Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do you like to sleep?

• 03-10-2013 1:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭

After a half hour of unsuccessful attempts to enter dreamland (despite my tired eyes!) I have come back to boards to read myself to sleep...

I sleep on my side with one leg nearly up to my elbow. Strangely comfortable. I like the door to be slightly ajar so that some of the landing light creeps in, but only a sliver. I also sleep much better with someone else in the bed, alas tonight it's just me and my duvet and you lovely people.

So how to you like to sleep? Surrounded by pillows? Window open? Complete darkness? On your belly?

I'm sleepy and interested :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

With Bryan Adams banging full blast on the home cinema surround sound system.:)

• Site Banned Posts: 18 Mderators

After a half hour of unsuccessful attempts to enter dreamland (despite my tired eyes!) I have come back to boards to read myself to sleep...

I sleep on my side with one leg nearly up to my elbow. Strangely comfortable. I like the door to be slightly ajar so that some of the landing light creeps in, but only a sliver. I also sleep much better with someone else in the bed, alas tonight it's just me and my duvet and you lovely people.

So how to you like to sleep? Surrounded by pillows? Window open? Complete darkness? On your belly?

I'm sleepy and interested :o

Complete darkness, window open, naked, over or under the duvet depending on the temperature, one arm under the pillow and believe it or not my other arm resting between my legs/under my ball sack/gooch area and my hand warm inside my ass cheeks.

Embarrassing maybe but I've been doing it for as long as I can remember and find it very hard to get to sleep otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

With Bryan Adams banging full blast on the home cinema surround sound system.:)

Listened to the videos on your thread as I wrote my OP :o

"Baby you're all that I want, when you're lying here in my arms"...

I need sleep. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

On my side with my knees tucked up a bit or on my belly with one arm under the pillow. I also sleep upside down in the bed because my phone charger only reaches the end of the bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

without a fever. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Listened to the videos on your thread as I wrote my OP :o

"Baby you're all that I want, when you're lying here in my arms"...

I need sleep. :(
    Though I'd died and went to heaven. . . .

. . .. until I read the last line.:pac::p

lahalane wrote: »
    On my side with my knees tucked up a bit or on my belly with one arm under the pillow. I also sleep upside down in the bed because my phone charger only reaches the end of the bed.

Get an extension lead/switch your bed around :P

I've recruited a teddy to keep me company, good chaps teddies.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

On top of a pile of money, with many beautiful ladies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Usually in a bed but I've woken up in fields and worse was the dogs kennel years ago with my dog blankly staring at me outside it.
    Wasn't to impressed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭Peanut Butter Jelly

Like my penis in a girl, long and deep. :pac:

On a serious note, I'm a deep sleeper and usually sleep for a long time. I sleep on my side/chest with my knee out at a 90 degree angle to stop myself from rolling over.

Usually in a bed but I've woken up in fields and worse was the dogs kennel years ago with my dog blankly staring at me outside it.
    Wasn't to impressed

Spent the night in the doghouse eh? :P

Ba dum bum tshhh!

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

Diagonally. I'm a b!tch to share a bed with!

I have the same problem only I know that if I get an extension lead I'll be tempted to make use of it with a few more bedside gadgets ;) :P Better if I leave it be :)

Haha teddy I know what ya mean! No more than Mr.Rasberry Jam in GTA V. 1:53 of this video...

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=N-ui_JGCdY8&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DN-ui_JGCdY8

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭markomuscle

completely in the nip, windows clothes, dark room, bottle of water on the bedside table, lying on my side facing the right and an ear plug in the left ear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

in the recovery position, lately I've taken to straddling one leg over a memory foam pillow to take the pressure off my lower back, I've been waiting on a delivery of a new foam topper and when it arrives I plan on sleeping soundly for ever more.
    I've always slept with one arm tucked snuggley between my chesticles, I think it's so I can keep checking my heart is still beating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Cathyht

It's fairly warm, maybe you need the window open?
    The door ajar and the landing light on is good, so you can see intruders if they do break in. I idiosyncratically use an eye mask then so I can still have darkness, but the intruder will be still be easily spotted ;)
    Sleeping on the side is comfiest, one flatish pillow and one plump one, arm under pillows, sort of supports cricky neck. (awake with sore neck)
    Warm milk knocks me out, just got some, so will be off again soon :)
    Hope you get some sleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

Na, Im used to it now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Spent the night in the doghouse eh? :P

Ba dum bum tshhh!

