Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

the build up to WW3

• 27-09-2013 12:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z-sdO6pwVHQ&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Not a week goes by without this making the news. Syria, the Chinese at Japan, the Russians at the Americans, Iran against er.... everyone. Social unrest accross Europe. Israel being Israel. Apparently this was what the world was like pre- WW1.

Opinions? Are we all being broken in to the idea of global war?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

I suggest dosing the world's water supply with ecstasy and then sitting down and having a nice long chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,741 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

I think the words of Einstein are in all world leaders mind , and this is what causes fear of actual starting war :-

“I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones.” Einstein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

No this is just posturing.

Syria is just something for them to argue over, the Chinese need the west buying their crap so they can't attack anyone or they'll be broke within a week. Russia is weak, like small girl, I'm not too worried about them any more.

This stuff is all new. It's not like America spent 2001 until last year in wars. There certainly weren't any wars between 1945 and the 1980s either. The nineties were so quiet in the Balkans the entire time as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

ScumLord wrote: »

Syria is just something for them to argue over, the Chinese need the west buying their crap so they can't attack anyone or they'll be broke within a week. Russia is weak, like small girl, I'm not too worried about them any more.

Putin is the worlds richest man. A nyet worth of $80bn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

thebaz wrote: »
    I think the words of Einstein are in all world leaders mind , and this is what causes fear of actual starting war :-

“I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones.” Einstein

This indeed was prescient. I have noticed several lads sharpening hurleys of late. world domination is only a matter of time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Enda will shield us from the armageddon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

Russia is weak, like small girl, I'm not too worried about them any more.

The Russians may be like a nice wee girl at the minute, but when WW3 starts they'll become a vodka guzzling, krokodil shooting dominatrix hell bitch with nuclear weapons.

I want to be on their side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I don't think it will happen. Not in our lifetimes anyway. The horrors of WW1 and 2 and still too fresh in everyones memory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

MadYaker wrote: »
    I don't think it will happen. Not in our lifetimes anyway. The horrors of WW1 and 2 and still too fresh in everyones memory.

I remember Gerry bombing us every other night, never lost our spirit though, what ho!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Jonny7

It's normal posturing and politics

We are in fact further away from another world war than ever before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Jonny7 wrote: »

Agreed, sure the Germans haven't even started making tanks yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Anyone wrote: »

they have taken Europe without firing a shot

Yeah, they are quiet

Almost a little too quiet

Possibly, nuclear weapons kind of ruined good old fashioned war. I think that's why America is picking on less developed countries that don't have nukes. There's just no way the big boys can take each other on without it inevitably leading to WMDs.

You can sell your shares in armour. Drones, anti-air, anti-drone, and the new cuise missile yokes. Buy dem shares instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Looks its as simple as this, the first 2 world wars happened because ze Germans were trying to dominate Europe....its not like they are still trying to do that......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

they have taken Europe without firing a shot

....yeah.....

iDave wrote: »
    Looks its as simple as this, the first 2 world wars happened because ze Germans were trying to dominate Europe....its not like they are still trying to do that......
    You're not giving the Germans enough credit. WW1 wasn't the first time they caused a load of trouble. They had a part in the fall of Rome too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

hansfrei wrote: »
    Putin is the worlds richest man. A nyet worth of $80bn.

None of that is confirmed though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭rovoagho

Seachmall wrote: »
    I suggest dosing the world's water supply with ecstasy and then sitting down and having a nice long chat.

The flouride dummys'll be along in a minute to tell they already are.

GavRedKing wrote: »
    None of that is confirmed though.

True. Who knows who has what though? He could be one of those poor millionaires on the NAMA dole for all I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

iDave wrote: »

World War I cannot solely be pinned on the Germans. Every superpower had a hand in it.

I don't think there will ever be another world war.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

china would not jump into war easily

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

IvySlayer wrote: »
    World War I cannot solely be pinned on the Germans. Every superpower had a hand in it.

