Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

One time I used a disabled parking space I got caught

• 03-10-2013 3:22pm
    Site Banned Posts: 824 ✭✭✭

Some people can easily sail through life, anytime I try & take a shortcut I get caught.

At lunchtime I'd only 30 minutes to get a bank lodgement done, all spaces were full & I did the wrong thing but I've never known anyione else to get pulled up.
    As I came out of the bank it looked as if I was in the clear but then came a tap on my window from a concerned citizen who'd seen me walk out fully able.
    She asked me about some permit thing but I fogged her off pretending to be Polish & not understanding.
    She stopped me pulling out by standing behind the car & as luck would have it a warden arrived.
    I haven't even read my ticket yet such was my rage, had to give up my Polish act aswell with your one standing there.
    She nearly died from a smugness overdose.

I've come in here to lick my wounds, on the hit list of offences this has to be near the very bottom, Yes ?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Shane-KornSpace

Only scummers park in a disabled spot if they're not disabled.

Edit

Glad the woman did that . its something I wanted to do to someone for ages!
    Usually its the smug/selfish/ignorant pricks that park in the spaces when they're not supposed to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

on the hit list of offences this has to be near the very bottom, Yes ?.

Ya, just below rape and murder!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,595 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

You should have done this when the warden arrived.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭KeithM89

She stopped me pulling out by standing behind the car .

Stupid bitch, you shouldve run her over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

Admittedly, some consistency in matters like this would be nice but that would mean we would live in a perfect world and that would be truly awful too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Hopefully you get locked up in a Peruvian prison or fined by a German copper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Would have tun over the cnut.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 59 ✭✭loseyourself

At least you didn't hit a disabled person in the head with a Frisbee or call them names at the front seat of a rollercoaster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Legend20

Should have put on a stutter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

Did you make the **** lodgement in full public view?
    It may not be a ticket,just an invitation to a threesome...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭Ddad

Luckily, I am perfect and own a large equine. From his back I will look down the spine of my nose at you; for I have never made an error of judgement in my life, ever. Never.

I'm suer all other posters are the same OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

tough break op...the woman from your story seems like a proper cnut...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

How many disabled spaces were there? If you parked in the only one, then serves you right. If there were more than one and you made sure to leave one free, then tough break.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Some people have no consideration. OP you fully deserved your comeuppance.

Should have used the mother & child space instead.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 59 ✭✭loseyourself

Next time just crap your pants and say throw the poo at the ticket guy

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

What to do with people who park in disabled spaces ?

Make them eligible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Let them without stones and all that op

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭janmaree

You'd think, wouldn't you? And I do understand your frustration but if you'd ever tried to manage an incapacitated person in a wheelchair, in the rain, unable to access a designated parking space, you'd understand why some people make it a mission to stamp out the practice! I've struggled many times to transport a very elderly, blind and immobile person in and out of the car and wheelchair and "it ain't easy". The chair itself is heavy and perpetuates the tennis elbow pain every time, before you ever get to lift the patient!

You're just unfortunate that you were apprehended by Wonder Woman today; if it'd been me, I'd have been too afraid to say anything to you. After all, if you're going to park in a disabled space when you're fit and well, you could be capable of anything!!! Maybe even punch my lights out!!! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I was telling someone the other day about the time I double parked on Rathgar road to go in to the chippy. The garda came along, gave me a wag of the finger and told me to hurry up. That was in the late 80s.

Nowadays I would be doing time in mountjoy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

vitani wrote: »
    How many disabled spaces were there? If you parked in the only one, then serves you right. If there were more than one and you made sure to leave one free, then tough break.

How do you make sure you leave one free? By not slewing the car in sideway with the hand brake and taking up two:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭manonboard

I've always thought it is not considered parking if you are still in the car when the warden/parking person/clamper gets to you??

Could you refute the ticket?

• Site Banned Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Shiraz 4.99

janmaree wrote: »
    I've struggled many times to transport a very elderly, blind and immobile person in and out of the car and wheelchair and "it ain't easy"

Jaysus, hardly worth the bother in fairness, just wheel them round the house & tell them it's Disneyland, not going to know the difference are they.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I was telling someone the other day about the time I double parked on Rathgar road to go in to the chippy. The garda came along, gave me a wag of the finger and told me to hurry up. That was in the late 80s.

Nowadays I would be doing time in mountjoy.
    "you have 15 minutes to move your cube"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Jaysus, hardly worth the bother in fairness, just wheel them round the house & tell them it's Disneyland, not going to know the difference are they.

Classy.

Legend20 wrote: »
    Should have put on a stutter.

I had considered to go full retard but my Polish impersonation would be better.
    Also, people may have questioned what a obviously incapacitated person was doing driving a car, I feared a lynch mob if it went wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

I work with people with disabilities - and I cannot underestimate how f**kin infuriating it is to have a disabled parking space taken by someone who doesn't need it.. the standard spaces are too small to load wheelchair in and out off
    Next time just crap your pants and say throw the poo at the ticket guy

g'man yourself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

She stopped me pulling out by standing behind the car & as luck would have it a warden arrived.

