Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Celeb Dilemma

• 23-09-2013 1:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭

I managed to convince myself and everyone around me that I spotted ol' Rolfaroo Harris at a golden-based temple on Saturday. I only noticed as the chap was dressed slightly eccentrically, and I took a snap of his clothes. Then I heard him speak. It was an Aussie accent. Then I decided he realised that I realised who he was and spent the next short while avoiding the business end of my camera.

On one hand, I really wanted to go up to him and say hi and hilariously ask him if he could tell what it was yet to whatever it was he was looking at and also thank him for inspiring me to draw shit pictures really quickly as a young 'un. On the other hand I knew it would be quite awkward given his recent allegations and also there was a high probability that it wasn't him as he is in court today and much much older than the chap I saw.

What would you do if you saw Rolf Harris or any other of your familiar childhood figures turned nonces while out and about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I don't judge people by the height of their fame or size of their wallet, but by the depth of their humility and how wide their wallet opens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Follow them around like s weirdo with a camera.Of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭salacious crumb

I saw him on tv earlier. Sky news to be precise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

kneemos wrote: »
    Follow them around like s weirdo with a camera.Of course.

Hey :(

I wasn't following him. We were both ambling in the same direction.

I saw Don Conroy in a garage a couple of years back. Played it cool so I did. He was in front of me at the till and I said hello to him as he walked by (he came to my school when I was 6 - I'm sure he recognised me). I walked up to pay and the dude behind the counter just turned to jelly, all giggly and nervous "That's Don Conroy" says he all star struck :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Did you really see Rolf Harris or just some unfortunate who looked like him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Saw Hector O'Whateverthe****hisname at the Body & Soul festival a couple of years ago. I said 'How's it going!" and he just glared at me. He should have been glad he was even recognised the ginger swine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I saw Don Conroy in a garage a couple of years back. Played it cool so I did. He was in front of me at the till and I said hello to him as he walked by (he came to my school when I was 6 - I'm sure he recognised me). I walked up to pay and the dude behind the counter just turned to jelly, all giggly and nervous "That's Don Conroy" says he all star struck :pac:

I met Don Conroy once back in '99. I asked him to say hi to someone for me when he's next on the Den and he said he would but he didn't.

The cunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    Saw Hector O'Whateverthe****hisname at the Body & Soul festival a couple of years ago. I said 'How's it going!" and he just glared at me. He should have been glad he was even recognised the ginger swine

You should've stuck the head in the fúcker, Glesgae-style.

I met Don Conroy once back in '99. I asked him to say hi to someone for me when he's next on the Den and he said he would but he didn't.

The cunt.

Were you even born in 1999?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Were you even born in 1999?

No I was born before that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭funt cucker

Shane Filan and a few of his "body guards" pushed right through me , the wife and our daughter nearly knocking her onto the road in Dame street a few years back.

I called him a tosser, and he just kept walking with those stupid shades on. It was fúcking pissing and cold. One of his body guards just laughed.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Did you really see Rolf Harris or just some unfortunate who looked like him?

Well that's the thing. I am, or was convinced it was him until it was pointed out that he was on the news this morning for being in court and he is 83 years old. I doubt it was him now as he would be banjaxed from going from Japan to the UK in that time at that age so I guess it wasn't him, but i do have a photo of his back.

The question still stands though, what would you do if you saw him? Approach him, ignore him, or throw pointy rocks at him?

WindSock wrote: »
    The question still stands though, what would you do if you saw him? Approach him, ignore him, or throw pointy rocks at him?

Ask him could I play with his didgeridoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

I LOVED Tony Hart. And Morph. Never got to meet either of them though :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Not bothered about so-called celebs. They don't get in my face and I don't get in theirs.

I really don't get people who can't help themselves..ooh that the lad that says *insert catchphrase here*...bet no-one's said it to his face before!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

I'd ask him if he regrets doing two little boys.

Merkin wrote: »
    I LOVED Tony Hart. And Morph. Never got to meet either of them though :(

Same. Thankfully they died before the chance of being added to the BBC nonce list though.
    I really don't get people who can't help themselves..ooh that the lad that says *insert catchphrase here*...bet no-one's said it to his face before!

Catchphrase fan too, eh? Good but not the right answer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,554 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Ask him could I play with his didgeridoo

Rumour has it you don't even need to ask....

I had to hold back from punching Brendan O'Carroll in a dress this very morning :D

No you didn't ;)

Yes I did. They're filiming Mrs. Brown's boys right beside my job. He was inches away from my fist on the way to work this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

i would never give him that opportunity

Yes I did. They're filiming Mrs. Brown's boys right beside my job. He was inches away from my fist on the way to work this morning.

I mean you didn't have to hold back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I also saw Don Conroy one time in a garage. Out in Dalkey it was, I think. It was when my mates were learning to drive so we used to just go on aimless drives some nights. I think we planned on following him or something but instead spent the next half hour excitedly talking about having spotted him and his fascination with owls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Not bothered about so-called celebs. They don't get in my face and I don't get in theirs.