:(

TAXI!!!!

Mderators wrote: »
    I have the same problem only I know that if I get an extension lead I'll be tempted to make use of it with a few more bedside gadgets ;) :P Better if I leave it be :)

Haha teddy I know what ya mean! No more than Mr.Rasberry Jam in GTA V. 1:53 of this video...

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=N-ui_JGCdY8&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DN-ui_JGCdY8

:eek: :(

HE DIED?!

Cathyht wrote: »
    It's fairly warm, maybe you need the window open?
    The door ajar and the landing light on is good, so you can see intruders if they do break in. I idiosyncratically use an eye mask then so I can still have darkness, but the intruder will be still be easily spotted ;)
    Sleeping on the side is comfiest, one flatish pillow and one plump one, arm under pillows, sort of supports cricky neck. (awake with sore neck)
    Warm milk knocks me out, just got some, so will be off again soon :)
    Hope you get some sleep.

Maybe, I like to be snug and warm but that's better when the actual room is cool. You've no idea, I'm so paranoid of intruders, especially after reading that thread on creepy/unnerving happenings. :eek: My pillows are exactly that! Best pillow formula ever. :D
    pharmaton wrote: »
    in the recovery position, lately I've taken to straddling one leg over a memory foam pillow to take the pressure off my lower back, I've been waiting on a delivery of a new foam topper and when it arrives I plan on sleeping soundly for ever more.
    I've always slept with one arm tucked snuggley between my chesticles, I think it's so I can keep checking my heart is still beating.

What's a foam topper? I like sleeping with pillows between my legs sometimes it does help the oul back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

On either side.

Doesn't matter, as long as my knees aren't touching each other. Need some piece of a blanket in between them.

osarusan wrote: »
    On either side.

Doesn't matter, as long as my knees aren't touching each other. Need some piece of a blanket in between them.

Stops phlebitis, really good for that if you've veins at inside of knee bones, pressure needs to be kept off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Itwasntme.

Complete darkness, window open, naked, over or under the duvet depending on the temperature, one arm under the pillow and believe it or not my other arm resting between my legs/under my ball sack/gooch area and my hand warm inside my ass cheeks.

Embarrassing maybe but I've been doing it for as long as I can remember and find it very hard to get to sleep otherwise.

I hope you shower before you get into bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Elbaston

All these nudist sleepers with the door left open are askin for it.

Stops phlebitis, really good for that if you've veins at inside of knee bones, pressure needs to be kept off.

One more thing to be scared of :eek:

What's a foam topper? I like sleeping with pillows between my legs sometimes it does help the oul back!
    Good pillows are integral to inducing sleepyness :o

Topper is just for added comfort, the memory foam ones help reduce pressure too so handy for the back. My current bed is shíte but it's barely a year old so I'm not going to buy a new one, hoping a mattress topper will help. Think Aldi had them on special a couple of weeks ago.

(yep) https://www.aldi.ie/en/specialbuys/sunday-8th-september/products-detail-page/ps/p/memory-foam-mattress-topper-king/

One more thing to be scared of :eek:

Grand, I'll just go asleep now, I seem to be doing more harm than good.
    But Sparky never mind, once it comes to 5 am you'll sleep like a log, all fears seem to vanish with the dawn.

(Dog in house now, sleeping ON bottom step of stairs, ruining carpet, the measures I have to take for those bloody intruders)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭aaabbbb

Presently it seems its going to be the sweet sound of bells , house alarm bells that is since the power decided to go kaput :(

Itwasntme. wrote: »
    I hope you shower before you get into bed.

No need, just use 4 or 5 baby wipes for my bum and wash my hands. Like putting a freshly bathed smooth baby in to a cot wrapped warm in a blanket :)

Good pillows are integral to inducing sleepyness :o

Topper is just for added comfort, the memory foam ones help reduce pressure too so handy for the back. My current bed is shíte but it's barely a year old so I'm not going to buy a new one, hoping a mattress topper will help. Think Aldi had them on special a couple of weeks ago.

(yep) https://www.aldi.ie/en/specialbuys/sunday-8th-september/products-detail-page/ps/p/memory-foam-mattress-topper-king/

My boyfriend has one of these https://www.foamsupport.com/shop/secure/images/products/45.jpg

on his bed. I always found them weird but maybe they're the secret to comfyness. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭markomuscle

I also do that, it is lovely and warm

My boyfriend has one of these https://www.foamsupport.com/shop/secure/images/products/45.jpg

on his bed. I always found them weird but maybe they're the secret to comfyness. :o

funny my daughter has the exact same one on her bed and swears by it, it's been through two beds and a housemove so far so it seems to work for her.

