading fertilzer etc. his loves it and is delighted with it. I dont like the right hand shuttle for loader work and i reckon the dry clutch is outdated for a modern tractor but it has done everythign he has asked of it and more so he would defo buy another. I would perfer a NH/case myself i i could afford an upgrade but thats just me.

I you have your heart set on a new yoke then your local dealer will love you. Gettign the right dealer is as (if not more) important then gettign teh right tractor.

If you really want to justify buying a brand new tractor, don't say that the second hand market is full of ****. There are plenty of good tractors out there on the market. Say something like "tax reasons" or "vanity" but not "fed up". Too much money me thinks.

Enjoy the sun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭ceannfort

Uncle bought a brand new new holland 5 years ago. Done similar hours and looked after it very well and sold it for more than he bought it for. If u have the money you could probably do worst things with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

We bought a new tractor 13 years ago with similar requirments. It now has 4000 hours, is good for another 13 years without any major repairs and still worth a decent % of its new value.

ceannfort wrote: »
    Uncle bought a brand new new holland 5 years ago. Done similar hours and looked after it very well and sold it for more than he bought it for. If u have the money you could probably do worst things with it.
    maidhc wrote: »
    We bought a new tractor 13 years ago with similar requirments. It now has 4000 hours, is good for another 13 years without any major repairs and still worth a decent % of its new value.

You can say the same about any tractor. i have a massey 675 it is falling apart paid 4K 10 years ago have not spend a fortune on it. Would still get 4K for it. Have a Ford 6610 about 3 years would expect to get more than I paid for it. Tractors because of there long life tend not to reduce in value as long as inflation is going at 3-4% however that is no reason to tie up 20-30K more than you need to on a tractor. 20K now would go ling way in putting up ma 4 bay slatted unit, 30K would get one to finish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

What amazes me is that the man came on here looking for advice on the makes and models of tractors. Only 2 people actually did. the rest, without knowing him or his financial situation basically told him that he couldn't afford one :rolleyes: I do hope he is not easily insulted ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

I'll throw Kubota into the ring and see what happens :D

We've a m128x which would fall right into your HP bracket. It has very little electrics compared to other makes. The cab is on the smaller side, comes with air seat, left hand shuttle, air con. etc. It has no bother baling and only when chopping a heavy, wet crop of silage or against a hill would you feel the pull. Spreads the slurry with a 1350 tanker no bother at all, lovely solid tractor on the hills.

All praise aside, they haven't really been around long enough to prove themselves in the same way that Massey or John Deere or such have. While they come with the Japanese name of reliability, they haven't had the chance to stand the test of time yet. They have faults like every other make, if they were perfect everyone would have one ;) They're worth a look anyway, even if only briefly. Best of luck buying.

You can say the same about any tractor. i have a massey 675 it is falling apart paid 4K 10 years ago have not spend a fortune on it. Would still get 4K for it. Have a Ford 6610 about 3 years would expect to get more than I paid for it. Tractors because of there long life tend not to reduce in value as long as inflation is going at 3-4% however that is no reason to tie up 20-30K more than you need to on a tractor. 20K now would go ling way in putting up ma 4 bay slatted unit, 30K would get one to finish.

Don't get me wrong, the combined age on my other three tractors is 110 years, and they all clock between 100-200 hours a year, but I don't think buying a new tractor is a bad idea at all when you consider how long they last.

Personally I would only buy a New Holland, Deere or MF, in that order with MF a distant third. I say that because of parts availability, and resale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Buy a fendt. Ull be the envy of all the neighbours :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭PN14

OP most of the main stream will have the same reliability / unreliability as each other in general terms. Of course there may be a lemon but there would seem to be fewer of these ranges now with all the manufacturers.
    In my opionion ur dealer should be the guy who will sway it for you. Who is closest gives the best service etc should be forefront of ur decision. All tractors now irrelevant of stated simplicity are a laptop job to diagnose which means the main dealer usually. Very few new machines are fully mechanical any more they all have lots of electronic sensors etc due to engine emision regulations. A good dealer service is what will get you going on the morning something is wrong.
    Any MF, NH, JD, valtra, deutz, class etc etc will be as good as the next. Try and test drive them and see what suits you. The layout of one may not be ur cup of tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭buffalobilly

Anyone on here know much about landing landpower 125 ?