I don't think there will ever be another world war.

yes yes I know, I had a sore arm writing about the build up to WW1 in the leaving cert. Its a tongue in cheek comment

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

"never get involved in a land war in Asia"

It's all FUD

Fear Uncertainty Doubt

also
    http://theinternationalcoalition.blogspot.ie/2011/07/noam-chomsky-top-10-media-manipulation_08.html

and
    http://www.christymoore.com/lyrics/hiroshima-nagasaki-russian-roulette/

Speaking always of the enemy who lurked across the seas
    While they crept in our midst like a carrier disease.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

I agree. They couldn't even stop John McClain and his son.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Shout Dust

MadYaker wrote: »

Eh? WW1 was still fresh in the memory before WW2, as was WW2 with any conflicts afterward, Korean war etc. Memories fade quickly when it comes to the politics of war, and its not going to be the politicians in the trenches in any case.

This. The major powers having nukes means they're highly unlikely to come to blows. Plus I think we've gotten too used to modern comforts in the west

Shout Dust wrote: »

This. The major powers having nukes means they're highly unlikely to come to blows. Plus I think we've gotten too used to modern comforts in the west

Is there money in nukes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Is there money in nukes?

Not as much as there is in property. Don't be like all those fools paying someone else's mortgages, sure it's dead money! Get on the merry go round now!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Is there money in nukes?
    Lots.

Not only does the military industry complex get lots of money for making them, they also get paid lots of money to decommission them

UK is budgeting £67 Bn to clean up the Sellafield site , it's even worse at the early US bomb factories

Not as much as there is in property. Don't be like all those fools paying someone else's mortgages, sure it's dead money! Get on the merry go round now!

Money in everything, you name it, crime, war, pollution, homeopathy, cancer.. everythaaang

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

thebaz wrote: »

"I know World War III will be fought with nuclear weapons, therefore World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones." Wooney

Lots.

Not only does the military industry complex get lots of money for making them, they also get paid lots of money to decommission them

UK is budgeting £67 Bn to clean up the Sellafield site , it's even worse at the early US bomb factories

Doesn't it make everything kind of radio active afterwards? Would it make the newly occupied lands of seria kind of off putting for de joos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭DanWall

Seachmall wrote: »

Take the Fluoride out and put Viagra in, that should bring us all closer together

How bad would the fallout be? There's been over 2000 nuclear detonations since Hiroshima. I know some were underground and weren't burning up cities or all fired at once, but its still a significant amount, most occuring within a 30-40 years. But would it be total apocalypse like its always suggested, or would it be possible to survive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

krudler wrote: »
    I remember Gerry bombing us every other night, never lost our spirit though, what ho!
    Gerry Adams?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

china would not jump into war easily

Too right. This nonsense of Chinese expansion is just that, nonsense. If they had an expansionist policy would they be deliberately limiting the amount of males coming of military age per year with the one child policy? Zee Germans encouraged couples to breed like rabbits to provide conscripts and settlers for the lebensraum 18 years down the line. The Chinese have worked too hard to build their economy and rely too much on exports to the West to bite the hand that feeds it.

The only thing I could half see happening would be the election of an extreme nationalist in Russia, they are a very conservative bunch and they are still sore from their decline as a real power. Still, Russia is a mess (it is improving ut still has a hangover from the Yeltsin years), there seems to be too much alcoholism, drug addiction, AIDS and a culture of conscription dodging for them to be able to build an army that could conquer Europe. They couldn't even properly conquer Chechnya without cutting a deal to allow their former enemies to run the place with their approval.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

How bad would the fallout be? There's been over 2000 nuclear detonations since Hiroshima. I know some were underground and weren't burning up cities or all fired at once, but its still a significant amount, most occuring within a 30-40 years. But would it be total apocalypse like its always suggested, or would it be possible to survive?
    Remember the fun and games of Chernobyl and more latterly Fukushima? About ten times that with every breath you take. But you'd be alright if you were in a bunker for a couple of weeks, funny thing about radioactivity is the more dangerous it is the less time it lasts.

