Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you get your not girlfriend?

• 19-09-2013 2:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭

Ok people of AH's

Ive been "seeing" a girl for 7 months, just casual like!

Its her 30th today (thank god for Facebook)

Dont have a clue what to get her as we are not in a relationship but still feel I should get her something!

All options considered!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Jogathon

Anti-wrinke face and eye cream?

Botox voucher?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Pregnant?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭KeithM89

7 months?!
    Piss or get off the pot!

Get her one ticket to some gig she'd like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

I'm going to 100% honest and say it sounds like you've been glued to the floorboards of the friendzone. My advice would be to get her nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

Get her a bus pass. She'll love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭cupcake83

Flowers and take her to dinner. Do men still do that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

7 months and she's your "not girlfriend". I'll tell you what i'd be getting her - replaced, that's what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Should this thread not be called "What do you get your friend (who is a girl)?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

A vibrator? Just sayin like, if you're 'seeing' but not going out with someone for 7 months and they didn't tell you or you didn't remember, that its their 30th birthday maybe you need to move on. Get her a good vibrator and move on, think of it as the gift that keeps on giving:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

I'm going to 100% honest and say it sounds like you've been glued to the floorboards of the friendzone. My advice would be to get her nothing.

I just read the OP and it actually looks like I've got the complete opposite end of it.

Fair play to you sir.

Still - get her nothing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

If you buy a f*ck buddy gifts it's become the real deal unfortunately.

Sorry for your troubles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

cupcake83 wrote: »
    Flowers and take her to dinner. Do men still do that?

Perhaps. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

FINGER HER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭sok2005

Maybe i'm an old fogey but what does seeing someone actually mean? Is it just sleeping with someone with the ability to sleep with others too? Or is there dating involved?

Should this thread not be called "What do you get your friend (who is a girl)?"

Oh, in that case - nothing:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

if you're not going out and you get her something wont that send the wrong signals or do you want to be more? maybe hang back and maybe get her flowers at the very least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

sok2005 wrote: »
    Maybe i'm an old fogey but what does seeing someone actually mean? Is it just sleeping with someone with the ability to sleep with others too? Or is there dating involved?

We are Sleeping together - not seeing other people - but not going out with one another! A strange one really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

A voucher for Mothercare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Ye right, you know she's off bangin half the lads in Carlow!!

Maybe get her an STD check!! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

An engagement ring, that'll scare the bejaysus out of her and you'll never see her again. That or you could up sheet creek. You'll have a good old chortle about it later on in life either way.

ardinn wrote: »
    We are Sleeping together - not seeing other people - but not going out with one another! A strange one really!

We call that FWB where I come from. Friends with benefits. I'd still say flowers and dinner! I buy my friends flowers and take them to dinner on their birthdays sometimes anyway though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

Ok people of AH's

Ive been "seeing" a girl for 7 months, just casual like!

Its her 30th today (thank god for Facebook)

Dont have a clue what to get her as we are not in a relationship but still feel I should get her something!

All options considered!

You should chip in with the rest of her fella's and get her something nice between ye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Sounds like you are in a relationship. Not a very committed one, a casual relationship, which is grand, but you are all the same!

If she is having a party and you aren't invited I wouldn't get her anything!

If you are meeting up then stay clear of jewellry as it generally implies commitment, a bottle of swanky booze and some posh chocolates should cover it next time your alone?

ok - dinner is out, her girlies doing that - she doesnt drink - She got about 10 box's of chocs allready. I was thinking flowers but what does that say?

I cant really get her nothing because she does like giving gifts and I know if it was my b'day i'd get an awesome gift! I'm so confused!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

But a bow on your willy and give her the ride.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Smash her back doors in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,188 ✭✭✭dee_mc

What about an experience gift like a bungee jump or similar, something that doesn't scream romance!
    Or a dirty weekend away, everyone's a winner.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Cook her dinner and then go down on her.

Shows here you care like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Johnnio13

nipple tassles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

ok - dinner is out, her girlies doing that - she doesnt drink - She got about 10 box's of chocs allready. I was thinking flowers but what does that say?

I cant really get her nothing because she does like giving gifts and I know if it was my b'day i'd get an awesome gift! I'm so confused!!!!

This whole thing sounds way more hassle than it's worth if buying her a present is this tricky.

Fcking get on with it, throw your lot in with her or get back out on beer patrol.

Sounds like you care more about this than a casual relationship would suggest you should. Are you looking for it to become something more? Because that would affect the gift choice I reckon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Buy her a frying pan. If she loves you she'll cook you a steak, if she just wants to be friends she'll wallop you with it.

