Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Daylight robbery at Champion Sports in Blanchardstown

• 02-10-2013 9:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,682 ✭✭✭

Saw this on FB today.
    With little value on someones life nowadays would anyone stand up to them if you were in the shop. The lookout had a gun !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭sok2005

That's not at all how i imagined being robbed would be. Where's the fear and panic! People still shopping away, someone recording it! Hoax?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

Saw this on FB today.
    With little value on someones life nowadays would anyone stand up to them if you were in the shop. The lookout had a gun !!

Being a hero and going for a tackle is one thing on adrenalin but what type of ****in eejit videos a robbery from close range?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,682 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

sok2005 wrote: »
    That's not at all how i imagined being robbed would be. Where's the fear and panic! People still shopping away, someone recording it! Hoax?

That's what I though as well. All the staff are calm as fcuk. If I was a shopper I wouldn't be just standing around :confused:

When did this happen??
    Walshey96 wrote: »
    Someone has been playing too much GTA V. On a serious note why didn't the shop security try and apprehend the robber?

Most shop employees and security are told not to be heroes in this circumstance. If someone is trying to rob you, then just give it to them and don't resist. No point in an injury being caused when insurance is in place to cover it. Especially if somebody has a gun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

I used to work about 5 mins from here and our shop was robbed probably once every 4 or 5 months. You get used to it.

As far as recording it goes, sure that's the de facto thing to do nowadays. Someone gets hit by a bus... Best whip out the iPhone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Got robbed in Sportsavers a couple of times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Ivefoundgod

When did this happen??

Most shop employees and security are told not to be heroes in this circumstance. If someone is trying to rob you, then just give it to them and don't resist. No point in an injury being caused when insurance is in place to cover it. Especially if somebody has a gun.

Plus why would the staff who are probably being paid peanuts and treated like crap bother their arse over a few 100 being stolen from a till? I know I wouldn't intervene.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

Someone has been playing too much GTA V. On a serious note why didn't the shop security guard try and apprehend the robber? I know the lookout had a gun but for all we know it could have been a pellet gun..

Why would you risk your life for a few quid from a champion sports till. I would protect my home and family but I wouldn't step in if I was a security guard here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

On a serious note why didn't the shop security guard try and apprehend the robber? I know the lookout had a gun but for all we know it could have been a pellet gun..

Yep and if it wasnt a pellet gun?

It actually happened, according to this article anyway.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Someone has been playing too much GTA V. On a serious note why didn't the shop security guard try and apprehend the robber? I know the lookout had a gun but for all we know it could have been a pellet gun..

Cop the fcuk on, money and clothes are insured and will be replaced. Somebodies playing too much UFC on the PS6 or whatever :rolleyes:

I would not take the chance on it being a pellet gun or anything else, aslong as they get in, nobody is injured etc, then thats the main thing.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

no hes not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Because an unarmed person would be a fucking moron to tackle somebody with what appears to be a gun for the sake of a minimum wage job, perhaps?

no hes not

The post you were replying to has disappeared!

Sense must have prevailed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Jebus, we've all come fairly immune to this type of sh1te, it's like "ah sure that's life, now where's that t-shirt in medium"

I got held up (with a gun) when I was working in a petrol station during college.

You'd be surprised how calm you can feel when it's happening.

Didn't even feel really shocked afterwards, which is just as well because the cunt that owned the place made me finish the shift (and lock up the pumps) alone after the police had gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Walshey96

anncoates wrote: »
    Because an unarmed person would be a fucking moron to tackle somebody with what appears to be a gun for the sake of a minimum wage job, perhaps?

But your not a moron to just stand there filming the robbery as it unfolds instead of hiding?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,483 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

kceire wrote: »
    Cop the fcuk on, money and clothes are insured and will be replaced. Somebodies playing too much UFC on the PS6 or whatever :rolleyes:

I would not take the chance on it being a pellet gun or anything else, aslong as they get in, nobody is injured etc, then thats the main thing.

Maybe someone has never worked in retail

But your not a moron to just stand there filming the robbery as it unfolds instead of hiding?