Perfect for 300 hours per year.

http://www.belarus-tractors.ie/

Perfect for 300 hours per year.

http://www.belarus-tractors.ie/

God no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,141 ✭✭✭colrow

Is this a scam sorry for being off topic, it's a uk 0845 number, but says the yokes for sale in Cork at a ridiculous price
    http://www.donedeal.co.uk/tractors-for-sale/tractor-john-deere-5520/5794864

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Farmer

colrow wrote: »
    Is this a scam sorry for being off topic, it's a uk 0845 number, but says the yokes for sale in Cork at a ridiculous price

It is now
    Warning: "Tractor John Deere 5520"
    It has come to our attention that the ad "Tractor John Deere 5520" may not be a genuine ad .....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

colrow wrote: »

Donedeal have pulled it as it "May not be genuine". They do be on the ball, fair play to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

How long of a warranty is the norm with a new tractor now ?
    You hear alot of lads on about no one (except the lad with the diagnostic kit ) being able to fix the electronics of new tractors, but in a few years will it really be that expensive to sort out problems in these new age tractors ?
    If I ever buy a new tractor the button for the PTO would be some piece of comfort for me !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MFdaveIreland

delaval wrote: »
    Have you considered a MF 5465 really simple comfortable 6 pot turbo and is really fit for any hauling.

Lovely simple trouble free tractor. I may have a 08 to sell soon

The gear box aassuming it's the a-b splitter is hideous for the size of them, need dyna 4 at least, quite hard on diesel too

moy83 wrote: »
    How long of a warranty is the norm with a new tractor now ?
    You hear alot of lads on about no one (except the lad with the diagnostic kit ) being able to fix the electronics of new tractors, but in a few years will it really be that expensive to sort out problems in these new age tractors ?
    If I ever buy a new tractor the button for the PTO would be some piece of comfort for me !

To be honest, I think the electronics things is a bit overblown. Never had to go near a tractor, but I drive a 2001 Mercedes, with probably far too much electronics for its own good. I have had to address a few things, but for the most part, the electronics help rather than hinder resolving problems.

Again, I have an old Deere 575 baler, and it isn't too hard to keep the electronics going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

The gear box aassuming it's the a-b splitter is hideous for the size of them, need dyna 4 at least, quite hard on diesel too

It's dyna 4

reilig wrote: »
    What amazes me is that the man came on here looking for advice on the makes and models of tractors. Only 2 people actually did. the rest, without knowing him or his financial situation basically told him that he couldn't afford one :rolleyes: I do hope he is not easily insulted ;)

Relig one of the biggest mistakes most farmers do is overspend on machinery. Your financial situation is irrelevant a new tractor cost in the region of 35K+ from one of the mainstream dealers. That is for a 80-100HP. For 120+HP tractor add another 10K. My figures may be wrong as I am not up to date with tractor prices, after that add 6-8K for a loader. Just buy a tractor to save on tax is crazy a friend of mine did it only to relise that his young lad that worked on the farm at weekends and during the summer had 8K of a tax allowance unused that he could have paid him for his farm work
    Don't get me wrong, the combined age on my other three tractors is 110 years, and they all clock between 100-200 hours a year, but I don't think buying a new tractor is a bad idea at all when you consider how long they last.

Personally I would only buy a New Holland, Deere or MF, in that order with MF a distant third. I say that because of parts availability, and resale.

