Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Early Nineties Irish anti-drinking video

• 10-09-2013 10:10pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 397 ✭✭

hi all,
    Sorry if this is the wrong place to ask but I've been asking a few old school friends of mine if they remember anything about this video and nobody seems to remember! We must have been only 13-14 when the teacher showed it us.

Anyway it was an irish-made video about the dangers of alcohol and it was split into 3 parts each featuring a separate person from different walks of society. i just remember two segments - a housewife from D4 who used do the dog at cheese and wine receptions and drink drive and who also used keep naggins of vodka hidden around the house.

Most memorably though I seem to remember this country farmer type guy who got married to this one. Anyway on the wedding day they were driving to the church and I remember him telling the best man to stop as they'd "time for a few scoops" then we witnessed the two boys peg it into the local and sink a couple of quick pints!
    Next we're at the wedding ceremony and the groom has your one on his lap saying "well now lads, didn't I do well for myself?". Anyway flash forward to the honeymoon and your one's in swimming in the pool saying "well Pat won't you come in the water's lovely?" and he's sitting on a deck-chair hungover rubbing his belly saying "Ah nah love I'm grand I'll just be sitting here a while" ! So fast forward again and we see the women holding the baby and your man storms in from the pub with his buddy and a six pack of Harp bottles! Anyway your one starts giving out to him and he starts beating the crap out of her in front of his friend!

Sorry i was rambling in this but does anybody remember this video at all? Noone i know does and I'm wondering if it's a figment of my imagination?

What would be ultra-cool if someone uploaded to youtube but I searched and couldn't find anything!

Anyone remember this tape?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Are you sure it wasn't your neighbour's wedding video you were thinking of?? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

welkin wrote: »
    hi all,
    Sorry if this is the wrong place to ask but I've been asking a few old school friends of mine if they remember anything about this video and nobody seems to remember! We must have been only 13-14 when the teacher showed it us.

Anyway it was an irish-made video about the dangers of alcohol and it was split into 3 parts each featuring a separate person from different walks of society. i just remember two segments - a housewife from D4 who used do the dog at cheese and wine receptions and drink drive and who also used keep naggins of vodka hidden around the house.

Most memorably though I seem to remember this country farmer type guy who got married to this one. Anyway on the wedding day they were driving to the church and I remember him telling the best man to stop as they'd "time for a few scoops" then we witnessed the two boys peg it into the local and sink a couple of quick pints!
    Next we're at the wedding ceremony and your man who your one on his lap saying "well now lads, didn't I do well for myself?". Anyway flash forward to the honeymoon and your one's in swimming in the pool saying "well Pat won't you come in the water's lovely?" and he's sitting on a deck-chair hungover rubbing his belly saying "Ah nah love I'm grand I'll just be sitting here a while" ! So fast forward again and we see the women holding the baby and your man storms in from the pub with his buddy and a six pack of Harp bottles! Anyway your one starts giving out to him and he starts beating the crap out of her in front of his friend!

Sorry i was rambling in this but does anybody remember this video at all? Noone i know does and I'm wondering if it's a figment of my imagination?

What would be ultra-cool if someone uploaded to youtube but I searched and couldn't find anything!

Anyone remember this tape?
    I would advise you try the All Things Retro Thread, probably get some joy there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭rustedtrumpet

No but I can record one for you myself if you'd like