Perhaps, just perhaps, the concept of moron is wide enough to incorporate many different strands of imbecility?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Must say I was surprised opening this thread and it was about an actual robbery, not just someone getting short-changed in a shop.

Being a hero and going for a tackle is one thing on adrenalin but what type of ****in eejit videos a robbery from close range?

Risky no doubt but hopefully it could prove crucial in sending those vile despicable individuals down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Worst armed robbery ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

LOL at people saying they should have tackled him.

I've been in an armed robbery. One minute you're zoned out, thinking about other crap aside from your worthless crappy retail existence. An existence in which head office doesn't give a crap about you.

Next minute you've a gun in your face.

My life is worth more than the €500 in the till. :rolleyes:

You're caught completely off guard. All it takes is one shot to kill you. This isn't a movie like.

Give em the cash and let armed gardaí go after them. The guys with better guns who are trained to use them.

A security guard is there to stop shop lifting, kick skangers out of the store etc... Catching a bullet isn't something they're expected to do for their crappy wage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Everyone reacted in the correct manner even the security guy. Someone has and gun and what the money in the till just give it to them and stand out of the way. A few €100 is not worth taking the risk.

There are times that a person's mobile phone has a better camera than the CCTV that is in operation. If it happens to lead to the capture of the individuals, then I'm all for it. However, if they ask for your phone, just give the damned thing to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Jesus, that looked easy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

I've taken longer at the Atm.
    Looked incredibly easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

Why didn't they press the ceiling magnet button and the two robbers would have been trapped to the roof by their helmets? Yeah bitch, magnets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

People seem surprised that staff stay calm during a robbery.

In my experience this is what happens alright.

Although I do use impeccable manners whilst robbing them and I have been told my soothing voice puts people at ease so maybe that's something to do with it too.

Armed robbery is extremely easy when you think of the practicalities of it.

Shops have been robbed with baseball bats which can be just as effective as a gun in scaring people.

Just watched the video there. Everyone reacted perfectly. No sudden movements. Keep calm and remember your codes to get the tills open. Don't look them in the eye etc...

As for people saying the chap videoing it was in the wrong.... I think he was totally right until he decided to upload it to YouTube. Video should have been handed over to the guards. The sound of their voices could be used as evidence (CCTV has no sound) and smartphone cameras are better quality than CCTV (could pick up small logos on clothes, details etc...).

If I was ever a witness to something where I couldn't help at all, and I could keep my calm to video it, I would.

I wouldn't be uploading it to YouTube however. Idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Dean0088 wrote: »

Why is he an idiot? You have no idea whether or not he shared the footage with Gardai. He could have made a copy of the video or saved it to the phones internal memory from a card before handing it over.

Bit harsh to be calling him an idiot and in the same breath praising the fact that he recorded it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

biko wrote: »
    Must say I was surprised opening this thread and it was about an actual robbery, not just someone getting short-changed in a shop.
    Yes, bit strange that the OP should trivialise an armed robbery to overcharging:confused:

Had a gun waved in my face in the street before and I completely failed to notice. He walked on. Sometimes it helps to be oblivious to danger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

They're in a sports shop, there must be tons of hurleys in there to whack the robbers with*

* BMOTIS - big man on the internet syndrome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,689 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

SILENT ALARM ACTIVATED

kneemos wrote: »
    I've taken longer at the Atm.
    Looked incredibly easy.

Are you thinking what I'm thinking?

/PM sent

lahalane wrote: »
    Why didn't they press the ceiling magnet button and the two robbers would have been trapped to the roof by their helmets? Yeah bitch, magnets.

Mostly because they are not medieval knights and their helmets aren't metal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Tornaxx

As for people saying the chap videoing it was in the wrong.... I think he was totally right until he decided to upload it to YouTube. Video should have been handed over to the guards. The sound of their voices could be used as evidence (CCTV has no sound) and smartphone cameras are better quality than CCTV (could pick up small logos on clothes, details etc...).

If I was ever a witness to something where I couldn't help at all, and I could keep my calm to video it, I would.

