Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Skeleton remains found in Rathfarnham

• 14-09-2013 7:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭

I hope this is closure for some family. and that if is the result of foul play.. i.e. murder the culprit is caught. Someone might be able to link to the story I cant on my phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Jim Figgerty?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Shit, time to go pack I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,190 ✭✭✭✭L1011

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Jaysus. First person I thought of was Philip Cairns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

According to the radio, speculation is that its Annie McCarricks. It's female, it's in the vanishing triangle and near to Johnny Foxes pub where she was last seen. They don't know if its there that long though.

I do hope it's one of the missing girls. Her family can finally get some closure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

They must have found my sims house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭ron jambo

Me too :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

I hope he is found someday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

Muise... wrote: »
    I hope he is found someday.

That case is particularly sad ... so young . I cant comprehend what the family went through are going through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Ditto - here...so many people ended up getting one way trips to the mountains and Philip Cairns was who I thought of too. Must be an age thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Love2love wrote: »
    According to the radio, speculation is that its Annie McCarricks. It's female, it's in the vanishing triangle and near to Johnny Foxes pub where she was last seen. They don't know if its there that long though.

I do hope it's one of the missing girls. Her family can finally get some closure.

I'm thinking it could be Annie McCarrick too. It's close to where she vanished. Apparently her father died a few years ago his life was destroyed by the grief of not knowing. I hope they finally catch the evil bastard responsible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

That case is particularly sad ... so young . I cant comprehend what the family went through are going through
    As a child at the time, it really drove home the message to me that all those warnings adults gave us about being wary of strangers acting unusual were not without basis.
    Now I know the pendulum has swung too far these days, especially with the ludicrous fear of all men around children, but there is the odd very sick **** out there...
    Ditto - here...so many people ended up getting one way trips to the mountains and Philip Cairns was who I thought of too. Must be an age thing.
    I thought of him because he was from the Rathfarnham area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

According to the radio, speculation is that its Annie McCarricks. It's female,

just out of interest....how can they tell if skeletal remains are female??

fryup wrote: »

the pelvic bone would be different. I think is wider and flatter. stand to be corrected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

I thought of him because he was from the Rathfarnham area.

With me, its because I was on my first day at secondary school that day as well. Therefore the age thing.

I think he would be in his early 40s now.

I'd say everyone thought he'd just gone to a friend's house or off for a wander after school. Then as the waiting went on and on, it became big news. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

fryup wrote: »

I think pelvic structure is pretty different male vs female

the pelvic bone would be different. I think is wider and flatter. stand to be corrected

yes - that and height can be a good general gauge.

I know this from archaeology, and when I read the thread title my first thought was that it was a long dead person in a grave no one knew about. That would be so much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Vicar in a tutu

It's so eerie to think about how many bodies could potentially be buried up there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

It's so eerie to think about how many bodies could potentially be buried up there.

Tbh, that one doesn't sound like it was buried.
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/skeletal-remains-found-just-9km-where-annie-mccarrick-was-last-seen-29579478.html

Now this was mad
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2006/0530/76802-murphym/

Nodin wrote: »

It could of been buried, animals etc coulda disturbed the soil whilst trying to get to the body? My theory anyway:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Brave woman, walking up there at 7.30 at night with her dog. Nothing would make me go there on my own, dog or not.

I agree with post 20, it is a big graveyard up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Woodbrook80

Would be great if it was that woman that's been missing
    Hopefully someday they will find the other girls eg Deirdre Jacob ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

I hope none of Annie McCarrick's family see that.
    It could be a lot of false hope. Are all of her relatives deceased now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,070 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

God knows how many bodies are hidden in the Dublin Mountains. I often wonder if there is any new equipment which could locate these bodies and why the Gardai do not mount a detailed search of the mountains to locate some of them.

It would help end the pain for some of their families.

God knows how many bodies are hidden in the Dublin Mountains. I often wonder if there is any new equipment which could locate these bodies and why the Gardai do not mount a detailed search of the mountains to locate some of them.

I agree, I'd say if this is her, they'll do a complete check though?

The mountains are far too big to do a complete check on. A body buried even in a shallow grave a few years ago would be completely undetectable from the air and extremely hard to find from a search.

MYOB wrote: »
    The mountains are far too big to do a complete check on. A body buried even in a shallow grave a few years ago would be completely undetectable from the air and extremely hard to find from a search.

Yeah I just had a little think about that after I posted

needle and haystack, unfortunately.

resources would be a factor. forest coverage shrubs would need to be cleared . shrubs anyhow for the scanning machines. they are so small an area would need to be pin pointed and searched. I would think somthing more with tge public getting involved. but with bodies been buried or been dumped so many years ago a needle in a hay stack comes to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Muise... wrote: »
    I think he would be in his early 40s now.

I'd say everyone thought he'd just gone to a friend's house or off for a wander after school. Then as the waiting went on and on, it became big news. :(

Philip would be (is?) 40 this year, in October. There's a good Wikipedia article about him here

He was less than two years older than me and I remember it being on the news day in day out and being horrified that someone pretty much like me could just disappear and nobody could know where he went :(

Funnily enough, over the years I've never forgotten his name and he often comes into my head (at least 4 times a year), even though I never knew him. Goes to show the effect his disappearance had on me.

