Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Raw 23/09/13 *Spoilers including NOC Results*

• 23-09-2013 1:14pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭

WWE will broadcast Raw from the Allstate Arena in Chicago, IL tonight, featuring:

*CM Punk returns home for his first appearance since losing to Paul Heyman.

*Daniel Bryan's issues with Triple H continues.

*Will the Rhodes family seek revenge?

*Will Big Show continue to be bullied?

Pretty much guaranteed a great crowd so.

Also 2K14's roster reveal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,559 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

They need to get Ryback in on the Big Show bullying.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,390 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

CastorTroy wrote: »

Hahahaha! Solid idea!

But sadly they seem to be keeping Heyman and Co seperate from the Big Show HHH feud.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Personally hope Paul will drop the hand:
    b66iqa.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,019 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Yes get Ryback to make him cry :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

Heyman because then it'd be funny. Feck it just show him the vid of his "Father's" funeral & save me the bother of looking it up again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

hoping they don't just announce an Orton-Bryan rematch, would love to see a Battle Royal for the title (92 Rumble style).

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

hoping they don't just announce an Orton-Bryan rematch, would love to see a Battle Royal for the title (92 Rumble style).

Erm http://www.wwe.com/shows/wwebattleground/2013/daniel-bryan-randy-orton-26148906

Vince McMahon will appear on Raw for the first time since before Summerslam, joining Triple H to address the locker room revolt that took place on last week's episode of Raw.

YAY!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I think I'll watch the first half hour and record the rest. This thread looks like it's going to be quiet enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭TheBantam

HHH back to his old theme?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭TheBantam

That line up of faces is so poor. R Truth ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Happy birthday Steph, you sexy sexy woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭spiritcrusher

Boos for the WWE app. Love Chicago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Give it a break with the app.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Kofi v ADR?

Seriously why would anyone want to see this match again?

Its been done a zillion times, and before anyone claims I am been melodramatic, do a quick youtube search. :(

xaw3mp.png

Its weird hearing the commentators talking about Darren Young since its my brothers name. Always catches me off guard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭Adiboo

Two characters I couldn't give a fuck about. Why Big Show even has storylines anymore is beyond me. He needs to be a mid carder putting over the younger talent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

I must say, I'm really enjoying this from The Miz.

You could understand the awful KOP last week, but again. God damn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭eass82

The King knows who the real WWE Champion is

You could understand the awful KOP last week, but again. God damn.

Didn't wanna do damage to Miz's newly botoxed face.

As much as I'm sick of RVD. He takes a nice DDT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Yeah Punk, I don't give a toss about hockey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭nazmoalex

Well I stuck with it till the end. Punk and Heyman were gold, Big Show didn't cry and D-Bryan wasn't beaten to a pulp! Plus Rhodes brothers run in was a nice surprise! Still hoping I'll see a War Games at HIAC!

Stephanie cheated last night:

BU5NlvHCYAISa_a.jpg

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,390 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Its weird hearing the commentators talking about Darren Young since its my brothers name. Always catches me off guard.

It must have really caught you off guard when you seen the headline, Darren Young comes out! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Hardly any replies this week. Usually that's my gauge on weather I should watch it or not. Think I'll give it a miss.

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    Hardly any replies this week. Usually that's my gauge on weather I should watch it or not. Think I'll give it a miss.

Watch from the Punk promo on. The last hour was pretty good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭SimonQuinlank

Meh Raw.Disliked the idea of 11 faces vs 3 heels in the main event but it worked ok I suppose.Cody turning up after only being gone 2 weeks or something is crap though.Liked how Goldust wore the hoody to be inconspicuous but still had his face painted gold.

Sick of the Punk/Heyman stuff at this stage,even the inclusion of Bully Ryback can't hold my interest in it.

Heel Steph being a bitch to heel AJ is just annoying and muddles things up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭Ridley

Disliked the idea of 11 faces vs 3 heels in the main event but it worked ok I suppose.

I quite liked the basic premise of two-face Triple H rewarding the faces but maneuvering the pieces so that RVD, Kingston etc. were weakened before the match.

Didn't like the match not getting thrown out when it came down to four on one on Rollins though. Poor Gabriel and Ryder.

And shame on Cole for giving Kingston a free pass but not RVD who got Miz'd by Orton. Bad enough that he dumped on that jobber on Smackdown and essentially sided with Ryback's blatant lie.

Think Stephanie having her stand-up set on her hand should be a Thing as well.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Meh Raw.Disliked the idea of 11 faces vs 3 heels in the main event but it worked ok I suppose.

There was decent enough continuity through the show. Most of the 11 had matches during the night so their "injuries" made the handicap match a bit more even. From that point of view RAW was nicely structured.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

I really hated this Raw. It's not often I'll say that. Usually I'll get irked or try and find a silver lining. But I really hated this episode tonight.

