Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone else just despise gaa?

• 08-09-2013 2:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,418 ✭✭✭✭rob316

As I sit here in my house in Cork, its reaching fever pitch as the all ireland final is minutes away.
    I couldnt care less though, never not once have I liked GAA, I despise the organisation and have never taken to the people involved.

Im sure I'm not the only one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

rob316 wrote: »
    As I sit here in my house in Cork, its reaching fever pitch as the all ireland final is minutes away.
    I couldnt care less though, never not once have I liked GAA, I despise the organisation and have never taken to the people involved.

Nah, I say you are!
    It takes effort to despise anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Why the hate? You're a self loathing paddy and hate all things that arent foreign?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Love sport myself, absolutely despise GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Why the hate..is it coz you were sh!t and couldnt get on the team..did the GAA heads laugh at your small willy in the shower

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

I think it's brilliant, but then again I've grown out of the "I hate everything Irish" stage!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

Yes and rugby too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

I don't hate it, I'm just not into it. I have the highest respect for GAA players though, because they work regular jobs midweek then at weekends they play their hearts out. I mean they give it absolutely everything they have to give and they're willing to play on even if they're bleeding from the eyes after a punch to the face... And for no pay.

Compare them to premier league soccer players that get paid stupid amounts of money to saunter around a pitch and fall to the deck and cry as soon as they get a tap on the leg.

F*ck, actually I love GAA!

tl;dr - soccer players = pussies. GAA players = men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Despise? Grow up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Can't stand anything GAA. I'm in Clare and the whole county is destroyed with Blue and Yellow tat. I'm not watching the match, hope the fcukers lose:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Why does it seem like there's a final on every week? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

I think it's brilliant, but then again I've grown out of the "I hate everything Irish" stage!

Sincere apologies for not liking the same things you do, must be my immaturity to blame?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

No I love it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

You don't know the craic you're missing.

HON THE REBELS!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,418 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Why the hate? You're a self loathing paddy and hate all things that arent foreign?

Not at all, Im a proud Irishman and even prouder Cork man just cant stand GAA. I love sport football, tennis, rugby anything really.

I played GAA as a kid and that is probably where my strongest feelings against it come from. You were never given a chance in it unlike rugby where the focus of coaching was on the weaker players to make them better.
    The knobhead son of some former All Ireland winner was always picked regardless of how bad it he was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Out of blind curiosity I had a look at the OP's 'find more posts by' link and found more than half his posts are in the soccer forum.

That would explain it

• Don't hate it just dont particularly like it.

I don't mind the sports themselves i just find the gaa very arrogant and cliquee. Hate however is very very strong don't see a reason why you would hate it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Not despise, but I'd say I've no interest in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

Anyone who doesn't like it is obviously still sore from not being picked as a young wan.

Don't hate it just dont particularly like it.

I don't mind the sports themselves i just find the gaa very arrogant and cliquee. Hate however is very very strong don't see a reason why you would hate it

hit the nail on the head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I wouldn't say I "hate" it, but I strongly dislike it. I dislike football and rugby too, so it's nothing to do with disliking all things Irish.

• RossieMan wrote: »
    Anyone who doesn't like it is obviously still sore from not being picked as a young wan.

Sarcasm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

I see roy keane in the crowd

If he was on the squad he would leave blaming the bad conditions

Whanker

Out of blind curiosity I had a look at the OP's 'find more posts by' link and found more than half his posts are in the soccer forum.

That would explain it

Yep I love soccer a hell of a lot more than gaa. you caught me there, oh no:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Not a big gaa fan,football in particular, but hurling is actually brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

I just hate the way it takes precedent over everything.

Watching something on the TV, somebody comes in - "Turn on the match there."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

I don't despise it but I hate the way every achievement a man has is related TO GAA

Oh he was a wonderful man, played great GAA.
    Oh ya wanna join the Garda, better be a good GAA man!
    He robbed an bank and beat a man to death but jasus he's a great GAA player!

Any one that dies is really only on the news if they played GAA. The could have done wonders for medical science or for a good cause but if they didn't play GAA you wont hear about him :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I'd rather watch a Sebastian Vettel "lead from the front race" than Gaelic football or hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ice Storm

It's the worst part of Reeling in the Years imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

I wouldn't say I hate the GAA, just dislike the politics and cliques in it. Irishness at it's worst. As for the game itself, no interest as such, just keep abreast to stay social is all. It's Cork and Clare yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

GAA never bothered me until I got involved running a junior soccer team and found out what a bunch of biggoted gombeen fenian corrupt fcukers they are.

They demand every euro of Govt. funding and try to stop (corruptly) other sports from getting a cent.

Bogball supporting council workers wont cut the grass on soccer pitches but bogball pitches are like snooker tables.

I dont despise the game just the people who run it and play it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Oh you don't like GAA?

"you're anti-Irish"

"you hate everything"

No. I just think its shiite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I don't despise it but I hate the way every achievement a man has is related TO GAA

Oh he was a wonderful man, played great GAA.
    Oh ya wanna join the Garda, better be a good GAA man!
    He robbed an bank and beat a man to death but jasus he's a great GAA player!

