Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

do you wear shoes indoors

• 19-09-2013 12:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭

My missus goes mad when I do, she flips out and her blood boils.Guess shes right but as a chid it was never a problem.
    In Norway noone wears shoes indoors, when I travel there I make a good effort to have new/clean shoes and footwear..the stress.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

All the time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Lad Of Banter

Yes, I have a bad foot odour

http://i.qkme.me/3ptghi.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

you know I did a couple of weeks in Japan , there their changed into slippers when going into the computer lab ..... the pile of slippers by the door was a weird sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

So you own a Norwegian wife do you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

If I want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

No, I keep my floors clean and anyone that tramps big dirty feetmarks over them will be sorry. Very sorry. :(

The shoes are kicked off and the bra pulled down a sleeve even before the door slams shut behind me. Ecstasy after a long day.

I never wear shoes in the house.

Candie wrote: »
    The shoes are kicked off and the bra pulled down a sleeve even before the door slams shut behind me. Ecstasy after a long day.

Same as that. Minus the bra part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/f/fe/Glenn_Quagmire.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

So you own a Norwegian wife do you?

Soon.Will be there at xmas.As we sit at the dinner table the normal questions will fly at me....why are you still living in Ireland we hear things arent good..and the second when are you going to start speaking Norweigian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I don't make a point of removing my shoes because I am in the house, but generally I am barefoot around the house and often around the garden too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

No barefoot all the way.
    Bare assed too if I can get away with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

No barefoot all the way.
    Bare assed too if I can get away with it!

A square bare ass a pretty sight does not make... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Systemic Risk

Always, except in my own room. I live in a shared house and while it is generally quite tidy, the floor would not be washed too often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,588 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Where do people be walking to trample mud all over the house? :confused:

I can understand kids, but adults commuting to and from work? (farmers and builders aside :pac:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

o1s1n wrote: »

I can understand kids, but adults commuting to and from work? (farmers and builders aside :pac:)

Its germs that has her like that,

o1s1n wrote: »

Pavements are dirtier than potato fields. All that goo and gunk and piss and poo, at least fields have clean muck in them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Systemic Risk

drdeadlift wrote: »
    Its germs that has her like that,

Well that's a bit foolish so. If you don't get exposed to germs your defence system will be shocking.

My brother and his wife were extremely anal about hygiene and germs when they had my nephew. I mean they made you take off shoes and straight to sink to disinfect hands as soon as you came into the house.

They brought him to a toddler play group and took him out within a month because he kept getting colds and flu because he had no immunity built up to germs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

This is a bit different than what the OP is getting at, which is the germ factor, rather than comfort. In the other thread with the poll 18.5% voted "no" as in they do not wear shoes indoors in their or other peoples houses, but I think they were thinking along the same lines as you, and saying "I kick my shoes off most days". I am certainly not asked to remove my shoes in 18.5% of irish houses I go to, which I believe the poll was in effect asking. I think I have only been asked twice here, and I remember loads of neighbours commenting on how weird & unusual it was.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Etiquette_in_Europe#Shoes
    In some European countries you have to wear your shoes indoors, but in others, such as Austria, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany[citation needed], Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Norway, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Sweden, Slovenia and Ukraine it is considered rude not to take your shoes off, unless you are told to keep them on. In the United Kingdom this is almost universally the case with young children with formal functions being an occasional exception. For an adult who is visiting another's home as a guest, shoes are generally kept on after entry, though this is subject to the desire of the home owner. Removal of shoes may been seen as a partial waive of formality that is not appropriate for all occasions. It is usual all over the world to remove shoes when entering someone's home if they are wet or dirty.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 326 ✭✭Savoir.Faire

Slippers and dressing gown within 20 minutes of getting home. Then a mug of tea and a pipe of good quality shag tobacco.

rubadub wrote: »
    This is a bit different than what the OP is getting at, which is the germ factor, rather than comfort

No I'd take my shoes off to save traipsing unnecessary street dirt into my home, AND because I'm more comfortable barefoot.

The bra is for comfort and sanity alone. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I always take them off, plus the underfloor heating feeling when you're in socks is nice :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭salacious crumb

Soon.Will be there at xmas.As we sit at the dinner table the normal questions will fly at me....why are you still living in Ireland we hear things arent good..and the second when are you going to start speaking Norweigian

Snap. Finnish gf, no more wearing shoes in the house :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

Nope. As soon as I'm in they come off. When I first moved into my place I bought all my friends their own slippers and I have a slipper box...that never gets used. I intended being a pain about people taking their shoes off, but I learned that I'm not that militant and I don't actually give a shite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Nope. Have a old pair of Birkenstock cliog yokes that I wear around the gaff.

