Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford AC Half Marathon - dec 1st

• 26-09-2013 3:42pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 41

Anyone have details on this? route map/ registration locations etc?

Cant really find too much on line other than the course was changed last year.

Anyone run the new course? is it fast/slow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭Gavlor

pico84 wrote: »
    Anyone have details on this? route map/ registration locations etc?

Cant really find too much on line other than the course was changed last year.

Anyone run the new course? is it fast/slow?

Route map

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭statss

Gavlor, make sure those blue hats are in the goodie bags again, they are super.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Club were looking at doing this as did it last year. Were going to have xmas party the sat night but now the race is on Sunday we have to look for another half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,053 ✭✭✭opus

Club were looking at doing this as did it last year. Were going to have xmas party the sat night but now the race is on Sunday we have to look for another half

I emailed to ask why it was moved to Sun as have enjoyed spending the Sat night in Waterford for the last few years, pressure from the council & guards was the reason. Still doing it but will just drive there on Sun morning & back that afternoon so zero spending from me as opposed to last year where the area got the price of a hotel room, food & more than one drink out of myself & a friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭mr.wiggle

Always wondered why local councils did this to race meetings? Surely the benefit of overnight stays bringing cash into the local economy would sway the decision of having races held on Sat. Or Sun. on Bankhols?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭Kissy Lips

It looks slightly hillier than the previous route. Can anybody confirm the elevation gain. It was 50m before but I would way this could be 70-80. They have a garmin route on the race website but it doesnt provide elevation gain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 gaz200

just signed up for this, it will be county number 32 this year so cant wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭HuntingDrog

gaz200 wrote: »
    just signed up for this, it will be county number 32 this year so cant wait.

Signed up last week - going make a wknd of it down there in the county with the family. Winterval is starting that wknd too, so loads on for the kids while I'm slogging it:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭gigtown

Looking forward to this event. Delighted there's a 2:10 pacer. Would be a PB for me if I can beat them by a nose! Agree with thoughts on a Saturday race. Travel Lodge are getting a room out of me but my local Lidl is getting the rest of my investment in that weekend.

Group from our club heading down so we were planning our xmas party that night but had to change that because it's a Sunday. Set a pb there the last 2 years but does anyone know what the course is like this year??

I worked out a rough version of the course on mapmyrun. Wouldn't be reliable for start/finish lines as I've nothing to do with organising.
    However the elevation should be accurate enough.

Start Elevation: 17m
    Max Elevation: 54m
    Gain: 70m

Anyone care to explain what this means for the below average joggers of this world?

Check out this map on MapMyRun: 21.1 km Waterford AC Half Marathon
    Distance: 21.1 km
    http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/309273459

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭mr.wiggle

Looking forward to this now, signed up tonight plus 1.
    Working the following Monday, but could be tempted to take a holiday and enjoy the refreshments afterwards !

Mr.W.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

Signed up for this myself today. Supposed to be a good race and I trained for it last year but ended up working instead. Are many from on here doing it?

Gigtown - could you make the map public please? I wouldn't mind getting a look at the route... :)

My apologies. Thought it was public. Should be okay now.

Just to point out again this isn't an official route map and I'm not affiliated with the race. I just traced out the route according to their map on mapmyrun. No reason to think it's incorrect though. It ain't rocket science. ;)

http://www.mapmyrun.com/ie/waterford-m/waterford-ac-half-marathon-route-309273459

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭carlton36

gigtown wrote: »
    My apologies. Thought it was public. Should be okay now.

Just to point out again this isn't an official route map and I'm not affiliated with the race. I just traced out the route according to their map on mapmyrun. No reason to think it's incorrect though. It ain't rocket science. ;)

http://www.mapmyrun.com/ie/waterford-m/waterford-ac-half-marathon-route-309273459

Hi Gigtown, do you know if the route has been changed?

I thought your route was on the website a while ago but the latest below, seems to cut out Keane's road and Tycor road and cuts through the industrial estate. A pity of this is the case:(
    http://www.waterfordachalf.com/index.php/route-info/route

Route change was forced on the organisers despite previous consultation.

It's not a bad thing though as it takes out a chunk of a hill!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭noler123

Does anyone know if your allowed headphones in this race? Thought i remembered seeing that it doesn't allow them but i cant see anything about it now! Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭AK333

Gavlor wrote: »
    Route change was forced on the organisers despite previous consultation.

It's not a bad thing though as it takes out a chunk of a hill!!

