Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help!! I sat on the remote control!! This **** just got serious!

• 21-09-2013 6:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭

Tragic as my OH has just departed for a weeks work abroad!! I am a Sky subscriber and I am now viewing the TV Guide....with just a blue section where the screen normally runs...It will not allow me to choose a programme! I give out about telly all the time but, a whole week without it..or him!! Any ideas??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Lol, the TV remote isn't a vibrator silly

Turn it off and back on again.

No seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭TheBody

MAybe the batteries flat from you sitting on the remote. :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Id say he has left you for another woman OP, and he's cancelled the sky.

Id suggest you rush to the ATM and check your money isn't gone aswell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭TommiesTank

How much do you weight?

Check the batteries aren't loose or dead. I'd have expected any remote to survive being sat on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Turn it off and back on again.

No seriously.

I agree, the first rule of I.T.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Just because the remote may be FUBAR does not affect the Sky signal you are receiving.

A lot of the command buttons are on the box anyways.

Half arsed attempt at trolling.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 368 ✭✭Morph the Cat

Pandora2 wrote: »
    Any ideas??

Stop your lame trolling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

There's a familiar movie plot in here somewhere...

Husband's away, tv stops working, service man calls to the door, lady of the house answers door scantily clad, ...

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    Half arsed attempt at trolling.
    Stop your lame trolling?

From the charter:
    Do not to abuse them or call these posters trolls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

This is why he never lets you out of the kitchen, see what happens when you leave it now!?

Just after seeing the OP's name is Pandora.

Must resist the urge to make a Pandora's box joke.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 368 ✭✭Morph the Cat

You just did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭TommiesTank

Married to Harry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Unplug the mains cable from sky box for about 2mins, then plug it back in & power it back up, should sort your problem.
    Quick fix sometimes is just pressing the sky button at the top of the remote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Pandora2

Well a couple of things have happened...

A. I have turned off and on both the Sky Box and the telly, I'm not a complete moron! I now have a still of US X Factor, which I was not watching (before ye start!) and the programme information banner showing.

It will not allow me to move from this :(

And why oh why would anybody troll about losing the use of their telly? Seriously lads you need to get out in the fresh air!! Any advice still welcome!

Unplug the mains cable from sky box for about 2mins, then plug it back in & power it back up, should sort your problem.
    Quick fix sometimes is just pressing the sky button at the top of the remote.

Tried the quick fix but no joy, standby, I'm going to attempt to disengage cable now in 5, 4, 3,

Well a couple of things have happened...

A. I have turned off and on both the Sky Box and the telly, I'm not a complete moron! I now have a still of US X Factor, which I was not watching (before ye start!) and the programme information banner showing.

It will not allow me to move from this :(

And why oh why would anybody troll about losing the use of their telly? Seriously lads you need to get out in the fresh air!! Any advice still welcome!

You have to unplug it for a few minutes. Not just power it off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭returnNull

Seriously lads you need to get out in the fresh air!! Any advice still welcome!
    lol sez you having a sh1t fit about not being able to watch tv after breaking it with your butt :pac:

have you tried removing the sky card for 30 second & sticking it back in again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

You should do it. Nothing better than a poorly executed attempt at humour based of a child's level of comprehension of a myth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

And make sure you get it in to the slot smoothly straight off. Ya see, it's not always easy, is it? :D

OK remember Sky card from a previous home but I can't see one near this 'box'.....is the card internal now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,283 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

OH gone away for a week, Thinly Veiled open invite to orgy at OPs house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

There's a cover over the card slot on the new ones, I think.

OK remember Sky card from a previous home but I can't see one near this 'box'.....is the card internal now?

Look to the left of the sky box front. Around the power indicator light, should be a flap you can pull down, card will be inside there

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Check your not using the UPC remote!

returnNull wrote: »
    lol sez you having a sh1t fit about not being able to watch tv after breaking it with your butt :pac:

Obviously any sh1t fits you have been witness to were mild in their intensity if you mistake this for one! Not a troll, not a sh1t fit ...Just a woman wanting to watch the telly on a Saturday night when her other half is working...

Success!! A combination of Howard and Ted's advice saved the day, many thanks...

Feck all on now I suppose ;)