As a parent now myself I cannot image the horror I would feel if my daughter left home one day and never came back.

I hope that whatever family this body belongs to finds some closure, if not any peace.

r3nu4l wrote: »
    Philip would be (is?) 40 this year, in October. There's a good Wikipedia article about him here

He was less than two years older than me and I remember it being on the news day in day out and being horrified that someone pretty much like me could just disappear and nobody could know where he went :(

Funnily enough, over the years I've never forgotten his name and he often comes into my head (at least 4 times a year), even though I never knew him. Goes to show the effect his disappearance had on me.

As a parent now myself I cannot image the horror I would feel if my daughter left home one day and never came back.

I hope that whatever family this body belongs to finds some closure, if not any peace.

Just reading the Wiki, The only suspect can never be tried because of lack of evidence.

That's mad. I wonder would the Parents know who the suspect is.
    Worse, do they not know, but know the suspect and interact with them. :(

Christ, i'm getting a bit morbid here..

EDIT.

Mad. His family reckon it was somebody they knew, and his schoolbag?? :eek: That's scary.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Same here R. I grew up near to the area and most of my mates were from there. About my closest mate(still) lived only a few doors up from his family and knew them to see, so even though I was a seven odd years older, the place names in the news really hit home, as they were places my mates and me knew so well. Where his bag was found(in odd circumstances) I would have gone down on a regular basis. The thought that it could have been any one of us. The thought that it was "one of us" to another group. Like you it still lingers with me down to this very day.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Really and truly hope a family gets closure over this. Why can't whoever had something to do with all those disappearances years ago do the right thing and say where the bodies are :(

They haven't found one of the Moors Murders victims after tons of years either.

So I'd reckon a lot of missing persons as result of gangland for example are up there, along with other missing persons too.

Jeez, it's such a lovely place too, weird. But you can see how it's the perfect place for disposing of a body.

I think Love Hate had a scene up there too.

[QUOTE

Mad. His family reckon it was somebody they knew, and his schoolbag?? :eek: That's scary.[/QUOTE]

Yeah I was just reading about him recently, apparently he was close to outing someone that had been abusing him :(

WHAT? :eek:

How close? Had he said it was happening and not named them? Or had he implied something was going on?

Jaysis..

Allyall wrote: »
    WHAT? :eek:

How close? Had he said it was happening and not named them? Or had he implied something was going on?

Jaysis..

http://http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/philip-cairns-was-killed-to-protect-his-sex-abuser-26245411.html

....theres a few yokes - an emissions detector sort of thing for instance - but they're for pinpointing, not a general search afaik. Nor do they work after the body is decomposed. The kind of search you're proposing is unfortunately unfeasible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Here's a dopey question - wtf is the vanishing triangle?? sounds ominous..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,070 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Nodin wrote: »
    ....theres a few yokes - an emissions detector sort of thing for instance - but they're for pinpointing, not a general search afaik. Nor do they work after the body is decomposed. The kind of search you're proposing is unfortunately unfeasible.

They could/should bring in some of those Cadaver dogs. They are brilliant at locating bodies. Even if they only searched 100 metres each side of forest roads they might locate a body or two.

Here's a dopey question - wtf is the vanishing triangle?? sounds ominous..

An area where a large (for Ireland) number of mostly young women went missing in the 1990s. It stopped after Larry Murphy was caught but it is possible there was other people involved who took that as a good time to get out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

It's scary alright. As a person who has a family member missing for a number of years...it scares the absolute hell out of me when I hear of these discoveries on the news. However, it would finally bring years of hell to closure if we were to get news on this family member.

I truly wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

KKkitty wrote: »
    Really and truly hope a family gets closure over this. Why can't whoever had something to do with all those disappearances years ago do the right thing and say where the bodies are :(

Because they were most likely psychopathic and wouldn't be troubled by feelings of empathy or remorse.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Same here R. I grew up near to the area and most of my mates were from there. About my closest mate(still) lived only a few doors up from his family and knew them to see, so even though I was a seven odd years older, the place names in the news really hit home, as they were places my mates and me knew so well. Where his bag was found(in odd circumstances) I would have gone down on a regular basis. The thought that it could have been any one of us. The thought that it was "one of us" to another group. Like you it still lingers with me down to this very day.

I think that's why a whole generation remembers him so vividly. I wasn't afraid that it could have been me so much as shocked that "one of us" was taken.

Just remembered too that a classmate asked if we could include Philip and his family in our morning prayers. The teacher agreed. Next year we all went off to secondary school, so that disrupted the prayers and the news story faded away. I've never been a believer, but all those prayers are still hanging in the air. And that's why we remember.

Can't open link, could you repost, thanks.
    It's just http:// twice. Remove one.

They could/should bring in some of those Cadaver dogs. They are brilliant at locating bodies. Even if they only searched 100 metres each side of forest roads they might locate a body or two.

True.

Thanks for link. That is one weird and very sad story there. I think the family and many others know, or suspect strongly what happened.

But them were the days. Such things didn't happen back then. At all...