Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IJP Trophy at Carton House (Montgomerie)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

SnowDrifts wrote: »
    Anyone else heard about this? Seems like reasonable value - it's a fourball stableford competition for €60 per person. Includes "IJP team trousers".

http://www.topgolfer.ie/events/event/ijptrophy/#.Uj3-_tJwqjM

Id play but disappointed its on a thursday. Good value overall imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

Yeah I would have thought Saturday would have been the day for a competition like that. Either way, it does seem like decent value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Silly question here but how does it work if there are only 2 of you. Do you get paired with another couple of lads on their own?

On the timesheet, it appears to only let you select a team slot and not individual slots like most Fourball comps. So I'd image you have have to enter into it already with a partner.

That's fine thanks for that.

If anyone was interested in this... there are only 4 slots left.

Edit - make that 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

Only 4 spots left so no need to have it on the weekend. Anyone own the trousers what type of a fit are they.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭Redriddick

Playing at 9.40.should be good crack!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

mike12 wrote: »
    Only 4 spots left so no need to have it on the weekend. Anyone own the trousers what type of a fit are they.

Ive found them to be pretty perfect tbh. Im thin and tall and the 30w 34 leg fits like a glove. Ive found that other brands tend to be larger around the waist than advertised, but not so with these. If your worried, id go up a size rather than down, but if you know what your fit is and stick to that, you should be fine. Theyre fairly figure hugging id say but not uncomfortably so

Redriddick wrote: »
    Playing at 9.40.should be good crack!!!

Yeah looking forward to it myself. Walked the course but have never played it so don't have high expectations but hopefully will be enjoyable. Fully booked out now and it's not even on for another month!

Are you out at 940 too snow?

No - out nearly last on timesheet. Did you end up booking it yourself? I'm eyeing the hole in one prize... nice golfing trip to Florida :D:D

Yeah I'm booked in and looking forward to it. Hopefully the weather is not too bad because that course is horrible in the wind and rain.

Yeah it's a gamble with the weather alright but sure as long as it's the same for everyone. Forward tees should make it a little easier.

Hopefully it will be a cool crisp day up there.Played the monty a good few times once in a pro am with Seamus McMonagle from dunfanaghy.Nice chap give loads of advice,one of which was stay out of the fairway bunkers:eek::eek:

Anyone see the link for "team trousers" options? I was expecting very limited options of old stock but turns out to be from the new autumn/winter collection - some of them priced at €100 online. Deal turned a little bit sweeter.

Ordered the checkered Juan Ker trousers for myself earlier :)

My trousers arrived this morning and I have to say they are top quality.

I look like a Juan Ker but they are the business as far as I'm concerned!

Haha ... took me a few reads to get "Juan Ker" (I was here thinking "who the fook is that")

Mine also arrived this morning and have to agree - top quality and the comfort/fit is fantastic. Now if only I could stop playing like a Juan Ker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,118 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

probably a bit late but if there is anyone interested in joing up to play in this, i would love a crack at it and the trousers look fab.

im off next thursday so can play at any time

stevieob wrote: »
    probably a bit late but if there is anyone interested in joing up to play in this, i would love a crack at it and the trousers look fab.

im off next thursday so can play at any time

It's completely booked out Steve. The organiser has assured me that there will be many more of these events.

Might be an idea to call Carton House to be put yourself down as a reserve. Although not sure what way that would work with the trousers.

All will be forgiven for my sh1t golf this year if I can have one good shot on 17...........

holein_zpsf2c56817.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Hashtag WeartheTrousers....

If I get a hole in one on the 17th I'm playing the 18th in my nip

Lads did ye get an e-mail with the link for the trousers???

Yeah - it was sent at the start of last week. Here is the contact email ... richard.atthey@ijpdesign.com

Might be better to give him a call though at this stage - if you want his mobile number, let me know and I'll pm it to you.

Think we will just get away with the weather tomorrow. Showers due in the evening.

Just got an email asking us to enter our scores to a live leaderboard here - https://clubapplive.com/golf/index.html?clubid=179

Fairly cool initiative so long as it doesn't slow things up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Think we will just get away with the weather tomorrow. Showers due in the evening.

Just got an email asking us to enter our scores to a live leaderboard here - https://clubapplive.com/golf/index.html?clubid=179

Fairly cool initiative so long as it doesn't slow things up.

Golfgraffix (poster on here) supplied us with a similar live leaderboard for the Boards Society Captains Day (not sure if he has white labelled it as that looks pretty similar to his).
    It didn't slow things along at all, and it was a good bit of fun to have the scores throughout the round.
    Not sure how it'd work in a more competitive environment like the IJP (not saying the Captains day wasn't competitive but at least we knew everyone playing). Errors can be made inputting the scores, so I'm guessing they can't/won't penalise anyone for getting theirs wrong. Some bugger could easily put himself down for level 3's for the first 14 holes just to rattle the rest of the field, alternatively, someone posting a decent score could keep it under the radar....

Well that's good to hear.

I'd say it's the score on the card that matters and the live app info is just for entertainment purposes. So the thought did cross my mind that an early group might "accidentally" mess up the scores on the app to put the frighteners on everyone else. :D

I'm very excited.

Only 1 more sleep

ForeRight wrote: »
    I'm very excited.

Only 1 more sleep
    Really looking forward to this.Will be good crack.Have an hour and a half drive up before hand so intend on getting up well before tee time for cup of coffee.
    No trousers but will be getting them in the am.

Really looking forward to this.Will be good crack.Have an hour and a half drive up before hand so intend on getting up well before tee time for cup of coffee.

Was it too late to post them out? Just as handy I suppose to get them from the guy tomorrow.

I think I'm playing with you red

Another day like today would be nice.....

a6ed22c6-1fb8-4c0d-9e83-9cc927df8a16_zps9e52e943.jpg

Another day like today would be nice.....

a6ed22c6-1fb8-4c0d-9e83-9cc927df8a16_zps9e52e943.jpg

Jees I really hope the weather holds till the evening.Foreright I am in the last group so should know what I have to do.he he he....

Ah sorry Red it's someone else in here who is on the same time slot as me but can't remember who it was now.

Cracking day. Weather was truly amazing and the course was in great shape.

Unfortunately no trip to Florida for me but I played very well so vary happy with a great day out.

The live scoring was great to watch

ForeRight wrote: »
    Cracking day. Weather was truly amazing and the course was in great shape.

Unfortunately no trip to Florida for me but I played very well so vary happy with a great day out.

The live scoring was great to watch

Have to say I really enjoyed too.Highlight was missing florida by 4ft but made the birdie!!!!
    Crowd was very impressed luckily they did not see the rest of the round!!!!!!

Great event and very well organised. The live scoring app was a great addition - hopefully local clubs start to use it some time in the future.

Only gripe I had was no pin position information. No coloured flags for front/middle/back or nothing on the scorecard. Made a big difference on some greens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Me boombastic

Was anyone there for the raffle ?? I dunno if u had to be there to collect a prize if u were pulled out ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭colmsix

great event to play in .live scoring was a great addition .trousers are top quality and my partner hit it to 18 inches on 17 for the nearly trip to florida ,so close but no cigar .there was talk today of 4 events next year in the provinces.