Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sarcasm

• 20-09-2013 5:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭

Sarcasm is commonly referred to as the lowest form of comedy. Sometimes it's an easy source of laughter but sometimes it's clever. I think catchphrases are the lowest form of humour. You're basically just taking someone elses funny comment and using it where you see fit. Not much wit involved in it.

What's the lowest form of comedy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

I thought it was the lowest form of wit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

This thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I have a friend that throws out the catchphrases, always cracks me up. He does it perfectly!

I'm very sarcastic and I think it comes across as rude a lot, I only notice after I say something :( must stop that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

*I like this thread and would like some thanks*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

id say puns, sometimes they can be funny but generally they are very easy jokes to make

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Sarcasm is the lowest form of wit....but the most effective.

'Merica

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

lahalane wrote: »

Tommy Tiernan?

Wee Man?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

This thread.

I forgot about 'banter'. That can be pretty unfunny too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

MadsL wrote: »
    'Merica
    ah dont be like that, 'Mericans can be funny too.

I'd love to hear what you think is the highest form of wit OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭19543261

Banter doesnt so much serve to make people laugh as its a mechanism to affirm ties within a group, i.e. if I make you laugh, you make me laugh, and we'll all feel good about ourselves. (It's nearly always unfunny I find!)

Irony is the "highest" form of wit. Ironically, I always feel dumb when my deadpan humour is missed and I provoke a mystified look and straight-faced reply.

Candie wrote: »
    I'd love to hear what you think is the highest form of wit OP.

Knock knock jokes

Banter is never unfunny because someone is always getting laughed at.

To post seriously for a second. One of the very very lowest forms of comedy is the nasty, personal attacks that you are expected to endure as 'slagging'.

Some people think a bit of "slagging" gives them the right to be utter pricks

Banter is never unfunny because someone is always getting laughed at.

Rape is never bad because someone always enjoys it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

People who jokingly use sexual inuenndos are generally very unfunny IMO.

I am sarcastic....too sarcastic for my own good....and not self aware enough to realise when I have gone too far. Must work on that!

To post seriously for a second. One of the very very lowest forms of comedy is the nasty, personal attacks that you are expected to endure as 'slagging'.

Very true. Some people confuse this with bullying and if you pull them up on it they say 'shur it's only a bit of craic'.

I thought puns were considered the lowest form of humour or as Alfred Hitchcock put it, the highest form of literature.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Fart jokes.

Still hilarious though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

People who jokingly use sexual inuenndos are generally very unfunny IMO.

I am sarcastic....too sarcastic for my own good....and not self aware enough to realise when I have gone too far. Must work on that!

In-your-end-o.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Jokes at someone's expense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Aineoil

Maybe I am strange, but I like sarcastic wit, as long as it's sarcastic in a general way.....and not generated at a person, or a group of people. Sarcastic comments like these -

I am free of all prejudices. I hate everyone equally.

My opinions may have changed, but not the fact that I'm right.

Those are my principles. If you don't like them I have others.

True story this.

I was working in Dublin in the 1980's as a teacher. For whatever reason the pupils took an interest in a very naive female teacher. The conversation went like this -

Pupils: Are you married?
    Me: No

Pupils: Do you have childer?
    Me: No

Pupils: Do you have a boyfriend?
    Me: No (but I did have one)....... I married him in later years

Certain pupil: What's wrong with you Miss?
    Me: There's nothing wrong with me, I must be on the shelf

Reply from certain student:

Jaysus Miss think you have fallen down behind it.

Dublin at it's best!

Rape is never bad because someone always enjoys it...

Will you ever fock off!! How can you compare banter, which is something everyone involved likes to rape?

Wine o clock start early?!

Will you ever fock off!! How can you compare banter, which is something everyone involved likes to rape?

Wine o clock start early?!

It was a joke :P but I will say that not everyone involved likes banter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

'Humour' at the expense of intellectually impaired people.

Vile.

Toilet 'humour'. Just don't get why people find it funny but it seems quite well received by many.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 326 ✭✭Savoir.Faire

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Sarcasm is great when done properly.

As for the lowest form of wit: anything is, in the wrong hands.