However now you've got a problem. Not only is almost everyone dead, most major urban centres are gone and all the resources in them too. Most of the plant life is peppered with radioactive dust and don't even bother with the animals. Hope you had some well sealed lifeboat rations in the bunker with you.

So let's say you manage to last the six months or so it takes for the worst of the radioactivity to degenerate into something that won't give you cancer of the everything in short order. Now you've got to rebuild society, but not to worry, the same shower of bastards who blew everyone up were safe in their bunkers and now want to take the reins again.

Once the civil war is over, you can begin with a clean slate by figuring out how to forge scrap iron into tools. Enjoy! And visit the survivalism forum, that's where you get the good stuff.

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    Remember the fun and games of Chernobyl and more latterly Fukushima? About ten times that with every breath you take. But you'd be alright if you were in a bunker for a couple of weeks, funny thing about radioactivity is the more dangerous it is the less time it lasts.

However now you've got a problem. Not only is almost everyone dead, most major urban centres are gone and all the resources in them too. Most of the plant life is peppered with radioactive dust and don't even bother with the animals. Hope you had some well sealed lifeboat rations in the bunker with you.

So let's say you manage to last the six months or so it takes for the worst of the radioactivity to degenerate into something that won't give you cancer of the everything in short order. Now you've got to rebuild society, but not to worry, the same shower of bastards who blew everyone up were safe in their bunkers and now want to take the reins again.

Once the civil war is over, you can begin with a clean slate by figuring out how to forge scrap iron into tools. Enjoy! And visit the survivalism forum, that's where you get the good stuff.
    close enough overall, but radioactivity wont kill you with cancer, short term, it'll just literally break down your insides and you'll keel over from organ failure. You'll be a puking, bleeding wreck within hours, tops. Survival might not be a prize worth fighting for..

Chinese drones

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/09/21/world/asia/hacking-us-secrets-china-pushes-for-drones.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0

Russia and China will be repelling an invasion maybe? If someone borrowed a load of money from you but didn't want to pay it back. Would a war be cheaper than the repayments on a massive loan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

close enough overall, but radioactivity wont kill you with cancer, short term, it'll just literally break down your insides and you'll keel over from organ failure. You'll be a puking, bleeding wreck within hours, tops. Survival might not be a prize worth fighting for..
    That's the bit you sit out in your bunker. If you're exposed at that stage, good luck. As they say in the military, the appropriate action is to put your head between your legs and kiss your ass goodbye. Longer term lower level radiation exposure is what you'd face after the initial blasts, and that's the slow killer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭yoloc

When the oil runs out there will be war

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Anyone else read the bolded in a Russian accent?

Would this radiation cover the everywhere on earth though? Or would there be parts that escape relatively unharmed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Madame K

Would this radiation cover the everywhere on earth though? Or would there be parts that escape relatively unharmed?

If all the action happens in the Northern hemisphere, I reckon you'll be fine if you are way down south.

Madame K wrote: »
    If all the action happens in the Northern hemisphere, I reckon you'll be fine if you are way down south.
    So my heads fecked but my azz will be fine?

The vast majority of the human race probably would have survived an all out nuclear war between US (and allies) and the then USSR.

Africa, South America and many parts of the world would have been spared, radiation would have been more centralised (the newer bombs were much "cleaner") and the whole nuclear winter scenario has been debated since some pretty bloody big volcanoes have erupted since

Nasty but we'd have survived, unfortunately most governments of major powers would have also weathered it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

Apparently Leitrim is the location of the worlds largest underground radiation shelter. This is why that county is sometimes not included in maps. Sometimes they even try to make out it doesn't exist. But I know things cos my Nan has a farm there and she saw an American in a field near her house. And he was naked.

Did you know the entire population of leitrim could fit in china? I read it somwhere on the interned. :cool: