Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where do people over 35 go dancing?

• 20-09-2013 8:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,123 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

It came up in conversation recently, everyone we knew was married / kids / settled etc, and most of our nights out would consist of going for a few pints, restaurants, or dinners in each other's houses.

But if we wanted to go out for a bit of oul dancin', where could we go?

As in, to good music. Remember, people over 35 grew up in the rave / club generation, and know a thing or two about going out dancing. Thing is, nowadays I don't know of one place you can go, where you're not surrounded by kids or a meat-market type scenario.

Anyone over 35 go out dancing much?

It came up in conversation recently, everyone we knew was married / kids / settled etc, and most of our nights out would consist of going for a few pints, restaurants, or dinners in each other's houses.

As in, to good music. Remember, people over 35 grew up in the rave / club generation, and know a thing or two about going out dancing. Thing is, nowadays I don't know of one place you can go, where you're not surrounded by kids or a meat-market type scenario.

Anyone over 35 go out dancing much?

I know where you are coming from. For me an evening out is usually dinner at restaruant, someones house, or going to the movies. I dont drink either so that makes it doubly hard :)

I love dancing though, and wish the were more clubs geared to us over a certain age. It would be good craic.

Have also thought of mayby doing swing or salsa dancing, I think some of them have 'evenings' where you can dance.

Depends on where you live to I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Lad Of Banter

I'm 28 so wouldn't know but the Portobello has an over 30's disco night, I think. mind the hip, man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Paging Disco Stu.

At 34 I find that more and more in life the answer to the above question is "Friend's wedding parties" :)

Other than that - 80s nights and house parties. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

At the crossroads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭sok2005

Probably their own kitchen.

Oh god, those over 30s nights are just horrific. It's like walking into Jurassic Park.

No. Just no.

Oh god, those over 30s nights are just horrific. It's like walking into Jurassic Park.

No. Just no.

but we'd all be dinosuars together :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

At 34 I find that more and more in life the answer to the above question is "Friend's wedding parties" :)

Other than that - 80s nights and house parties. :)

At 34, you should be ashamed to being at an 80s nights, you were only 10 at the close of that decade. 90s all the way. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

You would need a fleet of ambulances parked outside for a 35+ rave

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭bgrizzley

'tis your prayers ye should be worring about at this stage of your lives, not feckin dancing...

Tabnabs wrote: »
    At 34, you should be ashamed to being at an 80s nights, you were only 10 at the close of that decade. 90s all the way. :P

I grew up in a family where all of my siblings were 10ish years older then me. I was - - - an after thought ;)

As such my music influences are strongly affected by what I grew up listening to them listening to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭80s Child

Heaven.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I'm 28 so wouldn't know but the Portobello has an over 30's disco night, I think. mind the hip, man.

I wandered into that one night (I'm early thirties) and it was awful. When it says over 30's what it really means is over 50's, it really wasn't a social scene for my age at all.

It was also really creepy, there were dozens of older men and literally one single woman in the place, I was creeped out by all these men leering over one woman, I had to leave asap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭martic

Paging Disco Stu.

That's it I'm away to watch Short Circuit 'com on Steph lighten up lets give it a whirl'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

No. Just no.

Sample chat-up line:

Let's mate before we face extinction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

carlow lions club senior citizens dance nights in the seven oaks?

you might even grab yourself a free house when the old dear pop's her clogs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,123 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

Well that's just the thing, I don't want to go to an 80s night cos I hate 80s music... 90s music is grand but you're in danger of being hit with "Mr Vain" and all that rubbish.

I was 20 in 1995 which was the peak of the club era, certainly in Dublin - places like the System, and the Kitchen and even Ri Ra's. And they are all gone now. So you'd think that people my age would appreciate a good ol' tune when they are cutting a rug - not jumping up and down to Bronski Beat at rubbish 80s nights with 50 year old divorcees.

Maybe people this age just don't go out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

Maybe people this age just don't cant afford to go out...

fyp especially given that most people your age have now got negative equity morgages

fyp

That's probably it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

No. Just no.

I don't like you anymore Sexy nude pic or not!