It was a joke :P but I will say that not everyone involved likes banter.

Then it's not banter is it?! ;)

For example ill be at a party tonight with lads I've known 20+ years and it will be nothing but slagging each other about things such as girlfriends, wives, money issues, football, cocks, clothes, houses basically everything but kids and we'll still be on the ground laughing like we used to when we were teenagers. Great craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭TommiesTank

Sarcasm is commonly referred to as the lowest form of comedy. Sometimes it's an easy source of laughter but sometimes it's clever. I think catchphrases are the lowest form of humour. You're basically just taking someone elses funny comment and using it where you see fit. Not much wit involved in it.

I've always said that gratuitous singing in TV shows and films is the lowest form of comedy .... Like when the Simpsons break out in song. Puts me right off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

You forgot to finish the qoute-

"Sarcasm is the lowest form of wit, but the highest form of intelligence"

- Oscar Wilde

Whenever I finish the qoute for anyone, I usually get this kind of look-

notsureifserious.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Saying completely non clever, non witty things that are nothing other than nasty, and shocking for the sake of shocking. That's not to say I wouldn't always laugh at them though - e.g. Bernard Manning and Roy Chubby Brown. "Girls Aloud...? GIRLS ALOUD...?! Oh yeh girls aloud all right. Allowed to SUCK MY COCK!" I hate the obnoxious prick but I did lol... :o

Hmmm... depends. Piss-taking, even faux attacking, can genuinely just be messing and good-natured. It depends on stuff like how close a friend you are to the person, etc. But yeh there are times when people are just being downright unpleasant and hide it behind "I was only messing, can't you take a joke?" and the like.
    'Humour' at the expense of intellectually impaired people.

Vile.
    Depends again on context. But yeh, "Hahaha they're disabled!" by itself is just cruel.
    Toilet 'humour'. Just don't get why people find it funny but it seems quite well received by many.
    Toilet humour is hilarious. I thought I knew you man... :(
    Mebee you're referring to certain constant bowel movement posts that used to appear around these parts though. If so, I understand more where you're coming from... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Saying completely non clever, non witty things that are nothing other than nasty, and shocking for the sake of shocking. That's not to say I wouldn't always laugh at them though - e.g. Bernard Manning and Roy Chubby Brown. "Girls Aloud...? GIRLS ALOUD...?! Oh yeh girls aloud all right. Allowed to SUCK MY COCK!" I hate the obnoxious prick but I did lol... :o

In fairness, they'd have to find it first! Though the pair of them are two of the biggest cocks I've ever seen. I suppose really it depends on as you say FF context and all, but sarcasm is more than some middle aged fat fcuk coming out with "girls allowed suck my cock"...

That's just obvious humor that you'd hear any day of the week, nothing clever about it.

If you want to hear sarcasm done brilliantly, get a load of Spike Milligan's genius -

Frankie Boyle, Jimmy Carr et al, aren't fit to lick his boots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭TheBegotten

Puns. Puns are the lowest form of humour. They are not - in any way, shape or form - punny.

Depends again on context. But yeh, "Hahaha they're disabled!" by itself is just cruel.

Well the context would be 'at the expense' of someone with an intellectual disability i.e. someone with lesser cognitive faculties who might be unable to defend themselves.

Physically disabled is a bit different because you're dealing with someone who might be a lot sharper than you in the old head department.
    Toilet humour is hilarious. I thought I knew you man... :(

Honestly, I don't find it all that funny. I think I might be in the minority on that one though. T'would make an interesting thread with a poll probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

Sarcasm is in my opinion the greatest form of wit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Lee Evans is the lowest form of comedy.

Puns. Puns are the lowest form of humour. They are not - in any way, shape or form - punny.

Decent puns are actually one of the more subtle and clever forms of humour and even the silly ones have a gauche charm and still make me laugh.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Lee Evans is the lowest form of comedy.

Millions of people who buy tickets to his shows would disagree.

At last estimation, the world contained many fools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

and they would be wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Sarcasm and puns are hilarious IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Sarcasm and puns are hilarious IMO.

Yeah, you would say that.