Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Security wise who is the most protected man or woman in Ireland?

• 01-10-2013 10:13pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭

Enda Kenny strolls to work without a care in the world with no protection, President Michael D never seems to be surrounded by burly men either so, surprisingly, that counts them out.

My money is on the likes of Michael O Leary and Denis O Brien, two men shrewd enough to have a team look after them. JP Macmanus and the likes too.

I once heard that tabloid news reporter Paul Williams has a bigger security team at his house than at Áras an Uachtaráin.

Security wise, who is the most protected man or woman in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭myhorse

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    Enda Kenny strolls to work without a care in the world with no protection, President Michael D never seems to be surrounded by burly men either so, surprisingly, that counts them out.

My money is on the likes of Michael O Leary and Denis O Brien, two men shrewd enough to have a team look after them. JP Macmanus and the likes too.

I once heard that tabloid news reporter Paul Williams has a bigger security team at his house than at Áras an Uachtaráin.

Seemingly this f*cker
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/man-to-be-protected-in-jail-after-being-charged-with-raping-two-girls-29624718.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Big Decko that sells.the weed at the corner. Always has lads with pieces watching out for him he says.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭Filibuster

The American Ambassador - has US Marines, private security and Armed Gardaí looking after him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Probably Enya

Or Bono when Enya is over for tea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Filibuster wrote: »
    The American Ambassador - has US Marines, private security and Armed Gardaí looking after him

I once kicked a football into his back garden in the Phoenix park when I was 19.

Jumped the wall. Ran halfway across the place and got the ball.

No shot rang out. I survived.

True story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

It's not michael O'leary anyway as I was standing next to him getting a coffee the other day in a filling station. He was wearing trainers, jeans and a blazer and was alone in a merc jeep. I said hello, he said hello. Then he drove off. No minders. He seemed alright, no great ego on show, pretty down to earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Michael D called into where I work a while back, his 4 security guards in fashionable grey suits sprawled out around the area while 2 armed Gardaì stood back a bit further.

It was at that point I decided not to run up and rub his head for good luck.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Definitely not those two.

I regularly see them at race meetings in Punchestown, Fairyhouse, Leopardstown and the Galway Festival walking around the betting ring just like any other punter.

I've spoken to both of them in the past and get the feeling they are both happy to discuss racing with anyone they meet as long as they are not pestered for photos, autographs etc or questions about work.

Both very down to earth men with no hint or need for security around them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Carlos Salinas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Michael D called into where I work a while back, his 4 security guards in fashionable grey suits sprawled out around the area while 2 armed Gardaì stood back a bit further.

The security were there to protect the pot of gold, not Michael D. himself.

Right now its that nonce rapist in Athlone.

Flippant answer to this thread but probably true. Sadly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Wouldnt all Irish billionaires have teams of people looking after them? From a kidnapping point of view some on them must have been targeted over the years

just cos you dont see em dont mean they arent there.
    thats how good their security is......

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Gerry Adams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

the guy running the quinn group of companies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I'd say the security around Mary Harney's refrigerator.

He was in our college only last week and there was bodyguards and security on every door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Who ever is on close security detail by our friend Investment. I think he had a diary about it. Interesting read. And by interesting I do of course mean internet gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

Jimmy Hoffa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I'd say the security around Mary Harney's refrigerator.

Cowboys, complete cowboys. Tssk.

He was in our college only last week and there was bodyguards and security on every door.

In fairness I'd want bodyguards and security on every door too if I ever visited Carlow. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭johnr1

On the numerous times ive seen Denis o Brien about, he seems to only have his one driver along. (I sometimes work in the top two or three hotels in Dublin)

Id go along with Gerry Adams, he seems to be driven around by three right hard bastards. Always a full car.

As others have said though, the winner is prob the US Ambassador.

I used to see a bread delivery man in Limerick with four cops in a squad car following him everywhere,- I believe the guy's son had been shot dead previously.

Also, imagine how boring a gig it must be for the four cops who keep Liam Cosgrave (former Taoiseach from the 1970's) from being assasinated by some competing superpower:rolleyes:

Actually I've just thought of a New Winner - Niall Horan of 'One Erection' :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,581 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I think the fact that he hasn't had to have any footwear surgically removed from his backside means Bertie must have a fairly large team of ninja bodyguards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

dolores macnamara, maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,581 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

sam34 wrote: »
    dolores macnamara, maybe?

