Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

taxing tractor /ownership transfer

• 24-09-2013 7:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47

hi people i bought a tractor a few years back needing repairs which i never got round to finishing, the guy i got it from later found the correct log book , old brown type from a guy who used to own it years before him! this book has just been passed around, so my name is not on the book , and probably there has been a few owners who have never had their name on it , tractor hasnt been used in years, should i send off the tax book now to shannon ? can i fill in the forms myself or do i need to trace a man who owned it 15 years ago? or do i wait untill next month? might be a few more year before i get time to put it driving, all suggestions welcome.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

I just filled out the change of ownership and signed the last owners name myself. He had been dead about 12 years.
    Was no bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

These don't have to go to Shannon, they should go to your local tax office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭Qprmeath

nashmach wrote: »
    These don't have to go to Shannon, they should go to your local tax office.

Be prepared though to queue if you go to your local tax office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭adne

Qprmeath wrote: »
    Be prepared though to queue if you go to your local tax office.

Can they be posted in by registered post?

adne wrote: »
    Can they be posted in by registered post?

Be aware that you also need a completed form with these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

was onto the tax office yesterday about this as the uncle has a few old yokes, so heres the jist i got about it.

if the current registered owner of a tractor that is not, or has not been taxed in a while wants to put it back on the road (ie taxed) even if its is a few years time then they must decalre it off the road from the end of this month otherwise they will be liable for back tax.

however if the registered owner of the tractor does not plan on putting on the road then they do not have to.

if the tractor changes owner then the new owner will then have to either tax it or declare it off the road.

so you have too options,

you can get the tractor transfered to your name now and once that it done you can declare it off the road until you want to tax it.

or

leave it as it is now and when you are ready to put in back on the road you can then get the ownership changed and tax it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭adne

Be aware that you also need a completed form with these.

Whats the completed form?

adne wrote: »
    Whats the completed form?

For the older cardboard tax books, a form needs to be filled in as part of the transfer, it is not as easy as the newer paper based ones.

It is RF 100 I think but not sure now as it was a while ago.

I have a Mf 165 which hasn't been taxed since 1980 but is rarely if ever on the road. It was still in my deceased fathers name. So yesterday I filled in the new off the road form, a change of ownership form and the old off the road form (which has to be signed by a guard). I think that covers every base. My only worry was they would look for 33 years back tax on it. Its not likely to be on the road in the future but I was advised if I ever wanted to sell it, it was better off being part of the system.

Qprmeath wrote: »
    I have a Mf 165 which hasn't been taxed since 1980 but is rarely if ever on the road. It was still in my deceased fathers name. So yesterday I filled in the new off the road form, a change of ownership form and the old off the road form (which has to be signed by a guard). I think that covers every base. My only worry was they would look for 33 years back tax on it. Its not likely to be on the road in the future but I was advised if I ever wanted to sell it, it was better off being part of the system.

Could have just transferred ownership yesterday and that would have saved you a trip to the Gardai;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭st1979

Could have just transferred ownership yesterday and that would have saved you a trip to the Gardai;)

My reading of this is. If you havent taxed a yoke for years and its gone past end of sept. Best tging is to transfer ownership to the wife or son or dad. He then taxes it or declares off the road. No big deal and sells it back ti you if you feel the need

That was the original plan but I decided to adopt a belt and braces strategy just to be certain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 homerno

thanks guys for the replies, this is a real pain in the ass, im abroad just now and cant really do much at this short notice , someone told me they heard the deadline was extended untill oct but i can see anything online about that, our little country has simply been distroyed in the past 10 to 15 years and will sadly never be the same again,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Wigster

I have tractor that I bought in 2005 from dealer. Thought I was registered owner until i went to tax it. Turns out first purchaser is still registered owner he must have sold it on and eventually it was traded to dealer. Dealer has since changed hands and has some small detail on deal. I have invoice proving purchase. Rang tax office and they said send in statutory declaration with Peace Comissioner or solicitor stamp. She said that once its transferred to my name I will only be liable for tax from now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭6480

Wigster wrote: »
    I have tractor that I bought in 2005 from dealer. Thought I was registered owner until i went to tax it. Turns out first purchaser is still registered owner he must have sold it on and eventually it was traded to dealer. Dealer has since changed hands and has some small detail on deal. I have invoice proving purchase. Rang tax office and they said send in statutory declaration with Peace Comissioner or solicitor stamp. She said that once its transferred to my name I will only be liable for tax from now?

if you could get the first onwer to sign a chance of ownership it would be a lot handy and cheaper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Wigster

But what date of transfer would he put on it or does it matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭6480

Wigster wrote: »
    But what date of transfer would he put on it or does it matter?

todays date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭SKIPPY150

I have much the same problem, I have a mf 65 which according to the tax office and the guards has never been taxed and there is no record of it ever having been registered even though it has always had a reg number. Now all I want to do is get it regestered in my name, not going to tax it so how do I go about it. Have the old brown log book belonging to it. cheers

Just sign both signatures on change of ownership form yourself yourself. Did this on two change of ownership forms the other day no problem. Current listed owner not around to sign it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Anyone other than the genuine previous owner 'signing' as the seller on the change of ownership section is falsifying an official document and subject to various legal sanctions, should the Local Authority/Gardai choose to pursue it.
    This is mostly of concern for stolen vehicles, but it legally applies to ALL transfers of ownership.

