Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So , who's going to L'Eroica ?

• 02-10-2013 4:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32

Anyone heading out to Italy for this Sunday's event ? Me, I'm flying to Pisa tomorrow with Ryanair and back on Tuesday.
    I have my '79 Donaldson packed and ready to go.The brother is coming with me for company, not riding, just an interested spectator.
    Were staying at a campsite about 10 km from Gaoile.
    Hope the weather keeps up, it's looking abit iffy.
    Cant wait , it should be good craic.
    Looking forward to meeting some of ye out there.

Colm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭detones

dub56 wrote: »
    Anyone heading out to Italy for this Sunday's event ? Me, I'm flying to Pisa tomorrow with Ryanair and back on Tuesday.
    I have my '79 Donaldson packed and ready to go.The brother is coming with me for company, not riding, just an interested spectator.
    Were staying at a campsite about 10 km from Gaoile.
    Hope the weather keeps up, it's looking abit iffy.
    Cant wait , it should be good craic.
    Looking forward to meeting some of ye out there.

Colm

Not going but will be interested in how you get on. It's an event I'd love to do. Best of luck with it. Enjoy yourself. I believe I read a fairly detailed thread on here before from somebody last year that did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

I'll be there. I'm riding a red bike with 'AJ Rickett' on the side. If you spot me say hi.

bike7-1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Daithi BC

That looks lovely happytramp!

I've been debating which bike to bring. I was going to bring my show pony TI Raleigh, but I reckon the strade bianche will be sludge after all the rain on Saturday, so I'm bringing my tank-like Carlton instead. 2.5 kg heavier, but took the course in its stride last year, and has a lovely 42-34 bottom gear for Montalcino and Asciano.

Forecast for Sunday seems to be wet but not very wet. I've seen sunshine on one site and 20mm of rain on another, so who knows what we'll get. Plenty of chianti classico at the first feed stop and it won't matter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 tonycon28

Myself and 2 guys from work are heading over. One of the lads cycled to Tuscany from Nice this week. Myself and the other one are flying into Rome in the morning. Watch out for us on a silver Carlton, silver Eddie Merkx and a Green Motobacane. 2 of us are doing the 135 while are friend from Cork via Nice is doing the 200. Tony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭route66

tonycon28 wrote: »
    Myself and 2 guys from work are heading over. One of the lads cycled to Tuscany from Nice this week. Myself and the other one are flying into Rome in the morning. Watch out for us on a silver Carlton, silver Eddie Merkx and a Green Motobacane. 2 of us are doing the 135 while are friend from Cork via Nice is doing the 200. Tony

Go for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

What time are people starting at? did the 135 last year and started at 6 or 6.30 can't remember exactly. Might be heading down from Radda with DathiBC, anyone else fancy meeting up beforehand and heading out together?

Bit damp this morning! Still hoping it might not be too bad tomorrow, looks like the worst of the rain is due today. Undecided on which route to do now. I'll see what the weather is like at the split

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 tonycon28

Rained all day. One of the local girls told us that a big storm is due at 5am. We hope to start at 6:30 if we can get parking. Bikes and bits and bobs loaded in car. We drove the first part of strada bianche today - didn't seem muddy. Doctor Blackfingers has his bike dismantled in our dining room - he is on the 205 so he has an early start.

Daithi. It took us 2.5 hours to get our car at the airport - what a shambles.

Heres hoping it isn't too wet tomorrow!!!

Tony, Liam & Doctor Bllackfingers aka Pipcob

Looks like it will be wet, but not as wet as today. Good to hear that the strada bianca isn't too bad. Up at half three tomorrow so good night from me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭25sean

more pics of yon olde bikes!!!

Hope everyone got on ok yesterday. We were very lucky with the weather. I finished the 205 in just over 11 hours riding, just ahead of a French guy on a 1920 single speed bike.