Are you saying you wouldn't like to run up to Richard Wilson aka Victor Meldrew and say 'I don't belieeeve it!' ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Adam Clayton told my cousin to **** off once.

But what I really really want to know is what is a golden-based temple?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭JanaMay

I used to have a crush on Don Conroy.

I repeat: USED TO

Never on Rolf Harris.

Am I stil in the Turn-on/Turn-offs thread?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 326 ✭✭Savoir.Faire

I once spotted Brian Ormond strolling down the street. He was so dapper and slightly orange looking. I was going to go over and ask him for a photograph, but then I was overcome with emotion and fainted.

stimpson wrote: »
    I mean you didn't have to hold back.

Ah. I see :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Who the **** is Don Conroy? :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Um, the question put to us is "What would you do if you saw Rolf Harris or any other of your familiar childhood figures turned nonces while out and about?"

There's plenty of names cropping up here who are not nonces. Careful, folks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

I once spotted Brian Ormond strolling down the street. He was so dapper and slightly orange looking. I was going to go over and ask him for a photograph, but then I was overcome with emotion and fainted.

Who?

old hippy wrote: »
    There's plenty of names cropping up here who are not nonces.

Or at least haven't been named as such yet....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭kevin65

Sounds like the real Hector alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

I managed to convince myself and everyone around me that I spotted ol' Rolfaroo Harris at a golden-based temple on Saturday. I only noticed as the chap was dressed slightly eccentrically, and I took a snap of his clothes. Then I heard him speak. It was an Aussie accent. Then I decided he realised that I realised who he was and spent the next short while avoiding the business end of my camera.

On one hand, I really wanted to go up to him and say hi and hilariously ask him if he could tell what it was yet to whatever it was he was looking at and also thank him for inspiring me to draw shit pictures really quickly as a young 'un. On the other hand I knew it would be quite awkward given his recent allegations and also there was a high probability that it wasn't him as he is in court today and much much older than the chap I saw.

What would you do if you saw Rolf Harris or any other of your familiar childhood figures turned nonces while out and about?

If I seen Rolf Harris? I'd make sure to move the kids to another area!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭kevin12345

I served Gabriel Byrne in the shop I work in a few weeks ago. Played it calm, didn't say anything as he was wearing sunglasses (it was a dull, rainy day) so obviously didn't want to be "noticed".

After he left a woman walked in and I asked her "Do you realise you just walked passed Gabriel Byrne". She got all excited and said her car was parked in the direction he was walking, and she proceeded to chase him.

Muise... wrote: »

But what I really really want to know is what is a golden-based temple?

It's this thing
    old hippy wrote: »
    Um, the question put to us is "What would you do if you saw Rolf Harris or any other of your familiar childhood figures turned nonces while out and about?"

There's plenty of names cropping up here who are not nonces. Careful, folks.

Yeah it just turned into a celeb spotting guide instead. Oh well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭meemeemee

Modern Etiquette is to obtain an autograph from the celebrity in question, then go to the Police in about 40 years time with a highly detailed tale of how they molested you in their Rolls Royce / Dressing Room.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Well that's the thing. I am, or was convinced it was him until it was pointed out that he was on the news this morning for being in court and he is 83 years old.
    I had the weirdest experience. I'm walking here and I say to myself "my gosh, that's Jimmy Petersen. I haven't seen him since I was nine". And I walked up to him and I slapped him on the back and I said "how's it going, you old rascal?" And he starts crying... And I say to myself, "wait a second, if that's Jimmy Petersen, he would have grown up too!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Only celebs Ive met havebeen Amy Huberman (who has a really disappointing bum) and Jason Byrne, but he's a family friend so I cant tell him how sh*t he is :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Speaking of ****ers from The Den, I once saw Ray Darcy at this millenial party when I was like only 9, and was absolutely in awe when I saw him, proceeding to say Hi Ray and tried to get his attention several times to no avail.. completely ignored me.

But there was free coke there, so whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Let him abuse me.

Isn't that what all the tv stars then did?

Feel like i missed out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Oh I saw himself and Pippa heading into Dandelion once. He looked tiny compared to her, she was absolutely stunning. I was outside TGI Fridays having a smoke, I probably still had sauce on my face :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Some of that mini series Showbands was filmed here where I live and I was in the shop one morning and Kerry Katona came in, she is sound as a pound in real life and was friendly to everyone.

She is tiny in real life, maybe about 5ft.

Back on topic wouldnt say anything to R Harris.

Sound as a pound. Sounds like you got a line and a BJ. Everybody else did.

meemeemee wrote: »
    Sound as a pound. Sounds like you got a line and a BJ. Everybody else did.

Bit harsh.....

Goddam right she is.

But a BJ is a BJ ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

kevin65 wrote: »
    Sounds like the real Hector alright.

Yes ive heard similar story re hector.
    Turns it on like a switch in front of camera but is an asshole at all other times. Ive heard of him blanking his neighbours in local shop.