Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lotto Jackpot!

• 11-09-2013 1:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,579 ✭✭✭✭

Won a nice sum in the Lotto. I roared "Jackpot" so excitedly I fell out of bed.

And then I woke up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

I once found a fiver in my pocket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I won 8 quid a few weeks ago. Put a euro to it and got a 9 euro quick pick with the plus for the euromillions. Won nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

So what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

Lotto, a tax on foolishness. :P

I very rarely bother play it but only because I know all my family do and if they win, I win. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Lotto, a tax on foolishness. :P

I very rarely bother play it but only because I know all my family do and if they win, I win. ;)

I can never understand this,

If you are buying it everyweek and constantly thinking odds are i'm gonna win this week you are being foolish.

However if you are buying a line (again) every week but just cause and besides if you aren't in you can't win I don't see that as foolish I see it as taking a chance. You have as much chance as everyone else.

As long as you don't have a "system" or count on you winning to pay a bill there is no issue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I woke up this morning with more money than I went out with last night.:)

Then I found the ATM receipt. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Most I won from the lotto was €2k, and that was a long time ago... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭loubeelou

I won 13th prize in a school raffle once. The prize was a plastic plate with a picture of the virgin mary on it. It made a good frizbee!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

OP, you are now a millionaire in your dreams. This means you won't have to work another day in your life in your dreamland.

Lucky you, us poor wage-slaves toiling away in the middle of the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

People who buy lottery tickets are those who have no understanding of statistical probability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭heretochat

loubeelou wrote: »
    I won 13th prize in a school raffle once. The prize was a plastic plate with a picture of the virgin mary on it. It made a good frizbee!

the blasphemy of it all :mad:

I won a grand on the lotto before... disappeared into ye grand hole called credit card bill... :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,579 ✭✭✭✭Victor

MadsL wrote: »
    OP, you are now a millionaire in your dreams.
    But only in my dreams. I was dreaming I was in ancient Rome and my winning ticket had a prize of MMNN marked on it. M= 1,000.

However, I was being a cute hoor and falsified the prize to MxMxNxN. So Millions!!!

When I woke up I was wondering what number 'N' represented. I checked on Wikipedia, only to find out that 'N' represent 'nil' (the concept of 'zero' wasn't there at the time).

So my prize was 1,000 x 1,000 x 0 x 0 = 0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭The One Who Knocks

People who buy lottery tickets are those who have no understanding of statistical probability.

this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Victor wrote: »
    I was dreaming I was in ancient Rome and my winning ticket had a prize of MMNN marked on it. M= 1,000.

However, I was being a cute hoor and falsified the prize to MxMxNxN. So Millions!!!

Crucify the thief! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,862 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

In yesterday's Euromillions there were 17 winners of 5 + 1 including 2 in Ireland each getting €59K. Very rare to have a winner in Ireland and often the most won by a ticket bought here is a few hundred Euro. There are usually only 4 or 5 5 + 1 winners so this was a statistical anomoly. Pretty disappointing for people who would normally pick up around half a million and who only lost out on €15 million by one number. Still €59K is not bad.

http://www.lottery.ie/en/prizes-and-results/?game=euromillions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I do it every week.

One line, always the same numbers, and one quick pick.

It's really only for the craic, and who doesn't get that little tiny buzz when scanning your ticket in the number checker?

As others have pointed out, if you ain't in, ya can't win.
    Ask Dolores ca-ching McNamara;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Bishop_Donal

By extension, people who win lotteries are those with no understanding of statistical probability. That said, they probably don't feel too bad about their lack of understanding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

It's really only for the craic, and who doesn't get that little tiny buzz when scanning your ticket in the number checker?

As others have pointed out, if you ain't in, ya can't win.
    Ask Dolores ca-ching McNamara;)

I remember a few years ago when there was a particularly big jackpot, someone in work was going down to the shop and a few of us decided to throw in a few bob and get a few tickets between us. There were already other syndicates going but this was just a one off for us.

We worked out exactly how much each of us was going to win (we were going to win the jackpot, nothing less), discussed that we should all sign the ticket to avoid any legal complications and then no one would take responsibility for minding such an important ticket.

We were having great fun with it all, completely forgetting that the odds were 8,000,000/1 against us (or something ridiculous). And then came the draw...and naturally we didn't win a penny.

I wish the draw had never taken place, all the fun was in the anticipation but I fear if I played all the time, that fun would wear off and I'd just be wasting my money. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Noxin

I found a fiver by the drinks tower in work today.

Score for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

The price of a pint a week, and you could get lucky sometime, hardly foolish, the people you see in the bookies at 10 in the morning betting on cartoon horses and greyhounds are the fools

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Someone in Beaumont (probably Bermuda by now) has 93,000,000 reasons to never buy a book on statistics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Won a nice sum in the Lotto. I roared "Jackpot" so excitedly I fell out of bed.

And then I woke up.

I once roared "Jackpot" and then woke up. There was no money. More of a money shot.

http://m.cdn.blog.hu/bu/buvesz/image/truestory.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭cassid

But only in my dreams. I was dreaming I was in ancient Rome and my winning ticket had a prize of MMNN marked on it. M= 1,000.

When I woke up I was wondering what number 'N' represented. I checked on Wikipedia, only to find out that 'N' represent 'nil' (the concept of 'zero' wasn't there at the time).

So my prize was 1,000 x 1,000 x 0 x 0 = 0

Come on , did Tacitus or Plutarch ever mention a lotttery:D