Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beet Ireland

• 30-09-2013 4:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭

Anyone thinking of putting money into beet ireland, they are giving a great return but I suspect its very high risk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

keep going wrote: »
    Anyone thinking of putting money into beet ireland, they are giving a great return but I suspect its very high risk

Had a good chat with them at the ploughing, they were probably taking my interest with a grain of salt given im growing beet in an area that doesnt grow beet. Flyer look abit of a pyrmaid scheme I taught. I would be interest in growing 30ac circa 1k tons if the money was right, but doubt it will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Lambofdave

Was there any mention of where the site is supposed to be?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Like bob, I had a good chat at the ploughing, they need a site of roughly 250 acres, no clue yet where it will be but a big problem is getting a discharge licience to a river.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

It has as much chance if getting started as the 5000 cow herd in Tipp

Who is going to fund it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

whats the annual return?

Just wonderings as I have a little bespoke invest and wanted to see was it in the same ball park. woops mine would be as close to risk free as it goes

whats the annual return?

Just wonderings as I have a little bespoke invest and wanted to see was it in the same ball park. woops mine would be as close to risk free as it goes

Nice one Lakill, throw out the hook and wait for the pm's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

delaval wrote: »
    It has as much chance if getting started as the 5000 cow herd in Tipp

Who is going to fund it?

The same type of people that funded the processing plant in Belview:p:p.

Unlikely so

they seem adamant it will happen, your man was trying to sell me beet pulp, he was talking about having 350k tons of wet pulp from 2million tons of beet I think. Site location is top secret. Its the only crop that yields are increasing pretty quickly compared to barley/wheat which havnt moved anywhere in the last 15 yrs. How many would grow beet if offered €36 ex farm. at €40t I would seriously consider it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

they seem adamant it will happen, your man was trying to sell me beet pulp, he was talking about having 350k tons of wet pulp from 2million tons of beet I think. Site location is top secret. Its the only crop that yields are increasing pretty quickly compared to barley/wheat which havnt moved anywhere in the last 15 yrs. How many would grow beet if offered €36 ex farm. at €40t I would seriously consider it.
    A neighbour of mine used to milk cows up to about 15yr ago and went into tillage then. One year he made 30ac of silage and grew i think it was 25ac of beet and sold it all and drew the tops and tails and the beet pulp out of the broken bags and fed 80 cows over the winter with it. Good going i thought

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

€40 per ton on a 20 ton crop is only €800. The location is rumoured to be near galmoy, on the tipp Kilkenny Laois border.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

25k initial investment will rule a lot of small/medium scale tilage farmers out especially with the risks associated with the project at this stage.

Best of luck up them though.

do you know what - Fair fecks to them for having the initiative to try and get it going again. I will watch with interest and maybe a supplier if things went right

I would grow for min of €40 ex farm I think

do you know what - Fair fecks to them for having the initiative to try and get it going again. I will watch with interest and maybe a supplier if things went right

I would grow for min of €40 ex farm I think

€40 isn't a great price. We were getting that in £ when costs were way lower. As you said in a previous thread, 'no point in being a busy fool'.

You were probably getting that but yields have gone way up since then. I could make money at €40t ex yard but this would be min price I would do it for. @ €45t plus bonus for beet your making very good money, and im wouldnt be growing it on the best of ground. Lads in east cork/wex/carlow would be able to knock out 5t extra for doing nothing extra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭jay gatsby

A few lads around here growing Magnum with the price of €40 in their heads and would let it go for less. Some years you would buy it washed for that price or less so I'm pretty certain a lot of lads would bite at €40/ton ex yard. Also any kind of transport sub always gets the lads with the big haulage gear interested, keeps machinery busy at a quiet time.

Hope its a roaring success for them.

jay gatsby wrote: »
    A few lads around here growing Magnum with the price of €40 in their heads and would let it go for less. Some years you would buy it washed for that price or less so I'm pretty certain a lot of lads would bite at €40/ton ex yard. Also any kind of transport sub always gets the lads with the big haulage gear interested, keeps machinery busy at a quiet time.