Any one that dies is really only on the news if they played GAA. The could have done wonders for medical science or for a good cause but if they didn't play GAA you wont hear about him :/

Or... "He sexually assaulted someone, but he comes from a highly regarded family who are widely known within the GAA."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

The sports themselves are all right (hurling is decent, football isn't my thing), but some of the fans are self appointed keepers of the cultural flame who can **** right off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭Knob Longman

I have little to no interest in GAA but I have a lot of respect for it as a sport and appreciate the efforts its members make...

But a sport should be a sport the GAA's tentacles extend into employment in a big way here, How many of us have worked with a thicko who only got his job because he is ace with a hurley or his daddy runs the local team..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

its woeful and the organisation rotten to the core

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

FearDark wrote: »
    Love sport myself, absolutely despise GAA.

You don't love sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

FearDark wrote: »
    Oh you don't like GAA?

"you're anti-Irish"

"you hate everything"

No. I just think its shiite.

lol

That's exactly what's wrong with this country. If you don't like what everyone else likes you're not one of the cool kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

The sports I follow are played on the European and world stage rather than a glorified 15 a side kickabout against the lads who are up the road.

I don't despise it really but the neglect other sports in this country get in favour of GAA is quite frankly sickening and a bit embarrassing for us. As a nation we are a lot more accomplished athletically than everyone is being led to believe, but since a lot of our young talent is, in many counties, pretty much forced to pick between GAA/soccer/rugby at 16-17 not to mention any physically impressive people who are playing other (solo) sports are encouraged to take up GAA because "you're a big lad" we will be left in the dust for years to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭ratracer

Great first 10 mins of the final so far, end to end stuff..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

I enjoy watching and playing it but I do despise the politics and other associated bullshít you get with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Almaviva

Dont be like that. Hurling is a fantastic game. You should be watching and enjoying it.

Gaelic Football is a real dog however. Nothing whatsoever to recommend it and the absolute bottom of the barrel of team field games. Ugly, devoid of skill, unrefereeable, nonesensical rules, and so very prone to cynical rules exploitation/breaking. It may be what gives you your view of GAA in general.

But give hurling a chance and you will be the better for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭returnNull

I love hurling,its fast with plenty of scoring and has to be one of the most skillful sports on the planet.

Come on the banner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭tylercheribini

I wouldnt be mad into it but would always watch the big games on the telly. Problem I have is with the local GAA clubs beggin from house to house as headquarters rake in the sponsorship/tv rights/big match sell out crowd gate receipts(not often I admit). Either there is a genuine disparity between what revenue is generated and what actually gets to grass roots or they are guilting "parishioners" to contribute with the "sure its your community" shtick, either way its wrong and shouldnt be tolerated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Is there no Premiership today?

Almaviva wrote: »
    Dont be like that. Hurling is a fantastic game. You should be watching and enjoying it.

Gaelic Football is a real dog however. Nothing whatsoever to recommend it and the absolute bottom of the barrel of team field games. Ugly, devoid of skill, unrefereeable, nonesensical rules, and so very prone to cynical rules exploitation/breaking. It may be what gives you your view of GAA in general.

But give hurling a chance and you will be the better for it.

I have seen hurling plenty and its is a fine game I admit but I cant get behind the bull**** that goes with it.
    Its a rotten organisation run by predominatly backwards people. Far too much power in this country.

People wonder why our Irish soccer team performs so poorly on an international level, its because all the support and funding goes into a game no one gives a ****e about outside of this island.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Almaviva

as headquarters rake in

Terminology of a true GAA follower there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

St. Jimmy wrote: »
    I don't hate it, I'm just not into it. I have the highest respect for GAA players though, because they work regular jobs midweek then at weekends they play their hearts out. I mean they give it absolutely everything they have to give and they're willing to play on even if they're bleeding from the eyes after a punch to the face... And for no pay.

So what about the ordinary people who work full time and give there free time to the sick,elderly,Order of Malta, Civil Defence, Garda Reserve who take **** from not very nice people or deal with emotional situations??

What do the GAA do? They kick a ball around a field! Hardly a Nobel peace entry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

They can afford to build their Stadiums and maintain them. They do fantastic work for all ages. Not like other sports who spend their funds on executive expenses and lavish lifestyles.

• The sports I follow are played on the European and world stage rather than a glorified 15 a side kickabout against the lads who are up the road.

I don't despise it really but the neglect other sports in this country get in favour of GAA is quite frankly sickening and a bit embarrassing for us. As a nation we are a lot more accomplished athletically than everyone is being led to believe, but since a lot of our young talent is, in many counties, pretty much forced to pick between GAA/soccer/rugby at 16-17 not to mention any physically impressive people who are playing other (solo) sports are encouraged to take up GAA because "you're a big lad" we will be left in the dust for years to come.

That's unfair they choose themselves a lot ciaran Sheehan the cork full forward was a better rugby player than a few of the lads I know in the Irish and munster team at the moment imo but he prefers football that's his own decision

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

I really dislike many aspects of the organisation, particularly at local level. It's not something I could stand to be involved in (I tried). Which is a pity because I really enjoy watching the games (particularly smaller matches where there's less drama and carry-on to put up with) and loved playing camogie when I was young.