Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UK Motorist snapped reading a book at 70mph in the middle lane

• 16-09-2013 11:24am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭

Chris Ashton was travelling on the M6 motorway in Cheshire when he saw a male driving a Volkswagen Tiguan in the middle lane holding a booklet in front of the steering wheel.

dgdrive1read.jpg

Mr Ashton’s wife Stacey was able to take a photograph of the irresponsible motorist and take a note of his car registration, which the couple have now passed to Cheshire police.

He said the book appeared to be a car instruction manual, but even when the irresponsible driver noticed he had been snapped, he failed to put the book down.

He said: “This man did not even see us approaching from behind as we overtook him at 70mph, and when we got passed my wife saw him through the rear view mirror continuing to read.

http://www.independent.ie/world-news/europe/motorist-snapped-reading-a-book-at-70mph-29582427.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

Chris Ashton was travelling on the M6 motorway in Cheshire when he saw a male driving a Volkswagen Tiguan in the middle lane holding a booklet in front of the steering wheel.

dgdrive1read.jpg

Mr Ashton’s wife Stacey was able to take a photograph of the irresponsible motorist and take a note of his car registration, which the couple have now passed to Cheshire police.

He said the book appeared to be a car instruction manual, but even when the irresponsible driver noticed he had been snapped, he failed to put the book down.

He said: “This man did not even see us approaching from behind as we overtook him at 70mph, and when we got passed my wife saw him through the rear view mirror continuing to read.

http://www.independent.ie/world-news/europe/motorist-snapped-reading-a-book-at-70mph-29582427.html

I've seen people use iPads while there driving.
    The worst though is the women doing their make up on the m50. A bit of cop on combined with a crack down on this type of behaviour by the traffic corp should end it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

What a moron. Far too many of them out there. Only hope is when they cause an accident, only they are involved and no one innocent gets hurt by their stupidity.

But what is the outcome really gonna be? It's a picture of him reading a book and yes from the picture you can gather he is driving. But no one call tell what speed from the photo. Would the word of the other motorists be enough in this regard? If they make a formal complaint, could the UK police actually hand out a sever punishment does anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

People really have way too much time on their hands to be honest and its a very slow news day by the looks of it. Would they have the same issue with someone on the phone at 70mph? Driving with ear phones in? Or doing their make up in traffic? Context is also pretty important of which a single photo is none.

There was a gent who used travel Dublin - Kilkenny every day and he'd read the paper while driving. Often saw him.

Honestly, just indicate, overtake and get on with your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭ShaunC

Scortho wrote: »
    I've seen people use iPads while there driving.
    The worst though is the women doing their make up on the m50. A bit of cop on combined with a crack down on this type of behaviour by the traffic corp should end it.

It would be worse if it was a man doing his make up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,989 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Yawns wrote: »
    What a moron. Far too many of them out there. Only hope is when they cause an accident, only they are involved and no one innocent gets hurt by their stupidity.

But what is the outcome really gonna be? It's a picture of him reading a book and yes from the picture you can gather he is driving. But no one call tell what speed from the photo. Would the word of the other motorists be enough in this regard? If they make a formal complaint, could the UK police actually hand out a sever punishment does anyone know?
    I don't think speed matters. Reading a book while driving at any speed is plainly careless driving, and I would think probably the more serious offence of dangerous driving. All they need is evidence that the car was under way, and the person who took the picture can certainly give that evidence. And they can also give evidence as to where this happened - on a motorway - and on the speed at which they overtook this car, and other factors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

they did well overtaking a car doing 70mph whilst themselves doing 70mph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Reading book... how... retro.... I would at least expect a smart phone or tablet at this day and age! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭Andrew_Doran

I saw an auld lad doing the crossword while driving on the M7 near Limerick.

EDIT: thought he was drunk at first when I was approaching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

ironclaw wrote: »
    People really have way too much time on their hands to be honest and its a very slow news day by the looks of it. Would they have the same issue with someone on the phone at 70mph? Driving with ear phones in? Or doing their make up in traffic? Context is also pretty important of which a single photo is none.

