Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My wife earns more than me & I'm delighted

• 04-10-2013 2:23pm
    Site Banned Posts: 824 ✭✭✭

The good Mrs. Shiraz took redundancy when things started to go under.
    Suited us fine as she got a year of JSA and was able to mind our 3 pre-school kids.
    In 2011 she started her own little company & it's mushroomed, she, sorry we have hit the big time, you go girl whoo hoo.

Doing her returns last night she was estimating her drawings for 2013.
    I pulled out my P60 from last year & she has me whooped, hands down.

I've known some men to be affronted by this but I couldn't have been more happy.
    It's not the extra disposable income it's that she did it all herself after having her family & without a 3rd level qualification.

Any other men out there where the other halves bring home more bacon ?
    How does it make you feel ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

Are you not mad at her for using up all the tax credits?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

now you can afford better wine OP! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Muise... wrote: »

Or even better, a much larger volume of the cheap wine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I don't work so yeah she's the bread winner and its a horrible feeling.
    Not out of work long or anything but she is the bread winner and to me its not right that a man isn't the money maker.
    Depressing really

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Depends dunnit. If it's because I got fired, no. If it's because she got a raise, yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Suited us fine as she got a year of JSA and was able to mind our 3 pre-school kids.
    In 2011 she started her own little company & it's mushroomed, she, sorry we have hit the big time, you go girl whoo hoo.

I've known some men to be affronted by this but I couldn't have been more happy.
    It's not the extra disposable income it's that she did it all herself after having her family & without a 3rd level qualification.

Yep..
    My Mrs works half time and still beats me by about €4K.. I think its great :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Wait till she starts heading out with her "new" friends OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,583 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

It's never too early to start hinting at Christmas presents, go big and see what happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Mongarra

I'm delighted for you both.

The old attitude of the man having to be the main breadwinner is outmoded IMO and, given the current financial situation of many families, any supplement to income is to be welcomed. Even better when the "new" income becomes the mainstay of the family budget.

I hope it will reach the stage where the business will be successful enough that you can become the house husband and leave your own job to look after the family if that is what you would like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

Fair play, well done her.

I recently tipped the scales back in my favor but Id be quite happy for her to trounce me on that score any time. The bottom line though has to be that its nice to have two decent wages coming in. A lot of what i read on here involves people struggling on one poor wage and my heart goes out to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Rho b

Great to hear a success story in business - may it keep going from strength to strength. Fair play to both of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Two words OP.

Money Fight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭LaughOrDie

I'd be delighted too.

Fair play to her - and to you for being a man about it.

It's only someone who's insecure that would have a problem with it.......or an idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I have the dinner ready. :)

All your mates think your a pussy tho ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

Rho b wrote: »
    Great to hear a success story in business - may it keep going from strength to strength. Fair play to both of you.

Lets not jump the gun here. It could be human trafficking, drug dealing or supplying paedo mice to labs that she does.

Lets get the facts before we hand out the Kudos.

Actually judging by the OP I am gonna guess she grows magic mushrooms. For shame OP!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I'd love if my wife earned more than me.

It'd mean I'd have a wife and wouldn't be so alone. :(

• Site Banned Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Shiraz 4.99

Muise... wrote: »

Ha . . . & that parking fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

You just make sure her coat-tails are nice and comfortable. It's a long ride to the top!

Girlfriend earns more than I do by nearly 10k/Year. She, like your missus, earned it so I'm very happy for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Fair play to her. What's the business?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Sleepy wrote: »

Traffic Warden

• Site Banned Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Shiraz 4.99

Sleepy wrote: »

Can't say much without promoting it in some way cause it's specialised.
    Rest assured it's not prostitution.

Lets just say she provides a very specific service for money & people are delighted to pay for it as she travels to them instead of them having to come to the capital.
    Think dog grooming without the grooming or the dogs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

Lets just say she provides a very specific service for money & people are delighted to pay for it as she travels to them instead of them having to come to the capital.

So dogging?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

I put the bread on the table and carry the financial pressure, she takes care if the gaff and raising the children.

May sound sexist, but it works for us, luckily I get a decent enough wage that the pressure isn't huge on one salary.

If the tables were turned, I'd be equally as happy, though I enjoy working

Wha

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

My missus earned way way more than me but had to travel all the time so took a job here in Malta so we'd be able to spend more time together. Now I earn more than her :D

Muahahahahahahaha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭The One Who Knocks

bbam wrote: »
    Yep..
    My Mrs works half time and still beats me by about €4K.. I think its great :)

..She's a mascot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Am I the only one that senses a slightly hostile undertone? The fact he had to mention she had no third level education...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Rho b

Am I the only one that senses a slightly hostile undertone? The fact he had to mention she had no third level education...
    I think you are the only one. I read it as - well done to my wife but then maybe I am naive and just like to hear a good news story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭IK09

Mobile Hair dressing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭canadianwoman

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I'd love if my wife earned more than me.

It'd mean I'd have a wife and wouldn't be so alone. :(

Aaaaaawwwwwww. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

I'd love to be in that situation - would take the pressure off big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I don't work so yeah she's the bread winner and its a horrible feeling.
    Not out of work long or anything but she is the bread winner and to me its not right that a man isn't the money maker.
    Depressing really

well, maybe when you join us in the present you will feel better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Mushroomed eh? Would this be of the 'magic' variety? Would explain the high income!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Can your misses lend me a tenner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Dog grooming without the grooming or dogs ?

Hmmm .... Chinese takeaway delivery driver person , no no , I got it .... sheep driver truck person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Not married but I'd love for my future wife to earn more than me. It would take the pressure off me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

well, not hostile but if it's not an issue why actually highlight the fact? Wouldn't be a blip on my radar tbh

"wayyy, here's something my wife does that doesn't bother me, how great is that"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭valknut

Would love to marry a good looking career orientated woman and become a house husband.

Never got mens obsession with been number one earner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

As someone who retired in the past year I went from earning 20k more than my wife to now being 10k behind her. It doesn't bother me (or her) in the slightest and all money is pooled anyway. We never considered who earned what and I never even thought about it until this thread came up.
    The notion that the man should be the breadwinner is very Neanderthal-like. Provided he's not sitting at home on the dole, enjoying his hobbies instead of out looking for a job of some sort it doesn't matter who earns what in a marriage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I've known some men to be affronted by this
    I'd bet most men nowadays wouldn't give a sh1t, and that the only thing that would piss some of them off would be: not having a job or not getting very well paid, which would apply whether their wife is earning more or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Gandhi

Huge difference between a situation where both husband and wife make good money (wife making slightly more), and a situation where the husband is either unemployed, or just scraping by, and depending on the wife to support him and the kids.

We are in the first situation, and I am fine with it. Probably because even though I don't bring home most of the bacon, I still bring home plenty of bacon. If we had to depend solely on me, we'd still be quite comfortable.

If I was in the second situation, I'd probably find it pretty emasculating to be thinking that I was dependent on my wife, and if anything happened to her job, and we were depending on me, we'd be f**ked. Not as easy to be the modern man in that case. Obviously I'd be annoyed that I wasn't making more, not that I'd want her to make less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Are we still guessing the job....

if so my guess is a dog fluffer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

kupus wrote: »
    Are we still guessing the job....

if so my guess is a dog fluffer.

I guess Hair Boiler Operator:

http://zaynekemler.weebly.com/hair-boiler.html