Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

anyone served on a jury

• 18-09-2013 11:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭

Iv been called for jury duty end of October but they leave the amount of days very open ended.

How many days did you have to do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Last time I was called, it was for 3 days (Tuesday-Thursday inclusive) and I wasn't selected.

Even if you are selected, you probably won't make a jury.

Your job have to give you the time off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Can't say I have... I feel left out :(

Kinda OT - but my sister was called for a mandatory army enlistment in Malaysia [we were born there]. Basically gave em a big Feck off. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

you will be among possibly 100 other candidates from which one or more jury's will be selected, its a number in a hat situation and if your name is called you get to sit on the jury for as long as the case runs (usually no more than a day, possibly two) If you are not selected on the first day you may have to return for the length of time stated on the summons (usually a week) to attend selection process for other cases being heard that week. You may not even be selected at all but you will still have to show up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

BeerWolf wrote: »
    Can't say I have... I feel left out :(

Kinda OT - but my sister was called for a mandatory army enlistment in Malaysia [we were born there]. Basically gave em a big Feck off. :D
    "KINDA" OT? lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭heretochat

It's a pain in the backside trooping down there for the week..

I was selected for one jury but was objected to by the defence... Not sure how I offended them :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Uriel. wrote: »
    "KINDA" OT? lol

Kinda, yeah - obligated Government services :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

Its its unlikely to be a day to two?

More likely a week?

corkgsxr wrote: »
    Its its unlikely to be a day to two?

More likely a week?
    it says on the summons how long you have to attend for. If you are selected on the first day then you might only have to serve that one day, depending on the case. Otherwise you have to attend each day as stated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

I did 5 days, spent 2 mornings in the waiting area and wasn't called so was sent home before lunchtime. 3rd day I got called up for a case and was accepted. Case lasted 3 days. Was grand, nothing too tasking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭smoking_kills

Never worry about jury duty again......

"Getting out of jury duty is easy. The trick is to say you're prejudiced against all races."

H. Simpson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

If I'm ever called I'll pretend to be an idiot to get out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,368 ✭✭✭The_Morrigan

heretochat wrote: »

I was selected for one jury but was objected to by the defence... Not sure how I offended them :(

The solrs and barristers get the chance to remove jurors if they are looking for an angle.
    If it's an attack on a child they will aim for parents on the jury, sexual assault on a person they will try get the same sex as the victim. It's a numbers game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

I got called in June and got picked for a jury on the last day of my summons, I spent 3 weeks in total in the courts.

It was interesting to see how the system worked but the case I had wasn't pleasant at all, if you get picked hope i hope it's nothing serious, as the case I was on was horrific.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/man-sentenced-to-13-years-over-violent-sexual-assault-1.1478638

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,917 ✭✭✭Wossack

If I'm ever called I'll pretend to be an idiot to get out of it.

reckon thats more likely to get you kept on imo

Wossack wrote: »
    reckon thats more likely to get you kept on imo

Catch-22?

I'll go volunteer myself so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭Fiolina

I was called and selected. The case went on for two weeks and was really interesting but it collapsed on the last day so I never even got to have my say.:(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

I don't understand why people hate getting called. The general public are massively interested in crime stories, they sell papers, the country becomes obsessed with the image of gangland crime, Joe O'Reilly or the Scissor Sisters, yet the second one gets the chance to see it all in action most people run a mile!

pharmaton wrote: »
    it says on the summons how long you have to attend for. If you are selected on the first day then you might only have to serve that one day, depending on the case. Otherwise you have to attend each day as stated.

Theres a start day and time and after that it just says up to 10 days or more at the judges discretion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Was called once years ago, but my Employer was able to get me out of it by writing a letter. I was a bit dissapointed tbh and I would have probably voted 'guilty'.

I don't understand why people hate getting called. The general public are massively interested in crime stories, they sell papers, the country becomes obsessed with the image of gangland crime, Joe O'Reilly or the Scissor Sisters, yet the second one gets the chance to see it all in action most people run a mile!

Im the company plumber and im on call 24/7 what do they do if im gone for a open ended term. Fair enough some jobs can be put off but We get alot of emergency calls.

joe stodge wrote: »
    I got called in June and got picked for a jury on the last day of my summons, I spent 3 weeks in total in the courts.

It was interesting to see how the system worked but the case I had wasn't pleasant at all, if you get picked hope i hope it's nothing serious, as the case I was on was horrific.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/man-sentenced-to-13-years-over-violent-sexual-assault-1.1478638
    Jesus..

Theres a start day and time and after that it just says up to 10 days or more at the judges discretion
    Yeah, they will be selecting a few juries over those ten days (or however many the judge decides) If you are selected there's no way of telling how long any particular case may last, it could be a day or it could be a week. If it's circuit court it most likely won't take too long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Scrag

Look at all the exemptions on the papers they send out. It is a fairly comprehensive list. That is if you do not want to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,917 ✭✭✭Wossack

dont they usually give an estimate 'case expected to last 2/4/10 days etc' ?

If I was called it would severely affect my business. There's a big difference between not being able to pay the bills and watching Murder, She Wrote on the telly'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

I'd probably go and do it, I have an interest in law etc. and it would be interesting to see how the legal system works on the inside. However I feel for anyone that goes and has to be a juror for a horrific case, like Joe Stodge. But I suppose some has to do it, I would imagine that certain images etc. stay with you for life after that. But I would still like to do it even in the event of a horrific case, I would like to be part of the justice system that puts a cretin like that away.

Im the company plumber and im on call 24/7 what do they do if im gone for a open ended term. Fair enough some jobs can be put off but We get alot of emergency calls.