Last thing, does anyone else find your bum makes a dent in the bed when you're sitting up on the laptop, and it's hard to sleep then, cos the bum groove means you can't keep your spine straight. your shoulder goes into the bum groove and you twist, can get a sore neck. You have to move to another part of the bed to sleep. Unfortunately I don't think the mattress topper would help the laptop user bum groove.

I got a mattress from Ikea 4 months ago and it's rubbish, cost a lot, well I think 580 is a lot. I jealously saw much better ones flicking through Argos catalogue, for same price recently.

Last thing, does anyone else find your bum makes a dent in the bed when you're sitting up on the laptop, and it's hard to sleep then, cos the bum groove means you can't keep your spine straight. your shoulder goes into the bum groove and you twist, can get a sore neck. You have to move to another part of the bed to sleep. Unfortunately I don't think the mattress topper would help the laptop user bum groove.

I got a mattress from Ikea 4 months ago and it's rubbish, cost a lot, well I think 580 is a lot. I jealously saw much better ones flicking through Argos catalogue, for same price recently.

get a bigger bed? Unless your arse is very big and takes up both sides.

You've a f***ing nice ass ;) PM sent x

get a bigger bed? Unless your arse is very big and takes up both sides.

I wouldn't say it's big anyway. I run it off me. Unfashionable in these bobble ass days I know. Now I can't imagine how bad a neck ache a Kim bum groove would give.
    Other side of the bed, it feels strange all the way over there. Unfriendly or something.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

I sleep with the door closed (Seen "people" looking in at me before..) The window semi open, I love the cold air and the dog under the duvet, I swear she's like a heater. Also its totally black :o

You've a f***ing nice ass ;) PM sent x

Ha ha, how do you know that?

If ya can dent a bed with it I'd say ya'd work wonders in the same department serving another purpose.

Yup ya boy ya giddy on up outta that!!!!!

Does anyone have their feet facing the door? That's supposed to be bad.

What's with these people looking in through the door. Imaginary intruders and 'others' of unknown origin. Can a person not get a bita sleep without the sideshow.

I wouldn't say it's big anyway. I run it off me. Unfashionable in these bobble ass days I know. Now I can't imagine how bad a neck ache a Kim bum groove would give.
    Other side of the bed, it feels strange all the way over there. Unfriendly or something.
    I'm imagining a kim groove. If I'm using laptop in bed I just sit near the edge so I'm closest to an access point, when I sleep I move in and turn over.
    Then again, if I had a medium that would allow me to browse while lying horizontal I'd probably do that too. ;)

I never know which position I'm going to fall asleep in, or wake up in, but I have to imagine I'm moving - the bed used to be a flying carpet when I was a child, now it's mostly ships on a calm sea.

Goodnight sweethearts. :)

I have to be up for school in 5 hours..
    Feck ye all...

Just all of ye go to sleep...
    Please?
    I'll pay ye!

//Tired

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I'm exhausted and can't sleep. Just been lying in bed for the last two hours or so and nothing.
    I have to get up in less than 4 hours :mad::(:(:(

I'm exhausted and can't sleep. Just been lying in bed for the last two hours or so and nothing.

Try this, I promise will work, I use mobile and ear plugs.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3tGc44tTVvY

or this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oYDKnvhT4WI

night folks

Ma's asleep...
    Da's asleep..
    Brother is asleep..
    Dog is asleep...
    And me? Just lying here... Desperate to sleep but can't....
    Sigh :(

I have to be up for school in 5 hours..
    Feck ye all...

Just all of ye go to sleep...
    Please?
    I'll pay ye!

//Tired

hush now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Try this, I promise will work, I use mobile and ear plugs.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3tGc44tTVvY

or this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oYDKnvhT4WI

night folks
    She's not going to make me do weird stuff tomorrow is she...?

Muise... wrote: »

Headphones are over at the other side of the room.. :L

Hmm...there's an ad on the page for Rommasey Funeral Services... Jebus I need to sleep.

Nighty night everyone! :)

Headphones are over at the other side of the room.. :L

Hmm...there's an ad on the page for Rommasey Funeral Services... Jebus I need to sleep.

Nighty night everyone! :)

'Night Jimbob :)