Slippers, cant beat a good pair of slippers.

uesful for wacking dogs, partners, etc.

Jake1 wrote: »

My ma used to whack us with those wooden Scholl shoes in the 70s/80s.

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-eYRfRj7Soy4/UKS-EmErahI/AAAAAAAABPc/Qgx8eig5zWg/s1600/drscholls.jpg

They even had those curved lines that made them invaluable as a corporal punishment device and they even were heavy to throw at a moving target if not within immediate beating range.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Knight who says Meh

I grew up on a farm so shoes were always coated in some form of excrement. Now I don't do it partially cos of that, partially cos I tend to wear big clunky work/hiking boots and partially cos I have comfy slippers.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Slippers all the way. I don't like being around the house in just socks or the bare feet. I never wear shoes indoors either.

BTW can anyone recommend a really good pair of mens slippers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Shoes? I try not to wear clothes indoors if I can help it! freaks out the other half sometimes cos she's worried if our housemate walks in :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Jake1 wrote: »

I got slippers but people still made me take them off when I got to their house. I don't get it?

ScumLord wrote: »
    I got slippers but people still made me take them off when I got to their house. I don't get it?

me neither, Id never tell a guest to remove their shoes, however if they wanted to they certainly could.

I keep a clean house, floors vacced and washed everyday so germs not a problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭emmabrighton

Yes I have to wear shoes - I have a dog and a filthy partner who stomps his mucky boots everywhere... I spend my life washing floors/hoovering up the muck but alas, it is too much for me... I have succumbed to the knowledge that I will never go barefoot again.

I would love to walk barefoot at home.

*sigh*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭Lola18

I'm the very same!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

do you wear shoes indoors

More importantly OP, do you wear clothes outside?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Why would anyone want to wear shoes or runners indoors ? doing so just makes the feet sweat and is also uncomfortable. I never wear anything on the feet when indoors, it's pointless, well until i stand on a tumb-tack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭seosamh1980

Links234 wrote: »
    Shoes? I try not to wear clothes indoors if I can help it! freaks out the other half sometimes cos she's worried if our housemate walks in :p

Jesus, you would be my housemate from hell. You go around naked in a house you share with people other than your girlfriend??

I wear shoes 90% of the time at home. Mainly because I hate when socks pick up any bit of dust, fluff, dirt, and with wooden floors all over this place, two pets and a messy boyfriend there is always bound to be something for my socks to pick up. I grew up in a house with carpet everywhere, which was so much warmer than these wooden floors so I never adjust to having just socks on cold wooden floors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭tosspot15

I hate wearing shoes inside. I love going around barefooted, even when outdoors. Nothing more comfortable imo. Good thing I have hard ugly callused feet. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Jesus, you would be my housemate from hell. You go around naked in a house you share with people other than your girlfriend??

No, just in the bedroom. I love winding herself up though by threatening to go down to the kitchen naked :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

no, barefoot all the time even when running or a pair of vibram shoes. if only I could walk around barefoot at work, I would be good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,419 ✭✭✭✭josip

Nope. Shoes and attached dog faeces off inside the door.

anncoates wrote: »
    Nope. Have a old pair of Birkenstock cliog yokes that I wear around the gaff.

I have an old pair of Birkenstocks by the door so I have something to slip my feet into if I've to run outside for anything. Most comfy shoes in the world.

If only they weren't so ugly.:(

Yes yes yes!!

I get straight out of work clothes and into comfy clothes when I get home. Comfy clothes do not include shoes. Love being in my socks.

Yes yes yes!!

I get straight out of work clothes and into comfy clothes when I get home. Comfy clothes do not include shoes. Love being in my socks.

I've stripped in the hall more than once :)

Uh huh. Knickers, bras, and shoes should not be worn indoors, 'cept if they're sexy ones but that's different :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

No, can't stand shoes on in my own house. Rarely wear socks past dinner. Flip flops or nowt normally. Generally come in and throw my socks at the dog, who thinks they are the most interest things in the world.

Clothes for us are generally uncommon in my house too - let alone shoes.

Uh huh. Knickers, bras, and shoes should not be worn indoors, 'cept if they're sexy ones but that's different :pac:
    I've stripped in the hall more than once smile.png

I really hope youse don't cook on naked flame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

I wear wellies indoors.