Well that's just the thing, I don't want to go to an 80s night cos I hate 80s music... 90s music is grand but you're in danger of being hit with "Mr Vain" and all that rubbish.

I have not - but have you tried one of those "silent discos" yet where people bring their own music and dance with head phones in?

Theres even apps now on smart phones for it where you can dj music over wireless or blue tooth to the other people you went dancing with so you and your mates are all dancing to the same tracks.

I just googled Tango classes :) they have them in Turks head in Dublin city center Sunday nights, then after the class you stay and dance :)

Good price too. Might be a bit of fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

Oh Lisdoonvarna

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

I was 20 in 1995 which was the peak of the club era, certainly in Dublin - places like the System, and the Kitchen and even Ri Ra's. And they are all gone now. So you'd think that people my age would appreciate a good ol' tune when they are cutting a rug - not jumping up and down to Bronski Beat at rubbish 80s nights with 50 year old divorcees.

Maybe people this age just don't go out...

As an aging mid-thirties fan of daycent, non-edm affiliated dance music, anytime I'm in the big schmoke I hit the Twisted Pepper. Fairly decent mix of people and no meat-market nonsense going on with different levels pumping out different tunes.

Jake1 wrote: »
    I just googled Tango classes :) they have them in Turks head in Dublin city center Sunday nights, then after the class you stay and dance :)

Good price too. Might be a bit of fun.

Not really what I had in mind, ballroom dancing or salsa or whatever... Thanks though.

That's the problem, there seems to be a misconception that just cos people are over 35 it means they have to like ballroom dancing and salsa, rather than good old fashioned deep house or techno.

As an aging mid-thirties fan of daycent, non-edm affiliated dance music, anytime I'm in the big schmoke I hit the Twisted Pepper. Fairly decent mix of people and no meat-market nonsense going on with different levels pumping out different tunes.

Thanks. Is there a dancefloor? Do people dance or is it more a bar? I've been meaning to go in there for a while - it looks pretty good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

I wandered into that one night (I'm early thirties) and it was awful. When it says over 30's what it really means is over 50's, it really wasn't a social scene for my age at all.

It was also really creepy, there were dozens of older men and literally one single woman in the place, I was creeped out by all these men leering over one woman, I had to leave asap!

What night of the week was that?, and is that the pub on the Bridge at \Charlemont St?. Just asking:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

Last time I was in 37 on Dawson Street I felt young (I'm about 30), so if you're in Dublin that might be worth a shot.

Thanks. Is there a dancefloor? Do people dance or is it more a bar? I've been meaning to go in there for a while - it looks pretty good.

Basically when you go in there's a longish bar and at the end of that doors into the (not terribly big) main stage where you can dance away with a basement with with another bar and dancefloor and an little upstairs part. It's like the clubs in the nineties so the dancefloors aren't areas for dancing around handbags or any of that but the vibe in the basement is second to none when there's a good DJ popping out the tunes.

That's the problem, there seems to be a misconception that just cos people are over 35 it means they have to like ballroom dancing and salsa, rather than good old fashioned deep house or techno.

Yeah, fúck that ****. I've plenty of time to settle into middle aged pursuits later on in life and I can't ever see myself getting excited by the prospect of a salsa night.

If you're into your house and techno, this would be worth getting to:

http://entertainment.ie/show-Gigs/The-Grand-Social/Omar-S-Neil-Landstrumm-And-Lerosa/Gigs-2691820.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

These threads are so dumb, a load of them have come up over the years and it's as if life ends in your 30's... Go wherever you want on a night out for christ sake. I often see people in their 40's and 50's out in clubs in town!

smash wrote: »
    These threads are so dumb, a load of them have come up over the years and it's as if life ends in your 30's... Go wherever you want on a night out for christ sake. I often see people in their 40's and 50's out in clubs in town!

Tbf, the guy is looking for a specific enough type of club night out. If you're not heading out that often, sometimes it can be hard enough to find out about these spots and tbh the clubbing landscape out in Dublin is vastly different to what it was in the 90s with only a few niche clubs catering now for dance music compared to the big clubs of 20 years ago.

Not really what I had in mind, ballroom dancing or salsa or whatever... Thanks though.