Fair enough but most people are not employed on call in this country. Given the choice between 10 days away at the trial of the century with maybe a nice hotel at the end, and getting paid in full, or spending said time chained to a desk as an office drone I know which I would rather. Fair enough I wouldn't fancy sitting through the details of an abuse or child porn trial, but a regular run of the mill one would be interesting, it can't be denied.

I was called a couple of years ago, wasn't selected the first day and never returned for the following days selection process. Thought I got away with it til I received a summons in the post last month to attend again. I don't particularly want to do it and I should be exempt as I had already been called in the previous three years but if I say as much I'll probably get called on it and receive a fine for non attendance. The novelty of being in court wears off after about 20 mins, its seriously a pain in the arse. (the first case called dealt with some "young scamps" from a particular travelling community who pretty much told everyone in the room that they knew them)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

How long before someone who's on a jury right now comes on to this thread and ends up prejudicing an entire trial?? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

I'd feel compelled to stand up in court a shout, "you want the truth? You can't handle the truth!!"

I'd really like to have a go at being on a jury. Like another person above, I feel pretty sure I'd vote for "guilty".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

You can't know for sure until it's all over. I was called and ended up on a jury for two weeks. Defendant plead out at the end and we were directed to find 'em guilty. How anticlimactic.

Anyway; you could be there for weeks and simply won't know until it is all over.

[QUOTE=pharmaton;86599239. (the first case called dealt with some "young scamps" from a particular travelling community who pretty much told everyone in the room that they knew them)[/QUOTE]

Which is why I wouldn't mind going, to hopefully contribute in sending these scrotes down for a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Which is why I wouldn't mind going, to hopefully contribute in sending these scrotes down for a few.

I don't think you're going to get the job.

yeah, I'd say it would be great, couple of months in a detention center thinking about your face and how lovely your car would look with a rock through the windshield.

Are Gardai, members of the bar and elected officials banned from serving out of curiosity?

pharmaton wrote: »
    yeah, I'd say it would be great, couple of months in a detention center thinking about your face and how lovely your car would look with a rock through the windshield.

I have to be honest I have never once read about a revenge attack on a jury member anywhere in the world. Sure off duty cops and judges would be getting beaten weekly, let alone the jurymen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,368 ✭✭✭The_Morrigan

Are Gardai, members of the bar and elected officials banned from serving out of curiosity?

Yes, think it extends to anyone with legal training as they would have an advantage and it wouldn't be a jury of peers.

I have to be honest I have never once read about a revenge attack on a jury member anywhere in the world. Sure off duty cops and judges would be getting beaten weekly, let alone the jurymen.
    how would you know who done it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Was called in before to a rape case but I wasn't selected because the accused was roughly same age as myself so that apparently wasn't the reason.
    Thank fcuk because the case was a horrible one involving a child.
    Some pure scum out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭alexonhisown

I was called for jury service earlier this year.. That was my third time.
    First time (about 10 yrs ago) i was selected on the last day. We went to jury room and the defendent then pleaded guilty at the last minute, so they didnt need a jury.
    The second time 3years ago i was chosen for jury but challenged by the defence team. Didnt get chosen for the rest of the week.
    This year i was selected on second day and served on a jury for 3 days. I was hoping the case wouldn't be too gruesome, but after a few days on a very boring case i wished i was on a gruesome case.
    It is sooo boring. Constantly being sent back to jury room while they discuss legal matters.

Zillah wrote: »
    You can't know for sure until it's all over. I was called and ended up on a jury for two weeks. Defendant plead out at the end and we were directed to find 'em guilty. How anticlimactic.

Anyway; you could be there for weeks and simply won't know until it is all over.

Nonsense. I'd know he was guilty from the get-go. That's why I'd be such a brilliant juror.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

I've been called for Jury service once but am self employed so opted out. I'd love to have been able to afford to take the time off work or have an employer to pay me as there are free Custard Creams in the jury rooms.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 368 ✭✭Morph the Cat

Juries are generally described as "twelve people too stupid to get out of jury duty."

Got a letter 3 times over the years - got out of it 3 times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,848 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Nonsense. I'd know he was guilty from the get-go. That's why I'd be such a brilliant juror.
    Spot on.

If the Perp. is guilty enough to be put in the dock, he is guilty enough to be convicted:cool:

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Spot on.

If the Perp. is guilty enough to be put in the dock, he is guilty enough to be convicted:cool:

Sure, you'd know by the look of them straight away. I love justice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭salacious crumb

If that's the case, just get a letter to state that from your employer and you will be excused.

Practically anybody can get out of doing jury duty if they wanted, but what's the point? It's nice to get off work for a couple of days and still be paid :pac:

I was on jury once, we couldn't reach an agreement so the case was thrown out. I'd actually like to know if there was ever a re-trial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭Quixoticelixer

My aunt is a solicitor, told me to turn up to court dressed in a suit and tie, well groomed and to bring a briefcase, told me that lawyers will object to someone who looks smart; basically that lawyers prefer to have a selection of jurors who look like they can be easily influenced/fooled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Galadriel

I got called twice, the first time I had to attend every day for two weeks but wasn't called for anything, the second time I got called up the first morning and had a case for a month, very interesting and great to get out of work for a month - really hated my job at the time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

My aunt is a solicitor, told me to turn up to court dressed in a suit and tie, well groomed and to bring a briefcase, told me that lawyers will object to someone who looks smart; basically that lawyers prefer to have a selection of jurors who look like they can be easily influenced/fooled.

This doesn't really make sense: Both sides have lawyers, why would it be to anyone's advantage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Yeah twice. I love it although the first case was a bank robbery, second was some pointless thing I've no idea why the DPP brought up. Judge fell asleep a few times.

Also, it beats working