It felt as if the main plot could have gone down a few different routes, and while they teased them all, they never actually decided to go down the final part of the road.

Why were The Shield put into an 11 on 3 handicap match? Did they annoy HHH and Steph (who is now the owner of WWE apparently)? Have they disappointed the Power Couple?
    OH! But the story of the night is that as the faces are all being hurt, meaning that over the 3 hours, the 11 will be whittled down so the heels have the advan....no wait, they ALL made it back out to the ring. So it's still an 11 on 3 handicap match?
    Why aren't the faces jumping in to break up tags? Does Young not care his partner just got speared? Considering there were so many tag team specialists in the ring, they all appeared to forget it's common enough to break pins. Letting one or two slip for fair play is one thing, but letting 6 or 7?
    Maybe as the numbers dwindle, someone will turn heel? Maybe Ryder will screw over one or two people in a bid to get in HHH's good books, letting them build a story where he's trying to impr....no, there he goes. Still, least he got more offense in that Gabriel who couldn't hit a single move on a guy who'd been fighting off multiple men for 20 minutes. Good job.

They make a big deal about Reigns suffering his first pinfall loss in WWE....and it's one of the Usos that gets it. I garruntee no one will remember that fact this time next week.

At one stage, I thought they might have actually used it as an attempt to get Rollins over as a face; turned on by HHH for no reason, Lawler saying he's not a good leader, 5 on 1 against him so a chance to prove himself...nah, the good guys have just decided to lynch him.

And nothing special about the ending. Bryan celebrates winning an 11 on 3 handicap match! Well done! He barely participated in it and let the other 10 guys do most of the work, but what an achievement for Bryan! What a brave, valiant hero he is.:confused:

Just hated it.

----

Meanwhile Punk cuts a promo about.... I want to say Baseball, but I genuinely don't know cause he didn't actually clarify. I hate sports promos about local teams, but this was bad even for a local promo. Ryback nearly kills him by missing the table, but at least it looked good and built heat.

Cody and Goldust jumping the Shield was awesome, and the Rhodes story is being booked perfectly at the moment. That said, did Goldust have to be in facepaint? Did they think we wouldn't know who he was without it? And I don't like when they show replays of "people jumping the barricade"; if you're going to run that story, run it as if it's legit; no replays, don't reference it, work the camera so you get glimpses of whats going on but not confirmations that make it obviously an angle.

Why were The Shield put into an 11 on 3 handicap match? Did they annoy HHH and Steph (who is now the owner of WWE apparently)? Have they disappointed the Power Couple?

Trips and Steph from a kayfabe viewpoint are just two power hungry tools who have no respect for anyone on the roster, so basically to squash an uprising they threw The Shield under the bus to deflect all blame for themselves.

They may be planting the seeds for a face turn as in a few months after doing enough of Trips bidding they say "**** this" and let Bryan get his hands on Trips.

Then you can do The Shield v The Wyatts and give a brief test run for The Shield to be face.

Why was the Diva's tag a 10 person match? 6 of them never got tagged in! Just do the Bella's vs AJ and Layla or something instead. At least that way it might have taken more than one move to beat the champion.
    Rjd2 wrote: »
    Then you can do The Shield v The Wyatts and give a brief test run for The Shield to be face.

Anything other than a squash and the Shield look bad. The Wyatt's are damn near dead in the water already.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

They make a big deal about Reigns suffering his first pinfall loss in WWE....and it's one of the Usos that gets it. I garruntee no one will remember that fact this time next week.

What is so bad about the No 1 contenders to the tag titles getting a moment that puts them over as a credible threat to the champs? Uso's were steadily promoted the last 6 months or so and have had some very good matches so I think it was a good decision to have the Uso's get the pin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

Thoughts on RAW
    - H turning Bryan's allies against him was clever. We're seeing heels heel out on heels, as H threw Shield under the bus.
    - We could feasibly get a 15-minute H promo each week for the next 30 years.
    - RVD is still well over despite WWE not treating him as anything special. It's such a shame WWE have kept him at the "cool" "dude!" stoner idiot character he chastised back at ONS 2006.
    - Wyatt's need a storyline.
    - Miz should've sold his injured "larnicks" :P at least speak gruffly.
    - Fandango should get another finisher, doing the hip hop drop will give him hip troubles in later life.
    - Punk's rallying promo was pretty amazing. He whipped the crowd up into such a frenzy. Heyman (as always) is an excellent heel foil.
    - We're really in the down period. Around Mania, Paul Heyman guys are Brock Lesnar and CM Punk. In September, they're Ryback and Curtis Axel.
    - Main event was a ton of fun and made everyone look great - jobbers got some spots in the main event, Shield were put over huge, making a large dent against impossible odds (how Reigns looked at the face group as he nonchalantly pinned Gabriel was awesome), Bryan's firing up spots are really world class, the crowd exploded for them and put his running knee (aka "The Move That Beat John Cena") over. Really enjoyable main event.

