Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Michael Collins - 'Langer'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

He was from Cork.

He couldn't help being a langer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Well, langer is also slang for a willy, so, I presume he'd get it if he lived in contemporary cork and wouldn't take it as an insult.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Apparently his family were "appalled". Everyone's appalled at everything these days. Christ, take a joke lads. The man's deified enough as it is, we should be able to take some humour from him too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,094 ✭✭✭forgotten password

ya know your man down da road dere, he's only a langer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

enda1 wrote: »
    Apparently his family were "appalled". Everyone's appalled at everything these days. Christ, take a joke lads. The man's deified enough as it is, we should be able to take some humour from him too.

I'd say his "family" are mostly his family's descendants as anyone alive who actually remembers him must have been just a child at the time, and probably knew nothing of his humour. All we know is he didn't like surprises. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,068 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Lapin wrote: »
    He was from Cork.

He couldn't help being a langer.
    can a Cork woman be called a langer, or would it be going too far? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

They didn't call him "The Big Fella" for nothing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

I was listening to 96fm this morning with them having a chat about this and i swear one of the complaints said with a serious tone that it might of been a British secret service plot to discredit him!.Every one knows "Langer" is a completely subjective word its all about the use and tone it can be playful or it can be a mild insult common sense would indicate this was just playful THE cork man being described by the most cork slang for his sex.

Get over it I have zero clue why there such an uproar about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Elbaston

enda1 wrote: »

I think the reason everyones appalled' these days is to do with sensationalist w4nker writers.
    His family probably said 'oh yeah..well you know'.

Whatever - A bystander

They were appalled I tell you, tears floooowed, agast, oh grand pappy how we wail - A writer.