Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should we stop child benefit after 4 kids?

• 04-10-2013 7:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭

Just having a look at the old child benefits, and I'm amazed that it's €13,080.00 if you've got 8 kids, and just €6,360.00 with 4. Surely we shouldn't be encouraging people to have so many kids, that's a massive drain on the state.

While I'm at it, when I was at university, there was a girl a year below who had a kid at 15 and managed to get an apartment and a car from the state as well as a grant for all sorts while the rest of us were slumming it. Is Ireland, as a state, giving away too much to parents. If you can't afford kids, don't have them ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Yes, but expect wailing from Pavee Point:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

Scrap it altogether and put it into education.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Just having a look at the old child benefits, and I'm amazed that it's €13,080.00 if you've got 8 kids, and just €6,360.00 with 4. Surely we shouldn't be encouraging people to have so many kids, that's a massive drain on the state.

While I'm at it, when I was at university, there was a girl a year below who had a kid at 15 and managed to get an apartment and a car from the state as well as a grant for all sorts while the rest of us were slumming it. Is Ireland, as a state, giving away too much to parents. If you can't afford kids, don't have them ffs.

The car ? I'm interested in that , how'd she get a car , was she an ex TD or Taoiseach ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Ms. Pingui

I'm a young, single parent in college and I haven't gotten a free house or car or a grant. :rolleyes: Where are you from so that I can move there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

I was willing to give you a hearing as I believe child benefit should indeed be scrapped, but then you posted this -

And came off like a bitter, ill informed shìt stirrer that I couldn't be arsed listening to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

In before "All scumbags/people on social welfare should be sterillised".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

While I'm at it, when I was at university, there was a girl a year below who had a kid at 15 and managed to get an apartment and a car from the state as well as a grant for all sorts while the rest of us were slumming it. Is Ireland, as a state, giving away too much to parents. If you can't afford kids, don't have them ffs.[/

Probably needed the car to conceive more children.

Czarcasm wrote: »
    I was willing to give you a hearing as I believe child benefit should indeed be scrapped, but then you posted this -

And came off like a bitter, ill informed shìt stirrer that I couldn't be arsed listening to.

Stop , will ya , I want more posts from the OP .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Rabbo

On the face of it, it is unfair that us childless folk are subsidising those that are playing it fast and easy with the old contraception. But child benefit is there to protect children, I'd imagine it greatly reduces the risk of children going hungry in poorer families. And why should child no. 5 receive less than child no. 1? Like all other benefits, it probably should be means tested though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭BrianBoru00

E

Let me guess, whenever she got clamped, she d just abandon the car cos she knew the state would buy her a brand new one.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭FreshKnickers

What's all this now? You get benefits for having kiddies? What, like a car and a house and a fancy TV and all?

That's it, the johnnies are staying off tonight!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

We're not a state we're a society and kids grow up to be tax payers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

No. How about abolishing the pretty much guaranteed council house after you get preggers at 16 " cos ya can't ya ma any more and ya want your own gaff". That's a bigger drain on the state that a load of children from a middle class family

I like this thread the OP started as well.

Yesterday, 16:00 #1
    pedanticpat

Adverts | Friends
    How strict are post Offices in regards to checking photo ID?
    My mate's off to Thailand for a month on the lash, and wants me to pick up his dole for him from the Post Office. He said I can keep half, and in these austere times I can do with that. I've got free classes at the times he's supposed to sign, and the Post office is just down the road from school, so why not? Anyway, will they suss me, do you think? We look similar enough, except he's a ginger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

kneemos wrote: »
    Probably needed the car to conceive more children.
    Exhaust pipes can't get you pregnant.

mattjack wrote: »
    The car ? I'm interested in that , how'd she get a car , was she an ex TD or Taoiseach ?
    Czarcasm wrote: »

And how come Czarcasm got ten "thanks" while I only got "six" , is he a single mother ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Fuel injection missus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Quiet You!!

Stop bringing sense into it :p

You saw that film too ...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

Genuinely Miriam Deserves it with her 8 kids.:p

did you not learn from yesterday's attempt Pat?

Have some time off to come up with some better material.