Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Saturday Night Show: September 28th 2013 9.45pm

• 27-09-2013 11:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Back! Back! Back!

The new and considerably thinner Mr. Saturday Night Brendan O'Connor is here to do his thing. On an Interview with Pat Kenny this week, he said there will be less Daily Mail sidebar Z list guests who have nothing to say,like Helen Flanagan this year, which is nice.

The legendary Sally from Home and Away aka Kate Ritchie will be talking all things Summer Bay. She has spent so long on that show, I was going to describe her as Australia's Ken Barlow, but that would be very, very wrong.

Also in the house will be the lovely Holly Carpenter. She is a model, former Miss Ireland and former contestant on Britain and Ireland's next top model. The facebook page says she will "be in to tell us what it’s really like in the world of modelling", so bad news for anyone hoping for her thoughts on the Syria crisis.

Brad Houston (not his real name) is a DJ who had a relationship with one of the Peru Two recently, so he will tell Brendan all about it.

There will be a discussion about Ireland's missing Women with Barry Cummins from Primetime and Kathleen Bergin, a sister of JoJo Dullard.

Also on the show is last year's Carer of the Year, 82 year old Peter Riordan who looks after both of his sons

Music is from Session Americana who will perform their new song "Raking Through the Ashes". I hope that is livelier than it sounds.

As a special introductory new series bonus, here is Brendan talking to the former Mr.Saturday Night Pat Kenny, during the week.

http://www.newstalk.ie/AUDIO:-Brendan-OConnor-on-family-talk-shows-and-Bubl-

Who was your favourite Home and Away Girl? 26 votes

Sally
    0% 0 votes
    Angel
    34% 9 votes
    Kate
    34% 9 votes
    Sophie
    0% 0 votes
    Carly
    23% 6 votes
    Meg
    7% 2 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Sounds good Skid, I'm in!

Never heard of Sally or the DJ who wants to sell his life story "by association" (not sure how wise that is!)....

I feel so sorry for the family of Jo Jo......The stories of missing women (and indeed men) are very hard on all concerned. Brendan has empathy for interviews of this nature imo.

None of this last 15 minutes dropping in though!!........:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Never heard of Sally

Ah no, you must know Sally. Sally from Home and Away. Sally who inspired both of these epic songs**

**Disclaimer - In reality, Sally from Home and Away may not have inspired either Sally Cinnamon or Don't Look Back In Anger

Away with ya!........The only Sally was the one in the garden!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Patty O Furniture

Skid X wrote: »
    Ah no, you must know Sally. Sally from Home and Away.
    Afaik that's not the only thing she's famous for, although she may be looking Back In Anger now :D

Btw, did i hear right, according to the announcer at the end of LLS, fans of Breaking Bad should tune in tomoro nite, i hear 'Hank's' meant to be on next week?

Afaik that's not the only thing she's famous for, although she may be looking Back In Anger now :D

Btw, did i hear right, according to the announcer at the end of LLS, fans of Breaking Bad should tune in tomoro nite, i hear he's meant to be on next week?

I heard that too Patty, I think the announcer got it wrong.

As you said, it's next week - Dean Norris AKA Hank Schrader from Breaking Bad is lined up to appear on October 5th

http://entertainment.ie/tv/news/Breaking-Bads-Dean-Norris-will-appear-on-RTE2s-Saturday-Night-Show/216017.htm

Or the real "Sally"..........if you had an egg.............after tonight's LLS I'm right off them........:(

I heard that too Patty, I think the announcer got it wrong.

As you said, it's next week - Dean Norris AKA Hank Schrader from Breaking Bad is lined up to appear on October 5th

http://entertainment.ie/tv/news/Breaking-Bads-Dean-Norris-will-appear-on-RTE2s-Saturday-Night-Show/216017.htm

Ah, maybe she's just excited at the end like the rest of us, although it wouldnt be the first time they got it wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

The legendary Sally from Home and Away aka Kate Ritchie will be talking all things Summer Bay.