I've signed up for this and as my training has been below par in the last few weeks, happy to see less hills :)

AK333 wrote: »
    I've signed up for this and as my training has been below par in the last few weeks, happy to see less hills :)

I'm the same, got a pb at this race the last 2 years but finding it hard to get back to the same level of fitness so also happy about less hills. We still have a few weeks yet tho!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭AK333

Not sure I'm going to make the start line on this due to ongoing illness. Does anyone know if they allow transfers? thx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 vichoro

Hi I'm just reading the replies to your post, not much info about the course other than a map! This will be my first half marathon and would love to know more about route too, I am Not familiar with Waterford so maps are no good to me :) did you happen to find out more info yourself? Like is there many hills and generally what's the feedback on the course from anyone who has run it previously? As you can prob tell I'm starting to get a bit nervous now :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Just signed up. Looking forward to jogging around but the main event for me is the spread afterwards! ;)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Just entered this, always tend to do a PB at Waterford so here's hoping for another one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭123agh

vichoro wrote: »
    Hi I'm just reading the replies to your post, not much info about the course other than a map! This will be my first half marathon and would love to know more about route too, I am Not familiar with Waterford so maps are no good to me :) did you happen to find out more info yourself? Like is there many hills and generally what's the feedback on the course from anyone who has run it previously? As you can prob tell I'm starting to get a bit nervous now :eek:

Start at wit Sports centre. up the ring road and turn left up hill for about a mile and then into industrial estate for about two miles on small hill in the of this bit and a small drag out of it then down hill for about a mile and turn into housing estate (Ballybeg) then left at the first roundabout and out into the country then go short distance and up a hill about a mile long and then down hill onto the tramore road and then take first right and over the green road across the ring road (just two little drags on this section. Then back to the Ballybeg roundabout and when you turn right there a good drag all the way up to just short of the lights at Heitons where we turn left and up witches lane and out onto the last drag of the day then through the roundabout at the cork Road and it is cruise all the way home down to the holy cross pub and turn right and down to t-junction and right down hill then to the roundabout and left then in home. I believe it is a challenging course.

Was down South East on Sunday and took a spin around the course - Challenging enough! Looking forward to it. Absolutely delighted there's a 2:10 pacer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

123agh wrote: »
    Then back to the Ballybeg roundabout and when you turn right there a good drag all the way up to just short of the lights at Heitons where we turn left and up witches lane and out onto the last drag of the day then through the roundabout at the cork Road and it is cruise all the way home down to the holy cross pub and turn right and down to t-junction and right down hill then to the roundabout and left then in home. I believe it is a challenging course.

Approx what distance remains once the last drag is completed? Would there be a mile downhill?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭mylifetoday

Route and elevation available on WAC half marathon page link to map my run

Bulmers74

Downhill would be about 3/4 of a mile

123agh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

Well 123! How're things? Will next year's Viking marathon be on the same route? Great race this year. Tough conditions with the heat but was a great day. Haven't done anything since due to injury from a badly advised return to the hurling field!!

Bahanaman wrote: »
    Well 123! How're things? Will next year's Viking marathon be on the same route? Great race this year. Tough conditions with the heat but was a great day. Haven't done anything since due to injury from a badly advised return to the hurling field!!

Bahanaman

Jaysus it is great to hear from you again I am in the middle of bring you a flatter and more urban marathon this year nearly finished it will be up on website I hope before the end of the week. I am thinking of getting that aims crowd to measure it what are your thoughts on that. All views will be considered .Look forward to hearing from you
    123agh

123agh wrote: »
    Bahanaman

Jaysus it is great to hear from you again I am in the middle of bring you a flatter and more urban marathon this year nearly finished it will be up on website I hope before the end of the week. I am thinking of getting that aims crowd to measure it what are your thoughts on that. All views will be considered .Look forward to hearing from you
    123agh

One word jumps off the screen from that post 123.."flatter"! Ha ha! Jaysus those hills in Tramore were killers this year. Ye could probably leave out the extra .2 while ye're at it ;):D. I'd say keeping it more urban would be good too as the support would be helpful. If you have to go to Tramore why head straight out from the start. Then the field would be still together on the main road and the road back in wouldn't be so tough. If the second half was in and around the town then when the sh1t hits the fan at least we'd have people to cheer us on! Whatever happens best of luck and keep up the good work!

Bahanamnan

what is your view on the aims idea and yes the hills in tramore are gone and unfortunately the first half is in town

123agh

Ah well you can't have everything I suppose!! As far as measuring the course is concerned I don't really know much about it but if it ensures an accurately measured course and takes a bit of the pressure of ye on the organisation end of things then it can only be good. Win win!

123Agh Thanks so much for your detailed reply, much appreciated. Sounds like a tough course with those LONG hills, hopefully I'll make it around before they start clearing away bollards n stuff :D

vichoro

no problem to you

123agh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭tombliboo83

Reminder...registration closes at midnight!

Hi, does anyone when race packs are being sent out?

vichoro wrote: »
    Hi, does anyone when race packs are being sent out?

Id say after the close of registration

vichoro

Pack sent out today

123agh

One more question!! Is there toilet facilities on the route?? Just in case 😄

vichoro

i dont think so but they are garages along the way

123agh

Got my pack :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

Mine arrived yesterday also. It makes it so much easier when they are posted out for anyone travelling to the race. I know it must be a lot more hassle for the organisers but I defo appreciate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭osnola ibax

Ran this last year? 123agh, would you say this year's course is more challenging than last year?

Nope, this year is a little more forgiving. Lovely fast finish and no heartbreaking nature park to contend with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 runnerdee

Hope everyone has got their numbers in the post. Last few being sent out tomorrow. Don't forget the change of start and finish location, WIT sports campus Carriganore.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Gavlor wrote: »
    Nope, this year is a little more forgiving. Lovely fast finish and no heartbreaking nature park to contend with

bloody hated that nature park last year, awful....seemed to be never ending