Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

To replace engine or not?

• 16-09-2013 1:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭

I have a ford focus '01 1.4 liter petrol.
    I engine had no oil and I now need to replace the engine.

Anyone have any idea of the cost of a new engine?

Also if it has a new engine does that mean that my car becomes very reliable again (as i assume the engine is the thing that detioriates the most) or will the car still suffer from the problems of being a 13 year old car?

Trying to decide if its worth replacing or not.
    Really can't afford a new car at the moment.

Any advise would be much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

So you were told by a mechanic that the engine had seized because of no oil, is that right?
    Check with www.traynors.co.uk and local breakers for an engine, you will need some sort of warranty on the new engine by whoever sells it to you.
    Also check on www.adverts.ie and donedeal if someone is breaking a Focus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭nino1

biko wrote: »
    So you were told by a mechanic that the engine had seized because of no oil, is that right?
    Check with www.traynors.co.uk and local breakers for an engine, you will need some sort of warranty on the new engine by whoever sells it to you.
    Also check on www.adverts.ie and donedeal if someone is breaking a Focus.

Thanks a mil for that.
    Rookie question here!
    Are most cars being broken or that are in a breakers yard not in there because of the engines being bust?
    Is it possible to get a good engine there?

What kind of things would I be looking for to make sure its a decent engine?

Breakers will have rear-ended cars too so the engine can be in good condition even if car is wrecked.
    Tbh, you need either someone who gives you warranty on the engine you buy or preferably talk to a few garages and see if they can source it for you and install it for a bundled price.

Since this job doesn't seem to be a DIY deal I'll move this thread out to main motors forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,877 ✭✭✭purplecow1977

Replaced engine in my car last year due to my car running out of oil. Bought a new one&labour = almost €3,000. You can get 2nd hand ones or reconditioned ones, but there weren't easy to come by for mine and I was alreayd without my car for over 2 weeks at the time so just opted for the new one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭martinr5232

nino1 wrote: »
    I have a ford focus '01 1.4 liter petrol.
    I engine had no oil and I now need to replace the engine.

Anyone have any idea of the cost of a new engine?

Also if it has a new engine does that mean that my car becomes very reliable again (as i assume the engine is the thing that detioriates the most) or will the car still suffer from the problems of being a 13 year old car?

Trying to decide if its worth replacing or not.
    Really can't afford a new car at the moment.

Any advise would be much appreciated.

Its gonna cost you over a grand to replace an engine properly between timing belts servicing supply and fit.

Then how good is your clutch while its out that could be another two fifty or so.

Whats the rest of the car like rear suspension gives trouble front wishbones wear.

Is there an NCT on it ??

Up and running if its a good nice clean car its only worth between fifteen hundred and two grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

These engines don't usually give much trouble unless they are neglected.

So the fact that the engine died from lack of oil would suggest a lack of proper maintenance on the car generally.

This being the case I would be wary of what other bills the car could have in store for you. Best to get a thorough inspection done on the rest of the car before committing to spending the majority of the value of the car replacing the engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭discombobulate

I'd presume you'd buy a similar second hand focus of that year for the same price if not cheaper than even getting a second hand engine and labour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I'd presume you'd buy a similar second hand focus of that year for the same price if not cheaper than even getting a second hand engine and labour

Yes I agree. 01 -03 focus and even up to 05s go fairly cheap anyway.
    Wouldn't bother withte engine yet
    Have a quick search on donedeal or car one for a focus of a newer year an you may get a decent one for cheap ish

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

I'd presume you'd buy a similar second hand focus of that year for the same price if not cheaper than even getting a
    second hand engine and labour

And he might get a few quid for the Focus with wrecked engine, making it even cheaper.
    OP, unless you can get a very cheap engine (which won't be reliable and have no warranty) and you can fit it yourself for next to no cost, it's not worth it.
    See if you can get a few quid for you car and get another one, you;ll be much better off.

Cost you around a grand or less for similar with an NCT from a quick search on Done Deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭nino1

Thanks for all the replys guys.
    I got a mechanic who will source an engine for me a fit it including new timing belt and water pump for €650.
    I am very tempted at that price as money is very tight at the moment.
    I hope its not a false economy

650 fitted with TB and pump sounds good, very good in fact.
    Just get a written warranty for a year or so for engine and parts.