There was a gent who used travel Dublin - Kilkenny every day and he'd read the paper while driving. Often saw him.

All of the things you list are either illegal, dangerous and distracting to some degree. I'd prefer drivers to concentrate on their driving and that way when something unexpected happens they might respond in time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

yes, I'd have the same issue with all those things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

On the phone or using earphone you're looking at the road, reading a book you're staring and concentrating on the book, oblivious to what's in front of you.

Just because you know an oul fella that like to read the paper while driving that doesn't make it alright, it just means he's a ****ing eejit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Now we know what keeps middle lane hoggers occupied for mile after mile.

I've seen more than one lorry driver reading on the M1 at full speed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

With a bit of luck he'll pull into you whilst reading.
    Anyone who doesn't see a problem with that should not be allowed out unsupervised because they obviously have extremely poor to no judgement.
    I'd rather have people on the phone (talking) because at least they can see where they going. Reading whilst driving is on the same level as texting whilst driving.
    Sh*tload of points, nice, big fine and a few weeks off the road with retraining would be the ticket in this case.
    But the UK cops will be all over that like flies on sh*te, since they are not above spending vast amounts of money on a massive sting operation to catch a woman eating an apple:
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-335291/Pipped-Woman-driver-fined-eating-apple.html
    (That one was going a bit far IMO)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

So what happens when, as your going about your business overtaking him and his idiocy, something happens in front of him that he doesnt see till the last second and he swerves in to you at 120kilometers an hour sending you in to the barrier. At what point is he wrong? While your sliding down the motorway on your roof?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Anyone else open this thread thinking a motorist went mad from reading and driving?

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

So what happens when, as your going about your business overtaking him and his idiocy, something happens in front of him that he doesnt see till the last second and he swerves in to you at 120kilometers an hour sending you in to the barrier. At what point is he wrong? While your sliding down the motorway on your roof?

Taking a picture and sending it to the Police is going to stop that? Thats the point I'm making. Its pointless being the citizens police force. You turn up to your local station with that photo and reg, and it will be put in the bin under 'Better things to be doing' Its not proof of any wrong doing. Its a single frame, without context. In fact, the reg isn't even visible in it.

If people want to be Sgt. Good Will, there are proper ways of going about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Yere only all only jealous ye don't have adaptive cruise control :pac:

Taking a picture and sending it to the Police is going to stop that? Thats the point I'm making. Its pointless being the citizens police force. You turn up to your local station with that photo and reg, and it will be put in the bin under 'Better things to be doing' Its not proof of any wrong doing. Its a single frame, without context. In fact, the reg isn't even visible in it.

If people want to be Sgt. Good Will, there are proper ways of going about it.

http://www.garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=111

Do you think things like this shouldn't exist?

If nothing else, appearing in the media might make the ****tard cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭RED PASSION

The police should throw the book at him.................stupidity

http://www.garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=111

Do you think things like this shouldn't exist?

If nothing else, appearing in the media might make the ****tard cop on.

In theory it is good but there will be a lot of crap reported because someone got pissed off with very selective memory.

Lane hoggers will report someone tailgating while claiming to be driving below the speed limit and following the rules of the road.

visual wrote: »
    In theory it is good but there will be a lot of crap reported because someone got pissed off with very selective memory.

Maybe they could provide picture evidence?

I havnt seen a spate of innocent people in the papers claiming to have been wrongly convicted up to now, have you?

Maybe they could provide picture evidence?

I havnt seen a spate of innocent people in the papers claiming to have been wrongly convicted up to now, have you?

Or a heap of them prosecuted in court as thats the only way it can be brought forward.

For a digital image to be used in court it must be legally obtained and that includes prior permission as laid down in the data protection otherwise the digital image will be thrown out of court.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Ironclaw is right. This is sensationalist. The bloke might have been having a quick squint at a map and whilst not to be condoned, are people really saying that they've never done something a bit silly when behind the wheel?

He may have had it in his hand for 10 seconds. Not exactly newsworthy.