Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weird clicking sounds - where to get it looked at?

• 23-09-2013 2:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭

hi all,

while out with clontaf cycling club yesterday, myself and others noticed some weird clicking sounds coming from the bike. There was no sound when we stopped and ran the wheels by hand. The sound is still there when i'm not pedalling. so we surmise that it possibly something loose in the chain/crank/derailer area.

i'm based in dublin 5 and am willing to go anywhere city centre or dublin1,3,5,13.

any recommendations for where to bring the bike?

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,309 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

hi all,

while out with clontaf cycling club yesterday, myself and others noticed some weird clicking sounds coming from the bike. There was no sound when we stopped and ran the wheels by hand. The sound is still there when i'm not pedalling. so we surmise that it possibly something loose in the chain/crank/derailer area.

i'm based in dublin 5 and am willing to go anywhere city centre or dublin1,3,5,13.

any recommendations for where to bring the bike?

thanks

There's a bike shop along the coast road in Clontarf near BAY restaurant. Nice bunch of lads too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭GTDolanator

The bike institute on lwr dorset st. Sean a gent and will have ye rocking in no time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

is the cable from the front or rear mech hitting the spokes.:P

Loose Spokes will also click when cycling. They don't click when you spin the pedals by hand as there is no weight on the saddle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭biomech

Excess cable on your front de-raileur hitting inside of your crank...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

biomech wrote: »
    Excess cable on your front de-raileur hitting inside of your crank...

The clicking continues when he stops pedalling so won't be FD cable.

CJC999 wrote: »

My money's on a loose spoke. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭biomech

CJC999 wrote: »
    oops my bad...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭3102derek

I had a click/creaking sound on the bike all summer.
    Could'nt figure it out, even the LBS was stumped. Was really feckn annoying

First spin with the bike yesterday after to took off the Deep Second Carbons and put in the "winter wheels" and guess what no noise. not a sound. Put it down to the carbon flexing on the climbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

07Lapierre wrote: »
    There's a bike shop along the coast road in Clontarf near BAY restaurant. Nice bunch of lads too.

Yeah I was in there a few weeks ago and found them very friendly and helpful. Ended up buying a rack for the car and the guy spent a good while showing me how to fit it. Only problem was I paid €100. Saw the exact same one a few days later in Bikehub for €80

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Tighten the handlebars and stem. If this continues, remove, clean, regrease and tighten the BB. After that, bring it to the Shop.

Handlebars got me for a long time till a guy at my local LBS said he would sort it out, whipped out an allen key, then it was gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

hi all,

thanks
    3102derek wrote: »
    I had a click/creaking sound on the bike all summer.

First spin with the bike yesterday after to took off the Deep Second Carbons and put in the "winter wheels" and guess what no noise. not a sound. Put it down to the carbon flexing on the climbs.

I would prob put it down to the neck of the valve in the tube just rattling against the rim/carbon. Pretty tough to nail it when on and off the bike. A bit of insulating tape between the hole and the valve will do it if the valve doesnt have thread. If it has a thread use the screw that came with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭romperstomper

marius in Top Bike Shop sorted it out while i waited. it was two things:

worn ring in crank axle
    and
    worn bearings in rear hub

thanks for all the suggestions on this thread. my first time in that shop, it will get my business from now on (especially as its open til 8pm)