Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

College or full-time work?

• 24-09-2013 10:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭

Are you better off going to college or actually finding a full time job? A mate started working in a petrol station instead of going to college which I think is crazy if you consider your long-term prospects..

I was offered a job last week (car-park security) but I decided it'd be best to stay in college ATM..

Your opinions :D:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

If you can get a job thats part of your career plan then Id take it over college every single time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

My gf is tellin me to go to college to do what I really want to do but there's not much money to be made in what I want to do. It's 4 years hard work and not much after it from what I'm told.
    Really disappointing tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

All depends on what college degree you're trying to pursue, what job it was you were offered, and most importantly whether you have the drive to not drop out of college.

Some people just can't hack college, and end up wasting the guts of 10 grand. If you find you're one of those people and you're offered a decent enough job, then have a think about it.

Also, some lads do useless courses that don't get them anywhere.

To be honest, there's not a hope in hell I'd give up the chance of a third level degree to work full-time in a fairly dead end job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

I'm second year in college. The course isn't too demanding but it should get me into an area that I'd like and has decent job prospects.

Go to college if you can at all. It's unreal craic and you've the rest of your life to work :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

Work by day, study by night. Or vice versa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

I am only doing a PLC Security course at the moment but next year I was thinking of doing a criminal psychology course. I'm kinda starting to rethink my plan for next year as I kinda wanna get a degree that can get me work lol..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭markomuscle

I'm in my final year, i want to be a camera operator, it's near impossible to get in the door without a degree nowadays so i don't really have a choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

Both if I could get it, work part time and starting a year of study in Oct, been told I can do weekends coming up to Christmas which would be handy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I'm in my final year, i want to be a camera operator, it's near impossible to get in the door without a degree nowadays so i don't really have a choice.

What's a camera operator?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭markomuscle

What's a camera operator?

television camera operator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Depends iv been encouraged to go back to college but only now feels right to do so having failed to get a job since I last was in college had to reasess my career options. Iv been advised to do a course with workplacement which im doing. I was doing an online course but classroom structure there is a lot to be said for it. Though would say my degree hdip and techie job, social media/admin/I.T/coding/website stuff/freelance work from home has prepared me well
    Im doing a night course which is ideal if you working too. I see little future where I am so likely to move at some point whether be another course or work hopefully course im doing help find work.

Springboard or part time courses suit depend on career path. If you can get a job take get experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

The only reason I would give up college to work in a petrol station would be if I couldn't afford to go to college.

If that was the case, I'd save up and go to college part time.

College doesn't have to be full time any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭average hero

Ultimately, it's the acquisition of knowledge and applying it that will earn us the most money and get us the best career prospects. If your mate thinks he could get more from it then by doing a college course then that's great - particularly if he doesn't think he is able for college.

If given the choice I would choose to go to college but it would be for reasons of achieving gaining a qualification rather than joining the corporate ladder.

While having a discussion with my cousin a number of weeks ago, he said that a large number of his friends were successful (owning companies, renting property, buying and selling etc) having gone to Canada, the UK and Australia. These lads were not particularly bright he said, but they were always duckin' and divin' for a few extra bob and always made the best of opportunities. Some other lads who went into career orientated jobs in the corporate world are now stuck in low-level management.

So in essence, different strokes for different folks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭Dynamo Roller

Work for yourself if at all possible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Hownowcow

When I left school I was offered a place in university. I couldn't afford to go. Started working, including in a petrol station. Ended up getting a regular job and kind of worked my way up a little bit.

I've worked with people with all levels of academic qualifications and with none. I found that the level of qualification was no indication of an individuals intelligence or ability. This surprised me a little as I had previously held academic qualifications in the highest regard.

Would I like to go to college now - yes. Would it be in respect of any work related topic - absolutely not. If I was to go now it would be to study various subjects in which I developed an interest over the years. Subjects that I probably never thought about when I left school.

If I could go back in time and could afford it would I go to college or work full-time - I would go to college.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Work for yourself if at all possible

That's fine and all,it's finding the investment that's the problem.

Right now,there's fuck all out there.I'd rather be broke in college than broke working in a petrol station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Depends, college isn't for everyone, personally I just scraped through the Leaving and have been working since and I knew that was the right thing for me to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Hownowcow wrote: »
    When I left school I was offered a place in university. I couldn't afford to go. Started working, including in a petrol station. Ended up getting a regular job and kind of worked my way up a little bit.

I've worked with people with all levels of academic qualifications and with none. I found that the level of qualification was no indication of an individuals intelligence or ability. This surprised me a little as I had previously held academic qualifications in the highest regard.

Would I like to go to college now - yes. Would it be in respect of any work related topic - absolutely not. If I was to go now it would be to study various subjects in which I developed an interest over the years. Subjects that I probably never thought about when I left school.

If I could go back in time and could afford it would I go to college or work full-time - I would go to college.

100% agree with you after I finished school I went to study a subject I had no interest in as well it was something I was guided towards.
    I quit mid way through second year and started working and travelling.
    In hindsight I wasnt ready for third level education and wished I had never done it.
    I am now waiting for the second chance grant to go back and do what I well always wanted to do myself in teaching

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

It's an increasingly tough and competitive jobs market out there, arm yourself with a college degree if at all possible.

The fact is that you'll learn ten thousand times more about your chosen field by actually working IN that field, than you will by sitting in a classroom studying the field for four years, BUT - having that degree nine times out of ten makes you a more favourable candidate for that job these days.*

* Obviously varies from sector to sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Doing both at the moment (albeit part time college work).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,430 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

Go to college, party hard, drink loads, get laid, have a good time, get a degree then work for the remainder 50 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

If you are in IT, definitely take the job, worth more than all the school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,430 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

Go to college, party hard, drink loads, get laid, have a good time, get a degree then work for the remainder 50 years.