Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Queuing for things at midnight

• 17-09-2013 6:11pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

I once got out of bed at an unGodly hour to make sure I secured 2 tickets for the then girlfriend to go and hear Madonna screech her way through Slane in 2004. Suffice to say we didnt last long after that.

It's sort of understandable to queue up for things when there's a limited amount of them but the pics today of people going out at mad hours for GTA 5 were a bit strange. They'll still be at sale at lunchtime?

What have you queued up for at all hours and now look back and think "the fcuk?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Roll on 2 and a half hours on a Friday night, and I queue for disgusting food I wouldn't eat when sober.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Tickets for a concert, sports event or any other limited numbers event is ok.

Queuing up for a computer game, phone or anything else that you could get the next day or over the week is ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    I once got out of bed at an unGodly hour to make sure I secured 2 tickets for the then girlfriend to go and hear Madonna screech her way through Slane in 2004. Suffice to say we didnt last long after that.

It's sort of understandable to queue up for things when there's a limited amount of them but the pics today of people going out at mad hours for GTA 5 were a bit strange. They'll still be at sale at lunchtime?

What have you queued up for at all hours and now look back and think "the fcuk?"

I don't think it's done here but when I lived in England, there used to be people buying cars at midnight when the new regs came out so they could 'be among the first' with the new reg. If buying a computer game is ridiculous, surely buying a car is 10 times worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

tickets for 'the cure' in 89 and again in 91. never thought WTF though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Yes but by that time nearly 12-13 hours will have passed of GTA playing time.
    When you wait nearly 5 years for something every second more is torture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Ive queued up for books, tickets and consoles and always had a great time with the other folk lining up. Feels more magic when its dark.

SV wrote: »
    Yes but by that time nearly 12-13 hours will have passed of GTA playing time.
    When you wait nearly 5 years for something every second more is torture.

8 of which you'll be asleep for

and? People who buy the game at midnight don't buy it and then go to bed.
    They go home and play the game until the morning, 90% of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

I DESPISE those fools who queue for Apple stuff. Especially when they have the last generation model they bought 3 months before. I get we all like the new stuff. But these people are Díckheads of the highest order.

Sad little men and women

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

GTA 5 were a bit strange. They'll still be at sale at lunchtime?
    Shops often sell out of toys & things. I don't think that madonna gig even sold out BTW!

Some want it ASAP, like listening to new albums, want to be the first of their friends to get it. Others will go for the unity, like a bunch of schoolgirls queuing for one direction stuff. Some products first release can have freebies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Will never actually do it myself but I don't think it should be dismissed outright. Often times the emotional excitement a person gets in anticipation of a product provides a unique experience. They'll probably enjoy the game. For some though they'll also enjoy the excitement of queuing and watching as their excitement slowly builds up to a climax of receiving something they've long being anticipating. It's like any goal a person has built an emotional attachment to, be it completing a marathon, passing your exams, getting a new job. They all provide an experience that makes the person feel alive, if only for a fleeting moment.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

rubadub wrote: »
    I don't think that madonna gig even sold out BTW!

It didnt :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Jernal wrote: »
    Will never actually do it myself but I don't think it should be dismissed outright. Often times the emotional excitement a person gets in anticipation of a product provides a unique experience. They'll probably enjoy the game. For some though they'll also enjoy the excitement of queuing and watching as their excitement slowly builds up to a climax of receiving something they've long being anticipating. It's like an goal a person has built an emotional attachment to, be it completing a marathon, passing your exams, getting a new job. They all provide an experience that makes the person feel alive, if only for a fleeting moment.

What a sad life these people must live

rubadub wrote: »
    Shops often sell out of toys & things.

This happens every Christmas with this year's "must have" toy and them being "sold out" is cleverly organised PR by the manufacturer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

A few weeks ago we were moving from one pub to another just before midnight, & there was a crowd queueing for One Direction tickets.

The abuse they must have got must have been fierce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Feathers

Don't know many gamers then?

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    A few weeks ago we were moving from one pub to another just before midnight, & there was a crowd queueing for One Direction tickets.

The abuse they must have got must have been fierce.

Queuing for gigs that will sell out is ok though, especially if you don't have a credit card.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭Starscream25

They queuing in the hope a film crew will question them so they can get on tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

They queuing in the hope a film crew will question them so they can get on tv.

Ehh no.

People are queuing because the game is definitely going to sell out and they don't want to have to wait a week or two for the next shipment.

I really don't understand it to be honest considering you can just download the game. In Galway theres a nightclub near the Game shop and I remember on the night Skyrim came out me and a few mates were staggering up the street and we saw all the people queuing for the midnight release and we were thinking wtf are they doing?!?! The queue for the club starts up here ye dopes!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Elbaston

I have a random item !
    oh my god oh my god look at me I have a random item!

(sometimes I find a haiku expresses what words alone cannot)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

I queued at midnight for each of the last three Harry Potter books and I'm proud of it! It's nice to get excited about things and it's a bit of a laugh too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Jernal wrote: »
    Will never actually do it myself but I don't think it should be dismissed outright. Often times the emotional excitement a person gets in anticipation of a product provides a unique experience. They'll probably enjoy the game. For some though they'll also enjoy the excitement of queuing and watching as their excitement slowly builds up to a climax of receiving something they've long being anticipating. It's like any goal a person has built an emotional attachment to, be it completing a marathon, passing your exams, getting a new job. They all provide an experience that makes the person feel alive, if only for a fleeting moment.

These emotions you talk about are the product of horrible type of instant gratification consumerism. People are blinded by this and the media hype to the absolute ridiculousness of queueing for unnecessary luxury goods that are in unlimited supply at an ungodly hour.

