Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

3 men held over sex attack on 2 young girls in Athlone

• 29-09-2013 4:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭

I checked to see if this was already posted, i can't find it anywhere..

This is sick, and very worrying..

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/three-held-over-sex-attack-on-two-girls-in-athlone-1.1544072
    Detectives questioning men over serious assault on children, aged six and nine, who had been enticed away from a birthday party

Three men are being questioned about a sex attack on two young girls in Athlone, Co Westmeath yesterday.

The girls, aged six and nine, were attending a birthday party yesterday afternoon when the attack took place. Both of the children had travelled from other parts of the country and had been staying with relatives.

They were subjected to a shocking ordeal and taken to hospital for emergency medical treatment.

While the party was under way, the children were playing outside and are understood to have been enticed away to a nearby house at about 4pm by a man who was not attending the celebration.

Once inside, they were taken to a room where they were severely sexually assaulted. Once they were left alone, they climbed out a window and ran back to the house where the party was taking place to raise the alarm.

Adults at the party had already become concerned at the unexplained disappearance earlier of the girls.

The children were able to identify the house and one man was subsequently detained by local men before the gardaí were alerted.

Two other men were arrested yesterday evening and taken to Athlone Garda station.

Two of the men are in their mid-40s, while the third is in his early 30s.....
    If this is true.

How do sick F***ers like that meet up, and worse, get them into a house that obviously wasn't very far away..?

I shudder to think of what worse (if possible) things could have happened if the two girls had not escaped.. :mad::mad::mad:

Blood Boiling!!
    All three were taken to a special sitting of Athlone District Court this morning where they were remanded on public order charges. They were not charged with any offence related to the attack on the girls.

Following their appearance in court, the men were arrested as part of the investigation into the alleged sexual assault and brought back to Athlone Garda station.

Following the assault, the girls were taken to University College Hospital in Galway where they both underwent extensive examination and were detained for medical treatment. Their parents were also at the hospital today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Jesusfcukingchrist.

What sick cnuts. He's lucky the men who detained him didn't absolutely kick the fcuk out of him.

Assholes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

Just heard it on the radio but not those details. Jesus Christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭BonsaiKitten

Oh christ that's sickening :mad:

Six and nine years old...no more than babies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

A nightmare

I hope they have enough evidence for a solid conviction and the sick fcuks never get near any child ever again.

Thought are with the kids I hope they get loads if help to work through the nightmare .

Horrific :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭fathead82

People like them need to be castrated.Absolute sickos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Sick fucks need to be permanently removed from society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Three of them sounds worryingly premeditated. Athlone is some shiotehole but that's a new low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Talk about not knowing your neighbours! ,house not too far way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Saab Ed wrote: »
    Three of them sounds worryingly premeditated. .........

Indeed it does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

I sincerely hope that the Gardaí restrain themselves. Don't lay a finger on them. Don't do anything other than doing everything by the book. To give the three accused anything for their solicitors and barristers to try and use to get off with.

To make sure that when this goes to court that these fúckers get taken to prison in chains and are caged like animals for the rest of their natural fúcking lives.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Jeez it must have took some restraint from those locals who caught them not give them a serious beating..

Poor kids, they will probably be scarred for life after this :(

Very sick individuals to plan something like that.. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭RiverOfLove

Jesus christ.

Those poor kids and their parents who are now probably sick with so much fear and worry for their kids. I hope they get all the help that that need and sending best wishes to them and their families.
    The death penalty should be brought back for fcuks like those scummy b@stards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

I am after reading the same story or shorter on a few other sites, (RTE, Independent etc.) and it may be possible that only one man was involved.
    The other two may just live in the same house with him.

Sick F****R!

It doesn't say that anywhere, but after reading the same thing four or five times, that is what my understanding of it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭GHOST MGG

ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    Jeez it must have took some restraint from those locals who caught them not give them a serious beating..