In GENUINE cases (previous owner deceased, uncontactable, etc), the correct procedure is for the current 'owner' to get a letter from a Peace Commissioner or solicitor confirming their genuine ownership of the vehicle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,303 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I'm sure the above threads explain this but im lost on one point
    I bought my tractor ( uk reg) from a friend (who took it in and reg here then)
    I never got it in my name so its still in his . If i do change of ownership will he be liable for back tax . Its not on the road but will be some time but i dont want him hit with a bill

cjmc wrote: »
    I'm sure the above threads explain this but im lost on one point
    I bought my tractor ( uk reg) from a friend (who took it in and reg here then)
    I never got it in my name so its still in his . If i do change of ownership will he be liable for back tax . Its not on the road but will be some time but i dont want him hit with a bill

No.
    Once change of ownership is done it starts a clean slate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 196 ✭✭Stan 10

No sign of any extension coming, was in local tax office yesterday @ 8.45 and 12 people in front of me and they started a bit earlier than normal @ 9.30, but when I was coming out I could hardy make my way out through the crowd of people that had come in.

I was thinking would they not have considered opening today and taken in some of the money people had ready to give them?

Stan 10 wrote: »
    No sign of any extension coming, was in local tax office yesterday @ 8.45 and 12 people in front of me and they started a bit earlier than normal @ 9.30, but when I was coming out I could hardy make my way out through the crowd of people that had come in.

I was thinking would they not have considered opening today and taken in some of the money people had ready to give them?

Just post it Monday and get proof of postage.
    On the news they said that once the postal stamp was before Tuesday they would accept it as having met the deadline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

Monday will be quiet I'd say the big panic was Thursday and yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭ace86

Are they considering extending the deadline for declaring yokes off the road due to the back log in tax offices??. I have done it for a car back in june and shannon hasn't it regestered on there system yet bcos they sent me out a reminder the other day for tax and rang them and they said if I had it already declared off the road that was grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

grazeaway wrote: »
    was onto the tax office yesterday about this as the uncle has a few old yokes, so heres the jist i got about it.

if the current registered owner of a tractor that is not, or has not been taxed in a while wants to put it back on the road (ie taxed) even if its is a few years time then they must decalre it off the road from the end of this month otherwise they will be liable for back tax.

however if the registered owner of the tractor does not plan on putting on the road then they do not have to.

if the tractor changes owner then the new owner will then have to either tax it or declare it off the road.

so you have too options,

you can get the tractor transfered to your name now and once that it done you can declare it off the road until you want to tax it.

or

leave it as it is now and when you are ready to put in back on the road you can then get the ownership changed and tax it.
    What form for change of ownership post 93? cheers

anyone know?

case885 wrote: »
    What form for change of ownership post 93? cheers

You don't need it, just sign the vehicle registration cert and send to Shannon.

I haven't the rf101 so do i need to go to the garda station for a replacement?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Salgud

I have a Massey ferguson that has no tax book or reg no.could anybody please tell what to do as I want to keep still keep it off the road.searched everywhere to get answers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

if its never going on the road again, you have nothing to do

case885 wrote: »
    I haven't the rf101 so do i need to go to the garda station for a replacement?

But you have the Vehicle Registration Cert, yes? In that case to transfer ownership just sign it and send to Shannon.

For off the road, the form can be gotten online after some digging.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,359 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Anyone on here from around Monaghan town.i m trying to track down a fella i bought a tractor off a couple of years ago to get it transferred. I wont give out his name on here. but if you are around there pm me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

K.G. wrote: »
    Anyone on here from around Monaghan town.i m trying to track down a fella i bought a tractor off a couple of years ago to get it transferred. I wont give out his name on here. but if you are around there pm me

Are you going to go full Liam Neeson on the poor fella? ;)

Ah sher i had his number but the screen went on the phone so i ll have get the screen fixed to get the phone working to find the number.i have the original registration cert and a couple of owners cert s in between

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭leoch

I have a tractor here that s not taxed in 4 years its never on the road much so didn't bother is there anyway round taxing it now and avoiding backtax

leoch wrote: »
    I have a tractor here that s not taxed in 4 years its never on the road much so didn't bother is there anyway round taxing it now and avoiding backtax

Is it registered in your name.if its not just get it transferred to your name.if it is in your name transfer it to a partner/company and the clock starts from then.i ve never heard of them going after back tax unless you are caught out on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭leoch

Ok thanks kg.....its in my name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

K.G. wrote: »
    Is it registered in your name.if its not just get it transferred to your name.if it is in your name transfer it to a partner/company and the clock starts from then.i ve never heard of them going after back tax unless you are caught out on the road.

Yeah we did that here a few years ago for a yoke that hadn't been used on the road for a few years. It's rarely on the road even now it is taxed. Handy to have the option just in case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Just about finished a 135 here now at the moment but i never got a tax book with it and dont know the original reg. How do i go about getting a book/registration for it?