Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What funny/odd things have you seen while waiting for a bus?

• 21-09-2013 10:04am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭

I was waiting for buses yesterday and saw a few funny things that got me wondering about what other funny/odd things people have seen while waiting for buses. I'll start the ball rolling.

1. A catering van with a logo that looked like 3 penises, side by side, with a butterfly hovering around the tips of each 1:)

2. A teenager who had applied her foundation makeup all the way around to the nape of her neck, I've never seen that before and it didn't help that she was ginger or that the foundation colour wasn't too many shades lighter than her hair colour:eek:

3. A youngWan pulling a wheeled suitcase, orange in one hand apple in the other, stopped in front of our very busy bus stop, held the apple in her teeth and proceeded to pull her knickers out of her arse, then walked off eating her apple seemingly oblivious to the crowd of people watching her, sweet baby Jesus do parents not bother to teach their kids even the slightest modicum of self respect these days:confused::D

So over to you now, tell me about your funny/odd sightings at bus stops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Bus ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

What happens at the bus stop stays at the bus stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

A queue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Funny/odd? You mean mundane/boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Gee_G

Not so much what I've seen but what I've experienced. A man sat beside me a couple of years ago at a bus station while I was having a cigarette. Started asking what brand I was smoking, how many a day etc etc. After a few minutes he asked me would I mind moving over beside him and blowing my smoke in his face!!!!freak!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I seen a dude with no arms or legs waiting at the bus stop before.

The bus driver pulled up, and greeted him with "howya gettin on".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

A bus actually arriving on time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Not seen but heard: the announcements in the station in Cork followed by "who's in de house?"

Somebody won that bet, and it made the delay much more fun. :D

OT, but on the train once, the "ding-dong!" button must have been broken, so the fella doing the announcement said "Ding-Dong! We'll shortly be arriving in..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Funny/odd? You mean mundane/boring.
    No, but feel free to contribute anyway:D

wazky wrote: »
    A bus actually arriving on time.
    Yep, mine was 20 minutes late yesterday, thankfully I don't buses too often.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

3. A youngWan pulling a wheeled suitcase, orange in one hand apple in the other, stopped in front of our very busy bus stop, held the apple in her teeth and proceeded to pull her knickers out of her arse, then walked off eating her apple seemingly oblivious to the crowd of people watching her, sweet baby Jesus do parents not bother to teach their kids even the slightest modicum of self respect these days:confused::D

At least they taught her about healthy eating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Hersheys

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    At least they taught her about healthy eating.
    And if you have a wedgie, you have a wedgie. No shame in relieving yourself of the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭VONSHIRACH

waited 30 minutes and 3 46a's came all at once

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

I was waiting for buses yesterday and saw a few funny things that got me wondering about what other funny/odd things people have seen while waiting for buses. I'll start the ball rolling.

So over to you now, tell me about your funny/odd sightings at bus stops

What's the world coming to at all. Where are your manners? Did you not even offer to help her with her knickers problem?:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,857 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

Drunk young fella with a chicken n chip box at the bus stop from the chipper next door

Put his chicken n chip box down on the ground to take a wizz against the wall.

He was so drunk and staggering so much,that he went and pissed into the chicken n chip box.
    When he realized what he had done,he started cursing like hell and threw the chicken n chips box against the wall.

He then fell over as he was trying to button his jeans back up.

I was in stitches laughing,so too were 2 other ladies getting onto the bus with me.:)

Bus driver looked out and said...."Glad hes not geting on my bus".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Reindeer

Bus ****.

That never gets old, never:rolleyes:

Hersheys wrote: »
    And if you have a wedgie, you have a wedgie. No shame in relieving yourself of the situation.

True, but if you've any self respect at all you try to do it discreetly. It's sods law that whenever you most need to scratch/pull your knickers out of you arse, you are going to be somewhere public:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

I saw some lady doing some sort of exercise or something and she jumping and hanging off the bus stop shelter at one point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Saw a fella with crutches get off a CIE bus and proceed to hobble around to the bag storage compartment at the rear of the bus.
    He lifted the bus boot door and rested his crutches in the boot while leaning in to fetch his bag.
    Just then the bus pulled off without warning with the boot open taking with it yer mans crutches and bag,leaving him stranded and balancing on his good leg.
    This was a time before everyone had cars and mobile phones so there was fcuk all anyone could do for him.
    Who knows he might still be there.
    Bus wanker:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

It is not amusing or probably odd (as it probably happens a fair bit) but I was at a bus stop a while ago at 7am. There was a guy sitting there and he smoked a whole joined to himself. What sort of way is that to start a day???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Polka_Dot

A fella taking out a sliced pan, tub of butter and packet of ham and proceeding to make a sandwich has to be one of the weirdest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭ElvisChrist6

It is not amusing or probably odd (as it probably happens a fair bit) but I was at a bus stop a while ago at 7am. There was a guy sitting there and he smoked a whole joined to himself. What sort of way is that to start a day???

The best way!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

a bus turning up on time :eek: only happened once mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Same for me one morning...except I shared the spliff with him. Nothing like getting stoned and dreaming up excuses for not being Taoiseach that day.