Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bizarre labour poster "One people, one parliament, one vote"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Vote Yes for jobs, for better schools, healthcare :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Eamo was prob listening to Bono and Mary J when he was inspired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 sdiffl

snubbleste wrote: »
    Vote Yes for jobs, for better schools, healthcare :confused:

Missing the point perhaps?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

One people, one parliament, one vote...

...Gimme Gimme Gimme, Fried Chicken!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

Not sure if its because its Monday and haven't had coffee yet. I don't get what you are saying.

One people? The Irish.

One parliament? The dail perhaps. Parliament isn't really an Irish word, is that it?

One vote? Obviously

Are you complaining because they used the word parliament? I think you need a **** if that's the case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

Frankfurts way.

lkionm wrote: »
    Not sure if its because its Monday and haven't had coffee yet. I don't get what you are saying.

One people? The Irish.

One parliament? The dail perhaps. Parliament isn't really an Irish word, is that it?

One vote? Obviously

Are you complaining because they used the word parliament? I think you need a **** if that's the case
    I'll give you a hint: Ein Volk... (One people)

We all got the meaning OP.
    Surely Labour realise the only way to get a Yes is to make false promises?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

I think you need a **** if that's the case

Adverts.ie

Can't peddle your wares here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

One vote? Obviously

One vote.

Vote correctly the first time.

Don't make us ask you again. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭bgrizzley

no doubt from the same people that brought us this little gem

You will lose!

Power.

Money.

Freedom.

bgrizzley wrote: »
    no doubt from the same people that brought us this little gem
    I think they changed ad agencies to this

sdiffl wrote: »
    I'll give you a hint: Ein Volk... (One people)

Got it.

One vote.

Vote correctly the first time.

Don't make us ask you again. :confused:

Please don't make us slightly rephrase this. It took us days to spell check it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

I can't abide when people use slogans with "one (noun)" in it. A language school near me gets up to this sort of nonsense and its cringeworthy.

Is it a reference to U2's One ?
    One love, one life, one something

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭bgrizzley

that, and bedfellows...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭JazzyJ

One vote? Obviously

Apparently, some people have more than one vote in the Seanad elections. My da was saying that my cousin has 3 :eek:.

I dunno whether to believe him though. He just a bitter old man about the Seanad - probably due to not having a vote himself!

JazzyJ wrote: »
    Apparently, some people have more than one vote in the Seanad elections. My da was saying that my cousin has 3 :eek:.
    I dunno whether to believe him though. He just a bitter old man about the Seanad - probably due to not having a vote himself!
    I have two Seanad votes, so three+ is definitely possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

I was having the same uncomfotable deja vu when I saw that too. I guess it Frankfurt's way then eh Gilmore!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I can't believe that nobody in Labour realised that people would be reminded of that? =/

Are they mad or just stupid?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

One people? The Irish.

One vote? Obviously

We already have 1 parliament.

It has 2 houses.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

I can't believe that nobody in Labour realised that people would be reminded of that? =/

Are they mad or just stupid?!

It almost seems to me as if it was intentional. I don't see how else they could have come up with the phrase

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I have two Seanad votes, so three+ is definitely possible

I don't think three is possible

You can have 1 or two or 5 or 6 or 7

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

sdiffl wrote: »
    What were they thinking?
    Dunno about this poster but I know what they were thinking about other ones -namely, "lets make a eye catching poster, I know we'll make one that purposely like a red warning road traffic sign and illegally put it up around dun laoghaire rathdown who have specific rules about what poles & how high posters can go. Well fuck those rules and litter laws, we'll just put peoples lives at risk by needlessly distracting motorists on main roads"

I expect other county councils have rules too. Its an utter disgrace that they actually had to bring about rules.

Here is an example. Most I have seen had less text to further mimic road signs.

http://www.sligotoday.ie/images/1354774007.jpg

And yes I have emailed the ruthless cunts about it, with no reply, and I complained to gardai who said it was nothing to do with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Before the last GE, Labour had posters up saying "Gilmore for Taoiseach".

Not much point really though considering the people don't get to vote for that position. :rolleyes: