Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mushroom Season

• 26-09-2013 10:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭

Well it's that time of year again Mushroom season is upon us, can we expect to see our regional Towns and Cities populated by crazed tripped out people ? I hear this year it is a bumper crop. Get out and forage, why does RTE not make a program like "Damo's guide to Autumn foraging" Feck that Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Mushrooms - the ruination of many a good pizza.
    "You need to get more mushrooms in your diet" said no one, anywhere, ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

Whatch oo' talkin' about Willis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭6541

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Mushrooms - the ruination of many a good pizza.
    "You need to get more mushrooms in your diet" said no one, anywhere, ever.

I love mushrooms - don't you be dissing it! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

BeerWolf wrote: »
    I love mushrooms - don't you be dissing it! :mad:

Eugh! They're slimy and disgusting.

Worst of all, they can disguise themselves as pieces of chicken. Nothing worse than biting into something, thinking it's chicken, only to be horrified by the mushroomy awfulness now in your mouth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

Mushrooms are worse than a girl on the blob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Plumpynutt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Sirloin steak, medium.
    Thick cut home made chips (mash spuds an acceptable substitute)
    Peppered sauce.

Sauteed onion, garlic and garden peas.

Only thing missing is mushrooms.

You can't have a decent steak dinner without mushrooms. Anyone that disagrees well get my flaccid mushroom, slapped round their cheeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Flibbles

We've mushrooms in the back garden, one types makes my dog sick and the other (we're pretty sure) got my cat high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

i put magic mushrooms in an omelette once. Works a treat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

meemeemee wrote: »

Obviously if you're not careful with knowing your wild mushrooms you're just asking for trouble...

You're fairly safely buying from stores... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

Check this shiz out:
    Penalties for possession and dealing

Class A

Ecstasy, LSD, heroin, cocaine, crack, magic mushrooms, amphetamines (if prepared for injection).
    Up to seven years in prison or an unlimited fine or both. Up to life in prison or an unlimited fine or both.

Class B

Amphetamines, Cannabis, Methylphenidate (Ritalin), Pholcodine. Up to five years in prison or an unlimited fine or both.
    Up to 14 years in prison or an unlimited fine or both.

Class C

Tranquilisers, some painkillers, Gamma hydroxybutyrate (GHB), Ketamine.
    Up to two years in prison or an unlimited fine or both. Up to 14 years in prison or an unlimited fine or both.

All of the drugs on the list above - whether Class A, B or C - are designated as controlled substances under the Misuse of Drugs Act 1971, and using them is illegal.

Class A drugs are considered to be the most likely to cause harm.

So crystal meth only class B, ket and ghb class C but shrooms are class A.

funny stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Many moons ago i happened upon a man who ate too many mushrooms who proceeded to feed me with Mars Bars because he was terrified i would eat him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭HomelessMidge

Spunge wrote: »
    Check this shiz out:

So crystal meth only class B, ket and ghb class C but shrooms are class A.

funny stuff

Where did you find this? And crystal meth is methamphetamine its not just an amphetamine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Sirloin steak, medium...

Sorry but once you mention that you cook a steak medium, all credibility is lost in the remainder of your post :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Three great occasions were had in Amsterdam on the aul' Mushroom chocolate bars. Fun times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Like most things in life mushrooms should be taken in moderation and the right enviroment.
    Long long ago in ancient Ireland the druids used to take them to advise the kings on things to happen in the future.
    But back then there was less crime and people were more or less crusties so you wouldnt be getting a bad vibe from a bunch of lads in a Corolla outside the chipper of a Saturday night; more dancing around some field naked making love to mother nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

There's a shitload of psilocybin mushrooms growing in my back garden at the minute. Haven't eaten any of them this year, yet =p

Plenty of normal button mushrooms too in the fields around here. Actually went picking some the other morning while walking the dog. They're infinitely tastier than the ones you get in shops.

Where did you find this? And crystal meth is methamphetamine its not just an amphetamine.

one would assume methamphetamine falls under amphetamine.

http://www.sust.ie/legalities-drugs.php

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 326 ✭✭Savoir.Faire

A lad I went to school with took a heap of mushies one night at a rave in the forest. Had a massive nervous breakdown as a result. Didn't finish school, has been in and out of hospital, routinely wets himself in the pub after having a few pints. He went in, but he never came back out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

My chemistry teacher asked me to do an essay on magic mushrooms one afternoon.

I was doing ok until the walls turned into laughing leprechauns, and my pen suddenly became a gorilla that tried to eat my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

i havnt seen any popping up yet in the 'usual spots' i know about.t if its clear after todays rain they might spring up.im in Dublin,our 'seasons' usually only last about two weeks.The week proceeding Halloween,and the week after

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

A lad I went to school with took a heap of mushies one night at a rave in the forest. Had a massive nervous breakdown as a result. Didn't finish school, has been in and out of hospital, routinely wets himself in the pub after having a few pints. He went in, but he never came back out.

Aye.. they wouldn't be for everyone. You have to be very careful taking them.. not sure a rave in a forest would be the ideal environment in which to be tripping balls!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Witnessed a few cases like this,the people in question look like they have come back from Vietnam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭HomelessMidge

Spunge wrote: »
    one would assume methamphetamine falls under amphetamine.

http://www.sust.ie/legalities-drugs.php

No, not really. Considering it is a much more potent and addictive version of amphetamines. Thats like saying put morphine into the same category as heroin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

can you be 100% sure it was it specifically due to the mushrooms alone?

most likely.