Madic I know your thinking but beware most new tractors are full of electrics and electronics. They may not have the lifespan of tractors that are 20 years old at present. Most may give problems with these electronics and electrics 20 years down the road. Also factor in the cost of repairing same. recently my daughter has a maintenance light on a Toyota Yaris 1999 now we had to take to a garage I usually do not deal with to switch it off for NCT as the smaller mechanics/garage did not have the reader to read and reset. Imagine the charge that a tractor dealer/mechanic will cost to deal with an issue like this on a tractor.

Within the next five year tractors that are on the road will more than likely have to go through a NCT/DOE type test. Where tis will lead us I do not know. Will mechanically simple tractors that are well maintained be easier to pass the test with??. Will they check newer tractors for carbon and fumes levels who knows.

The other thing is that even a 10 year old tractor with a loader can be bought for the mid twenties Keuro. A lot of these in the 80HP range are ex dairy farms with only 4-6K hours. They will as well have a loader and will not deprecaite that much over the next ten year.

Now maybe Relig I am a bit of a narc where spend on machinery is concerned it is not just tractors, it balers and slurry spreaders as well and jeeps too. But as farmers we are always cribbing that there is not money in farming and when we get a few pounds togeather we should consider all the options before spending it. And maybe we should not spend it at all but put it aside for to send kids through college or our old age etc.

Your's not into machinery
    Pudsey

Madic I know your thinking but beware most new tractors are full of electrics and electronics. They may not have the lifespan of tractors that are 20 years old at present.

I agree, in that I can't see a 40 year old fendt being hauled out of the briars and starting in 2053 in the way a 135 might.

That being said as electronics become more common they become more standardised and cheaper. As it happens I switched off the check engine light in my car with a €10 adaptor and my phone; and it also pointed out the problem was an 02 sensor, which if left alone would have caused me to burn a lot more petrol, so I think there are pro's and con's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭rs8

I do have to laugh at people say " oh if that's tractor lasts as long as the old ones it wount be doing bad" yet local contractor here has a 2010 john deere 6330 with 6000 hours on it in 3 years doing fair hard work silage/ tillage! oh course it wount last the pace as a massey 165 tipping around a field with a transport box!
    new tractors are made of mainly plastic so if anything there will not rot and outlast the "old ones" if minded!

op what tractor are you liking at the min?

I agree, in that I can't see a 40 year old fendt being hauled out of the briars and starting in 2053 in the way a 135 might.

That's where the Belarus will shine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

That's where the Belarus will shine!

Are they selling new Belarus' now ? A neighbour bought a few in a row and I wouldnt be a fan even though I suppose they did pull well and were fairly speedy on the road

Relig one of the biggest mistakes most farmers do is overspend on machinery. Your financial situation is irrelevant a new tractor cost in the region of 35K+ from one of the mainstream dealers. That is for a 80-100HP. For 120+HP tractor add another 10K. My figures may be wrong as I am not up to date with tractor prices, after that add 6-8K for a loader. Just buy a tractor to save on tax is crazy a friend of mine did it only to relise that his young lad that worked on the farm at weekends and during the summer had 8K of a tax allowance unused that he could have paid him for his farm work

Sure everyone has dreams. Maybe he has a good off farm job that will pay for a tractor. We don't know what anyone's situation is unless they tell us. I certainly don't think its fair to assume his situation and dictate to him what he can and cannot afford.

I posted this time 4 years ago about buying a new tractor and got the exact same advice that you are dealing. I'm certainly glad that I didn't listen. I couldn't be witout it now. It'll be paid for next year and will have been well worth it. It's still like new. I know other people at the time who bought second hand and were plagued with break downs.

The whole tractor industry needs people like the op to buy new tractors, keep people in jobs etc. If they didn't, then there would be no second hand tractors on the market!

Sure everyone has dreams. Maybe he has a good off farm job that will pay for a tractor. We don't know what anyone's situation is unless they tell us. I certainly don't think its fair to assume his situation and dictate to him what he can and cannot afford.

I posted this time 4 years ago about buying a new tractor and got the exact same advice that you are dealing. I'm certainly glad that I didn't listen. I couldn't be witout it now. It'll be paid for next year and will have been well worth it. It's still like new. I know other people at the time who bought second hand and were plagued with break downs.