You should have ran her over and when the warden showed up claim ya didnt see her because you are partially blind and hence why you were using the space.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I'm so outraged.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

That woman has some cojones. Fair play to her.
    Op, you were clearly in the wrong. Hand in your permission to drive at the nearest Garda station, do not pass go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Hahaha you're gonna burn in Hell son. See you there.

That made me laugh so hard that some pee came out. Worth it though.

Shame I'm on a teleconference with my American overlords.

Also, people may have questioned what a obviously incapacitated person was doing driving a car, I feared a lynch mob if it went wrong.

I have no sympathy for you if I'm honest as my sister is full retard. Next time use the normal spots!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,729 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Sounds like the same woman I met, accosted me when I had my head in the boot. She didn't look so smug though when I closed the boot and got into a different car and drove off :) I was only was only getting a childs buggy back from someone that had borrowed it :pac:

Legend20 wrote: »
    I have no sympathy for you if I'm honest as my sister is full retard. Next time use the normal spots!

You're a lucky man, bring her out & you can park anywhere, you're like some parking god

I don't drive myself but her carer is always giving out, the eejit doesn't even have a permit though :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

I dont condone parking in a disabled space but I have to say, I fuucking hate busybodies like her! If she did that to me, she'd need a disabled parking
    space by the time I'd finished with her :P

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

Can't believe the lengths people will go to to squirm their way around a well-deserved fine after they've been caught acting the maggot.

NO ONE CARES ABOUT YOUR LAME ASS EXPLANATIONS!
    => MAN UP
    => PAY UP
    => SHUT THE F UP!

Or something like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

I thought disabled people wanted to be treated like everyone else?
    Let them drive around for 20 mins looking for a spot while there's no-one in the ones beside the door.

OP, you should have run that b*tch over.
    Then she could have availed of the spots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭NotVeryHappy

Fair play to you OP. It's a free country and looking after number 1 is important

I do the same from time to time, and have never been caught

One time some old lad went mad at me because his wife was in a zimmer frame and he had to park about 10m away

I told him to **** off and smashed my door into his knee. That was the end of that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

Oink wrote: »
    Can't believe the lengths people will go to to squirm their way around a well-deserved fine after they've been caught acting the maggot.

NO ONE CARES ABOUT YOUR LAME ASS EXPLANATIONS!

Or something like that.
    If they had a lame ass maybe they were entitled to the disabled spot tbf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    I dont condone parking in a disabled space but I have to say, I fuucking hate busybodies like her! If she did that to me, she'd need a disabled parking
    space by the time I'd finished with her :P

Her actions blocked the space for longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭remsburgsgirl

I wouldn't park in a disabled space & it annoys me when people who don't need the spot park there out of laziness... but that woman sounds like a right busybody & I'd love to see just how many times she has broken the rules out of convenience herself

...why didn't you just say to the warden that you hadn't parked there, just pulled in 2 seconds ago & was just dropping someone off or something, therefore not actually parked...then this righteous busybody got all up in your business, using herself as a human barricade? It'd be your word against hers, then you could drive off all smug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Potatoeman wrote: »
    Her actions blocked the space for longer.

And hopefully prevented future abuse by the OP.

No sympathy for you OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

When I have my head shaved I used to pull that Polish stunt when I was in work (bouncer) and laugh when I'd get a load of abuse about f*cking off back to my own country.

I use disabled toilets all the time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

o1s1n wrote: »
    You should have done this when the warden arrived.

IT crowd clip
    That episode is one of the funniest half hours of television ever
    Only scummers park in a disabled spot if they're not disabled.

Edit

Glad the woman did that . its something I wanted to do to someone for ages!
    Usually its the smug/selfish/ignorant pricks that park in the spaces when they're not supposed to.
    Ah, come on. It's not the end of the world.

Fair play to the OP for trying the Polish accent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

OP I declare SHENANIGANS!

If the traffic warden didnt arrive until you were in your car trying to leave then they cant ticket you.
    Its not illegal to stop there, just to park there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

Jesus you are a terrible human being...Im glad you got a ticket

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

Curious what is on the ticket.

Was the space on private ground or public. If its private I wonder what the legal status is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭janmaree

You're a gas man, you really are! The only trouble with your plan is, they're not always totally ga ga just because they can't walk, and they usually know the difference between the doctor's office or the A&E and a quick scoot round the garden! But you do make me laugh so you're worth forgiving.......this time!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭Mrs W

You deserve a ticket for parking there, end of story. Whether it was only for a minute, first time doing it, whatever, there's no excuse for being so ignorant and thinking you're above anyone else.

I'm delighted that the woman said it to you, standing behind you to block you was a bit much though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,394 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

your first mistake was as you say "walk out fully able" i always take on a bad limp until i get back to the car. if any body ask waiting for disable badge, but rarely ask if you use the limp.