Overall there's a lot of faff and recaps on RAW but we had a couple of really great segments worth going out of your way to see, so thumbs up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,559 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

So are the Total Divas all faces now or something?

Was watching the handicap match thinking; Why when they have 11 people out there do they have RVD and Kofi go in first when they're the most obviously injured?

DM-ICE wrote: »
    What is so bad about the No 1 contenders to the tag titles getting a moment that puts them over as a credible threat to the champs? Uso's were steadily promoted the last 6 months or so and have had some very good matches so I think it was a good decision to have the Uso's get the pin.

Its not so much that they shouldn't have been given the chance. More that the chance is squandered by having it randomly in the middle of such a big match. Furthermore, they won't be given promo time to build on the idea and I'll be amazed if it's mentioned beyond this episode of Raw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭Hematocyte

Nice Back to the Future reference there by CM Punk :D

Was watching the handicap match thinking; Why when they have 11 people out there do they have RVD and Kofi go in first when they're the most obviously injured?

I have no earthly idea,doubt WWE do either.

Is AJ supposed to be a face when she's slagging them off? or a face when she's getting bullied by Steph?baffling really.

Is the flat chested Bella a face now after Randy insulted Bryan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

WWE are doing this thing where a "bigger" heel supercedes other heels. So heel Stephanie kicks down heel AJ, who kicks down heel bellas. Heel Triple H kicks down on heel Shield.
    Yep, Bryan's a terrible team captain. Cole brought up how great he was when it was 4-on-1 and they surrounded Rollins. If he was a decent team captain they would've routed Shield with 8+ members left!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,953 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Yeah I didn't really enjoy Raw either. I thought Raw handled the whole revolt against HHH and Stephanie badly, and instead of springboarding some of the better faces to the top, RVD, Ziggler and one of either the Usos and Prime Time Players (a challenger for the Tag Titles) you have a load of guys who have no real place in the main storyline. It looked good last week when they attacked first but was never going to be good going forward.

Not even CM Punk can carry Ryback.

The Big Show angle is terrible and to be honest so is this 'I'm Orton and I have to show how much of a badass I am' thing

The return of Goldust and Cody was great imo because it was unexpected, and I would like to see that develop, but again that gets taken away from because you've 2 other tag teams feuding with The Shield at present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,019 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I have no earthly idea,doubt WWE do either.

Is AJ supposed to be a face when she's slagging them off? or a face when she's getting bullied by Steph?baffling really.

Is the flat chested Bella a face now after Randy insulted Bryan?

Is AJ heading for a feud with Stephanie, they been a few confrontations between them as of late and after her pipebomb I thought AJ would be turning face soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

pretty fustrated with this raw.

CSF wrote: »
    Yeah I didn't really enjoy Raw either. I thought Raw handled the whole revolt against HHH and Stephanie badly, and instead of springboarding some of the better faces to the top, RVD, Ziggler and one of either the Usos and Prime Time Players (a challenger for the Tag Titles) you have a load of guys who have no real place in the main storyline. It looked good last week when they attacked first but was never going to be good going forward.

Not even CM Punk can carry Ryback.

The Big Show angle is terrible and to be honest so is this 'I'm Orton and I have to show how much of a badass I am' thing

The return of Goldust and Cody was great imo because it was unexpected, and I would like to see that develop, but again that gets taken away from because you've 2 other tag teams feuding with The Shield at present.

Heel bully Ryback is a blast,he completely gets the character,even his mannerisms are fantastic.Don't see him needing carrying at all tbh.

Just a pity he's been inserted into this interminable Punk/Heyman feud, which has served no purpose other than to totally overexpose Heyman and inflict Axel on the masses.

Now I stop and think about it....what exactly was the Rhodes' problem with The Shield? I get that they are HHH's lackies.

But it was Orton alone who got Cody fired. It was Orton that got Goldust the loss. And it was Show who knocked out Dusty (granted with The Shield watching). Should Cody and Goldust not have launched their attack on Orton? Or HHH? Rather than blindsiding the group who have had the least to do with their dismissal?

Don't get me wrong, it's a great moment on the show and obviously will lead to the match at Summerslam. But it's not consistent with the story thus far, and seems to be indicative of this "Throw everything at the wall at once" style of booking we're getting right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

D.Q wrote: »
    pretty fustrated with this raw.

I made it up until I saw HHH then turned it off & just read a report of it instead.

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Is AJ heading for a feud with Stephanie, they been a few confrontations between them as of late and after her pipebomb I thought AJ would be turning face soon

The heel AJ is more popular than any of the face Diva's. She wouldnt need a turn, just change the opposition. She is popular because of the character. Change the character (as happens with turns) and they risk people losing interest. They are kind of already doing that by having her against the Bella's.