Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Threatened after car sale....

• 01-10-2013 10:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭

I sold a car last month on behalf of my mother, to a rough looking diamond (tattoo dots on knuckles) and his girlfriend. Got a call this evening threatening I would "get a bullet in my head" because the gearbox is not working.

The car was perfect (as in 100%) 5 weeks ago, but moot point.

My mother lives alone, she would never sleep again if this scrote showed up at the door demanding cash back.

I reported to the police who have promised a drive by prescence this evening.
    I have come over under false pretences for the night.

So, Qs:

1. Police, is there anything they can do since it's just a threat?
    2. Should I tell her to lock-up and alarm etc? Net effect: never sleeping gain likely.
    3. Say nothing and hope he was a spoofer.
    4. Come to an arrangement re: repairs (keep in mind this car was 100% and sold in good faith).

What do you good folks of the Internet think is appropriate/wise here (

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭richierichballs

surely you got his name and number?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭tosspot15

dont come any arrangement with this scumbag. Dont even answer his phone calls ever again or make any contact what so ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭Brego888

Sold as seen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,925 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

robodonkey wrote: »
    4. Come to an arrangement re: repairs (

This not an option. If you suggest an arrangement I can almost guarantee he will simply demand all of his money back, secure in the knowledge that you believe his threats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Reporting it to the Gardai was the right thing to do. Surely a threat like that is a serious enough matter. Any chance you could sleep there in the house yourself for a few nights to make her feel at ease?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭richierichballs

tosspot15 wrote: »
    dont come any arrangement with this scumbag. Dont even answer his phone calls ever again or make any contact what so ever.

scumbags of this order, don't care about that.

he'll have the guys details from the log book. I can't imagine he'd be stupid enough to come knocking to his house.

he's done all he can do for now, if he calls again i'd answer and explain that he has called the guards and they are aware of the situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

Caveat emptor.

There is no comeback on private sales unless the car was sold defective, which you were aware of and didn't inform them.

My advice would be to go to the gardai and make a complaint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Burn his house down, with fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

When he drove off in the car the sale was sealed.
    Caveat emptor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Don't tell your mother. Stay there for a couple of nights. Let the gardai deal with it and have absolutely NO contact with this scumbag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Take him out first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭robodonkey

Have his girlfriends name and number, they will be in motor tax records anyway.
    Going to police tomorrow with more details (think I have his number from the sale last month, but he called from unknown num tonight).
    Key thing here is that if I tell the mother, she will never sleep again....if I don't tell her am I putting her at risk?

Easy to say caveat emptor, and if it was me, I'd be waiting outside with a <insert weapon of choice here> but I can't move in with herself for ever....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Mickey: The deal was you bought it like you saw it. Hey, look ... You should f**k off now while you still got the legs to carry you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Waiting for someone to start a thread explaining how they got a new tattoo one morning last week and then went and bought a car with his bird from someone selling it on behalf of their mother.

Not happy with the gearbox so they came to AH seeking advice on the best way to put a bullet in the seller's head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

You have his number so call his bluff. Dot tattoos on knuckles does not maketh a hard bastard, if anything it symbolises stupidity and that there is their achilles heel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

I would tell this feckin eejit that I couldn't care if the doors fell off the car while he was driving down the road.He bought the car as he saw it.Is he still in school or what.

Tell him bring the car back and you'll put a set of alloys on it for him aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I've learned, from the motors forum, that if you're selling your car you buy a new SIM card, so you can discard the phone number after sale, and arrange viewing from a place that isn't your home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    Mickey: The deal was you bought it like you saw it. Hey, look ... You should f**k off now while you still got the legs to carry you.

Why the fook would I want to buy a caravan with no wheels on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Faze11

Scortho wrote: »
    Caveat emptor.

There is no comeback on private sales unless the car was sold defective, which you were aware of and didn't inform them.

My advice would be to go to the gardai and make a complaint.

Ehhh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Burn his house down, with fire.

No father. Burn it down with hugs.

Real men love hugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I've learned, from the motors forum, that if you're selling your car you buy a new SIM card, so you can discard the phone number after sale, and arrange viewing from a place that isn't your home.

Very mysterious Mr. Rock if that is your real name.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,364 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I wouldn't buy a car by private sale from someone that wouldn't let me see where they lived or maybe from the car park of where the worked (unless we were meeting halfway, maybe). So round and round we go.

@OP: shiitty situation but you have to stick to your guns. Tell him you sold it in good faith. Tell him to go to any solicitor he likes. Tell him to ask a professional mechanic who should pay. Tell him he was perfectly entitled to bring a mechanic at the time. Tell him a mechanic would have reminded him that there are no warranties for private sales (caveat emptor). Tell him if he really wanted a warranty, he could have bought a car from a garage.

Just be firm with him until you're sure it'll blow over. It's just a case of 'scumbag entitlement'- I want it all and I expect it for nothing and I'll throw my weight around at anyone that looks like a marque...

Out of curiosity, what kind of car was it and how much money changed hands?

cantdecide wrote: »
    I wouldn't buy a car by private sale from someone that wouldn't let me see where they lived...

And if I sell it outside where my friend/Brother lived?

I'm not a car salesman fwiw - I've got caught once and have read too many stories about assholes looking for refunds months after selling a car so I'd be very carefull about drawing that heat on myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Dont tell the mammy, she'll just worry. Seriously wouldn't take the threat seriously either.

Blast him with piss and then say "Bro, do you even lift?" He'll then look at you very oddly so then that's your chance to KO the focker. Give the tires a few kicks and scream "look, nothing is wrong with the focking car".

Then just burn it out in front of him and look at him very intensely and say "get off my lawn you filthy animal".

