Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Father Figure - Jason Byrne sitcom [RTÉ2 / BBC1]

• 11-09-2013 10:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭

So.. am guessing due to the success of "Mrs Browns Boys", the Beeb has decided Irish fronted comedy / sitcoms is the next big thing!

Am just listening to Jarlath Regan's podcast interview with Jason Byrne - his new sitcom "Father Figure" is starting shortly.

I find Byrne more miss than hit to be honest.. and from the clips I've seen, this looks like more the stereotypical trash we've seen from the O Carroll camp.

Odds are the Brits will lap it up though.

Airing next Monday on RTÉ2 and next Wednesday on BBC1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Saw the ad, it looks absolutely shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

i'm not a big fan of Jason Byrne at the best of times, but that looks arguably even worse than Mrs. Brown Boys...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

wprathead wrote: »
    i'm not a big fan of Jason Byrne at the best of times, but that looks arguably even worse than Mrs. Brown Boys...

Chances are though the jokes will at least have been written for the show rather than robbed from the 1970s.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

From the clips, it looks awful and Byrne is rubbish in them. Did anyone else think the woman Byrne is fighting with in the first episode was Hayley from Coronation Street instead of Pauline McLynn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Not only does it look like you would have to be braindead to appreciate it but god damn those laugh tracks... damn them to hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,021 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Oh god this is bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Oh god this is bad

It's worse than bad. It's absolute sh*te. Had to turn it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Dear, oh dear..........I'm off to the News......even bad news is good news here........:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

The only place this belongs is sunday afternoon for the grannies.

A million years away from the Monday nights of the Dara's panel, Bachelors Walk and even Father Ted in it's prime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Dargull

This is painful viewing. Absolutely terrible stuff altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭Layinghen

The trailer for this show is cringe inducing. Presume they picked the best bits for the trailer, then show is definitely something to avoid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Deathwish4

I never thought I would find a programme worse than PJ Gallaghers meet your neighbours shyte, well I was wrong..

This is beyond awful. Who sanctions this rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Sweet Baby Jaysus :eek: This is so bad it makes Mrs. Brown's Boys look like quality television.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭turbostan

Worst I've seen in a long time, painful!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭duridian

Saw the ad, it looks absolutely shíte.
    Sat through the program. Feel like my eyes were molested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭lubie76

FFS, between this and Mario rosenstock new show- sweet lord I want to break the telly box!

Hope Andy Quirke can redeem things a bit at 10'oc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Not too shabby thus far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭Gibbonw2

It was always going to be terrible. Hes a 1 trick pony, sorry, ass. And his trick is, apparently from comedy fraud. His stupid attempted impersonations and constant laughter at his own jokes are ridiculously annoying. How he thought this utter rubbish would be received well, or even ok, is a reflection on his delusion. Its unoriginal, cheesy, un funny and that background laughter . How in gods name could the BBC commision this. (rte buying it is no shock) i amn't a fan of brendan o carroll but mrs browns has a growing warmth to it and it doesnt try to be anything but vulgar and simple viewing. Quite surprised. Damo and Ivor isnt as bad as i expected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

lubie76 wrote: »
    FFS, between this and Mario rosenstock new show- sweet lord I want to break the telly box!

Same as that. Sat through about ten minutes of each programme, didn't even raise a smile. Rubbish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,180 ✭✭✭DenMan

The biggest crock of rubbish I have ever seen! Seriously people stay away from it! Awful stuff!!! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭Gibbonw2

Its a pity about Mario. Very funny, intelligent and likeable man and very funny on radio. But a lot of the tv sketches dont work. Especially the long ones (i mean, that shatter sketch was terrible!) i think hes worth a watch though but not as good as i anticipated. The punchline of the Pat Kenny joke was a highlight, and although a bit long, i thought he nailed Francis Brennan (something francis would, no doubt, not complain of!) and joan burton always raises a smile!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭patk72

Who went beyond 5 minutes of Byrnes show?...my guess is beyond the people who are involved in that ****e 0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭gdawg87

Expected better from J Byrne... Very disappointed

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,390 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

gdawg87 wrote: »
    Expected better from J Byrne

There's your mistake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭earlytobed

Up there with The Cassidys as the worst ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Dargull

Jason Byrne on the Ray D'arcy show now. Ray of course loved the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

It was like something you would see on the CBBC.

Jason Byrne is an attrocious comedian. His entire act consists of him doing stupid oul wan voices.

Even though Damo and Ivor was not great it was a million times better than Father Figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Robert2012

This was so awful it could well become unmissable TV...Up there with "Leave it to Mrs O'Brien" and "Upwardly Mobile" in the pantheon of atrocious Irish comedy.