By uploading it to YouTube, more people would see it, therefore more chance of catching the perpetrators. As for handing it over to the Gardaí, they did, according to the article.
    A Garda spokesperson has confirmed they are investigating the incident, and that the footage will be examined as part of the investigation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

Seen this happen years ago (1990's) funny enough in a sports shop on henry street in Dublin. Same thing two lads on a motorbike came in with helmets on to rob the place typical skanger dub accents ranting and raving. Money was handed over everything was going fine for the robbers until they attempted to run out and make their escape on the motorbike. They had left it outside with the engine running and some other scumbag had nicked it and drove off. They ran down towards Moore street shouting and roaring like madmen. Same thing though everyone in the shop including the staff stayed calm and let them get about their business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

I heard all that was taken was the money and Liverpool jerseys.

Why is he an idiot? You have no idea whether or not he shared the footage with Gardai. He could have made a copy of the video or saved it to the phones internal memory from a card before handing it over.

Bit harsh to be calling him an idiot and in the same breath praising the fact that he recorded it.

It's up to gardaí to release footage to the public. I'm not saying it's the case in this instance, but evidence made available to the public can compromise a prosecution. If every witness / victim just took it upon themselves to release evidence, nothing would get through a court.

Also, you can hear him giggling with excitement at the end of the film thinking it's grand craic.

He uploaded the video for five seconds of Facebook Fame like a good little narcissistic twat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

LOL at people saying they should have tackled him.
    Pfst.. I've played both the batman games and have all the gadgets, I think I know how to take down just two bad guys, I could even get the maximum bonus!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

That's what I though as well. All the staff are calm as fcuk. If I was a shopper I wouldn't be just standing around :confused:

I dont know about the people continuing to shop and the person recording it but saying you wouldnt just be standing around, to this i say 'Oh Yeah"

I was the only customer in a small rural bank a few years back when it was robbed. A guy with a sawn off just walked in , stood beside me and held up the bank. I was told to sit down which i did pronto in a weirdly calm daze. We all then calmly got locked into the safe.
    IT IS THE WEIRDEST FEELING IN THE WORLD!!!. No panic, no heroics just calm weird dazedness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

tin79 wrote: »
    Mostly because they are not medieval knights and their helmets aren't metal.

Mostly because of the helmet thing?!? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I dont know about the people continuing to shop
    The robbers should have made everyone pay for their purchases and then robbed the till. Fools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭hypersquirrel

As someone who has been held up in three armed robberies at this point that all seems fairly standard to me. No robber goes in planning to injure somebody because if they do then the chances of them getting caught skyrocket. In my experience when you're being robbed you initially take a few seconds to process it in your head and then you do what you're told. You're in shock, it's not until after it's all over that you lose your cool. This whole notion of mass panic, screaming, running etc., is just Hollywood nonsense.

On one of the occasions we only had one customer in with us and afterwards she asked, "was that real? I thought it was just one of your friends playing a joke on you". Yes they're scary and unsettling but more often than not they're over in 2 minutes max and as long as nobody tried to be a hero nobody will have been harmed. If it goes right it's only money that gets taken but if some fool decides to take it upon themselves to 'save the day' then somebody is going to get hurt.

As someone who has been held up in three armed robberies at this point that all seems fairly standard to me. No robber goes in planning to injure somebody because if they do then the chances of them getting caught skyrocket. In my experience when you're being robbed you initially take a few seconds to process it in your head and then you do what you're told. You're in shock, it's not until after it's all over that you lose your cool. This whole notion of mass panic, screaming, running etc., is just Hollywood nonsense.

On one of the occasions we only had one customer in with us and afterwards she asked, "was that real? I thought it was just one of your friends playing a joke on you". Yes they're scary and unsettling but more often than not they're over in 2 minutes max and as long as nobody tried to be a hero nobody will have been harmed. If it goes right it's only money that gets taken but if some fool decides to take it upon themselves to 'save the day' then somebody is going to get hurt.

Quite right.

Also, afterwards, myself and my colleague (we were the only two working) were in hysterics. We couldn't stop laughing. Slapping one another on the back etc... seemed surreal.

I think when we realized we wernt killed all the adrenaline turned into total joy.

It was only when I tried to go to sleep that night that I began running through all the possibilities. Didn't sleep a wink!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Jesus, that looked easy!

Don't be getting any ideas URL!