The whole tractor industry needs people like the op to buy new tractors, keep people in jobs etc. If they didn't, then there would be no second hand tractors on the market!

I have a fairly decent off farm job and I would not consider it in the reasoning to buy a tractor. I look at most issue on return for money invested. In my opinion and I may be stupid if I had 45K to invest I would see no reason to tie it up in machinery that I only use 6-7 hours a week.

I be putting 30K into something else that would yield me a return. I be very slow to borrow for machinery. At present after dirt 30K is yielding 500 euro/year in the bank it will cost you at least 3.5 times that to borrow.

I just agree to differ relig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

We got a 6.155 nh last year and very happy with it, 120 hp and bit more wen on pto or road. Find it very comfortable and we've put in long days on it,(just shy of 1200 in the year) i spent my summers driving all sorts for contractors, but mainly deeres from 10 series right up to 30's and find nh much nicer place to be.

I'd luv a new tractor and it know it would last me a life time. I currently have a tractor and digger that are both over 25 years old but they run just fine. I do about 300 hrs on the tractor but could be 2-3 times that on the digger, between the 2 they do over a 1000 a year. If they both went I could probably say a new one would justifiable for the hours, but digger is fair handy and cost a fraction of a new tractor.

The tractors we have bought at home have mostly been 10-15 years old and we would keep them another 10-15 years so they would be 30 years old by the time they go. Perhaps I could say that I have paid off the full value of a new one over the same period but the initial out lay would just be too much for me to justify.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

what are you looking to trade in and how much do you reckon you can get for it? this will pretty much tell you what your budjet will be. every now and then when ever there is a big model chande of teh manufacturers want to get rid of stock soem very good offers appear. i remember a few years ago NH were offereign 0% finance on new T5's. depending on what you could trade in as a deposit you could actually get a very good brand new tractor for resonable repayments and in 5 years it would have been paid. claas and same have also had a few of them in the last few years. with the year end coming up soon you might see another offer like that coming.

sit downa dn do you sums and see what you can pay in repayments, what you can raise as a despoit/trade-in and see what offers are out there. Like the others say most new tractors will be dingers and if ther is a problem then back to the dealer. dependign on how long you plan on keepig it (and from what you say a new one would do you 20 years) then i would go for one of the main stream manufacturers (MF, CNH, JD, Zetor)as they'll always have a good trade in value.

I have a fairly decent off farm job and I would not consider it in the reasoning to buy a tractor. I look at most issue on return for money invested. In my opinion and I may be stupid if I had 45K to invest I would see no reason to tie it up in machinery that I only use 6-7 hours a week.

I be putting 30K into something else that would yield me a return. I be very slow to borrow for machinery. At present after dirt 30K is yielding 500 euro/year in the bank it will cost you at least 3.5 times that to borrow.

I just agree to differ relig.

But that's you. Not the OP. I have a decent enough off farm job too. But the new tractor was a good investment. Its return is not just a financial one, but it does have a financial return. It also allows me to get jobs done faster and better allowing me to send more time with my family. I have a seat for my child and it allows me to spend more time with her and develop her interest in the farm by spending more time with me in safety. It's first turn start. It doesn't break down when you need it most. You have comfort and safety - what's the price on that??

Maybe you and i are in different situations, but i believe that a rant at the op about spending money is out of place in a thread like this when the op did not ask anyone's opinion on finance. It happens in every thread like this and brings a black cloud over each one which shouldn't be there. A bit of optimism is refreshing for all of us to read, even if it's only a dream. Shattering every man's dream, ideal or idea by telling him that he cannot afford something (even if you don't know if he can or can't) is just pure pessimism IMO!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

i think alot of lads with off farmjobs go the new tractor route, accounts are a bit of a mystery to me but in simple terms as far as I can see if I didnt have a few machinery loans etc for the farm I would end up with a more tax to pay :mad:
    most brands offer 0% deals now which are great
    I will also give the kubotas a plug, have a 125mx, bought it new for handy money as there were newer models available at the time, like the OP i dont do big hrs but it does my baling mowing slurry etc, really happy with it, its very simple to operate and has good power and seems to be good enough on diesel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭F.D

