Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UN receives reports of Golan Heights based peacekeepers’ equipment being stolen by Sy

• 23-09-2013 8:43pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭

correct me if I'm wrong but this is the Irish Army "peacekeepers" the UN are talking about??

false flag in the making is it?

http://rt.com/news/line/2013-09-23/#51122

UN receives reports of peacekeepers’ equipment being stolen by Syrian rebels

The UN has been notified that Syrian militants have been seen using uniforms and equipment which they stole from peacekeepers dispatched in Golan Heights, the disputed territory claimed by both Syria and Israel, UN spokesman Martin Nesirky told reporters. Speaking to Russia’s ITAR-TASS news agency, Nesirky confirmed that militants stole blue helmets and other pieces of equipment. He added that such actions are “unacceptable” and said the UN is keeping record of its arms and equipment. Nesirky stressed that the situation at Golan Heights has deteriorated, as fighting continues between Syrian armed forces and rebels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Sy? Would have thought he'd have a few quid after Gangnam Style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

correct me if I'm wrong but this is the Irish Army "peacekeepers" the UN are talking about??

The UN has been notified that Syrian militants have been seen using uniforms and equipment which they stole from peacekeepers dispatched in Golan Heights, the disputed territory claimed by both Syria and Israel, UN spokesman Martin Nesirky told reporters. Speaking to Russia’s ITAR-TASS news agency, Nesirky confirmed that militants stole blue helmets and other pieces of equipment. He added that such actions are “unacceptable” and said the UN is keeping record of its arms and equipment. Nesirky stressed that the situation at Golan Heights has deteriorated, as fighting continues between Syrian armed forces and rebels.

But the UN doesn't mention about the Golan Heights being stolen by Israel from Syria in direct contravention of international law?

Shock horror. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Robin blue helmets and body armour+ can of spray paint =fairly decent PPE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

The first group of our lads only went out the other day. It wouldn't be Defence Forces equipment. It would be U.N branded blue/white helmets, flack jackets etc, most likely equipment in storage from other nations who pulled out of the area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 theLegion

This is what is in store for the Irish Army..all for Shatters favour to Israel.

NSFW - Video Shows Syrian Rebel Dying in UN Bulletproof jacket

http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=f4b_1379086730

The rebels have kidnapped previous UN peacekeepers and held them as human shields.

http://www.securitycouncilreport.org/monthly-forecast/2013-06/undof_golan_heights_2.php

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

theLegion wrote: »
    This is what is in store for the Irish Army..all for Shatters favour to Israel.

conspiracy bollocks, tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭seanie_c

Nodin wrote: »

The Irish troops are there to protect oil and gas for Israel since they sold drilling rights to Genie Energy in February this year.
    Israel has given permission for an American based energy company to drill for oil in the Golan Heights, a plateau it captured from Syria in 1967.
    Israel annexed Golan from Syria in June 1967 after a six-day war, with an estimated 2,500 Syrian fatalities and 591 taken prisoner. Despite being annexed in 1981, this move is not internationally recognised.

No doubt, you think that's nonsense too, Nodin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

Russia Today?! ITAR-TASS?

I take everything that comes from them with more than a pinch of salt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭JeffK88

pajor wrote: »
    Russia Today?! ITAR-TASS?

I take everything that comes from them with more than a pinch of salt.

Id take anything you hear from any of the International Media Empires with a pinch of salt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Jonny7

Elderly Lady: Hello Father, did you hear about the whistle being stolen?
    Father Ted: Yes, I was--
    Elderly Lady: I never thought that I'd see the like. What next? Somebody will be murdered, and then where are we? Drive by shootings in the night, it'll be like Boys in the Hood. And then they'll have hoes selling their wares in the middle of the street and the pimps will be using crack cocaine to keep the whores under control--' [Gun shot fires in background] '--I'm going home now Father to lock meself in the basement til they catch that fella. Good-bye to ye father.
    Father Ted: ...Good-bye.

seanie_c wrote: »
    The Irish troops are there to protect oil and gas for Israel since they sold drilling rights to Genie Energy in February this year..

Theres been a UN mission there for decades. Decades.

seanie_c wrote: »
    No doubt, you think that's nonsense too, Nodin.