*pops over to the Damo and Ivor thread to copy and paste this :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭celtic tiger 2011

I wonder what the brits will make of it. I reckon if they liked Mrs Brown Boys they will love this. Its on BBC 1 tomorrow for anyone who has missed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

gdawg87 wrote: »
    Expected better from J Byrne... Very disappointed

I expected better from your expectations.. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,914 ✭✭✭✭Eeden

Changed channel after about five minutes... then changed back, because I knew I'd be giving out about it, so thought I'd better actually watch a whole episode. But I couldn't stick it out until the end. I just couldn't. How did this pass every stage of production to make it on to TV?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

the BBC have just out done RTE in true awfulness, how the hell did this get the green light??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

fryup wrote: »
    the BBC have just out done RTE in true awfulness, how the hell did this get the green light??

Because of Mrs Browns Boys I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

fryup wrote: »

No mystery there.

He has been a regular on Radio 2 and Radio 4, where he has made a number of series and appeared on many other shows. Radio 4 is a well established breeding ground for BBC TV comedies.

Then this show was developed for radio (clearly with one eye on a potential TV crossover). No doubt, The success of Mrs Brown's Boys helped his chances of getting the TV show commissioned.
    “Julia McKenzie, a BBC radio comedy producer, came to see my stand-up in Edinburgh,” he explains, “then we got talking and she said, ‘Your life is chaos, you wouldn’t even be writing a sitcom, you could just describe your life.’” The result, Father Figure, ran for a full series on Radio 2 before BBC1 came calling.

http://www.radiotimes.com/news/2013-09-18/why-do-so-many-comics-only-find-their-voice-on-the-radio

I'm not saying the show is any good (I haven't seen it), but he has been working at getting it on TV for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

All I can say is Brendan Grace must be fuming , Mrs Browns Boys and now this

Kept waiting for Jimmy Cricket to pop up

But the question is will the Brits take to it, like they took to Mrs Brown?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

But the question is will the Brits take to it, like they took to Mrs Brown?.
    Jason Byrne’s new sitcom made only a modest start in the ratings last night.

Father Figure was seen by an average of 1.4million viewers – almost a million down on the average for that 10.35pm BBC one slot.

and the critics were not kind either ...
    Metro said: ‘Father Figure managed to commit every sitcom cliché crime in the book: dopey bloke, interfering mother, long-suffering wife, victim neighbours, bonkers relatives. All of it wrapped up in an unsavoury mess of vomit and poo ‘jokes’.

The Daily Telegraph said in its one-star review: ’What we need is for these implausible situations to be delivered with wit, brilliant timing and a superbly funny script. Father Figure failed on every count.’

And at the weekend Scotland on Sunday damned it with the faintest of praise,saying: I suppose it’s a bit better than Ben Elton’s megaflop The Wright Way.’

http://www.chortle.co.uk/news/2013/09/19/18688/weak_start_for_father_figure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Vomit and poo jokes?

What does that remind me of?

Oh yeah Mrs Brown.
    Must be the way Brendan tells them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

I have never seen such ****e in my life, hated Byrne anyway with his idiotic show anonymous, but this takes it to a whole other level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

I wonder what the brits will make of it. I reckon if they liked Mrs Brown Boys they will love this. Its on BBC 1 tomorrow for anyone who has missed it.

I don't know anyone over there who likes that. They don't get it and can't stand it. One person apologized to me before telling me he didn't like it, as he thought I might be offended by his remarks. We had a great laugh about how terrible it was over a pint after that.

Granted they were all southerners, so the northerners might be the ones who have made it such a hit. Missed Jason's show, ... lucky me, by the sounds of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Just switched over and see the brilliant Michael Smiley in it...

.. depressing!

Did anybody seen tonight's episode?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,914 ✭✭✭✭Eeden

Just couldn't do it....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

I was going to but there was a fly in the room so i just watched him instead.

Saw a bit of it. The bit I saw seemed to consist of the whole idiot family driving to a bottle bank and then sitting till doomsday in a people carrier that wouldn't start.
    Mrs. Doyle had sandwiches for them all stuffed in a money belt round her waist.
    After that scene I went back to flicking through the other channels in case I missed any new insurance ads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭chucksandstorm

I still feel dirty after watching 2 minutes of this muck

Do you ever think we exaggerate how how good , good comedies are and how how bad, bad comedies are. As Joe Duffy sad you are never as bad as the critics say you are or never as good as they say you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭Burkatron

Do you ever think we exaggerate how how good , good comedies are and how how bad, bad comedies are. As Joe Duffy sad you are never as bad as the critics say you are or never as good as they say you are.

Have you watched it?