He'll run home crying. Piece of pee OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Well the car is sold now but this is a good guide for selling a used car: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=74449359&postcount=1 .

For future reference now I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Think you spelled drugs forum incorrectly.

Hal1 wrote: »
    Well the car is sold now but this is a good guide for selling a used car: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=74449359&postcount=1 .

For future reference now I suppose.

Jayus Hal if only you'd been around a month ago!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

You have his number so call his bluff. Dot tattoos on knuckles does not maketh a hard bastard, if anything it symbolises stupidity and that there is their achilles heel.
    “Never argue with stupid people, they will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.”Mark Twain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Tell him how sorry you are, and that if you had known about the gear box blah blah blah, then arrange to meet him some where 'special', yeah a special place where you both can meet.... eh eh sorry I was day dreaming. Anyway when you meet, the rest is up to you if you know what I mean wow ha ha ha ha

Well you did start this thread in AH.......

Dont tell the mammy, she'll just worry. Seriously wouldn't take the threat seriously either.

Blast him with piss and then say "Bro, do you even lift?" He'll then look at you very oddly so then that's your chance to KO the focker. Give the tires a few kicks and scream "look, nothing is wrong with the focking car".

Then just burn it out in front of him and look at him very intensely and say "get off my lawn you filthy animal".

He'll run home crying. Piece of pee OP.

Fcuking hilarious, do you want a job lol lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

One bullet; bang, bang!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

BOHtox wrote: »
    One bullet; bang, bang!

Shoot him in an echo chamber?

Think you spelled drugs forum incorrectly.

I'm telling the lads in the motors forum you called them drug dealers.

Expect a gang of tooled-up motors forum lads outside your house any minute now.

ardle1 wrote: »
    Fcuking hilarious, do you want a job lol lol

I have one but I'm listening! Better not be selling cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

robodonkey wrote: »
    I reported to the police who have promised a drive by prescence this evening.
    Have an image in my head of gardai leaning out the windows of a squad car with uzis and AKs. I want a referendum that enables this plox.

I have one but I'm listening! Better not be selling cars.

Nah, I just employ comedians and dept collectors ha ha ha, your all rolled into one..... STILL LAUGHING

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭robodonkey

I think the AH mob have gotten to the core of the issue better than the motors forum ever could.
    Killing with fire, cops with AKs and some sensible responses.
    Much obliged all......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭GTDolanator

I had this a couple of years ago,sold a van 3 weeks later yer man is on the phone screaming and roaring that the van went on fire because the way the radio was fitted...funny thing was i actually knocked money off the price because i decided to keep the radio!!!!

gave him an earfull he eventually stopped ringing just a chancer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

Did you send the log book away yourself??

Anytime I sell a car I always ask for ID and note the new owners details (from the log book) just for reasons like this and I always send the book away myself!

The car was sold as seen and god knows what that Muppet did to the car in that 5 weeks. You can download an app that will record all conversations on your phone so if he calls again you have proof of the threat!

Ask him if he is on probation or has he a criminal record :D Usual result then is ' as jasus bud im sorry yano im on probation for batin me bird with a can a red bull, she always gettin res sauce on me fookin burger. Cool bro so ill get me mechanic mate to have a look, it's probably not that bad anyway'

OR Call him back and say look lad ' the Sargent sold me that car and he bought it from the inspector and he got it off CAB and there was never and issues with the gearbox so ill call over later and........beep beep beep hello??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,711 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

You'd want to be careful that the scum thug doesn't think you are disrespecting him...Oh no, wait... he's dead. What a pity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

Faze11 wrote: »
    Ehhh

There is no comeback on private sales, unless the car is defective and the seller didn't make the buyer aware of the defect.

In this case it sounds like the gearbox went post sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Lessons learned.

1. Always get a qualified mechanic to go over your car before sale. Document their review (and determine if you want to sell without related fixes, or modify price).

2. Always get their details and send the log book off yourself. Do not give the log book to them directly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

BOHtox wrote: »
    One bullet; bang, bang!

Bang bang , isn't that two ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,364 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Hobbes wrote: »
    Lessons learned.

1. Always get a qualified mechanic to go over your car before sale. Document their review (and determine if you want to sell without related fixes, or modify price).

2. Always get their details and send the log book off yourself. Do not give the log book to them directly.

It is said that it's the seller's responsibility. However, there are plenty of occasions when the seller couldn't bother their hoop and leave you swinging for weeks or months. It's happened to me a couple of times and once, the car was months out of tax.

One of the better conventions is that you both fill out the reg form and go directly to a post box. It's the only way you both know it's been handled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,695 ✭✭✭Hoop66

What you've got to do is cut the hamstring on the back of his leg right at the bottom. He'll never play golf again, because his weight displacement goes back, all his weight is on his right foot, and he'll push everything off to the right. He'll never come through on anything.

He'll quit the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭Fuzzytrooper

There's only one way to deal with this vagabond....pistols at dawn.

Stargate wrote: »
    Bang bang , isn't that two ;)

You see the joke here is that he was insulting the intelligence of the scrote who was making the threats down the phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

Omackeral wrote: »
    You see the joke here is that he was insulting the intelligence of the scrote who was making the threats down the phone.

LoL Omackeral , can intelligence and scrote be used in the same sentence :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Scortho wrote: »
    Caveat emptor

Whatever you do OP do not say this to him!!

If there is one thing worse than an angry knuckle dragger its a confused knuckle dragger!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Go to the Gardai ffs! Can't believe you'd come on to AH to ask about what you should do after someone has threatened to 'put a bullet in your head'!

It'd be one thing if he was demanding his money back and just being obnoxious about it, but I wouldn't be hanging around to see if he was serious after making such a serious threat.