Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fcuk me, that Mario Rosenstock programme was total sh1te.

• 23-09-2013 9:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭

As the title says, fcuk me, that Mario Rosenstock programme tonight was total sh1te.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

The ad was enough to put me off it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

I disagree.
    I liked it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭squirrelohara

I liked Marty being creepy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

As usual.

The only good Mario had a kart

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

And they say damo and ivor was bad... fuewels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Fcukin Oireachtas Report and Mass on Sunday are better.

I disagree.
    I liked it.

Mario, is that you????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Banjoxed

The Mario Rosenstock Show is really an ironic tribute to RTE's comic muse that produced such timeless classics as Leave it to Mrs O'Brien and Upwardly Mobile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭greedygoblin

It's grand on the radio, it just doesn't translate to television very well. It's partly down to having to extend many of the sketches especially for the tv. And it just doesn't work. He uses the same formula over and over again, meaning the gags just become tired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

For a nation so renowned for our sense of humour and wit, we really cannot do TV comedy for shíte.

It's grand on the radio, it just doesn't translate to television very well. It's partly down to having to extend many of the sketches especially for the tv. And it just doesn't work. He uses the same formula over and over again, meaning the gags just become tired.

There was one sketch about Alan Shatter that was totally totally bollix altogether. The Jose/Davey Fitz sketch was worse.

Fair enough, Marty did look realistic and creepy, but hardly strong enough to hold up a pile of sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

"My voice is dirty"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

DoozerT6 wrote: »
    For a nation so renowned for our sense of humour and wit, we really cannot do TV comedy for shíte.

And anyone who can do it has fled to better shores.

ie. Father Ted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Thankfully I also missed Jason Byrnes new sitcom on the Beeb

Was Mario's show worse than that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Was home for the weekend and had the unfortunate luck to watch the show along with Damo and Ivor and sat there with a stony, straight face for the duration of the two programmes which is not an easy feat for me. I desperately wanted to like them (I like Mario usually) being home for the weekend and being all sentimental about Ireland and the "craic" and our sense of humour and all that. Two absolute abominations. How can a nation with so many funny people make comedy so incredibly diabolic? Cringe City, Arizona.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭French Toast

I thought it was pure muck as well. Such a chronic impression of Marty Morrissey, it's like he's not even trying to get the voice right.

The thing about Ronan O'Gara was a bit... weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush