Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The FM104 Phoneshow with Chris Barry

• 30-09-2013 8:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭

Thought I'd start a thread for the actual show rather than the build-up/ Adrian & Jeremy.

Good start lol :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭Saganist

10 min delay with non stop ads and FM104's stream is just not working properly.

Not the best start. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Koloman

Are they still having technical difficulties?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭Fresh Pots

Saganist wrote: »
    10 min delay with non stop ads and FM104's stream is just not working properly.

Not the best start. :rolleyes:

He said he's covered the camera with a sock, just for the first night!

Koloman wrote: »

No it started at 10 past, after a loop of ads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭Saganist

Koloman wrote: »

the live stream aint working. ( properly )

They need a bed to block out all that background noise!

Saganist wrote: »
    the live stream aint working. ( properly )

That's what I'm listening to. It keeps fading in and out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 The Monaghan Lad

I have been listening to Adrian for 5 years, I don't think it will ever be the same again..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭smurfs5

It's so dull. "Get It Off Your Chest" will never be the same again. It's meant to be fun and light-hearted. Instead, it's like the debates from 10:30. Disappointing first night so far.

I've switched off. It's so boring and certainly doesn't have the pulling power of Adrian & Jeremy

Niall Boylan will be sleeping easily tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭elmoslats

smurfs5 wrote: »
    It's so dull. "Get It Off Your Chest" will never be the same again. It's meant to be fun and light-hearted. Instead, it's like the debates from 10:30. Disappointing first night so far.

Is this get it off your chest? who phoned in to get this off their chest?

edit: yeah, the accent conversation isn't get it off you chest. he said gioyc is coming up later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

smurfs5 wrote: »

I've switched off. It's so boring and certainly doesn't have the pulling power of Adrian & Jeremy

He's literally just sat into the chair give Chris a chance to find his feet in the show .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Do they still have brain dead scangers screaming at each other?

Bring back Greg Merriman afterwards and it might as well be 2001 again.

Do they still have brain dead scangers screaming at each other?

even better...brain dead scangers screaming at posh d4 heads

I have been listening to Adrian for 5 years, I don't think it will ever be the same again..

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057051126

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

He paid a nice and fitting tribute to Adrian and Jeremy this evening. It's 14 years since Chris Barry left the Phoneshow and as he said himself the lads were tired and wanted a change. He praised them for their efforts and success and wished them well with the move to daytime.

Now having heard snippets of tonight's show I think 4fm really made a mistake. They had a chance to sign Chris Barry and now once again UTV hold all the aces. One of the most memorable radio marketing campaigns within the last week since his announcement. Tonight he's talking about Romans and Drink Driving.. He's easing his way in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Proview

bbability wrote: »
    He paid a nice and fitting tribute to Adrian and Jeremy this evening. It's 14 years since Chris Barry left the Phoneshow and as he said himself the lads were tired and wanted a change. He praised them for their efforts and success and wished them well with the move to daytime.

Now having heard snippets of tonight's show I think 4fm really made a mistake. They had a chance to sign Chris Barry and now once again UTV hold all the aces. One of the most memorable radio marketing campaigns within the last week since his announcement. Tonight he's talking about Romans and Drink Driving.. He's easing his way in.

Did you get paid cash or cheque for that:))). Tis all fluffy .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭TheLonelyOne

No so sure if it will work..... Adrian and Jeremy were great to bounce off each other and the listeners too.

And who is that GOB****E that they have in there with Chris tonight?!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 hallgate

Chris Barry is outdated and boring compared to Adrian and Jeremy. No controversy or bad language on his show. It could just as easily be in a daytime slot. This is meant to be night time radio. For God's sake, LIVEN IT UP,CHRIS ! Best of luck with it,anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Thelostcountry

Over ten years listening to, the phone show. I had to switch last night to 4FM I cannot stand Barrys voice.

when are the lads starting on 98fm??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 843 ✭✭✭Whatsernamex33

I'm loving Crossy ATM. :) Chris himself, I cannot warm to him..

Maybe it's just me, but it feels like he hops between topics wayyyy too fast. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Thelostcountry

Maybe it's just me, but it feels like he hops between topics wayyyy too fast. :pac:

No!! You are right there,hops all over the gaff and starts to hmmm and hwww ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

Chris Barry is a legend of Irish radio as far as I am concerned, but he is obviously rusty. Hopefully he will get his mojo back with time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭The_Mask

porsche959 wrote: »
    Chris Barry is a legend of Irish radio as far as I am concerned, but he is obviously rusty. Hopefully he will get his mojo back with time.

Ah he's past his prime, I agree he's a legend of Irish radio... after all he was there from the beginning when the phone show started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭The_Mask

porsche959 wrote: »

Ah he's past his prime, I agree he's a legend of Irish radio... after all he was there from the beginning when the phone show started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

The_Mask wrote: »

Yeah, it is very hard to recreate an old show, especially after such a long absence.