Hope its a roaring success for them.

Magnum would be worth 20% less than sugar beet at min, so if sugar beet is selling for 40 magnum would be worth 31/32. Those lads growing would have a much different tune to their whistle if they were growing sugar beet hoping it would yield like wet fodder beet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Will this beet have to grown within a certain distance of the plant or will they be taking it from all over ?

The only way this will actually make money is if the growers own the factory. While €40 is pittance for a ton of sugar beet, if the grower is getting dividends from the company well that's a different story. It's important that the growers retain 100% control of the factory and its books.

how much per acre profit do you want to make per crop after all costs including a rent is included. I will discard the extra ton of grain growing for free the following against late harvests etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Not one bite :o.

make sure the bounty at the end is so big people wont even stop to think about it. invest 20k with me and make 250k in 3 years :)

You would want to get in quick Delaval. Lakill says he can just about squeeze in my suit case of cash into this no lose investment, but space is running out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Go on tell us what it is and you never know- pm us the details if you want to talk

You would want to get in quick Delaval. Lakill says he can just about squeeze in my suit case of cash into this no lose investment, but space is running out

I'm waiting for Anglo's recovery before my cash will be free to invest in anything

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I think the big thing with beet is the knock on effect it has for the economy, we have touched on it above. Really the sugar is just the icing on the cake.
    There is also
    1. the pulp
    2. fert and seed
    3. jobs
    4. engineering/machinery supplies
    5. transport
    6. by-products like topsoil, lime, tails and tops, maybe more?
    7. construction of the plant
    8. packaging
    9. ethanol possibility?
    I hope it works out for them, it will be worth millions for the country as a whole.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

how much per acre profit do you want to make per crop after all costs including a rent is included. I will discard the extra ton of grain growing for free the following against late harvests etc

It doesn't always work like that. You mentioned in a previous thread about poor headlands on maize from a bad harvest. At least be consistent.

blue5000 wrote: »
    I think the big thing with beet is the knock on effect it has for the economy, we have touched on it above. Really the sugar is just the icing on the cake.

There is also
    1. the pulp
    2. fert and seed
    3. jobs
    4. engineering/machinery supplies
    5. transport
    6. by-products like topsoil, lime, tails and tops, maybe more?
    7. construction of the plant
    8. packaging
    9. ethanol possibility?
    I hope it works out for them, it will be worth millions for the country as a whole.
    So are you investing or will you grow beet if its up and running?

It doesn't always work like that. You mentioned in a previous thread about poor headlands on maize from a bad harvest. At least be consistent.

give me a poor beet harvest over a poor maize harvest anyday. Current maize harvester is grossing bloody 15t, tractors and trailers or maize are probably close on 20t, where as the little armer salmon and tractor would be 7 ton and hauling to the headland of a field. Maize has to be harvest within a smallish period. Beet has some bit of flexibility.

And how many lads do you think would be harvesting with Armers when beet would come back??

The last Armer is now well over 10 years old!

nashmach wrote: »
    And how many lads do you think would be harvesting with Armers when beet would come back??

The last Armer is now well over 10 years old!

lots of profitable lads like yourself that run older gear. I doubt the Armer salmon bespoke workshop will get going to churn out more :D:D

If British Sugar are the sleeping partners I wouldnt be interested

Whys is that?

lots of profitable lads like yourself that run older gear. I doubt the Armer salmon bespoke workshop will get going to churn out more :D:D

Are you talking about the chain type?

We never had a beet harvester here - couldn't you imagine the auld 3000 on one :D

To be honest Bob, I'd hope those behind it would have enough cop on to stay away from BS given their treatment of growers over the years.

Lambofdave wrote: »
    Whys is that?

Cos they are a right shower of ........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Did anyone hear any new news on this? Do ye think it will get up and running?