Just looking at her wiki page:
    In 2000, an explicit sex tape widely reported as featuring Ritchie and an ex-boyfriend leaked onto the Internet. She has never publicly discussed the matter.[24]

Just wondering Skid, is there a possibility that Brendan may ask her about the sex tape... He's a fecker, he might just do it for the laugh..

I'd say she must have a list of items that she will had to the presenter about what topics she wont discuss. Something like:
    List of things that Kate Richie is not prepared to discuss:
    - Her sex tape.
    - The time she was attacked by the Summer Bay Nutter.
    - Alf Stewart dropping the hand down at the Surf Club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

The Peru drugs chat should be good. If Brad Houston is not his real name will he be wearing a disguise like those guys in Anonymous or will he just assume nobody outside Ireland will ever see it? If I was going to chose a new name for myself it wouldn't be Brad Houston :D

Edit http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/michaellas-ex-whatever-i-do-or-say-wont-help-get-her-home-29491886.html
    DJ Brad Houston – also known as Bradley Newport

Michaella+splash+2.jpg

On the page it says:

THE ex-boyfriend of an Irishwoman accused of attempting to smuggle more than €1.7m worth of cocaine into Europe has appealed for her safe return but said he won't be speaking to the media.

If that's not speaking to the media, what is it?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭NormanNicetouch

Back! Back! Back!

The new and considerably thinner Mr. Saturday Night Brendan O'Connor is here to do his thing. On an Interview with Pat Kenny this week, he said there will be less Daily Mail sidebar Z list guests who have nothing to say,like Helen Flanagan this year, which is nice.

The legendary Sally from Home and Away aka Kate Ritchie will be talking all things Summer Bay. She has spent so long on that show, I was going to describe her as Australia's Ken Barlow, but that would be very, very wrong.

Also in the house will be the lovely Holly Carpenter. She is a model, former Miss Ireland and former contestant on Britain and Ireland's next top model. The facebook page says she will "be in to tell us what it’s really like in the world of modelling", so bad news for anyone hoping for her thoughts on the Syria crisis.

Brad Houston (not his real name) is a DJ who had a relationship with one of the Peru Two recently, so he will tell Brendan all about it.

There will be a discussion about Ireland's missing Women with Barry Cummins from Primetime and Kathleen Bergin, a sister of JoJo Dullard.

Also on the show is last year's Carer of the Year, 82 year old Peter Riordan who looks after both of his sons

Music is from Session Americana who will perform their new song "Raking Through the Ashes". I hope that is livelier than it sounds.

As a special introductory new series bonus, here is Brendan talking to the former Mr.Saturday Night Pat Kenny, during the week.

http://www.newstalk.ie/AUDIO:-Brendan-OConnor-on-family-talk-shows-and-Bubl-

"On an Interview with Pat Kenny this week, he said there will be less Daily Mail sidebar Z list guests"

"The legendary Sally from Home and Away aka Kate Ritchie will be talking all things Summer Bay"
    "Also in the house will be the lovely Holly Carpenter. She is a model"
    "Brad Houston (not his real name) is a DJ who had a relationship with one of the Peru Two recently, so he will tell Brendan all about it."

Oh dear.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

My head is all mixed up.

The Saturday Night Show is on a few hours after the All Ireland Hurling Final and I keep thinking tomorrow is Monday. :confused:

Never heard of any of the guests but some of them sound interesting enough.

Any suggestions for BOC's hilarious opening jokes tonight ?

Lapin wrote: »
    My head is all mixed up.

The Saturday Night Show is on a few hours after the All Ireland Hurling Final and I keep thinking tomorrow is Monday. :confused:

Never heard of any of the guests but some of them sound interesting enough.

Any suggestions for BOC's hilarious opening jokes tonight ?

Hey Lapin,

something like "Good Evening, and no, Ryan Tubridy isn't doing overtime tonight" (seeing as the big man has lost a ton of weight).

Also some Hurling gag. Speaking of which, Congratulations to Clare on a great win today, and commiserations to Cork. It was a great game - Those three goals from the young lad from Clare were the difference, Cork never quite recovered. (That's about as technical as my Hurling knowledge gets).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,320 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Evening y'all!