I think for the horsepower the OP is looking for new is a safer bet anyway, secondhand could be more risky as you are looking at the sort of horsepower that could have been pulling a dumper, silage trailer etc and could have a lot of heavy work done.
    If you could look into some of the ex hire new hollands on the bord na mona jobs they could be good value with not too many hours on them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭pms7

Just on the 300 hours point. This is more than likely 300 engine hours off an analogue clock, which depending on type of work (high or low revs) could be equal to 1000 clock hours on digital clock. Have digital type with a year and shocked at how fast hours go up. Surely in terms of service interval and judging how much work an engine has done, clock hours are much more accurate? Why are most new tractors clock hours?

Any 120HP tractor from a major band with a loader will cost in near 50K(I think). Ignore trade in's,( main dealer gives poor value exporters were the gamre until latly) 0%finance(no such thing they discount you less). Tractors from 2000-2005 especially those from major brands all have extra seats or they canbe got for. My Ford 6610 has one and it is 23 years old.

To do 3-400 hours work a year that is 6-8.week or an hour a day. That is the reality. Yes you will ahve 6-8 years trouble free and then like any other tractor she will give trouble. A little issue here , she will not start this evening, there will be a hydrulic seal gone a few months later etc,etc

A well reconditioned older tractor will do much the same. Our biggest issue with tractors is we tend to under maintain. Change the oil and filters once a year and it will be grand. You do this with a new tractor and stall the digger you will be in trouble. So you will have much the same maintenance costs over a 10 yaer period.

I prefer to put the money into improving land (drainage etc)and yard faculities, a shed even one for existing small machinery. I would prefer to pay tax rather than use money on machinery to avoid same ( i am not alluding that this is why op is doing it but vanderbadger has bought up the issue) there are much more tax efficent vehicules.

Neith are farmers there to keep the machinery industry there, rather they are there to service the need pf the agri industry. Neither did I say he could not afford it relig rather I said that it is a poor investment choice. He gave baling as a reason that he required a 125HP tractor. I reckon being generous that he will save 3/bale @ 500 bales/year taht is 1500 euro over 10 year that 15K will he spend that amount of money on baler and difference in HP between a 80HP tractor and a 125 hP tractor.

Ib 20 years time the 80HP tractor will be more vaulable than the 125HP as a second hand and over it life will have maybe 40% less fuel consumption.

Maybe Relig you consider me a ranter however rather I look at costs and assertain if theyy make sence and make life easier. How long will OP spend on baler maintenance a year, a 80HP tractor no baler and a contractor doing the bales will make much more sence.

Along with that if he want to go and get a bit of timber down the field the 125HP tractor will have to do all small jobs with soild compaction issue etc around gaps gates etc.

If it was me I be going for a good SH 4WD and consider holding onto the best of the three older tractors. Maybe even keep a watch out for good 2WD tractor over time that will do as a backup. New tractors breakdown as well.

25K can do a lot around a farm and some of these things will give better lifestyle choices as well. fencing cattle crush's and handling faculituies ( somthing a lot of farms are short of) modifying housing or expanding same( at present it is cheaper than for a long time and the opportunity may pass over next 18 months as building prices rise). Buy a better type of bull that will breed better calves. I just look at differen thing to spend on

Maybe Relig you consider me a ranter however rather I look at costs and assertain if theyy make sence and make life easier. How long will OP spend on baler maintenance a year, a 80HP tractor no baler and a contractor doing the bales will make much more sence.

Again, as i said, the OP asked about tractor brands. I don't doubt anything of what you said, but it's not what he asked. My bugbear is that every thread which asks about machinery recommendations always ends up with a number of people telling the OP that he/she cannot afford what they are talking about. And, like with this thread, the other threads are derailed from the interesting topic of machine recommendations to monotonous debates about whether the op can or cannot financially justify the purchase - all of which is assumption, based solely on assumption and guess work!!! As I said, it bring a dark cloud over what would otherwise be an interesting thread!

