Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Campagnolo Veloce shifters with Shimano everything else

• 27-09-2013 9:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14

Is it possible to use Campagnolo Veloce 10 speed shifters with an Ultegra rear derailleur and 10 speed Ultegra cassette ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

No.
    And if you do it I will hunt you down and kill you and your bike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

According to jtek it can be done using one of their shift mate yokes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

It might work - the info in that link is from 2008 and for Centaur shifters with a SRAM rear mech. I don't know whether there is any difference between Veloce and Centaur, or whether things have changed generally in the last 5 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭CptMackey

Don't do it EVER . Go one or the other. Think of the children

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭Al Wright

Go CTC website,
    http://forum.ctc.org.uk/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=64417

type Shimergo in the Search box, there are reams of pages there from contributors describing various degrees of success/problems with the range of combinations.
    Generally it appears that the most successful arrangement is that with Ergo shifter with 'n' positions lined up with Shimano cassette with n-1 or n-2 positions.

People.
    Stop encouraging this sort of heinous behaviour.
    I really dont want to go on a killing spree but if needs must....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

This thread needs a NSFW warning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

nope wont work i have them on my raleigh just use them as break leavers, i use dura ace bar end shifters for changing gears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 back2wall

Depends on your levers and what incarnation they are but generally speaking yes it will work, I have Veloce and Centuar working with Ultegra.

Edit to add.

Just noticed you mention 10 speed cassette. Dont know about 10 speed as I'm running mine on a 10 speed mech and a 9 speed cassette.

Sorry sbout the confusion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Speedy_ Gonzales

Thanks for all the replies (especially bcmf :D), am well aware that mixing the two is usually unacceptable (asthetically and mechanically) but it's just for a winter bike and would have to prefered to do so instead of using the dreaded SORA!!!!

Apart form the basic horror of mixing Campag with Shimano....

The spacing between the spacing on the cassette on a Campagnolo cassette is different to Shimano because of the lenght of cable that gets pulled in the shifter is different between Campagnolo and Shimano.
    You may get a decent shift about 50% - 70% of the time and end up frustrated the rest of the time as the cable and chain position will be all over the place.
    If you dont wanna go Sora get the Ambrosio cassette that is Shimano splined (for your hub) and Campag spaced for your shifter. They are about €40 on ebay. It should solve most of the issues but not sure how the Ultegra mech will work with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 back2wall

bcmf wrote: »

The spacing between the spacing on the cassette on a Campagnolo cassette is different to Shimano because of the lenght of cable that gets pulled in the shifter is different between Campagnolo and Shimano.
    You may get a decent shift about 50% - 70% of the time and end up frustrated the rest of the time as the cable and chain position will be all over the place.

Difference in cable pull is compensated for by routing the cable on the wrong side of the mech's cable lock lug.

I get perfect 100% shifting at all times, if I didnt I wouldnt use them and thats from setting them up myself and believe me I have no great bike mechanic skills.

back2wall wrote: »
    Difference in cable pull is compensated for by routing the cable on the wrong side of the mech's cable lock lug.

I get perfect 100% shifting at all times, if I didnt I wouldnt use them and thats from setting them up myself and believe me I have no great bike mechanic skills.

Good to know. Thanks