O I wouldn't know anything about that whole annex thing. I'm a naïve fool awash in a sea of wise sharks....

Nodin wrote: »

You'd need to have your head in the clouds to not appreciate and acknowledge that Shatter has a strong bias towards Israel. He is using his deep love of Israel to place Irish troops in danger to protect the Golan Heights for the Israelis as the rest of the world pulls out of the UNDOF.

Israel may finally have some luck with the Irish

Currently presiding over the EU, Ireland sends its Jewish defense minister — a longtime supporter — on Monday

http://www.timesofisrael.com/israel-may-finally-have-some-luck-with-the-irish/
    Pro-Israel Irish cabinet minister set to arrive

Ireland’s Justice, Equality and Defense Minister Alan Shatter, who has been characterized in Jerusalem as a “courageous supporter” of Israel inside Ireland, is scheduled to begin a five-day visit on Monday.

http://www.jpost.com/Diplomacy-and-Politics/Pro-Israel-Irish-cabinet-minister-set-to-arrive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Is this a looney left wing fly paper thread?

You'd need to have your head in the clouds to not appreciate and acknowledge that Shatter has a strong bias towards Israel. He is using his deep love of Israel to place Irish troops in danger to protect the Golan Heights for the Israelis as the rest of the world pulls out of the UNDOF.

You just quoted two obviously biased news sources to prove what? Classic 'straw man' nonsense, what the Israeli media thinks and what Minister Alan Shatter thinks and does are two separate matters.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 48 Hedge11

You'd need to have your head in the clouds to not appreciate and acknowledge that Shatter has a strong bias towards Israel.

"Jew a Supporter of Israel, Shock!"

mike65 wrote: »
    You just quoted two obviously biased news sources to prove what? Classic 'straw man' nonsense, what the Israeli media thinks and what Minister Alan Shatter thinks and does are two separate matters.

haha what?? Is this the extent of your debating ability, throw out early the smug strawman claims..

Meanwhile in the Golan Heights:
    Media reports indicate that Syrian gunmen (unspecified whether government or opposition forces) infiltrated an unmanned Israeli position later the same day. As Israeli troops approached the position, they were fired upon from inside Syria, and they returned fire. On 17 August, after Syrian mortars errantly landed in the Israeli occupied Golan, Israeli forces returned fire with a missile to destroy the source of the shelling.

UNDOF has also recently found improvised explosive devices (IEDs) in its area of operations. As a result of this new development, it seems DPKO has requested troop-contributors to provide specialised counter-IED teams to the mission. UNDOF convoys have been forcibly stopped at Syrian military checkpoints, and UNDOF personnel and observation posts exposed to stray fire and warning shots.

http://www.securitycouncilreport.org/monthly-forecast/2013-09/undof_golan_heights_3.php

It is in Israel's interest to have the UN in the Golan Heights to act as a buffer.

Did you get bored over at P.ie, indymedia or whichever dismal home for lunatics you have arrived from. You sound like a daft collage age kid who has just discovered a cause "oh those nasty capitalists and their Jew friends"

Read the thread again, noone was bashing Israel or Jews. Btw I'm a strong Israel supporter and I'm definitely a capitalist...but Ireland should come first with our Defence Forces and not just abused by a biased Defence Minister. Thrown into a unstable conflict were the current participants in UNDOF are fleeing.

As I said - theres been a mission there for decades.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭seanie_c

Alan "Don't you know who I am?" Shatter was busy buying Israeli weapons to the tune of €15 million while joking about Garda station closures around the country.

When given the opportunity to condemn Israels Operation Cast Lead, He didn't bother. Instead, he accused the International community of "air-brushing" Hamas from the conversation, claiming it wasn't helpful to finding a 2 state solution which anyone familiar with the Israel/Palestinian problem knows will never happen.

It certainly won't happen when Israel continues to build illegal settlements on disputed land and disregard UN resolutions . . .

But as usual, any legitimate criticism of pro-Israeli policies is nothing more than anti-Semitism because you couldn't possibly criticize pro-Israeli policies without being a Jew hater or conspiracy theorist. :rolleyes:

At least that's the logic being used by Nodin, mike65, jonny7 and few others with nothing else to say.