I got a mechanic who will source an engine for me a fit it including new timing belt and water pump for €650.
    Will you get any kind of warranty / guarantee with the engine from him?

I doubt at this price the engine will have a warranty and would be an unknown quantity, but so would a second hand car.

You know what they say about when things sound too good to be true.....

I really cant see how that job could be done right for that money

You know what they say about when things sound too good to be true.....

I really cant see how that job could be done right for that money

We'd have to know more about the engine and the mechanic, impossible to call without all the facts.

Not really timing belt kit and water pump about € 150.00
    Oil and filter € 50.00 coolant € 20.00 second hand engine id say minimum € 300.00 so when you add it all up thats very little for labour i dont know many lads that would do a job like that for€ 130.00.

Maybe they are doing it for that but i cant see it i could be wrong but it sounds too cheap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

False economy? Not checking or putting in a fivers/tenners worth of oil would have been a lot cheaper. ..

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    False economy? Not checking or putting in a fivers/tenners worth of oil would have been a lot cheaper. ..

You are right, but that horse has bolted a long time ago...
    A little late for could haves Marge...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭aisr1ofk43dpy5

650 fitted with TB and pump sounds good, very good in fact.
    Just get a written warranty for a year or so for engine and parts.

Are you serious :-)

For an engine with that price he better get some sort of warranty. Maybe a year is too much but something is better than nothing.
    Did you have a suggestion yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Scrap it for €200. Buy another one with long NCT for about €1k and it will cost you €800 net. A better investment than replacing the engine for €650 (and as others said, I don't know how it could be done that cheaply)

Yeah I'd love to hear about what the garage said about an offer that cheap.
    Do keep us updated OP :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭aisr1ofk43dpy5

For an engine with that price he better get some sort of warranty. Maybe a year is too much but something is better than nothing.

You think someone is going to supply and fit an engine for that money and then give a years warranty as well good luck with that.
    Like others have said he'd be better off getting another car and get whatever few quid he can for that one.

I would expect a warranty with a new/recon engine, fitted by a main dealer or a qualified independent or specialised garage. That would only be reasonable.
    For the price the OP got quoted the engine was probably purchased through Trotters Independent Traders and most likely gotten from a scrapped car in a ditch.
    How would you expect a warranty? If you buy an engine at the scrappy, would you expect one?

Not if I source it myself from a scrappy, then it's all up to me.
    But for an old engine sourced through a mechanic I'd want some reassurance (although a year is stretching it).
    650 is an amazing price for all that (tb and pump too) and I'd love to hear the details of the deal.
    These guys sells warranty second hand engines but for 2700 so how OP can get it for 650 is quite interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,237 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

[quote="martinr5232;86583451"really timing belt kit and water pump about € 150.00
    Oil and filter € 50.00 coolant € 20.00 second hand engine id say minimum € 300.00 so when you add it all up thats very little for labour i dont know many lads that would do a job like that for€ 130.00.

Maybe they are doing it for that but i cant see it i could be wrong but it sounds too cheap[/quote]

I've done a few focus engine replacements and they're not too bad. 130 is probably a bit cheap alright but he probably already owns the engine so he's making a few quid on that too plus using spurious timing belt etc would be a bit cheaper and less hassle to do with the engine on the ground.

Last time I done one it took about 3 hrs. There ain't many jobs paying 43 quid an hour :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

Last time I done one it took about 3 hrs. There ain't many jobs paying 43 quid an hour :)

3 hours from the time you picked up the key and walked out to the car to the time you parked it outside and rang the customer to say it was done?

Fair play to you if that is the case.

I've done a few focus engine replacements and they're not too bad. 130 is probably a bit cheap alright but he probably already owns the engine so he's making a few quid on that too plus using spurious timing belt etc would be a bit cheaper and less hassle to do with the engine on the ground.

Ford warranty time to remove and replace an engine is 4.8 hours that doesnt include swapping bits or replacing timing belt and water pump.

Your some man that can do that job in three hours im over twenty years at them and i wouldnt do it in that time.