If it had been me that caught them...well lets just say there wouldnt be enough of the degenerate scum left to hand over to the gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Chattastrophe!

GHOST MGG wrote: »
    If it had been me that caught them...well lets just say there wouldnt be enough of the degenerate scum left to hand over to the gardai.

And, as pointed out in the post just above yours, two of the men arrested may well be perfectly innocent. So isn't it just as well it wasn't you that caught them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

My thoughts are with the two little girls and their families.
    If these guys did it then a very long time in prison is the absolute least they should get. Anyone who would do that is a real and immediate threat to all of society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Eoin247

This sounds horrible but what exactly do they mean by sexual assault? That term is so broad these days that it could be anything from talking dirty to full blown rape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

Eoin247 wrote: »
    This sounds horrible but what exactly do they mean by sexual assault? That term is so broad these days that it could be anything from talking dirty to full blown rape.

Tbh I'd prefer not to know :(

The fact that they underwent medical treatment and extensive examination possibly means that it was severe

It's just so sad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Huh? I don't even..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

It's not "broad" in legal definitions. I'm sure you could look up the relevant legislation and that it is quite clear on the matter. In this case, the Gardai will establish charges based on the law after listening to what the two little girls have to report.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

WindSock wrote: »
    Huh? I don't even..

Yep. What can you say about this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,040 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

There are certain crimes I would still have the death penalty for and this is one of them. These men don't deserve to live with civilized people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭ratracer

DazMarz wrote: »
    I sincerely hope that the Gardaí restrain themselves. Don't lay a finger on them. Don't do anything other than doing everything by the book. To give the three accused anything for their solicitors and barristers to try and use to get off with.

To make sure that when this goes to court that these fúckers get taken to prison in chains and are caged like animals for the rest of their natural fúcking lives.

Prison is too good for any sick cu#t that would sexually assault a child, especially in this country. I hope that someone beats the sh1t out of them and subjects them to the same terror those children must have been through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

This is sick. But, whats really frightening is that a group of three men could decide to discuss that and then act on it and do it.

If they are guilty life for them.

How many other potential people are there like that in this country? I assume nothing has changed but that the media just reports it more and that victims come forward more. Sadly it seems the guards often were not interested in the past.

I really hope these young girls can get over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I think you know full well this was a violent act.

Eoin,

In the report it said "the upper end of sexual assault" so if it happened (and everyone should be presumed innocent until found guilty) it was bad very bad.

Are you serious? they needed emergency medical treatment. How broad do you need it to be??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,462 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

any further info on these scum bags? Were they Irish? Non-nationals? Sounds like a rented house possible the two other guys didn't know anything about it, but seriously if I was one of the parents I would "get" whoever it was who did this and beat them to death!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

any further info on these scum bags? Were they Irish? Non-nationals? Sounds like a rented house possible the two other guys didn't know anything about it, but seriously if I was one of the parents I would "get" whoever it was who did this and beat them to death!

I'd say they were black pakistany knackers with Polish parents and living in a Teepee.

How the fcuk did you come to that conclusion!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Were they Irish? Non-nationals?

WTF? Does it matter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

I get the "innocent till proven otherwise" thing but what I find strange is this....

3 men in a house and one lures the children in, okay I'll buy that the other 2 may not have noticed this.
    But if the other 2 guys were not involved,
    How did the lone guy manage to control and assault two terrified children WITHOUT these other 2 guy's not hearing/seeing a thing?

Impossible.
    The children must have made at the very least some noise during this attack.

I assume the house was an average house and not "South Fork" so how in the name of god could these other two people NOT be involved?

It also goes to show that its not always on someone else's doorstep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,462 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

I asked did anyone know if they were Irish scum or Non-National Scum alright!

Smidge wrote: »

I assume the house was an average house and not "South Fork" so how in the name of god could these other two people NOT be involved?

I'm guessing.

They may have been down the pub watching the football.
    They were arrested later.
    The adults went back to the house with the kids almost immediately, and the only person there (i think) was one man.