I read today that people have started already queueing outside the Apple store in NY for the new phone. There are even professional queuers...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

MurdyWurdy wrote: »
    I queued at midnight for each of the last three Harry Potter books and I'm proud of it! It's nice to get excited about things and it's a bit of a laugh too

Its nothing to be proud of tbh.

MurdyWurdy wrote: »

You better not have been wearing one of those scarfs.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

There are even professional queuers...

Dale Winton is one................ so I've heard.....

I feel sorry for people who aren't able to get excited about things so much that they'd go to a midnight sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

I wouldn't do it personally, I am a lazy so and so and I love my sleep. I wouldn't call anyone who did it sad or anything, strokes for folks and all that. But I was listening to a tech\pop culture podcast called the 404 the other day and one of the guys was telling a story, they were filming one of the iPhone queues, he said that they were talking to a guy and when he got his iPhone he started crying, that's what you call the height of retardness right there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Feathers

These emotions you talk about are the product of horrible type of instant gratification consumerism. People are blinded by this and the media hype to the absolute ridiculousness of queueing for unnecessary luxury goods that are in unlimited supply at an ungodly hour.

Doesn't sound very instant to me.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

I queued for the Harry Potter books because I wanted to read them asap to avoid spoilers. It was also great fun. Couldn't give a feck how sad that makes me in some peoples' eyes. They should find something better to waste their time worrying about.

I don't think I'd bother queueing for things just because they will sell out. I'd be happy to wait once spoilers weren't an issue.

If the excitement and anticipation is so bad that you can't wait 8-9 hours to buy it in the morning, I can only imagine how bad it must be for the 20 minutes or whatever it take you to get home until you can actually play the damn thing. Your heads must be ready to explode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

I did it as a teenager for the last two Harry Potter books. It was fun - all the excitement and anticipation after spending years reading the other books and months debating how it would end. Went back home and stayed up reading til 4 or 5am (even though I had work the next day). You don't get the chance to do things like that twice.

I don't think I'd do it for anything now though (except maybe concert tickets, but I usually get them online these days). I wouldn't look down on people for waiting for a midnight release - I might not understand it, but then again, there are people who don't understand the excitement around the last HP books.

Those who pitch tents outside waiting for a new IKEA or something like that to open, though? I think that's a bit sad :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

0ph0rce0 wrote: »

Marge Simpsonesque.

0ph0rce0 wrote: »

Ah steady on. Whilst queuing for certain things that will still be on sale the next day has a touch of madness to it, you can see where midnight shopping for a community of Harry Potter nutjobs fans could have been a bit of craic for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭Zhane

Each to their own. Don't want to queue for something? Then don't. Plenty of other things you could be giving out about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭brianwalshcork

Queued overnight for Nirvana and Garth Brooks tickets. The nirvana gig never happened.
    I flipped the Gareth Brooks tickets for £200, and used all the money to buy a 200 MB hard drive - thats €1.27 per MB.
    Long term it wasn't worth it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Elbaston wrote: »
    I have a random item !
    oh my god oh my god look at me I have a random item!

(sometimes I find a haiku expresses what words alone cannot)

Stay away from those Tombola stalls then...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

Only thing I ever queued at night for was to see Pope JP2 in Limerick in 1979. Life lesson learnt that night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

A lot of people on this thread must be tucked up in their beds by half nine. Let them at it I say. I won't be though cos I'm a lazy bastard. If it was something that in my opinion truly warranted it for me I don't see the harm!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 843 ✭✭✭Whatsernamex33

I queued for the last few books of Harry Potter. Thankfully, it was mid summer when they came out. Never, ever, ever, would go out on a wet night like last night to queue for a video game. :pac:

Thankfully, it was mid summer when they came out.

Mid Summer queuing with grown ups for something worthwhile sounds much more appealing than doing it from September to April. Plenty of eye riding going on too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

People queue to experience everything new in the game along with everyone else for the first time. A lot of video games are associated with Youtube and people putting up videos of them playing it and as soon as midnight hits, those videos will be up and you'll be at home looking at them in absolute envy.

It's the buzz and build up that adds to it. Why wait til the morning when you can get it there and then?

All that said, I only ever queued for a game at midnight once a few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

I queued up for the Harry Potter books as well. No way was I risking someone spoiling it for me by waiting until the next day!

Its different to queueing for a concert or video game imo because if you don't get the book asap, you can be damn sure someone will spoil it for you. No one can spoil a concert or a video game if you wait till the morning to get the them. Its different.

As well as that, the worlds media was all over the series, particularly the last 3 books, and I knew that even if a friend didn't let the plot slip, I was bound to hear what happened on the radio, tv or in a newspaper.

No regrets about queueing at midnight and reading the books as fast as possible to avoid it being ruined for me at all :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭Kiwi in IE

I queued up at midnight when Guns n' Roses Use your Illusion was released. But I was 12 years old at the time. Havn't done it since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

I've never done it, never will. However it looks like good crack, people have been getting excited about a new book/game for years and now there's a huge build-up of adrenalin as the moment arrives. Plus queuing with other fans multiplies the excitement. Unfortunately, it's often a young person's game, as those of us with 9 to 5 routines, responsibilities, meetings all the boring sh1te that goes with it just don't have time any more.

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Anybody queuing overnight for a game that will be freely available in the following few days is probably mentally ill, let'sbe hhonest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭TommiesTank

Does queuing to use the jacks count?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

anncoates wrote: »
    Anybody queuing overnight for a game that will be freely available in the following few days is probably mentally ill, let'sbe hhonest.

It was sold out in most places by lunchtime today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

It was sold out in most places by lunchtime today

For all time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

anncoates wrote: »
    For all time?

Well you didn't say all time, you said freely available in a few days. GTA game generally have stock issues for weeks after launch