My first thought was a scheduled dance thing as well, only because I enjoy some of them myself. Nothing to do with age

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Tbf, the guy is looking for a specific enough type of club night out. If you're not heading out that often, sometimes it can be hard enough to find out about these spots and tbh the clubbing landscape out in Dublin is vastly different to what it was in the 90s with only a few niche clubs catering now for dance music compared to the big clubs of 20 years ago.
    well these guys always put on a good show if the op is looking to reminisce about their teenage years http://smashhits.ie/ but if they're just looking for a dance then any club will do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

ruthloss wrote: »
    What night of the week was that?, and is that the pub on the Bridge at \Charlemont St?. Just asking:rolleyes:

Yes it was, and it was a Saturday night around 11pm. :rolleyes:

I really don't think that misconception exists in general.

Certainly in Dublin there are loads of places to go dancing, and they cater for all ages. I'm fecked if I'm going to stop going dancing if that's what I want to do, just because I hit 35.

I really don't think that misconception exists in general.

Certainly in Dublin there are loads of places to go dancing, and they cater for all ages. I'm fecked if I'm going to stop going dancing if that's what I want to do, just because I hit 35.

Well its more my own personal choice, of not wanting to go somewhere where there's 18 - 20 year olds, as that'll just make me feel OLD. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I was in The Forge a while back and the dancing in there was manic. And them people do be over 70s..

Well its more my own personal choice, of not wanting to go somewhere where there's 18 - 20 year olds, as that'll just make me feel OLD. :)

If you're looking for specific advice on places in Dublin to go then you'll need to try the Dublin City forum (or other relevant regional forum).

If your thread is more a general discussion on *ahem* 'older' people going dancing then I'll leave the thread here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I haven't danced on a dancefloor since my seventeeth birthday. 'What's The Frequency Kenneth?' by REM. What a crapppy song it was too. No good for shifting to at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭Mickah

Buck Whaleys.

The "Piano Bar" upstairs. Live Band every weekend. Its great craic, lots of dancing and good mix of old/new tunes. It can be a bit crowded sometimes.

http://www.buckwhaleys.ie/piano-bar.php

smash wrote: »
    well these guys always put on a good show if the op is looking to reminisce about their teenage years http://smashhits.ie/ but if they're just looking for a dance then any club will do.

I think that's the type of music he's trying to avoid. I don't think you're really getting the mindset of someone who was into their house and techno 15-20 years ago and went to clubs like the OP mentioned. They were a world away from the Copper Jacks of this world. It'd be like saying to a metal fan that Break for the Border is good because they sometimes play AC/DC's thunderstruck.

Maybe check out the Clubbing forum for some suggestions, OP. It's not as active as it once was but there's still nights promoted on it. Also check out the bodytonic website for a bit more info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭Grandpa Hassan

After watching Intermission, I can tell you that I am never going to an 'overage' club!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭lordstilton

Old Skool nights are your ticket..there has been a few asylum nights in the harbour master..mostly 35+ year olds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Rocket19

I know guys who work in the Portobello behind the bar, and the over 30s do be gettin' up to all sorts down in the club! Apparently it's worse than Wez :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

I'd be trying my best not to dance but as long as it's not a Saturday night when the place is choc full of young 'uns, age is irrelevant. (I posted a response to this thread earlier and it ended up awkwardly in some other thread :pac:)

pharmaton wrote: »
    I'd be trying my best not to dance but as long as it's not a Saturday night when the place is choc full of young 'uns, age is irrelevant. (I posted a response to this thread earlier and it ended up awkwardly in some other thread :pac:)

Well due to work / kids etc, it probably would be a Saturday night. :-\

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

Well due to work / kids etc, it probably would be a Saturday night. :-\
    Maybe just look for a decent late bar with a gig, late bars are usually better for the 30+ fold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭bgrizzley

I haven't danced on a dancefloor since my seventeeth birthday. 'What's The Frequency Kenneth?' by REM. What a crapppy song it was too. No good for shifting to at all.

There was a technique to it BM. you had to hold hands, lock lips and jump up and down.(keep the eyes open though, it wasnt at all safe..)
    WOOHOO!