Sounds like you care more about this than a casual relationship would suggest you should. Are you looking for it to become something more? Because that would affect the gift choice I reckon.

No - I just dont want to look like a stingy Bástard!

Gift card it is! Lol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Why not get something that she uses regularly. Sanitary towels are always useful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Invite her around for a quickie and then remind her to make sure the door's closed properly when she leaves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I thought you were my not boyfriend when I read the thread. Im in the same situation, seeing him for 6 months, we're not together. :confused: weird one.

Anyway, it all depends on what kind of not relationship you have. Its my birthday in 2 weeks and my not boyfriend is taking me out! I think I know where, with some of his friends. Saves the having to get me something, think thats perfect. Bring her for a meal, few drinks.

Now, if you're really comfortable together and theres no fear of mixed signals, get her perfume she likes and flowers. Girls love sentiment and I would bawl my eyes out if a man ever bought me flowers. I think its so romantic :o:D

Good to know we're not the only non couple couple out there!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Froggy123

Get her a bottle of perfume and some flowers!!

Presumably you'll be saving money not having to take her for a birthday dinner so just spend the money you would have spent on a small present, tickets to a comedy gig or if something you think she'd be interested in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Ive been "seeing" a girl for 7 months

'Seeing' you say?
    Dont have a clue what to get her as we are not in a relationship

Ah yes, as I suspected. Stalker starts a thread in AH looking for gift ideas. Now that's probably a first.

Froggy123 wrote: »
    Get her a bottle of perfume and some flowers!!

Presumably you'll be saving money not having to take her for a birthday dinner so just spend the money you would have spent on a small present, tickets to a comedy gig or if something you think she'd be interested in.

Comedy gig, always a winner! Bring her to the laughter lounge. Bitches love laughing.

I thought you were my not boyfriend when I read the thread. Im in the same situation, seeing him for 6 months, we're not together. :confused: weird one.

Anyway, it all depends on what kind of not relationship you have. Its my birthday in 2 weeks and my not boyfriend is taking me out! I think I know where, with some of his friends. Saves the having to get me something, think thats perfect. Bring her for a meal, few drinks.

Now, if you're really comfortable together and theres no fear of mixed signals, get her perfume she likes and flowers. Girls love sentiment and I would bawl my eyes out if a man ever bought me flowers. I think its so romantic :o:D

It's an ill-divided world out there. Some of us can't get a girlfriend for love nor money whilst others hare having their cake, and eating it. :(

Think i'll just do flowers and be done with it! easiest route out of it!

This non-relationship thing is really strange to me. I don't get it at all.

I'm not looking down on it or anything, I just don't really get it. Sounds kind of awkward.

Maybe I'm just an old fashioned romantic fool, but I would refuse refuse point blank to have a "not girlfriend".
    If you're a girlfriend behave like one - take cock, then cook dinner and clean the gaf (no hoovering mind, I don't like being woken up from my post sex nap).
    If you're a fúck buddy behave like one also -take cock and piss off (maybe leave some cans in the fridge, but don't bang the door on your way out - nap time, know what I mean)
    These blurred lines are no good for me - I blame Pharrell Williams, there was none of this shít till he started mouthing off.

I'm not looking down on it or anything, I just don't really get it. Sounds kind of awkward.

For us its the complete opposite. We tell each other about dates, see other people, but do everything people in a relationship do. So its kind of like an open relationship, but we wont sleep together if either of us meet someone.

Maybe I'm just an old fashioned romantic fool, but I would refuse refuse point blank to have a "not girlfriend".
    If you're a girlfriend behave like one - take cock, then cook dinner and clean the gaf (no hoovering mind, I don't like being woken up from my post sex nap).
    If you're a fúck buddy behave like one also -take cock and piss off (maybe leave some cans in the fridge, but don't bang the door on your way out - nap time, know what I mean)
    These blurred lines are no good for me - I blame Pharrell Williams, there was none of this shít till he started mouthing off.

I behave exactly like a girlfriend, go on dates, hold hands, go out with his friends, go out for dinner, the difference is we are still dating other people. His friends all know me as *****'s girlfriend....not some bird he's riding. We know exactly where we stand with each other and are always 100% honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Fanny fragrance

You basically saying she had a smelly fanny

I don't get it either. You're either in a relationship or you're happy, you can't be both.

I agree! Actually, it seems to me that most people just have a fear of commitment not all but many. That's fine, it totally is if it's mutual. I would find it very hard not to have deeper feelings for someone though. I'm also kind of the jealous type. Friends with benefits doesn't work for me.