Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Caps

• 19-09-2013 2:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭

What's deal with caps, seen a guy wearing one backwards the other day and thought what a goon.

So after hours do you wear a cap. I would if I'm in between hair styles , just a plan cap though nothing with a sports label or some stupid Australian brand one.

Opinions anyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Wooly hat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Prefer a nice top hat or fedora myself. Perhaps a golf visor whilst on the course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

I wear a floppy hat when I'm not **** and a top hat when ****.

I like m headwear to signify my **** situation

I wear a Keee-yap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Wooly hat in winter, baseball cap in summer. The peak keeps the sun out of my eyes when it's nice and the rain off my glasses when it's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

kylith wrote: »
    Wooly hat in winter, baseball cap in summer. The peak keeps the sun out of my eyes when it's nice and the rain off my glasses when it's not.

Are you bald?

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Are you bald?

No. Do only bald people wear caps?

All year round yes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

I don't care

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

What's deal with caps, seen a guy wearing one backwards the other day and thought what a goon.

So after hours do you wear a cap. I would if I'm in between hair styles , just a plan cap though nothing with a sports label or some stupid Australian brand one.

Opinions anyone

Loads of wooly hates for the winter! Never, ever, wear a baseball cap!

All year round yes!

Well, Jaysus, I don't wear them every day like! I just don't like being blinded by sun or rain, or having cold ears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭ronan45

I wear a bandana and some times one of those french style berets. Some say i look like a tosser but i dont care ! :cool:

Well, Jaysus, I don't wear them every day like! I just don't like being blinded by sun or rain, or having cold ears.

Okay, calm down, you've nothing to prove, if you say you have hair I believe you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,589 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Couldn't care less if people wear caps. However people who wear them arseways drives me mad for some reason. Backwards is fairly wankery, but the scumbag look where guys wear them pointing up like some weird head erection, or those guys who think they're rappers and wear them sideways or bizarre angles.

I hope for a nice gust of wind :pac:

Okay, calm down, you've nothing to prove, if you say you have hair I believe you

More hair than I fecking know what to do with at this stage :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Baseball caps is the only thing I lose when drunk. Never my phone or shoes or any of that.
    Must have lost up to 10 caps over the years.

More hair than I fecking know what to do with at this stage :D

Wax kit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Call me old fashioned but I only wear this traditional Irish number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Over sized baseball caps, sized ways.

"I's is a gangster style mu fo :pac:"

Nah, just another look at me attention seeking assholness!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

People wearing golf visors, and not even when playing golf...

Wax kit?

On my head? Ouch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I sport a rather tidy Donegal Tweed flat-cap during the inclement months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

Tilly hat - it's like the worlds greatest jacket in hat form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I wear a cap all the time when outside or driving. Can't wear sunglasses so need something to keep the glare of the sun away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

I LOVE CAPS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Wear a cap when fishing - keeps the sun outta my eyes ......not that this is a problem. Also keeps my head dry and stops the wind blowing my hair around.

Wouldn't wear one any other time - think they look stupid.....especially backwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Between hairstyles?? I have never heard of that before!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

If you're white and over the age of 13 and wear a baseball cap on backwards, you're a wanker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,040 ✭✭✭paulbok

Only would wear a wooly hat in the winter when it's really cold. Hoodie hoods if I'm wearing one if its raining (for the 1 minute it takes to get soaked).

Slightly off topic, seen a wan{*r hipster at Electric Picnic this year, really warm & sunny Friday afternoon, walking around with a wool hat on.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I only wear a baseball cap at a baseball game.
    I sometimes wear a cowboy hat whilst riding a horse.
    I always wear a cowboy hat when wearing cowboy boots.
    I always wear a low-crown top hat in a determinedly ironic manner when at festivals.

I also frequent the Facial Hair and Hats forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭19543261

WHAT?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Between hairstyles: (Definition) Jargon used by a cue ball, to describe when they are changing or replacing a wig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I have massive hair. No hats required for heat purposes. Does get v hot in the summer though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

a baseball cap, low over my eyes so that the paparazzi can sell my photos to Chat, Heat and Hello magazines as an exclusive of how awful I look. So far its worked, I haven't been papped at all........maybe its because Im not famous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,726 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

I wear a lid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

ronan45 wrote: »
    I wear a bandana and some times one of those french style berets. Some say i look like a tosser but i dont care ! :cool:

Is your beret at least suede?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

The baseball cap's a fairly democratic form of headgear in the US.

I like the way men of all ages and social classes can casually don one when out and about (though the sunglasses above the peak look makes me wanna smack 'em).

Is your beret at least suede?

Raspberry surely.

Yamanoto wrote: »
    The baseball cap's a fairly democratic form of headgear in the US.

I like the way men of all ages and social classes can casually don one when out and about (though the sunglasses above the peak look makes me wanna smack 'em).

My father is 80 and wears one. It doesn't suit him, at all, ever. Never has. I rejoiced when he finally bought a panama hat this summer. I haven't the heart to tell him it is too small for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭ollaetta

lkionm wrote: »
    I wear a floppy hat when I'm not **** and a top hat when ****.

Top hat only? Pffft! I need one of these: Stovepipe Hat :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I wore one between hairstyles before once....barber said I was making his job very difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

MonaPizza wrote: »
    If you're white and over the age of 13 and wear a baseball cap on backwards, you're a wanker!

Eh what? White people?

By the way if you buy a cap, take the bloody sticker off, stupidest trend ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

i wear lots of different types of hats but not very often, ive got fantastic hair you see so i dont like to cover it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

The last time I wore a cap was about fifteen years ago when I shaved my head and discovered it had weird ridges in it, very similar to this (except I'm not black).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I've no problem unless you're wearing a backwards baseball cap on a Winter's evening in a pub. It just makes you look like a tit on many levels.