Is that the woman who won the lottery and had trouble with someone trying to kidnap her son?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

she won the euro-gazillions, don't know about her son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭ALiasEX

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

ALiasEX wrote: »
    What's wrong with an innocent person being protected?

He's not being 'protected'.

He gets a cell to himself so the other prisoners don't peel his skin off before the trial.

Rapists are the lowest of the low in prison. Pedos aren't even considered human by inmates. They're fair game for a killing.

The judge also remarked that he had bruises and cuts to his face. Hopefully the detectives gave the prick a nice working over in his cell. I'd turn a blind eye to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Wouldn't blame him a bit in a college, probably the best place to get assaulted by some "radical" fool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

UK Ambassador

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭canadianwoman

Do people often do that? Rub his head for good luck? If they do that is just hilarious. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

1/ Hilary Weston

2/ Denis O’Brien

3/ John Dorrance

4/ The Earl of Iveagh

5/ Lord Ballyedmond

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

I met him in Poznan a few hours before the Croatia game at the European Championships. He was strolling around chatting to people & we got a few photos with him, there was a security guard there but he was taking all the photos for us! In fairness D. Higgins is a smashing fella he was chatting with anyone who wanted to get a photo or whatever. In that sort of enviroment where there was drink involved & fellas messing we thought he'd get a hard time but he was sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

The thing with a lot of the top government guys is that their security is there, it just isnt as obvious as four big burly guys in black suits and ear pieces shadowing their every footstep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Orim

Dean0088 wrote: »
    He's not being 'protected'.

He gets a cell to himself so the other prisoners don't peel his skin off before the trial.

Rapists are the lowest of the low in prison. Pedos aren't even considered human by inmates. They're fair game for a killing.

The judge also remarked that he had bruises and cuts to his face. Hopefully the detectives gave the prick a nice working over in his cell. I'd turn a blind eye to it.

Sounds like he's being protected and for damn good reason. What do pedos and rapists have to do with an innocent man?

Mod

No further discussion on the Athlone sexual assault case or accusations against the alleged perpetrator please.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

MonstaMash wrote: »
    1/ Hilary Weston

2/ Denis O’Brien

3/ John Dorrance

4/ The Earl of Iveagh

5/ Lord Ballyedmond

Two of those people don't live in Ireland and one spends more time in the Caribbean than Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Although not exactly on topic , the largest security detail I have ever witnessed was for the Queen when she was here.

She has in my mind been the most protected person ever in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

i guess the guy that shot the 16 year old girl in tallaght has a pretty big security team since the fellow inmates poured boiling water and sugar down his neck in mountjoy and have threatened to do it on her anniversary for the next 10 years!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭canadianwoman

Strituck wrote: »
    Although not exactly on topic , the largest security detail I have ever witnessed was for the Queen when she was here.

She has in my mind been the most protected person ever

I fixed it for ya. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

i guess the guy that shot the 16 year old girl in tallaght has a pretty big security team since the fellow inmates poured boiling water and sugar down his neck in mountjoy and have threatened to do it on her anniversary for the next 10 years!

He got off lucky being force-fed watery tea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

anncoates wrote: »
    He got off lucky being force-fed watery tea?

Ah but what if it was Earl Grey ? That would be torture.:D

Did that really happen by the way ? Good for him if it did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Goat the dote

Only ten?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Only ten?

He will be out after that, with the automatic 1/4 remission off. Time off for good behaviour. They won't have room for him in the protective wing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Security wise who is the most protected man or woman in Ireland ?

The dipstick who just robbed the Durex machine in Coppers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

I've dealt with both Denis O'Brien and JP McManus through my job and neither seemed to have any security. O'Brien had staff around him alright but McManus was on his own.

I suppose the US ambassador has a fairly hefty security detail.

The most I've personally seen is a prince from an oil-rich middle eastern state who had armed security who did a "sweep" of every room before he entered.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

MonstaMash wrote: »
    1/ Hilary Weston

2/ Denis O’Brien

3/ John Dorrance

4/ The Earl of Iveagh

5/ Lord Ballyedmond

I think you just listed the 5 richest people in Ireland ;)