No, not really. Considering it is a much more potent and addictive version of amphetamines. Thats like saying put morphine into the same category as heroin.

As its not specifically stated im assuming it would fall under amphetamine.
    Also methamphetamine being more addictive than amphetamineis debatable in terms of the substance itself more through the means of administration, ie smoking. Injecting amphetamine would be a lot more addictive than orally ingesting methamphetmamine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

most likely.
    what else did he take?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Years ago, we once stayed up all night drinking and decided to get the first bus out to a well-known Dublin mushroom spot.

On spotting us blearily getting on the bus with some plastic bags, the driver winked at us and said - in a broad Dublin accent - something along the lines of "next stop, happy valley, lads?".

what else did he take?

well the op didn't mention anything about any other drugs.mushrooms are not to be messed with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭simonsays1

Can you pick them somewhere in Dublin city?

Mod

Yo trippy peeps, no requesting or providing information on where to source illegal drugs yeh?

/spoilsport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭WindmillWarrior

From another forum:

Psilocybin Mushrooms (nicknamed “Magic Mushrooms”) are a sacrament of the “Church of the Sacred Mushroom” yet the government keeps arresting Psilocybin Mushroom users.

Our First Amendment right to freedom of religion is under attack. The belief that Psilocybin Mushrooms are a spiritual communion is widespread and has existed for thousands of years. Ancient paintings dating from 5000 BC have been found glorifying these mushrooms in Algeria.

Psilocybin Mushroom use for religious purposes is a global phenomenon. In the Americas, ancient temples to mushroom gods and stone statues of mushrooms have been found. The Hindu holy book known as the Rig Vedas venerates the Psilocybin Mushroom and calls it “Soma.” This would explain why cows are sacred in India; because Psilocybin Mushrooms grow on cow dung. In ancient Ireland, psychedelic mushrooms were used in religious ceremonies. Psychedelic mushrooms have been used across the millenniums in every corner of the world.

Please defend religious freedom by legalizing Psilocybin Mushrooms (nicknamed “Magic Mushrooms”).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Like most things in life mushrooms should be taken in moderation and the right enviroment.
    Long long ago in ancient Ireland the druids used to take them to advise the kings on things to happen in the future.
    But back then there was less crime and people were more or less crusties so you wouldnt be getting a bad vibe from a bunch of lads in a Corolla outside the chipper of a Saturday night; more dancing around some field naked making love to mother nature.

Often would happen in the future was the King would be killed in a ritual sacrifice and dumped in a ditch, only to be found later as a bog body and put in a museum. Trippy. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

Mod

Yo trippy peeps, no requesting or providing information on where to source illegal drugs yeh?

/spoilsport

They're only illegal if processed (dried, frozen, boiled etc) or made available for sale or supply. In their natural state of growing at the edge of the football pitches near the old magazine fort in the Phoenix Park they are completely 100% legal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

greenflash wrote: »
    They're only illegal if processed (dried, frozen, boiled etc) or made available for sale or supply. In their natural state of growing at the edge of the football pitches near the old magazine fort in the Phoenix Park they are completely 100% legal.

This is truth.

And given processed generally means dried out, taking them in their raw form is completely cool...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

This is truth.

And given processed generally means dried out, taking them in their raw form is completely cool...

Actually removing them from the area is illegal apparantly so better to consume them on the spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Only taken them three times, but never had a fun trip. The first time I started crying uncontrollably, not because I was scared or upset, I wasn't even tripping, just walking around as normal with tears rolling down my face. The second time I got a tiny buzz, and the last time I was starting to enjoy it until some wanker turned off the good music and put on some crap, and some other tosser got really talkative and wrecked my head. I don't want to hear about how wonderful your trip is when you've just ruined mine, you bastard.

Would like to try them again in my own house so I can control all the variables, might take a trip to some parkland soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

greenflash wrote: »

At the butt of the magazine wall, the magazine wall, hump, helmet and all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Sirloin steak, medium.
    Thick cut home made chips (mash spuds an acceptable substitute)
    Peppered sauce.

Sauteed onion, garlic and garden peas.

Only thing missing is mushrooms.

You can't have a decent steak dinner without mushrooms. Anyone that disagrees well get my flaccid mushroom, slapped round their cheeks.

Thats almost exactly what I make for steak dinners, sautee potatoes are nice with it too.

How dare you ruin the above meal with some slimy, moldy, spore-bearing fungus!

Fyp.

watching a pint of Guinness settle while on mushrooms is a thing of great beauty. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭canadianwoman

krudler wrote: »
    Thats almost exactly what I make for steak dinners, sautee potatoes are nice with it too.

So is a baked potato....heavily loaded with butter, sour cream and a sprinkle of bacon bits ( made from real bacon) and chives.

sprouting up around my way as of this morning.happy hunting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

Be aware of the worm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

I remember myself and a friend picked a load of shrooms in my hometown in 2002, ate them then went off to vote in the general elections out of our wheelie bins. Good times.

Good times indeed. Did you vote Fianna Fáil and ruin us all? :D

And you've just had some kind of mushroom
    And your mind is moving low
    Go ask Alice
    I think she'll know

When logic and proportion
    Have fallen sloppy dead
    And the White Knight is talking backwards
    And the Red Queen's "off with her head!"