Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

How young is too young?

• 27-09-2013 03:46PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭TheKingslayer

I'm 26, recently started prodding a girl who turned 17 last month.

All my pals are calling me a creeping Tom, pervert, Gary Glitter, deviant, degenerate, bottom feeder etc.

Thinking of calling a halt to it tbh, the abuse is getting too much to take.
    Or am I thinking about it too much?

Edit: I should mention as well that she is fairly eager for me to meet the parents. I could imagine nothing more awkward tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

All my pals are calling me a creeping Tom, pervert, Gary Glitter, deviant, degenerate, bottom feeder etc.

Cradle snatcher? ;)

I think, the age of consent is 16, is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

Lars1916 wrote: »
    Cradle snatcher? ;)

I think, the age of consent is 16, is it?
    Nope. 17 here

As far as too young is concerned. As long as you're all consetual pretty much legal I couldn't give a feck where you're sticking it.

For me tho, anyone who's younger than me is too young as I go for a few years older.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Fair play
    Just make sure she does her homework before being allowed to play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

In before eXjaculation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

they're jealous.

im 35 and my gf is 24. at the start all my m8s were saying the same thing as yours but over a year later all im hearing is "i must get myself a young one like you did".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

Bottom feeder? What are you doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

It's all relative ain't it, when you're 36 she'll be 27.

but when you were 16 she was 7 so....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

If you have to seek validation in here then it's too young.

Half your age plus seven if you need a rule of thumb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

hardCopy wrote: »
    If you have to seek validation in here then it's too young.

Half your age plus seven if you need a rule of thumb.

good ninja edit :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭TheKingslayer

hansfrei wrote: »
    Bottom feeder? What are you doing?

all the good shit!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,217 ✭✭✭maximoose

did you 'prod' her before she turned 17?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Prodding? How romantic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Edit: I should mention as well that she is fairly eager for me to meet the parents. I could imagine nothing more awkward tbh.

Yeah that should go well with daddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

krudler wrote: »
    good ninja edit :pac:

Potentially criminal Freudian Slip if ever there was one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I have never gone out with a younger woman

you should try it. unless you're 17 yourself...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Ah here, she's not even out of secondary school. Jesus, she's barely over celebrating her Junior Cert results.

I'd seriously have to consider the mentality of a grown man or woman who thinks dating a girl young enough to be in transition year is normal or socially acceptable.
    I'd say her Auld lad is fit to kill you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Pics?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

iDave wrote: »
    Pics?

Yeah! Or GTF off her

Seaneh wrote: »
    Ah here, she's not even out of secondary school. Jesus, she's barely over celebrating her Junior Cert results.

I'd seriously have to consider the mentality of a grown man or woman who thinks dating a girl young enough to be in transition year.

Yeah she just started fifth year, did her inter cert last year but didn't bother with transition year.

She's thinking of dropping out to do hairdressing anyway.

Yeah the father isn't too happy she says that's why she wants to arrange the meet and greet. I have my own place so I won't have to deal with him unless he comes door knocking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

tis all good now, when you have to meet the family the fun will stop abruptly. Any older brothers? Old man might be young enough to be handy with his mits.

tread carefully.

Yeah she just started fifth year, did her inter cert last year but didn't bother with transition year.

Yeah the father isn't too happy she says that's why she wants to arrange the meet and greet. I have my own place so I won't have to deal with him unless he comes door knocking.

Just being honest here, but I'd be at your door with a hurley letting you know exactly how little I approve of you dating my child.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 222 ✭✭harryr711

Seaneh wrote: »

I'd seriously have to consider the mentality of a grown man or woman who thinks dating a girl young enough to be in transition year is normal or socially acceptable.

Yeah, I'm 24 and even if I was 2-3 years younger I'd find it hard to go out with a girl that young, would be embarrassed to bring her to meet the parents. Totally different levels of maturity. I don't give a flying **** if people say some people can be mature at an early age, she's a schoolgirl ffs.

yea the school girl thing may be a little too much. tread carefully.

I am pie wrote: »
    tis all good now, when you have to meet the family the fun will stop abruptly. Any older brothers? Old man might be young enough to be handy with his mits.

tread carefully.

I went through college with her brother. He threw a brick through the front window last week while we were going at it, he is not impressed to put it mildly and has been making a lot of threats, hopefully empty ones but you wouldn't know what would happen if he gets enough drink on board.

I'd be confident of taking the old fella if it comes to blows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭dukedalton

You sure you're only 26?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,440 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Inter cert? Are you 'prodding' this child in the 80's?!?

I went through college with her brother. He threw a brick through the front window last week while we were going at it, he is not impressed to put it mildly and has been making a lot of threats, hopefully empty ones but you wouldn't know what would happen if he gets enough drink on board.

So you've known this girl since she was what, 8 or 9?

****ing hell, seriously out of line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,926 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Do you walk around holding hands while she's wearing her uniform?

Maybe you can act as a stand in during parent - teacher meetings.

how does she feel about you and her da competitively blowing each other off?