My bugbear is that every thread which asks about machinery recommendations always ends up with a number of people telling the OP that he/she cannot afford what they are talking about. And, like with this thread, the other threads are derailed from the interesting topic of machine recommendations to monotonous debates about whether the op can or cannot financially justify the purchase - all of which is assumption, based solely on assumption and guess work!!! As I said, it bring a dark cloud over what would otherwise be an interesting thread!

Relig first of all most threads veer off from orginal topic. You are the only one making a point about OP not being able to afford it you are trying to make the point that our discussion on the merits of the investment are based on op's finiancial status. My analysis is on costs and value for money and how money can other wise be deployed. Boards is like an internet discussion group.

Actuall relig it was you bough in this red herring about affordability. Rather I showed the other options, by the way neither was i the first either to question the logic of spending 50K on a tractor to do 300 work hours which might be 600 clock hours.

I will be the first to admit I always question the logic of machinery spend. As far as I can see most contractors in this counrty work at near cost for baling. By the way i am not a contractor neither do I work in agri machinery industry as you can see.

Relig first of all most threads veer off from orginal topic. You are the only one making a point about OP not being able to afford it you are trying to make the point that our discussion on the merits of the investment are based on op's finiancial status. My analysis is on costs and value for money and how money can other wise be deployed. Boards is like an internet discussion group.

Actuall relig it was you bough in this red herring about affordability. Rather I showed the other options, by the way neither was i the first either to question the logic of spending 50K on a tractor to do 300 work hours which might be 600 clock hours.

I will be the first to admit I always question the logic of machinery spend. As far as I can see most contractors in this counrty work at near cost for baling. By the way i am not a contractor neither do I work in agri machinery industry as you can see.

I never said that you were the first person to mention it. but you are the one who is carrying it on! And as I said, the OP did not ask for your advice on it. It's his money. If he can afford it and wants to spend it, let him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

Originally Posted by Farmer Pudsey viewpost.gif

I never said that you were the first person to mention it. but you are the one who is carrying it on! And as I said, the OP did not ask for your advice on it. It's his money. If he can afford it and wants to spend it, let him!

handbags at 5 paces..........

have had my on the look out for a tractor upgrade for a while now. I know what i want but i have a budget that i plan to stick to which includes being able to get a decent trade in for the 7610. Anyway what i want is a NH 7635 or Tl100 (case jxu would be the same yoke) with a loader, budget is about 15k + my own so if i value my own at 5k that's about 20k. I'd prefer the TL with a power shuttle but i'd probably need to add in another 5k to get to them.

This would get me one from the north but prices down here are way higher. Been burned before with dealing with getting stuff up north so want to deal with someone local-ish so i can a bit of a come back. Rang a garage recently and was beign quoted 22K + VAT for a 97 one, would have given me 20+my own for it. Similar story with a few others would weren't a bit interested in my yoke at all and would only give me 2-3k max for it (at the price i'd keep it). Am i being a bit mad in my valuations. as it is i'm only coming up 10 years or so in age or is the market down here just mental. There doesn't seem to be much value in spending that kinda money on a 15-16 year old tractor good an all as it'll be for another 15 years.

I know we go on about being mad buying new but a new tractor at 45K seems better value then a 16YO at half the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

As reilig said earlier can we get back to make and model recomendations. we thinking of buying new next year (a 100hp or so machine) and would be very interested to hear sugestions. Was at ploughing and came away impressed with Claas Deutz and MF. kobuta and valtra had tight cabs and thats a no no here as the little lad just turned 3 and need a safe secure passenger seat so he can tag along.The NH i did not like but then i was only checkin out the base TD model. I don't need to be told to consider 2nd hand because we have spent the last year or so deciding what we'l do. TA