Would it be mandatory to arrest everyone who lives there, if just to eliminate them from their enquiries?

Allyall wrote: »
    I'm guessing.

They may have been down the pub watching the football.
    They were arrested later.
    The adults went back to the house with the kids almost immediately, and the only person there (i think) was one man.

So the other 2 guy's were not in the house during the attack(from the article I assumed they were)?

I don't know.

I just read that they were arrested later yesterday evening.

I get the "innocent till proven otherwise" thing but what I find strange is this....

3 men in a house and one lures the children in, okay I'll buy that the other 2 may not have noticed this.
    But if the other 2 guys were not involved,
    How did the lone guy manage to control and assault two terrified children WITHOUT these other 2 guy's not hearing/seeing a thing?

Impossible.
    The children must have made at the very least some noise during this attack.

It also goes to show that its not always on someone else's doorstep.

What was the fight about? the other two men were arrested for fighting not for sexual assault? Did I understand that correctly? How did that happen?

Just read it again and it says that all 3 were remanded on public offence charges :confused:
    And then after the court appearance on these charges they were arrested for questioning with regard to the assault.
    Very odd altogether

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭SilverScreen

I know there's some seriously messed-up people out there, but seriously what the f*ck?? In my own town and everything.

What was the fight about? the other two men were arrested for fighting not for sexual assault? Did I understand that correctly? How did that happen?

I cant make head nor tail of it to be honest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Maybe the two housemates attacked the other guy when they found out what happened there!

I didn't hear of a fight, but that seems most likely.

I was speculating when i said they may have lived together.

Maybe 2 men were the adults that detained the guy, beat the cr*p out of him, and were then arrested later.

Makes much more sense that way...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,902 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Allyall wrote: »
    I didn't hear of a fight, but that seems most likely.

I was speculating when i said they may have lived together.

Maybe 2 men were the adults that detained the guy, beat the cr*p out of him, and were then arrested later.

Makes much more sense that way...

It would be hard to blame them if they gave that nonce a few good slaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭redtapestyl

It looks like there's more to this case than what's being reported in the media, I would reserve my judgments about those involved until a case is built against them and all evidence/statements/etc are revealed and analyzed in a trial. It's so easy and dangerous these days for the masses to convict and sentence people within hours of an event occurring. We have a judicial system for a reason.

Having said that, if they are found guilty and everything reported is 100% true then I hope they never see the light of day again for the rest of their miserable lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Hypothetically how long would they get in prison if they are guilty?

Does the 1/3 good behaviour thing factor in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

I hope it's true tbh. Three pedophiles working together is very, very worrying.

It would be hard to blame them if they gave that nonce a few good slaps.

Yeah, I'd have to think i'd do the same, even if everyone around me told me i was making things worse...

Although the newpaper article states
    Three men are being questioned about a sex attack on two young girls in Athlone, Co Westmeath yesterday.

Following their appearance in court, the men were arrested as part of the investigation into the alleged sexual assault and brought back to Athlone Garda station.

Very confusing.
    But i can't imagine three men living together doing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Just read it again and it says that all 3 were remanded on public offence charges :confused:
    And then after the court appearance on these charges they were arrested for questioning with regard to the assault.
    Very odd altogether

Presumably arresting them on the lesser offence first gave the Guards more time to gather evidence and then arresting them later in relation to the assault gives them yet more time to hold them. I could be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Nidge_Weasel

Utter scum. I hope they get serious prison time, coupled with daily painful unconsentual painful buggering, and forced to drink boiling sugar water every day of their lives, along with their genitals being mutilated with a blunt spoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,233 ✭✭✭shamrock55

I have a six year old daughter and i swear to fcuk id have killed that sick fcukker who was detained with my bare hands if i was there im deadly serious too, im fuming after reading this:( those poor little girls jesus christ what is wrong with people:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭irritablebaz

horrific stuff, why is it we don't execute these animals again?