Sorry Kate...for me, there was only ever one reason to watch 'Home And Away'...

N0320291354106445766A_1

something like "Good Evening, and no, Ryan Tubridy isn't doing overtime tonight" (seeing as the big man has lost a ton of weight).

How about........Good Evening Folks, Ryan tried to steal my opening " I would like to be Graham if I could be" slot last night...but it didn't work.........:D:D:D

Congrats to Clare, If they didn't win it would have been a travesty......

I saw the unsporting "Taoiseach for the West" staying around for the lifting of the Cup............More than he did for The All Ireland Champions.......:mad:

On a separate note.......Up Munster!...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Evening y'all!

Sorry Kate...for me, there was only ever one reason to watch 'Home And Away'...

And Angel! Don't forget Angel!

Oh and Sophie!

I had a huge crush on Meg Bowman :o Then she died :( I haven't really watched it since

Is their a thread for 'ex-Home and Away babes'?

Warwick Davis in 'Leprechaun' on the Horror Channel!

THEY TOOK HIS POT O'GOLD...HE WOULD KILL TO GET IT BACK!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

Evening All, Congratulations to Clare, I'd say MrsD will be celebrating wildly:D:D:D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Warwick Davis in 'Leprechaun' on the Horror Channel! THEY TOOK HIS POT O'GOLD...HE WOULD KILL TO GET IT BACK!

Apparently Michael D is in talks about the sequel...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭evilivor

I think you got her surname wrong.

All-di and Lee-dil

They have gone very fancy with their pronunciations lately- No doubt their prices will follow.

Action stations he's back, he's back I have to say he is looking very well.

Svelte O'Connor

Lame joke(s)

Are they two button holes on his left lapel??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,374 ✭✭✭twirlagig

Watching The Sunday (ahem, Saturday!) Game. Will have to wait and watch on +1. Congrats to Clare! Bet you're over the moon MrsD! :)
    Was glued to it!

amdublin wrote: »
    Lame joke(s)

It's like he never went away! :D

Evening All,

Here we go for another season.......

Brendan looking very suave.......

evilivor wrote: »
    I think you got her surname wrong.

That's how RTE and most of the media spell it (although it has also been spelt as Dollard).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Evening all

Brendan is gone from Beefy to Suave

I would definitely watch Britain and Ireland's next top Monkey.

Lol, wonder does Holly like that question??

She was supposed to be quite bitchy on that model prog......or so I heard...?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Whats Tubbs doing in Brendan's seat ?

Things are looking up with the cash prize.
    Last year it was a suitcase full of fivers.

Now they're throwing €500 notes around the studio !

Holly out of the traps talking like a greyhound......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭duridian

Kinda looks a bit like Megan Fox before the graffiti started...

This autumn on TV3...'Britain and Ireland's Next Top Mammy' :D

Bizarre introduction for Holly - 'does she have any psychological scars? Let's find out!'

I'd watch the shards of the glass from that necklace!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

I thought Brendan said he wasn't going to be interviewing vacuous guests anymore? :confused:

Jaysis slow down woman.

Giving me a headache :mad:

Bizarre introduction for Holly - 'does she have any psychological scars? Let's find out!'

Yeah, does he not remember Tony Hancock's Face to Face interview? An odd start.

Is she on a time limit for how long her slot is??..........

Brian K........lol, good on ya Brendan..........:)

duridian wrote: »
    Kinda looks a bit like Megan Fox before the graffiti started...

There is a touch of de Fox about her

*goes back to Isla Fisher dream mode*

Evening all

Evening Harry,

Sorry about the Hurling. Cork will be back.

Ah, Holly and Elle don't like each other.......Headlines for the Indo tomorrow.......

• Lol, wonder does Holly like that question??

She was supposed to be quite bitchy on that model prog......or so I heard...?

She came across grand it in to be honest. There was another Irish girl in it actually that was as fake as f. Never realised she was Terri keanes granddaughter

Does Cian Healy ever get a word in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Anyone's picture jumping around?
    This on SKY.No other channel affected.